Personal financial management, V2

beebee
post Nov 19 2010, 12:16 PM

3,091 posts

guys, i wanna ask something regarding the 6 months emergency fund, normally where would you guys keep the funds?

i have it spread in FD, ASW, Sukuk, ASM, izzit safe? or should i just put it all in FD only? still need to split it up and put into different bank FD?

beebee
post Feb 15 2012, 09:24 AM

3,091 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Feb 15 2012, 09:08 AM)
Thanks for helping  notworthy.gif
I didn't know you can count ma  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

If  :"pay AS MUCH AS U CAN every month" is not an option.
So guys , meaning if I pay monthly 378.24 to my credit , the interest is lesser than the loan ?
if you really need it try to look for those 0% balance transfer. and commit yourself to settle the balance transfer and cut your old CC to prevent from accumulating debt again
beebee
post Oct 1 2012, 01:42 PM

3,091 posts

hi all sifu's,

need some opinion here, currently having a property loan balance of around RM120k remaining 16 years @ 4% interest fixed, epf account 2 have around RM50k available, should i use the RM50k to reduce the loan or keep the cash in epf for the average 5% interest?
beebee
post Oct 1 2012, 03:15 PM

3,091 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 1 2012, 01:49 PM)
Logic-wise: 5%pa to cover 4%pa doesn't make sense
VS
More than logic-wise: If U are capable as an investor OR business person, taking out MONTHLY or YEARLY (different yar, please check KWSP) for cash flow purposes is worthwhile.

Just a thought  notworthy.gif
thanks sifu wong,

well actually my aim was to quickly finish the existing loan and jump to another property, so do you think it is worth to do like this?
beebee
post Oct 1 2012, 11:16 PM

3,091 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 1 2012, 04:24 PM)
Bro - no sifu, just a working stiff, leveraging on "know the rules, use the rules"  notworthy.gif

Hmm.. if that's your goal, should be good and clear - just take out and paydown cow cow.

Other thoughts IF U have a flexi mortgage a/c:
a. Use monthly withdrawals for EPF A/C2 - not lump sum yearly. These goes to your bank a/c, NOT mortgage a/c like the yearly withdrawals.
b. These then may be used to pay for your other properties/investments
OR
pay down your mortgage (knocking down capital, thus interest charges),
WHILE awaiting investment opportunities. Re-draw (flexi mortgage mar) when the opportunities arise.

Just a thought  notworthy.gif
thanks sifu whistling.gif for the advice, will do further research notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
beebee
post Oct 5 2012, 01:57 PM

3,091 posts

QUOTE(silentemotion @ Oct 5 2012, 10:55 AM)
Can i know wats ur purpose of jumping to another prop? For investment purpose? Fliiping or collect rental basis?
it is to collect rental and flipping if the time/price is right smile.gif
beebee
post Oct 5 2012, 03:20 PM

3,091 posts

QUOTE(silentemotion @ Oct 5 2012, 02:13 PM)
I think withdraw the epf to pay the current house monthly is a good choice. Then collect rental from another prop. IF the rental is enuf to cover the monthly instalment and yet provide some cash flow, that would be the best.
i was thinking abount withdrawing the epf to pay for the next house as downpayment and use the rental to cover the monthly installment

0.0590sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:35 AM