Personal financial management, V2

imax80
post Nov 28 2010, 01:22 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Nov 28 2010, 12:56 PM)
I'm 27 and been working for 4 years now.

Salary: Over MYR9000 (for the /b/ fans)
On a serious note, I'm now working overseas and drawing about MYR18k (after tax and "EPF"). Bonus is not included and I don't consider claims as an income. Just started working here since Apr 2010.

Savings: MYR100k (MY), MYR44k (overseas)
When I was making MYR2900 in my first job, I would set aside MYR1500 for savings. Now I make myself save MYR10k/mth. Before anyone here start to comment that I have crazy spendings, the COL here is expensive where 1 tiny one-bedroom apartment is setting me back MYR5k/mth not including utility bills.

During my time in Malaysia, I was staying at home with my family.

My bonus will be used for one off spending such as holidays, gadgets, etc.

Debt: Zilch
2nd year into my career, I bought the cheapest car I could find - Proton "Ah Beng" Saga (my name rhymes with Ah Beng and I got the orange color rather than black). It was good in taking me from A to B. Took a 3yr loan which I've completely repaid recently.

Paid off my PTPTN although the interest rate is so low. Bought a 2yo car here for MYR50k (new = MYR100k) by cash, my beloved "Ah Beng" is now with my dad.

Investment: Zilch
This is where I need some advice. I was very focused in climbing the corporate ladder and all my time was devoted to work. I've tried to "invest" once in stock market and it burnt me bad (very bad) because I believed a "reliable" source, 50% was gone within 3 months and now its left 25%.

I'm still very busy at work and I prefer to invest in something that doesn't require constant monitoring. All my money now is in normal savings account  doh.gif

Like Lucifah, I was waiting and waiting and waiting for the property bubble to burst and that's why up until now I don't have a place of my own. Anyway, I'm still waiting. I also plan to use my MYR10k/mth savings here to buy a house here someday.

Other than waiting, I'm quite interested in gold. I was thinking to put about MYR80k into gold.
So what do you guys think? Is waiting for the bubble a good thing? Put my money in gold while I'm waiting? FD perhaps?
There is no such investments that doesn't require constant monitoring except the funds that invested under PNB or Fix Deposit by banks but the return is so low that hardly can beat the inflation.

Investment is an area where hardwork is required in order to be successfull. I suggest you devoted some of your time to learn and buy books on investments like Unit trust,stock market and property books. Busy at work is not an excuse it is all about time management i.e take 15-30 minutes a day just to read about investment knowledge.

This post has been edited by imax80: Nov 28 2010, 01:23 PM
imax80
post Dec 10 2012, 01:45 AM

732 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Dec 9 2012, 10:18 PM)
Hi need some help to increase my passive income...

now drawing ard 15,500/month

Income after deduct tax and epf = 12690.00
Car Loan = paid
Petrol = outstation..almost 0
Rental + Utilities = company paid
Education Loan = 0
Food & Entertainment = 800 - 900
Parent = 1700

Net saving = RM10,000/month

Investment = UT (RM 100,000.00) long term
FD = RM 200,000 short term
shares = ahem, mostly blue chip counter
properties = a few

So any sifu, how to increase more passive money...

Plan to retire before 40..with few million in hand
Thank you.

** pls no pm me on stupid business water, partnership, palm oil, investment, etc..
you are so good already...you should become a mentor to most of us here.

0.0666sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:54 PM