Personal financial management, V2

sulifeisgreat
post Oct 10 2010, 03:52 PM

1,121 posts

agree that this is not the place discuss TA, but since alredi started, I join in the fun too laugh.gif
regarding the one who started TA, if the system is as good as its claims, might as well play futures cool2.gif
however, his nickname does not seem to agree with charts presented, now go to new high, precaution is necessary unless play breakout
but a minor pullback, does create a safer buy low entry level

atm, agree with his assessment coz I advocate buy high, sell higher! but be ready when market turns, imo depends on the policy in us (nov2)
I personally invest in pbb growth fund, I DO not invest regularly, BUT I invest after pullback is confirmed & enter when there is a doji icon_rolleyes.gif
http://www.publicmutual.com.my/application...erformance.aspx

from the above, ewm moves similar to klse, then can compare other etfs - use eyes & google to research on how to find them brows.gif

s&p500 = spy, bolehland = ewm

spy vs VGSIX‎ Vanguard REIT Index Inv

spy vs VSMGX‎ Vanguard LifeStrategy Moderate Gr Inv

spy vs VWELX‎ Vanguard Wellington Inv

ewm vs WisdomTree Middle East Dividend (GULF)

ewm vs iShares MSCI Australia Index (EWA)

ewm vs Vanguard Total Stock Market ETF (VTI)

ewm vs Vanguard FTSE All-World ex-US ETF (VEU)

ewm vs Vanguard REIT Index ETF (VNQ)

ewm vs Vanguard Total Bond Market ETF (BND)

ewm vs CurrencyShares Japanese Yen Trust (FXY)

ewm vs Global X/InterBolsa FTSE Colombia 20 ETF (GXG)

ewm vs iShares Barclays 3-7 Year Treasury Bond (IEI)

ewm vs ProShares Ultra Silver (AGQ)

ewm vs Direxion Daily Real Estate Bull 3X Shrs (DRN)

seek & u shall find nod.gif

sulifeisgreat
post Oct 10 2010, 09:23 PM

1,121 posts

I have read up on value investing, wb & FA stuff. but is graham as rich as wb?
more likely wb was at the right place & at the right time, something like li ka shing
otherwise, all of graham followers occupy the forbes top 100 rich list laugh.gif

do u even follow wb method 100% or r u just cherry picking? hmm.gif
furthermore, y dun u just follow what he buys & maybe can be the top 2 richest also
instead of reinventing the wheel & putting wb concept into bolehland context, it does save the work & hassle just to follow wb

doesn't want to set aside the collateral, and wants existing derivatives contracts to be exempted from the rules.
http://articles.moneycentral.msn.com/Inves...px?post=1747221

he states that his favorite holding period is forever
http://www.fool.com/investing/value/2010/0...fett-sells.aspx

wb does buy & sell, he does not keep EVERYTHING long term, remember ptr?
http://finance.yahoo.com/news/Warren-Buffe...104421.html?x=0

anyway, I not here to start a topic on criticizing wb! just that some of his followers r hypocrites, only follow certain things abt wb & not follow in full
I do not take things at face value after staying in bolehland for so long. if govt says vote bn is good for rakyat, do u do / dun agree? cool2.gif
I read those anti wb to get a better perspective on investment & trading, which leads me to TA & etc

for bolehland, I just buy & hold those 1st liner & good track record unit trust. I dun trade much in bolehland
there are topics on securities, properties, unit trusts/mutual funds and fixed deposit, if someone would just use the search function
well, u can help those newbies out by showing them the way how u tackle this topic & get this topic back in track nod.gif

QUOTE(kinwing @ Oct 10 2010, 05:54 PM)
I'm not sure how TA works nor I interested to know about TA. I'm also investing currently but I don't rely on TA. I'm more tend to buy and hold for long term and my investing strategy is value investing. Since I'm buying for long term, I don't think TA will work for my style. Please take note that the world 2nd richest man Warren Buffet is the only genuine investor in the top 2 richest (he could be now or in the future to be out of 10 most richest since he is donating most of his wealth), but he does not depend on TA at all. He follows Benjamin Graham's advice strictly as Graham had once said "Investing in a stockmarket is most intelligent it is most business like". If you are getting into a good business by spending RM20 mil and sell it the next day for RM22 mil and make a 10% profit, and it is indeed what technical analyst will prompt to do so. But I believe if Warrent Buffet works in this way by selling 10% profit each time within short term period, I don't think he would be as what he is today.

Since it's the thread for those who have questions on how to utilise their cash instead of putting into FD, apparently most of them are beginners in financial world so we should give recommendation or suggestion to be simple and neutral. Don't have to say TA or FA or whatever other investing methods is more good for doing investment.

Moreover, the discussion about the what so-called TA or FA doesn't seems match the topic in this thread. Thus I think it's appropriate to move those TA discussion to those investment thread.
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 23 2010, 02:33 PM

1,121 posts

do kindly scroll thru the replies

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1304838&hl=
sulifeisgreat
post Nov 28 2010, 04:54 PM

1,121 posts

if u r busy, u can be a passive investor. there r lots of pubic fund/ pnb experts around here, seek them out in their thread
http://www.icapital.biz/english/
they got 3 funds, invest in them. then just follow them & buy those individual share in their holdings. leverage on their homework

maybe go buy BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY & buy those individual share in their holdings. leverage on their homework
then buy a few index/commodity funds/etf, reinvest the dividends & watch how unit trust compete with them
coz not everyone got the time, interest, risk averse nor inclination to do share pickings on their own yawn.gif

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Nov 28 2010, 12:56 PM)
I'm 27 and been working for 4 years now.

Salary: Over MYR9000 (for the /b/ fans)
On a serious note, I'm now working overseas and drawing about MYR18k (after tax and "EPF"). Bonus is not included and I don't consider claims as an income. Just started working here since Apr 2010.

Savings: MYR100k (MY), MYR44k (overseas)
When I was making MYR2900 in my first job, I would set aside MYR1500 for savings. Now I make myself save MYR10k/mth. Before anyone here start to comment that I have crazy spendings, the COL here is expensive where 1 tiny one-bedroom apartment is setting me back MYR5k/mth not including utility bills.

During my time in Malaysia, I was staying at home with my family.

My bonus will be used for one off spending such as holidays, gadgets, etc.

Debt: Zilch
2nd year into my career, I bought the cheapest car I could find - Proton "Ah Beng" Saga (my name rhymes with Ah Beng and I got the orange color rather than black). It was good in taking me from A to B. Took a 3yr loan which I've completely repaid recently.

Paid off my PTPTN although the interest rate is so low. Bought a 2yo car here for MYR50k (new = MYR100k) by cash, my beloved "Ah Beng" is now with my dad.

Investment: Zilch
This is where I need some advice. I was very focused in climbing the corporate ladder and all my time was devoted to work. I've tried to "invest" once in stock market and it burnt me bad (very bad) because I believed a "reliable" source, 50% was gone within 3 months and now its left 25%.

I'm still very busy at work and I prefer to invest in something that doesn't require constant monitoring. All my money now is in normal savings account  doh.gif

Like Lucifah, I was waiting and waiting and waiting for the property bubble to burst and that's why up until now I don't have a place of my own. Anyway, I'm still waiting. I also plan to use my MYR10k/mth savings here to buy a house here someday.

Other than waiting, I'm quite interested in gold. I was thinking to put about MYR80k into gold.
So what do you guys think? Is waiting for the bubble a good thing? Put my money in gold while I'm waiting? FD perhaps?

0.0597sec    1.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:45 PM