Personal financial management, V2

memberiii
post Apr 17 2012, 09:28 PM

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Apr 17 2012, 09:32 AM)
Hi guys, need some advice here. I started working last january and married. Both of us are gov teachers. This is our financial details:

My Salary: RM2222 
My Wife:    RM2222
My Allwnce: RM 700
My Wife:    RM700
Total: RM5844

This is my monthly spending:

EPF (both) : RM 642.84 (suppose to end by 2015, after confirm)
House Rent: RM500
Car: RM450 (ends July 2018)
HP Bill: RM100
TNB: RM45
Astro: RM80
TM: RM77
Loan1: RM457 (ends december 2014)
Loan2: RM1000 (ends september 2014)
Gas: RM200
Food: RM400
Other: RM400
Fmly: RM500
Insurance: RM200

Total: RM5051.84

Balance: RM792.16

Can anyone advice me on my financial planning? what should i do with the balance? Usually i just dump it in either asb or tabung haji. What should i change in my financial planning?
What are Loan 1 and Loan 2?

Your financial plan:
1. Pay down your debts.
2. Do not incur new debts.
3. Do not increase your expenses.
4. Cut down on expenses, if possible.
5. Additional savings can be used to pay down debts if appropriate or as you suggested, save in ASB.
6. Seek an additional income ... give tuition?.
7. It is going to be more challenging when you have children.

memberiii
post Apr 18 2012, 08:49 AM

QUOTE(felixwang @ Apr 18 2012, 08:31 AM)
Majority of people would spend first, save later. Very little realised that by practising saving prior to spending enables one to have a better control over their expenditure and at the same time, having sufficient money to grow over time, which enables them to achieved their objective by the end of the day.

One must know whether what they can or can't afford based on their take home pay. I would recommend you to purchase the following book to read, prior to starting off your investment.

[attachmentid=2796987]

Remember, gathering and growing of wealth is just a "strategy" to achieving an "objective" over a pre-determined "time horizon". By having both "objective" and "time horizon" will enables you to determine the kind of risk returned investment vehicles that you should get involved with and the exact amount of investment you should allocate over time.
Yes, when you are investing, you should define the followings:
1. Your investment objectives
2. Your time horizon
3. Your risk tolerance
4. You financial capacity

To invest safely and for the long term, you can only use money that you can put aside for a long time that you will not need.
The first step is to save and then invest the savings.
However, in the face of so much debts, it is prudent to pay down the debt quickly. This would be the priority.
memberiii
post Apr 18 2012, 12:55 PM

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 18 2012, 09:56 AM)
OT a bit.

Mr.WB has been just diagnosed with cancer.

What a sad news in fact.
I think this is not life threatening.
He will live at least 10 years (Recall the late President Mitterand of France)
He will probably die of something else.
memberiii
post Apr 20 2012, 12:02 PM

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Apr 19 2012, 11:53 PM)
Been a long follower of this awesome thread, started working 8 months ago.

Not married, living with my parents, while the house is taken care of by my dad, i'm just paying for the bills and any loose payments. Parents said do not require me to give money to them yet as they are still capable of taking care of themself.

No properties, no stocks , only RM8000 in the bank.

Salary :RM6200 nett

Fixed Expenses:
Car: RM650 (2nd hand Persona for 5 years, 4 half years to go)
Study Loan: RM1710 (250k study loan)
Electric Bill : ~RM220
Astro: RM164
Water: RM20 (living in an apartment, water is regulated by the apt )
Streamyx : RM135
Insurance : RM550 (Life Insurance 500k) Medical Card (RM120)
Ipad Installment : RM161 (5 Months to go)
Petrol : RM350 ( to get to my workplace, 100km to and fro)
Toll: RM100

Total ~RM4250

Left RM1950 for food/entertainment/date.

Will be my first month next month paying for the life insurance RM550. Have managed to save at least RM1000 per month before that , now the goal is to try to save RM1000 minimum even after paying the RM550.

Been binging a lot on food , as me and my gf are both food enthusiasts we tend to spend a lot on food, when we go out. Trying to reduce it to a minimum!

Gameplan:
1) Reduce expenses, esp misc expenses like eating out, cutting down the snowflake/chatime/starbucks.
2) Save RM20000 and put it in FD. Once i have that will start thinking of investing.

Should i let my 8k just sit here and accumulate for emergency funds or do you guys have better advice for that small chuck of money.

Trying hard to save at least 30% per month. My study loan is a big killer, but what to do haih!
Your objective will be to build up your savings quickly to a certain level.
Keep your expenses at the present level.
Be frugal in the early years.

Just wondering if your life insurance is worthwhile at this present time.
You are not married and do not have a family of your own.
Do your parents depend on your income?
Will they be financially ruined if you are not around?
Life insurance is for protection, certainly you will need this when you have a family of your own.
Insurance is a poor form of investment.
memberiii
post Apr 20 2012, 12:26 PM

>Insurance : RM550 (Life Insurance 500k) Medical Card (RM120)<

Life Insurance
$550 per month
What coverage or protection do you get?

Medical insurance
$120 per month
What coverage or protection do you get?
Do you not get this from your employer?

memberiii
post Apr 20 2012, 01:06 PM

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Apr 20 2012, 12:43 PM)
The rm120  has been bought by my mum since last time I'm just taking over payment.

Life insurance covers 36 crit Illness Tpd all the full nine yards.

The big one for me is if I lose the ability to work in my job scope  , first year they give me 50k if 2nd year still no, they give me another 50k. Third year still not able to work in the job scope the remaining 400k and policy ends.

Along the way mc allowance per week rm900 and 200rm per day hospital allowance

The insurance is just 10% of my pay so I think it's fair enough. At least I can have a peace of mind knowing if I do not work for one month my bills are paid for.

Anyhow I'm open to debate , appreciate you guys opinion in this issue
What is the probability of you getting these events?
What is the probability of you not getting these events?

At your age, probably you need accident and permanent disability protection. Probably can get these for a fraction of your present premium.

memberiii
post Apr 23 2012, 12:20 PM

QUOTE(aliluya @ Apr 22 2012, 11:57 AM)
Dear all Gurus and sifus of Financial management,

Wish to ask any other option other than below suggested by my sister:
The story goes this way..Yes, my sister lately going to get exam for Insurance agent under Hong Leong. She asking us (Myself, Herself and another sister) to save the money we pay to our parent to buy the "Saving Plan", calculation as wat i can recall is something around RM15k per year, paying 6 years, then following year will get RM 3K+ each year. In addition of tat, got those other coverage la..those with 6 digits figure wan la..

So my question is this a better way rather than giving the money to my mum? main point is my mum can hardly save if we pay cash to her.

Looking forward on your experience sharing...

Thanks in advance,
Aliluya.
Effectively, you will be paying premium thus:
Year 0 $15,000
Year 1 $12,000 ($15,000-$3,000)
Year 2 $12,000 ($15,000-$3,000)
Year 3 $12,000 ($15,000-$3,000)
Year 4 $12,000 ($15,000-$3,000)
Year 5 $12,000 ($15,000-$3,000)

#$3,000 being the payment received from the 1st year.

Assuming that you can compound these @ 3% per year in your FD,
The cash flows for each of these payments compounded @3% at the 6th year are:
Year 0- Year 6 17910.78
Year 1- Year 6 13911.28
Year 2- Year 6 13506.10
Year 3- Year 6 13112.72
Year 4- Year 6 12730.8
Year 5- Year 6 12360

Total cash accumulated at end of 6th year @ 3% interest rate = 83,531.70

For this, what are the benefits the insured get?
1. Insurance for protection
2. $3,000 yearly. This $3,000 yearly translates into 3.6% return on the sum accumulated of $83,531.70.

What do you think of such deals?

memberiii
post Apr 25 2012, 07:38 AM

QUOTE(fahmisarkawi @ Apr 25 2012, 06:09 AM)
Need your opinion on my current dilemma:

Took a personal loan years ago and now the balance is RM 17,+++ with 4 more years to go. Have funds saved around RM 20,+++. Should I use the funds and make an early settlement of the loan which would entitle me around RM 1,300 discount or should I just leave the fund in ASB and continue servicing the loan until finished?
Effectively you have the choice of investing $15,700 today.
You have the choice to save this amount in company A for an annual return of 2.1% for 4 years and at the end of this period, the company will return to you $17,000.85.
On the other hand, you can save this in ASB where the return is very much higher, perhaps, 3 to 4 times that of company A.
Therefore, leave your fund in ASB and continue to service the loan over the next 4 years.

-------

Here are the mathematics:

If today you were to invest $15,700.00 at a rate of 2.01%, you would have $17,000.85 at the end of 4 time periods (e.g. weeks, months, or years). In other words, a future value of $17,000.85 is equal to a present value of only $15,700.00.

What does this mean to you? Well, if you had a choice between taking an amount higher than the $15,700.00 today and taking the $17,000.85 at the end of 4 time periods, you should take the money today. By doing so, you would be able to invest the higher amount at 2.01% for 4 equal time periods, which would end up giving you more than $17,000.85.

Read more: http://www.investopedia.com/calculator/FVC...x#ixzz1t0HHaVJu

0.0237sec    1.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:15 AM