12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 V6 (More than 140 owners), Where Tablets Meets Mobile Phone

super_evil_alien
post Oct 3 2010, 11:58 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Oct 3 2010, 09:45 AM)
yeap...I tried n it worked great...
but I don't know how to install .apk files in NITDROID...know how?
There's few methods of installing .apk files.I'll try a few & let you know the easiest way later on.

Jurassic Rollercoaster 3D

Type all this at X-Terminal 1 by 1.The installation file is approximately 29MB.

1)sudo gainroot (Assuming you have rootsh installed)
2)apt-get install wget
3)apt-get update
4))wget http://mohammadag.xceleo.org/public/maemo/...atest_armel.deb
5)dpkg -i apt_0.7.20.2maemo13.1_0m5latest_armel.deb
6)apt-get install njurassiclite

The game is quite interesting.It does utilize accelerometer decently.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 3 2010, 12:30 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Installing .apk files in Android

1)Register for gmail.If you already have it you can skip this step.
2)Open Android Market.Login with your gmail account.
3)Search for "File Manager" app under Applications tab.
4)Click it & the file will be added to the download list(something like fapman)
5)Go to download tab to initiate download.
6)Make sure you save the .apk file in the sd card or N900 emmc(in my case it seems the sd card unmountable so I have to save the file to N900's emmc)
7)Navigate through the File Manager to the .apk file.
8)Tap it & follow the rest instructions.

I removed by swype & reinstalled it with way just to try whether this method works or not,And it does perfectly.My swype still "flying".
super_evil_alien
post Oct 4 2010, 12:14 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Oct 3 2010, 10:29 PM)
tried it, not a bad app..

i wonder how to keep this phone cool.. keep heating up =/
It's cool most of the time except when using 3G or WiFi.But that happens to all smartphones.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 4 2010, 02:25 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Oct 4 2010, 02:09 PM)
Off Topic:
I have a digital stage piano, I tried pluggin in to various speakers up to Studio Monitor KRK Rokit 5; the sound still have this 'tinny' sound especially at the mids, sounded unrealistic, doesn't sound like real piano sound.
I watch YouTube recordings of the similar model, etc. they all sounded great.

I wondering what's wrong, could it be the setup or something wrong with the sound card of the digital piano?

Do you happen to experience this before?
Members at Home Entertainment sub forum should be answer this question faster.Try asking them.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 4 2010, 07:44 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 4 2010, 07:04 PM)
Alot of picture taken here. May I ask, anyone wanna get their hands on Nokia N8? Cause this topic become picture gallery
I was wondering the same thing too.

Still working on getting OTG script work on my phone.Having titans kernel + nitdroid + hostmode is really a pain.
Hopefully once OTG reach beta the kernels will be integrated to titans kernel.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 4 2010, 08:58 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Finished configuring everything about OTG on my N900.In theory it should work now.Too bad I don't have the connector.
With the heavy heart I'm going back to play the Jurassic Rollercoster sad.gif

Added on October 4, 2010, 9:00 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 4 2010, 08:49 PM)
postage so risky? hope she get well soon
I've even sent laptop with couriers.
Not only once but multiple times.I've used PosLaju,GDex,Kangaroo & CityLink.All the courier company delivers stuff to me in 1 day(including poslaju).

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Oct 4 2010, 09:00 PM
super_evil_alien
post Oct 4 2010, 09:40 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 4 2010, 09:04 PM)
but u must declare tat will cost u more right?
Some company yes.Some company no.
Like for poslaju I have to declare the item as laptop then the officer will put the huge "fragile" sticker as a pre-caution for the other workers to not throw the box around.Cost RM15 to send a full set laptop.
CityLink don't have to declare.They will just measure the weight.Cost RM15 also.

QUOTE(generalhwh @ Oct 4 2010, 09:07 PM)
add me in d list pls...just got it...now going to d front page to do wat should a nokia n900 owner do

Added on October 4, 2010, 9:12 pmshould i follow d auto mode or manual to do firmware update>
Use the manual installer.It's simple & will be helpful i future if you brick the phone.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 4 2010, 09:56 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(generalhwh @ Oct 4 2010, 09:45 PM)
ok ty,.shud hav dl d installer earlier..200mb..take some time..my hse line sux..btw..how come in facebook.when i select those video to watch..it still ask me to install falsh player??but not in youtube website?
Download Flash Player Tweaker from App Manager.
Change the flash version from 9.4 to 10.1

QUOTE(ccgenius @ Oct 4 2010, 09:46 PM)
i also hope that the usb host mode is integrated to titans kernel asap! smile.gif
Might take some time for that to happen.No one can integrate half finished job into something lots of people use.We might have to till at least beta version for that to happen.
It's depress me to see every single script working but cannot really test the hardware itself...
super_evil_alien
post Oct 5 2010, 01:18 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Oct 5 2010, 11:46 AM)
Ask them to take pictures in the dark. Lol. I know my E71 can take better pics in complete darkness.

But really, I'm seeing RAMPANT fanboism everywhere now, is it a new trend? Every phone has its advantages and disadvantages, why can't anyone simply accept that?
Everyone wants perfect phone nowdays. doh.gif

QUOTE(zdentws @ Oct 5 2010, 12:50 PM)
@super alien SIFU,
I bought female to female connector ady.. but nw stuck at kuantan.. will back melaka in 3 days time...
Can you go to any near post office & poslaju it to me?
I'm at my hometown,Kluang right now.If you can then pm me ok?
super_evil_alien
post Oct 5 2010, 01:39 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(ipodluvya @ Oct 5 2010, 01:36 PM)
i have a question guys. Is it possible to use the n900 as a usb modem like the iPhone?
Yes.You can share internet both wired & wireless.
Use PC Suite to share internet by cable
super_evil_alien
post Oct 5 2010, 05:46 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Oct 5 2010, 03:18 PM)
LYN should change their name to LYN/k/ lol. Or kopitiam.net.

But I digress. Doing something for the lolz is not bad sometimes asso. In a civilized manner anyway.
Sometimes uncivilized manner lulz also fun tongue.gif
But tell you the truth Kopitiam nowdays is far cry from Kopitiam few years ago.It used to be fun but the newbies destroyed the lulz.

I've seen lots of smartphones fanboys in internet.Some of them are really crazy of their phone for no good reason.Good examples is iPhone fans.
But Maemo"fanboys" is slightly different.They acknowledge that their device isn't perfect but together with the Maemo community they try to make up for the shortcomings by Nokia.

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Oct 5 2010, 03:43 PM)
I iz see a lot of butthurtz...

Hahahahahahha

Added on October 5, 2010, 3:47 pmSad that dint take count of the post in /k/....

If not my post got 1k++ already....
I'll have 12K + post count already.Admins usually purge old Kopitiam post to save some space.That's why you cannot really count how much you have post in Kopitiam.

QUOTE(bratvalove @ Oct 5 2010, 03:57 PM)
one question, the apps in ovi store need to pay or not ?
Some paid & some free.
When Nokia updates OVI Store in coming months we should see more apps & in app buying.
Like the Angry Birds cheats.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Oct 5 2010, 05:52 PM
super_evil_alien
post Oct 5 2010, 09:27 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(nncl @ Oct 5 2010, 07:07 PM)
any body know what happen to me? my sygic 10 problem, i put the map file into N900/Maps/, when i launch the app, can select the map, after select the map, show no map loaded.
Delete the files & try to copy the files to proper locations.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/10/05/nokias-...-chief-resigns/
Darn..Now Ari Jaaksi quits.. doh.gif
super_evil_alien
post Oct 5 2010, 11:06 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(shunjun8683 @ Oct 5 2010, 10:56 PM)
omg how i gonna call my girl friend without it? is there any way to do it?
Use skypelah..Easy also...Buy your gf another N900.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 5 2010, 11:51 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(MrJigoku666 @ Oct 5 2010, 11:43 PM)
alamak SEA...u kluang ppl ar??
same hor...i also kluang ppl.. icon_rolleyes.gif
Yeah.You're staying at which site in Kluang?
super_evil_alien
post Oct 6 2010, 01:12 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Oct 6 2010, 12:15 PM)
1.) everybody quits.
2.) nokia loses interest in developing its own platform.
3.) nokia jumps on the android bandwagon
4.) oracle sues android
5.) google abandons android
6.) everyone becomes steve's slaves
7.) zombie apocalypse
8.) steve jobs sucks everyone's money with iPhone X
Added

QUOTE(zahirr @ Oct 6 2010, 12:44 PM)
Hello everyone. I really need some big, big help right now.. Got my own Nokia N900 LAST NIGHT, did some basic stuff with it; change phone settings and take a good closer look on 'what's new' on N900.. and then I updated the firmware to the latest software update by FOTA, waited til the update finished, then I turned it off, and then charged it using the given charger adapter, not exceeding 4 hours of charging.

This morning after I wake up, saw the green light on the phone, which means the phone is fully charged, unplugged the adapter, turned the N900 on and this is where the problem started..

The phone took a long time to boot, and a banner appeared during the boot up (blinking white dots) saying:

"All telephony functions, including emergency calls, are disabled due to a communication error. To recover, you might have to reboot the device".

Tapping the screen clears this, and boot continues. The same warning is repeated when reaching the desktop. The red line is through the SIM card on the main status beside the battery signal, and sure enough, it's disappeared. Tried making some phone calls but the phone failed to do so. It looks like either hardware failure, or driver failure.

I've reseated/cleaned the SIM and swapped SIMs in and out between different devices, so I'm confident it's not the SIM. Did some googling awhile ago and found some users beside me that having the same problem as mine, all telephony function DISABLED by an unknown reason, and it happened not so long after the latest firmware update.

It's really dissapointing.. telefon baru belum sampai 24hours of usage dah kena this kinda problem.. how come bole kena some trouble like this right after update..

Someone.. Anybody.. Mr. Otai Aspire! Please help me fixing this problem... Thanks for reading this panjang lebar prob..
Like Andy said use the manual flasher.It should solve the problem.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 6 2010, 04:05 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(zhlly4eae @ Oct 6 2010, 04:03 PM)
what i mean was does n900 can get free apps too or not? no need write so much. just simple explanation enough
Dah...99% of Maemo's apps are free.
You didn't specifically ask for free apps in your previous post.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 6 2010, 06:33 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Oct 6 2010, 05:53 PM)
Not many paid apps for Maemo pon, it doesn't generate much income so developers mostly run away. The ones that are left are mostly enthusiasts/DIY guys so free apps lar.
But some of good app like Angry Birds is really profitable
super_evil_alien
post Oct 7 2010, 02:50 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

^Clareen.
I bought my phone from her about 7 months ago.
About the package content,I got everything like the Ori set + the CA-146C adapter.I'm very satisfied with AP set phone till now.Hopefully nothing will go wrong after this.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Oct 7 2010, 02:53 PM
super_evil_alien
post Oct 7 2010, 03:52 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(bratvalove @ Oct 7 2010, 03:23 PM)
i dont have any phone to trade in also anyway hahaha.

but clareen in jb and i dont trust our POS system. sad.gif
You can trust the courier system.It depends on the seller.If the seller is reliable they will make sure you'll get the goods one way or another.
I got my phone by courier too.It was delayed for few days because lack of stock but eventually I got it.

Other than this phone I have bought/sell bunch of other stuff with courier.Every single thing reach the buyer & me without any problem.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 7 2010, 07:27 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Oct 7 2010, 06:43 PM)
Help Help...

>.<"
Help with what?

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Oct 7 2010, 06:47 PM)
Maybe the Star doesn't play nice with ad-hoc connections? Because IINM that's what Joikuspot is using.

Back during my N900 days I used mobile hotspot though - better compatibility with custom kernels.
Well, actually the app-scape of Maemo is fine, except for the lack of a proper GPS app (don't say there's Sygic, it's crap and we all know it).

For the lack of REAL games we have an abundance of emulators and re-ported oldies like Dune 2, Jagged Alliance 2, Baldur's Gate/Planescape Torment/BG2/Iceland Dale, Descent - all of which I haven't seen on a handheld other then the Pandora.

For me, the greatest failing of the N900 is the crappily integrated phone functions and the battery life, really (and a few other phone function related hardware/software issues that is gonna take a few pages for me to write, so no).

As a mobile computer though, it has no rival IMHO, even more so now with NITDroid and USB-Host working.

But I can't afford to get a proper phone AND an N900 (now that my original one is dead) so it's gonna be a loooooong wait for the N9 or the Droid/Milestone Pro or The Pre 2 for me.

As of rite now, the E71 does fine for most of my needs other then heavy browsing of complex web pages. UCWeb doesn't really play nice with javascript heavy pages you see.
Samsung Star do have ad-hoc issue.But there are way to connect to the desired ad-hoc.Google for the solution.

I wouldn't say Sygic is crap.It's the map support that is crappy.It's outdated & there's no much detail on the map.
You have a point in saying phone functions are crap.But what really make want to stab Nokia execs is they can actually improved everything with another software update for Maemo 5.But as usual Nokia prefers to keep quiet on this part.
Somehow the Maemo community doing their best to keep this wonderful piece of device alive & kicking.I doubt any other OS community members willing to spend time to port a complete workable OS or extremely helpful functions like OTG for free.

Speaking of other phone,I guess Milestone 2 should arrive 1st.N9 & Pre 2 have pretty much the same issue,the OS.MeeGo beta should be coming out in 23 days.webOS still don't have any release date but there's already some screenshots of the working OS.My choice will still be the N9 because I have the soft spot for MeeGo since it's derived from Maemo.
But if Mozilla managed to drop a bomb by delivering the Mozilla Seabird then 1000% for sure I'll go for it. tongue.gif

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0404sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:01 PM