Personal financial management, V2

howszat
post Oct 21 2010, 11:53 AM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(RedShirt @ Oct 20 2010, 02:06 PM)
Like I said, earlier, my expensive lifestyle is totally adjustable.

I only need investment advices, not saving advices.

If you post in this thread, you will keep on getting saving advices, even when that's not what you want. Simply because this is a savings thread.

On the other hand, there isn't a thread on what is the best investment because there isn't one. Something to do with one man's food is another man's poison.

So you have to look through the existing investment threads and find one (or more) to post your next set of questions specific to those threads.
howszat
post Nov 24 2010, 09:32 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Nov 24 2010, 11:17 AM)
1) I'd draw the line at using office phone to make personal phone calls. You can be stingy but you dont have to be unethical.

Assuming we are not talking about toll calls here, ethics does not/should not even come into it. It's probably cheaper than the amount of office-provided coffee/tea/milo/sugar that some people consume.

Most, if not all, larger offices block toll calls by default AFAIK, while they would not even blink an eye on local calls.

howszat
post Jan 24 2011, 01:19 AM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Jan 23 2011, 11:53 PM)
1. Planning to get married by the end of this year. Total budget would be around 25k.

Your other expenses are not unreasonable.

Which leaves this one item - do you really, really need to spend 25k?

It's a matter of balancing what you can afford, or cannot afford, and adjusting accordingly.

howszat
post May 2 2011, 04:34 PM

2,932 posts

> I'm a uni student, graduating in 1.5 years time.
> am expecting to draw Rm 3k-3.5k per month once I start working.

3-3.5k is on the ambitious side, but still possible depending on your grades. And how well you come across in interviews.

> I will be taking over a critical illness & hospitalisation insurance policy

Take up whatever insurance you need - just make sure it's only insurance you need and not some other investment-linked insurance nonsense you don't really need.

> While I am working, I hope to save up for the following :
> - to start a business in 15 years time.
> - for retirement.
> - emergency fund.
> - future children's education.

Holy cow! You have your future all mapped out! Got a husband organized yet? smile.gif But why 15 years? You can start sooner if you have the aptitude for it.

> 1. Is there a place where I can put my money such that I get a higher interest rate than FD? I am considering putting in foreign FD but I don't have enough to do so right now.

Plenty of other places where you can get much higher than FD. It also requires you to know what you are doing.

> 2. Is there any way I can make my money grow? I believe I should have a substantial amount of savings with my salary. Other than property, what else can I invest in? I'm more comfortable investing in something tangible like property rather than something with a very high risk like the stock market.

Stock market is not high risk if you know what you are doing. Property is a waste of time if you don't know what you are doing.

But really, your first priority is your career in your chosen field, which is where you will get your income from. That is, until you decide you are more knowledgeable in other areas.

howszat
post Jan 4 2012, 09:36 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Jan 4 2012, 05:28 PM)
I'm fresh graduated. Already work for 3months.
And, I didn't see any saving! Help me!
As a fresh graduate, it's great that you are already thinking about savings. Please continue to think about savings, but that is NOT your priority.

Your priority as a graduate, is to spend your energy on how to improve your skills and your value to your current and future employers, and hence your future EARNING capability.

Keep savings in mind as you go along - but that is not your priority.

howszat
post Jan 3 2013, 12:33 AM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Jan 1 2013, 10:21 PM)
Internet: 88
Utilities - RM100 (Electricity + water)
Apartment maintainance fees - RM150 ( I usually paid in advance quarterly coz I hate go every month pay)
Petrol: 150
Phone credit: Digi Prepaid balance RM650+, super long talk time.. I think cannot finish credit, I seldom reload..
Food: 400
Car loan: No (settle) - BLM
House loan : No (settle) - Living in Condo
Education loan: No (settle)- PTPTN

Amazing.

What about the following items?

* Household consumables, washing power/liquid, toothpaste, shampoo, toilet paper etc?
* Household furnishings, chairs, tables, fans, TV, air-conditioner, washing machine, stove, frying-pans, fridge, etc?
* Clothing, shoes etc?
* Insurance for your medical, apartment, car etc?
* Car maintenance, servicing, tyres?
* Computer/s? How do you access the internet?
* Council rates/assessment?
* Misc like gifts, ang-pows when you are invited to weddings, birthdays, etc?
howszat
post Jan 3 2013, 07:53 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Jan 3 2013, 07:42 PM)
Work harder lo...

Work harder/OT etc, yes, that's part of your TOTAL income. But that's not my point.

My point is when you add all those things up, they will TOTAL more than the "I just spend RM800+ a month" you mentioned previously. In other words, your TOTAL expenditure is more than RM800+.

In fact, your TOTAL income would be more than what you mentioned too.

howszat
post Jan 3 2013, 10:39 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Jan 3 2013, 09:12 PM)
Just do not give too many excuse and mention it is impossible to do saving RM2K a month...It is all about discipline..If u think u can u can..

Huh? Who's giving excuses?

I'm talking about basic accounting here, total INCOME minus total EXPENSES = total SAVINGS. If you buy other things, and not include them in RM800+, it is not your total expenses, so that's inaccurate information.

In terms of income, working adults should leave "baby sitting, wash car, walk the dog" to those students who are still in school, and find a "Work smarter, not harder" approach. But hey, if you want to work harder, it's up to each individual.

This post has been edited by howszat: Jan 3 2013, 10:41 PM
howszat
post Jan 3 2013, 10:57 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Jan 3 2013, 10:54 PM)
A lot of ppl tell me work smarter but not harder?

Hehe, smile.gif I'm not the only one?

Happy New Year!

howszat
post Jan 4 2013, 09:32 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(creativ @ Jan 4 2013, 04:47 PM)
Not unless you as a parent educate your kid from young to save, invest and live frugally. Financial literacy is not taught in school

And financial literacy cannot simply be taught by parents or anyone else either.

Some of it is in your genes, and others are in your education. In terms of genes, it doesn't mean everyone will look, think, feel and behave exactly like their parents. In terms of education, it can only go so far. Parents do provide a role model, yes - it helps the kids to have a useful role model. As long as it's not a bad model. But it doesn't mean they will do as you say, or think as you do.

In terms of personal finance and how people juggle between earning and spending, there is a vast range of different mindets out there, regardless of parents.

I'm aware of kids having to financially bail-out their parents. So what does that tell you? Such topics have been also posted in LYN as well.

So no, it's not a simple case of parents teaching kids and the world will be a happier place. It's a lot more complex than that.

Particularly if the parents haven't got a clue when it comes to financial management.

howszat
post Jan 11 2013, 12:55 AM

2,932 posts

This thread is about Personal FINANCIAL (keyword being FINANCIAL) management.

Please don't turn it into "porridge, read bean tong sui, etc".

This thread should be about clever FINANCIAL management tactics, not about starvation and under-nourishment tactics.
howszat
post Jan 21 2013, 09:33 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 21 2013, 07:09 PM)
If U execute your SG adventure WITHOUT a planned entry/exits, U may be making more $ but for ?
Until ?
Then ?

If U DONT execute your SG adventure, U still should have a plan/map to where U want to be in 3, 5, 10, 20, etc years.
"Start with the end in mind" and work backwards, just like a project or multiple mini projects with critical paths and flexible paths

Why would a person need an SG exit plan for?

The entry objective is quite simple - to make more money until your objectives changes if you have no better objectives in the meantime. When you are young/younger, you will never know exactly what you want until you try it out. Then you learn for your mistakes/experiences, and quite likely change your outlook/objectives in life. If it doesn't work out, or when your objective(s) changes, you try something else.

In a perfect world, everyone should know what their objectives in "3, 5, 10, 20, etc years" should be. But how many people have that perfect foresight?

howszat
post Jan 21 2013, 10:08 PM

2,932 posts

>. Well, perhaps with objectives or reasons clear & focused, one would do better than just exchanging time/life/risk to chase after MORE $? Don't U think so?

No problems, I agree, it is "better", if you know what you want in 20 years. But that's not my point.

>. Oh well, of course if U insist that objectives/goals/reasons must be set in stone before planning ahead or knowing why we want the more $ for, then U live in a more perfect world than I heheh.

No, I did not say that. In fact, the opposite - most people don't know exactly what they want in say, 20 years. You may know you want $ now, but you may change into a monk in 20 years time. So you cannot set any realistic goals for 20 years ahead, except maybe very generic ones like I want to be rich, famous and completely happy, but then want something completely different in future. So it may be more relevant to look at say the next 1, 2 or 5 years and decide from there. If you want to try out Singapore $$$ in the next few years, and be a monk in 20 years time, why not? You would never know until you try it out.

>> To me, as long as i know where I want to be, I can take many different routes to the same/similar destination. As I travel, I can choose to vary or change th destination mar, right? But if I travel without some sort of destination or objective, I may be just drifting where the tides & currents take me. Can also ar but where I eventually arrive, I may not like lor

Agree. A plan is always useful. If you know what you want, great. But if not, go and earn that SG $ until you have a better plan rather than not doing anything. All I'm saying is you don't necessarily need a 20-year masterplan before making your next move.

howszat
post Jan 24 2013, 12:02 AM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Jan 23 2013, 11:08 PM)
then we one day talking how long do u use the soap (sabun). I tell them I use till very thin, then I throw away already...they laugh at me...They tell me the secret to become millionaire is u stick the thin soap onto a new soap and continue using till the end no waste....HAhahahaa......No wonder they so rich...they really practise a simple life yet when look at their lifestyle they really pay attention to details on waste management...

Secret to becoming a millionaire is "stick the thin soap onto a new soap"?

That thin soap is a tiny piece of a one whole complete soap, which costs say (very expensive) RM5. So the small thin soap costs about say 1/20th of RM5, which is 0.25sen.

Let's say you use 1 complete soap every 10 days, so you save 0.25sen very 10 days. Equals to savings of Rm9.125 every year. You save that for 100 years, that would total a savings of Rm912.

So from an arithmetic point of view, saving RM912 over a lifetime is NOT GOING to make you a millionaire. You would probably die before 100 years, so that saving is going to be less.

Maybe there is a problem with my arithmetic. If so, please let me know.

howszat
post Jan 24 2013, 12:39 AM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Jan 24 2013, 12:14 AM)
Do u notice I put the word "practise a simple life yet when look at their lifestyle they really pay attention to details on waste management"?

They just give a simple example to test ppl IQ, live simple, pay attention to details on management, for example if you own a business, stationary etc no matter how small it is you are still forking out money to buy them. If u can pay attention and managed them well you can be successful and business/company can earn more profit.  tongue.gif

every cents count is the moral of that story. smile.gif

Did you notice how I pointed out your example to "becoming a millionaire" doesn't add up.?

Who are they trying to "test"? Before I pointed out why it doesn't make arithmetic sense to give a "soap" example, you sounded like you fell for it, hook, line, and sinker.

Did they fool you? If not, why are you giving an example that makes no sense?

Who are you trying to fool?

Whose IQ are you trying to test by posting the example?

By the way, can you give real Financial examples that make sense? This is a Financial tread - if you want to post Morals, go post somewhere else.

This post has been edited by howszat: Jan 24 2013, 12:41 AM
howszat
post Jan 24 2013, 02:20 AM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Jan 24 2013, 02:05 AM)
No need get mad bro  smile.gif . This is financial management, I do give real examples what millionaire think differently. To understand their success and mentality.

Actually this link below come out sometime in Sep 2012. The one I discuss with those milionaires to understand their thinking was sometime in year 2000 like the example of the soap. Indirectly the millionaires are sharing with me his lifestyle and how he success.

Just sharing

No, not mad smile.gif

But many questions. Did you notice all the question marks? Just because millionaires share their lifestyle, it doesn't mean all their tips will make you rich.

Being able to discern which are applicable, and which are not applicable is far more important I believe, but it looks like you are not that fussy about that distinction.

PS: Just saw this from your link,
17. Average people focus on saving. Rich people focus on earning.
Wouldn't that suggest you should not focus on saving that small piece of soap?

This post has been edited by howszat: Jan 24 2013, 02:30 AM
howszat
post Jan 24 2013, 12:26 PM

2,932 posts

No, it's not about the soap.

For many millionaires, their savings habit comes naturally and they tend to apply it across the board, for all items big or small or tiny. It's a natural part of their mentality, their thinking, their instincts, as someone already mentioned.

But for others, savings does not occur that naturally - it's something they have to make an effort to focus on. In such cases, it is better to focus on and start with the things that make can actually make a difference as opposed to things that are insignificant. Drinking kopi at a kopitiam as opposed to drinking at Starbucks is going to be far more significant in savings. One cup's savings will probably equate to many months, if not years of saving that tiny little piece of soap. Even more so if you drink regularly.

So, no, it's not just about the soap.
howszat
post Jan 29 2013, 09:23 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(cynthusc @ Jan 29 2013, 04:12 PM)
I think it is important to understand that money is a tool.  You use it to achieve the goals you want in life.  The more you consume, the more money you need.  Wants are unlimited. When you have a Honda, you want a BMW, when you have a BMW you may want a Ferrari or a Lamborghini so on and so forth. The most important thing is: Does it make you happy? If material goods are the only things that people strive to achieve and acquire, I really do pity them.

Why do you need to pity anyone?

All it means is they have different outlook and objectives in life. What is more important to understand is one man's food is another man's poison - your personal understanding of money is not relevant. A Ferrari may not make you happy, but it will for someone else.

In fact, they might pity you for being under-achieving and un-ambitious. So how can one decide who's wrong and who's right?
howszat
post Jan 30 2013, 10:43 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(cynthusc @ Jan 30 2013, 01:09 PM)
Did I hit a nerve? LOL

No, no nerves.

Just wondering exactly why there is any pity involved? Difference of opinion, outlook and objectives in life, yes.

"Pity - The feeling of sorrow and compassion caused by the suffering and misfortunes of others." (from Google).

Pity means your position and view-point is superior, and you are more fortunate than other people. What makes your view-point correct, and hence more fortunate than other people? What makes you think they are suffering and encountering misfortunes?

Just because you don't understand their outlook and objectives in life, it doesn't make them pity-full. It just makes you ignorant.

howszat
post Jan 31 2013, 08:16 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(cynthusc @ Jan 31 2013, 11:40 AM)
Wow bringing out the dictionary huh? Are you sure it didn't hit a nerve? C'mon...admit it. You are one of those people who need 'brand' names to bolster their ego or a flashy car to act as an extension of your nether regions. Pity the fool. Oops.

Looks like all you are capable of is Kopitiam-style posts. This is the Financial, Business and Investment forum, thanks.

0.0247sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:49 PM