Personal financial management, V2

magika
post May 15 2012, 06:55 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 15 2012, 06:31 PM)
Personally, i think the below is "prudent" enough gua - please correct me, with logic and reason, if i'm waaaaaay off

BTW, in my humble opinion, gold & commodities are a bit of pelik creatures - buy low, really make a killing (case in point, ProphetJul  thumbup.gif) BUT... don't know when the prices will actually soar heheh. Thus, i think of it as "trading".

Personally, i think gold is NOT at historical nor inflation (3%pa) adjusted lelong prices, even with the recent dead cat fall / cliff jumping.
Before any gold bugs come with pitchforks  sweat.gif, please note that i said HISTORICAL yar, as in historical data.
Future - gawd knows, i'm not omniscience.
[attachmentid=2842242]

As for "mostly in cash nowadays" and "pasting hunting FDs rate", may i suggest doing or looking into an Asset Allocation / rebalancing?
I mean, if U are holding like 80% to 90% cash/Fixed Income instruments (of your total investment /investable assets), i think U are losing out a heckuva lot to inflation, especially if just FD. Bonds / Bond Funds pun at least better tongue.gif

FYI - i was like 60%+ in Fixed Income and forced a rebalance, mostly into REITs / Properties late last year and earlier this year (broke up my "forced rebalancing" into 2 chunks).
Imagine FD or flex mortgage "giving" 3%pa to 4.4%pa VS REITs 6% to 9%pa (ignoring capital risk - er.. calculated risk lar, k)
Thus, perhaps a bit of investments "diversify" into other asset classes MAY be good.
However, ultimately it's your choice & comfort level - no right/wrong per se

Just a thought  notworthy.gif

PS:
When i mentioned i was 60%+ in Fixed Income and then rebalanced mostly into REITs, please note that investments/investable assets to me EXCLUDES my emergency buffer (about 10 months' to 12 months' average expenses) & home (and of course "fake assets" like cars, Picasso, comics collection, etc tongue.gif)
Thanks, see quite well diversified. Saw quite a number of things I dont like(personal dislikes). No wonder, it kept you so occupied, so much research needed and frankly my brain freeze just looking at it. However, later, after perusing it, when im free, dont mind me asking a few questions.That is if i dont freak out. rclxub.gif

However i dont think I can handle so diversified a fortfolio not to mention the amount of research needed. Prefer to take it easy, concentrating mostly on family and recreation nowadays. Thats the reason mostly hibernating.

This post has been edited by magika: May 15 2012, 07:04 PM
magika
post May 16 2012, 01:02 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ May 16 2012, 11:25 AM)
Taken this from: http://tankinlian.com/FramePDF.aspx?ID=643

It can be extremely rewarding. Here is an example that I have quoted often.
If you save $500 a month over 35 years and earn an yield of 2.5% per annum on the life
insurance policy, you will get around $300,000 as cash value at the end of the period. If you
invest the same money in an exchange traded fund that is invested according to the Straits
Times Index, you are likely to get about $500,000.
By investing in the life insurance policy, you will be giving away $200,000. You can get an
accident or term insurance policy to cover $300,000 by paying an annual premium of $360 or
less. Over 35 years, you will spend only $40,000 (including interest lost), but you can save
$200,000.
So, by making the right investment decision, the consumer can be better off by $160,000 and
get 30% more than the $300,000 offered by a poor yielding plan.

Added on May 16, 2012, 11:30 amThe risk of buying something you are not familiar with and what more with your retirement fund.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tC1Ajdse9Uk
You very brave one, assurance agent come and flame you.. thumbup.gif
magika
post May 17 2012, 11:06 AM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 15 2012, 06:31 PM)
Personally, i think the below is "prudent" enough gua - please correct me, with logic and reason, if i'm waaaaaay off

BTW, in my humble opinion, gold & commodities are a bit of pelik creatures - buy low, really make a killing (case in point, ProphetJul  thumbup.gif) BUT... don't know when the prices will actually soar heheh. Thus, i think of it as "trading".

Personally, i think gold is NOT at historical nor inflation (3%pa) adjusted lelong prices, even with the recent dead cat fall / cliff jumping.
Before any gold bugs come with pitchforks  sweat.gif, please note that i said HISTORICAL yar, as in historical data.
Future - gawd knows, i'm not omniscience.
[attachmentid=2842242]

As for "mostly in cash nowadays" and "pasting hunting FDs rate", may i suggest doing or looking into an Asset Allocation / rebalancing?
I mean, if U are holding like 80% to 90% cash/Fixed Income instruments (of your total investment /investable assets), i think U are losing out a heckuva lot to inflation, especially if just FD. Bonds / Bond Funds pun at least better tongue.gif

FYI - i was like 60%+ in Fixed Income and forced a rebalance, mostly into REITs / Properties late last year and earlier this year (broke up my "forced rebalancing" into 2 chunks).
Imagine FD or flex mortgage "giving" 3%pa to 4.4%pa VS REITs 6% to 9%pa (ignoring capital risk - er.. calculated risk lar, k)
Thus, perhaps a bit of investments "diversify" into other asset classes MAY be good.
However, ultimately it's your choice & comfort level - no right/wrong per se

Just a thought  notworthy.gif

PS:
When i mentioned i was 60%+ in Fixed Income and then rebalanced mostly into REITs, please note that investments/investable assets to me EXCLUDES
a. emergency buffer (about 10 months' to 12 months' average expenses)
b. home (even though i rent out 2 rooms to friends)
c. and of course "fake assets" like cars, Picasso, comics collection, etc tongue.gif)
Bro, looking at the data you provided, firstly trying to see how much you allocate for each class, however only notice expected returns. mind elaborating on allocation ?
magika
post May 17 2012, 12:11 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 17 2012, 11:29 AM)
Just note the main concepts - Asset Allocation & Sub-Allocation + reasons shared earlier, absorb what is useful / fits, discard what isn't/doesn't fit (Bruce Lee and the Tao of Jeet Kune Do tongue.gif)

No right/wrong - just a thought  notworthy.gif
Bro, Bruce Lee is dead mah, we belum... doh.gif

Thanks, but I simple mind with brain cell dying more than regenerating. So can look/elaborate at Fixed Income first ?

Added on May 17, 2012, 12:12 pm
QUOTE(DenshaOtoko @ May 17 2012, 12:00 PM)
Hi Wongmunkeong, thanks for the advices. A lot friends of mine suggested me to rent out the rooms so it can support me financially. I welcome this idea, the thing that hold me back is that I am not sure if I can stay together with strangers (tenants). I like my current location as it near to town. Very peaceful here. Do you rent out your house too? Ha..ha.. we are on the same boat here. Cheers!

"Home Alone" smile.gif

It would be good to rent out selectively..

To young single girls.... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by magika: May 17 2012, 12:12 PM
magika
post May 17 2012, 12:34 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 17 2012, 12:18 PM)

BTW, beware of Magika's "rent to SYTs" - my sis rented out to a single woman (NOT SYT though) and this woman picked up my sis' credit card and started buying jewelry from Poh Kong! Not too smart heheh - CCTV in Poh Kong showed it was her.
There goes my inspirations...no pay rent can contra lah.. brows.gif
magika
post May 17 2012, 12:43 PM

2,618 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 17 2012, 12:18 PM)
Er.. elaborate on Fixed Income?
If U looked at the earlier screenshot, my "Fixed Income" sub-asset allocation are
a. Cash equivalent (Cash, Savings A/C, FDs, Pre-payment in Flexi Mortgage A/C, Trading A/C cash, Money Market a/c, etc.)
b. Bonds, Bond funds & EPF

What / how else to elaborate ar? Please guide me - i can't read minds.. yet tongue.gif
Help me out a bit - can bounce your Qs / thoughts?
Yup, saw it, all along has two of the screenshot open quite permanent, one glance take two panadol thats why.

Now going to read back on Bond first. notworthy.gif

Added on May 17, 2012, 12:46 pm
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 17 2012, 12:41 PM)
Not all SYTs are like that lar (ie. stealing credit cards), U can try your luck
However, psychologically, i read that when a man thinks with his OTHER head, he usually takes more risks than usual in any decisions.
Thus, please try to be er.. "cool" or take a cold shower first before doing any financial plans or making decisions that impacts one's financials sweat.gif
No risk No Gain. Like stock market, play safe stay at sideline 1 year two year, no baby I mean returns. Downside No capital left. cry.gif

Added on May 17, 2012, 1:33 pm

Added on May 17, 2012, 1:47 pmBro, wongmunkeong

1. Looking at the screenshot & saw that expected returns for bonds around 5 % - ie EPF rate, maybe can get slightly more.
Isnt it a lot of work for min gains? unsure.gif

2. Level 2 Allocation - Bonds Fund & EPF.
22% does it include EPF savings - quite low or is net worth quite high. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by magika: May 17 2012, 01:47 PM

0.7817sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:54 PM