Personal financial management, V2

GymBoi
post Jun 14 2012, 03:39 PM

1,401 posts

Hi everyone ... 1st time in this subforum smile.gif Hope to get some guidance from all sifu here (especially sifu wong?) First of all, quick intro ... I'm 27 this year .. working experience 3 years but until 2 months ago .. 0 savings cry.gif Why 0 ... no need say la hehe .. juz wanna say i regret and I want to change now .. Also I don't meant to be spoon feed here sad.gif I tried to google around for financial planning and stuff but mostly also US based? Haha .. If anyone got any readings to share it's much appreciated smile.gif So let's get into some quick stats:

Working experience : 3 years
Gf/Family : Nil
Income (before EPF) : 5k .. after .. should be about 4.4k?

My monthly commitment/spendings (hope dun kena whack haha) - Everyone welcome to comment but this is pretty much fixed for some personal reasons smile.gif Let's just say my parents are getting old and it's just a way for me to repay them back.
Car : 600
Parents : 800
Unifi : 149
House phone : ~50
Water : ~20
House electric : ~350 rclxub.gif
Handphone : ~90
Petrol : ~250
Tol : ~100
Lunch @ Work : ~200
Total about = 2.6k

So I'm left with 1.8k to control. Let's face it, I can't save 1.8k haha ... I'm a human too .. this is where I'm open up for suggestions and comments .. but this is my current plan:
Occasional dinner : 200 (I like to bring my parents for some good food every now and then)
Personal : 600 ( supper ke, drink with frens ... buy something i like for myself ) - Is this too much? If too much I'll try to control more. Oh I guess this includes like car maintenance, personal insurance and things coz my insurance I pay by year .. 1 month also 100 something =/

Summary .. savings 1k (~20%). Is this fine or not? For me ... percentage wise sounds ok but amount wise very shakehead.gif 1 month save 1k save until die also cannot buy house lol. My colleagues are all quiet uncle so everyday hear them say house expensive family expensive I'm very worried. When only got courage to get gf and get married sad.gif I need to start to change right now. Any suggestion is greatly appreciated smile.gif Hope to hear from you guys!
GymBoi
post Jun 14 2012, 05:26 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jun 14 2012, 05:21 PM)
Operation No 1:
put ur 6 months monthly expenses in bank/FD as emergency fund.

Operation No 2:
cut down ur unnecesary expenses. why letrik so high?

Operation No 3:
waht is ur goals, buy house? get married?invest? any others? research/study/plan wisely and act on it.

Operation No 4:
do not buy/invest which is u not understand.

Operation No 5:
repeat above 4 operations.
Hi Sir thanks for your reply !

1) Yes that's my first goal .. 6 months emergency is for in case I loose my job right?

2) Erm like I said before, just to repay my parents. They cannot tahan hot so house air cond on alot heh sweat.gif It's ok I will cut my own expenses ... by the way any comments on 20% savings ?

3) I'd love to invest but 0 idea now which obviously won't act at all .. currently studying gold investment smile.gif Slowly move on to house and marriage

4) Yes for sure ... any recommendation for "risk-free-low-return" investment besides FD ? Or maybe low-risk-low-return ?

This post has been edited by GymBoi: Jun 14 2012, 05:27 PM
GymBoi
post Jun 14 2012, 06:18 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jun 14 2012, 05:44 PM)
Fd is saving not investment.

u can concider BOND FUNDS for low risk-low returns as a beginer.

subcribe to the edge personal money.

suggestion only:

set  for short term and long term goals/plans. for short term u may put in low risk investment. for long term, u can concider high risk, but not nessacary if u low risk taker since u understand reward also low.

do not over commit. it may spoils ur plan.
do not put all the money in one palce. spilt it according ur plan. the lowers for long term and the highest for shor term plan.
u may get increment/bonus every year. so, increase ur asset portfolio/allocation yerly basis.

wahtever is make sure ur health and wealth protected well with insurance.
Opps sorry ... wrong use of word .. well understood that FD is savings and not investment smile.gif

BOND FUNDS right smile.gif Thanks and I'll do my research on this for sure! Later on when I have doubt I'll post here and hope you don't mind giving advice smile.gif

Edge personal money ... is that a magazine ? Sry really n00b haha

I think I learn a new point today smile.gif Thanks for your highlighted advice. Sounds good!

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 14 2012, 05:46 PM)
Hi GymBoi,

i'm no sifu (though surname also Wong tongue.gif), thus i hope it's ok for me to bounce some ideas/thoughts with U based on your data.

1. Since "Necessities" are somehow pretty much fixed, we won't touch much there.
Just a Q - $350 for electricity may be a bit high unless it's like a home with 4 people around whole day & airconds blasting at 16 degrees.
U may want to check out energy efficient airconds, refrigerators & water heaters - makes a heck lot of difference
FYI - my 2002/2003 electricity bills were about $160+/-pm with 2 people only, both working thus hardly home.
Now, it's about $60+ to $100+pm - with 4 people, 2 of which are usually home (students) with aircond on
Changes were:
a. airconds and refrigerator with invertor technology (now cheap compared to 2002/2003)
b. ceiling heat insulation (rock wool between ceiling and roof)
c. tinted windows that reflects sunlight with just a strip or two of un-tinted area to see outside and let some light in.
Note - curtains help but traps heat INSIDE the house, whereas tinted windows reflects/helps block heat from entering. My current home has no curtains heheh

2. "Feel good" $700-ish ($200+$600 minus $100-ish for insurance and stuff) right?
Thus:
a. $700 is about $0.7K/$4.4K = 15.91%, is a bit high but not a big issue
b. Necessities and some "feel good" (parents' expenses + usage) ($2.6K+$0.1K insurance?) / $4.4K = 61.36%
c. Total around 78%, leaving about 27% for future spending + savings & investing, still healthy.
d. U mentioned savings only about $1K, about 22.72% for savings & investing - not bad, like U already know

e. What scares U or keeps U up at night is not debts or having enough to eat BUT buying a house right?
bro, may be another point of view will help yar
+U are only 27, your income will increase drastically over time as U add value, gain experiences & skills AND add more value
+Once your emergency savings has hit 3 to 6 months expenses or more, U will be quite well "protected" from Murphy (as in Murphy's law)
+U are now debt free + can save 20%+ of your net income. Look around, how many 20 yr olds, heck 30 yr olds, can say this?
+Investments, like a snowball, starts small & insignificant, but with persistence & time, grows to a critical mass and the returns are > 3x your net salary's savings & investing
+Which, by that time, no house so what - can buy when market crashes or when opportunity avails itself, coz U have enough assets generating more and more
+House which is used as a home, is NOT an investment. It's a "personal" thing - grow roots/priority VS logic, unless bought after a crash.
It's use cost U $ - mortgage, repairs, maintenance, mortgage, etc.
Please don't believe me, ask your friends - especially those who bought "the biggest home" they can.
After 3+ years, ask them how much their home is actually costing them in terms of % of their net income pa (mortgage +cukai tanah & pintu +repairs & maintenance).
+When/If U get married, cost of living for 2 is close to 1.5 unless U start producing babies lar hehe.

all the above
VS
-Having a house and having hell trying to make ends meet + no savings & investments?

If I were U, i'd focus on $ mgt (thus good balance of usage Vs savings & investments), and then mug up and plan out your holistic investing.
Just like a good business - keep costs low/in control AND build future revenue by investing in good products (investment assets) & R&D (learning)

Just some ideas / PoV to put a different spin on things yar, no right/wrong
Hi Mr. Wong (if you prefer like this hehe). In the time you took the reply, I've already browsed back some pages and also your website. Understood you're Mr. nice guy who wants to share what you hoped others would share with you when you're in your 20's smile.gif I absolutely appriciate your advice here.

1. Necessities
You're right, i'm sort of blasting airconds at 16 lol. I've heard of the inverter stuff but .. WOW from your example of 160 for 2 to 100 for 4 is kind of hardcore. I really didn't know it's that big of a difference. I heard that the "maintenance" for these electric saving hardwares doesn't come cheap too. Any experiences? For example the "gas refills" and things cost alot more too. Another question is, did you just decided to "throw away" a well working "old-fashioned" airconds that time or it was coincidently you need a change so you bought a new 1? Reason I'm asking is if it's REALLY THAT WORTH to even throw away my well working aircond now (in fact 1 of them juz bought 4 months ago?) and change all the air conds to the electric saving kind.

2. Savings
Alright good to know that 20% is not too bad.
e. Yes you are right. In fact I consider myself as "above average" as of TODAY RIGHT NOW. I can eat good food with my parents every 2 weeks. I consider that not bad. BUT i'm planning for future. I'm already regret that I've wasted my 3 years life wasting money on unnecessary things. I'm hoping for an above average life in the future smile.gif
+ Question on the "Murphy's Law". 3-6 months EXPENSES or INCOME? I heard it was income to prevent surprises incase you get fired right? If it's expenses then seems not too bad. I guess I'll go for 6 months expenses / 3 months salary so should be around that figure ? Both come out to about 15k. So If I save 1k per month, I need a little over 1 year to achieve this. That means 28 years old already =/ (about time to get married? =.= this is what I'm worried about)
+ Haha the main point is debt free "NOW". I see alot of "Scary" expenses coming for example, house, "marry money" (lol?), family, child ... ooo i get scared everytime i hear all this haha.
+ Investments, hmm agreed which is why I choose the safe path first. Small snowball better than a big time bomb IMHO smile.gif

I'd like to ask you, any suggestion for a beginner investor on "low-risk-low-return". Does bond funds sounds good to you? Or maybe if I may ask, what's your suggestion on my step 2 after i get my 6 months expenses in FD ?
GymBoi
post Jun 14 2012, 09:46 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 14 2012, 07:03 PM)
eh, surname Wong, name Mun Keong - don't Mister mister lar, i tend to look around expecting to see my dear old daddy when i hear ppl calling Mr. Wong tongue.gif
MK or Mun Keong or wongmunkeong (handle) is good.

1. Airconds and inverter stuff
I bought mine when i moved house.
If yours are new, perhaps it would not make sense to dump them.
What can be done now?
er.. temperature control via sunshade (ie. "onnings" and sun-reflective tints) + insulation (ceiling and/or roof just beneath them tiles). Then perhaps 20 to 23 celcius will be cold enough for your parents/U.
FYI - i'm a heat hater yet with the aircond at about 24 celcius (after room cooled down), it's a bit chilly that i've to use a comforter to cover while zzz hehe. That's in my place lar with ceiling insulation (rock wool) + sunshaded windows + reflective tinted windows.
Long term = lower cost as rock wool, "onnings" and reflective tints dont use electricity or move, thus very low or 0 maintenance/repair cost for a long while (mine's at least 5 years+ now)

As for the "expensive" gas, i think this is a common "suburban myth".
An aircond is engineered and designed NOT to leak gas. Gas or refrigerant is not "used up" like petrol in a car leh.
Thus, there should not be any need for "gas refills" UNLESS there are leaks - either during installation or accidents/wear/tear.

2. Savings
It's always XX months' AVERAGE EXPENSES
eg. if U spend say $96K a year, your average expenses would be $8K per month.
Thus to be buffered from Murphy and his laws, should have at least $24K around in FD, Flexi mortgage (prepayments) and perhaps some in bond funds if have more than 3 months' average expenses built up.
Why not Salary of xx months? Murphy doesn't care how much U earn, it's how much outgoing U need to buffer tongue.gif

3. Future
a. Home
Rent first or live with parents. I'm unsure what's with the obsession of "moving out" with the new generation, especially when we still want to or have to care for our elderly parents. Just a PoV yar. Just to share - i bought my first home at 31, FORCED to buy coz my Sis booked it and wanted to "sell" me her portion of our parents house, which was HUGE (those days lar). Thus, i bought her booked house and sold her my portion of parents' house heheh.

b. Marriage
If one can't afford to marry Woman A, perhaps Woman A is "lebih" (ie. high maintenance and/or asking for too much) OR one is not ready yet to take up the responsibility of caring for another.
Personally, i think that as a responsible man, one should afford to pay for one's marriage, not rely on parents
AND if the woman or woman's family want this/that extravaganza (compared to both your earning/savings capacity) Vs the actual RM10 or RM20 to get married... <claps hand> NEXT CANDIDATE!  laugh.gif
A good partnership (yup marriage is a partnership) should enrich BOTH parties, share goals/visions etc. may not be same methods but similar values make it much easier.

c. Babies...
er.. cost wise, operational cost per month is about $1K until primary school then it drops a bit UNLESS U intend to send for private / international school.. eeek!

d. Bottom line "Future"
It's up to U to control. Why are U in a hurry to marry? "Accident" ke? tongue.gif
There's no such thing as "age to marry" unless U are a woman and WANT to have biological kids - and even then, financially successful women don't even need to marry to have biological kids  brows.gif

Dont jump in when not ready lar. Build up your ammo, assets, knowledge, etc.
If your woman knows what U are doing, if she doesn't love U even more and/or works with U to build a future... <claps hand> NEXT CANDIDATE!
Rushing in unprepared or semi is crazy at best and suicidal at worst.
At least U worry only now, which is good - Worry, plan to solve, execute
IF U are IN IT, not only worry leh - can bleed very badly too  sweat.gif

------------------
Investments
After your 3 mths to 6 mths expenses buffered?
I'd suggest U keep accumulating ammo in your FD, cash and bond funds
WHILE
learning about Asset Allocation (thus all the different investment assets/vehicles like stocks, bonds, properties, REITs (a type of stock) and their related items like equity funds & bond funds
THEN
plan out an asset allocation
+ what to invest in to make up your each asset class (PBBank, DLady, BSDREIT, TWRREIT, STAREIT, Equity Funds, Bond Funds)
& how to invest (value, trend, value cost averaging, dollar cost averaging, a combination, et.c)
& how to finance them (savings planning + EPF planning for A/C1 and A/C2 to take out + leveraging if wanted though becareful)

er.. in reality (mine lar, dunno about yours and others), there's no such thing as a "safe" investment
Even FD, if U think of it as investment, isn't "100% safe" - only up to $250K (pls correct me if i'm outdated) is insured per person per bank.
In addition, FD give how much %pa VS real inflation rate %pa?
eg. Chicken rice / char keuy tiao in 2010 size how big & cost how much VS now?

Thus, IMHO, Asset Allocation as a basic overarching control structure is best - balancing liquidity, fluctuations, capital growth & dividends.
Simple example that i am personally using:
1/3 in Fixed income instruments which gets % like FD/Flexi Mortgage, EPF, Bond funds
1/3 in Biz equities like "normal" stocks, "normal" equity funds, own small biz
1/3 in Real Estate related equities like shop lots, houses/apartments, offices, plantations, REITs in similar sub-asset classes
Note:
a. All these % (the 1/3) are excluding my emergency buffer.
b. I don't strictly keep my asset classes to 33.33% - i let it drift/run up to a difference of 25% or so before rebalancing / correcting the run/drift.
eg.  min 24%+/-  max 41%+/-
c. Thus, even though i stock / REITs pick and use programmatic investing via value averaging + DCA, the above Asset Allocation helps corrects my course structurally.
ie. i'm also a worker and a crazy saver (for now until i hit a point when my investment returns pa are 2 time more than my net salary+bonus savings & investing pa), thus at times, especially my $ in EPF & Flexi Mortgage is waaay too much as a % vs other asset classes, i'm triggered to "force buy" some equities.

Just some thoughts, no right / wrong yar  notworthy.gif
Ok MK hehe ...

1. Airconds.
- Ok guess i'll skip the new aircond stuff.

2. Savings
- Ok so it's not about income ... it's about expenses .. got it

3. Future
a. Home
OH TRUST ME. You have no idea how much i'd LOVE to stay with my parents lol. The place i'm in now is pretty big and convinient right in the middle of PJ lol. But like you said the "new generation", damn ... I'm afraid if i tell out that I plan to stay with my parents, no girls will even DATE ME lol ... if you got any amoi who don't mind staying with in laws around age 27 can intro me ? lol ...

b. Marriage
I totally get what you mean but, I don't know la ... KL these days, can we still get those type of mentality ? Sometimes I even think of going to places like Ipoh or you know .. more "Traditional" place to find gf ... really affraid of KL life ...

c. Babies ..
Wow this is new info to me ... thanks! So this is based on your personal experience? From born till primary is about 1k per month and after that will DROP ? Ok this is surprising hehe .. I thought it will keep adding and adding. Well for me primary and high school normal is ok. But I'd like to get my kids to a good college and if possible send them to overseas. I myself graduate from overseas and I'm very thankful and think that it helps alot as a teenager. But must make sure my kids is really go there study and not go overseas to screw around la haha.

d. Future ..
Just curious and plan early la .. hahaha choi choi choi ... i dun even have a gf leh ... 27 still virgin leh how =.= u say scared onot lolz ... yea no right or wrong about "age to marry" but the so called "guideline" is around 30 ma ..

Right .. guess i'm juz stresing myself too much coz I mingle around with uncle everytime in the office lol .. you reckon for me .. as this age .. NO SAVINGS is fine ? =.= Or rather .. starting now it's not too late ? I mean till the end i'm actually still very regret that I've wasted 3 years worth of so called "Savings".

Investments
Wow I guess the stuff below here is kinda too advanced for me yeah? Haha .. Ok I guess i'm going to stick with the 6 month stuff and learn about the Asset Allocation .. rest assured I'm going to save what you wrote for future reference wink.gif

Again thanks alot for your help MK and also kparam77 .... I'm going for more readings and be back if I have any more doubts hehe .. oh yea about kparam77's suggestion .. anyone has idea what he meant by "subcribe to the edge personal money" ?
GymBoi
post Jun 14 2012, 10:17 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 14 2012, 10:02 PM)
Personal Money is a monthly published magazine. U can buy a copy @ Popular Bookstore to test water & if U find it good, subscribe. It's ok lar as one of the better ways to spend $10+/-, more value to me than a cup of Starbucks tongue.gif
Thanks again smile.gif
GymBoi
post Jun 15 2012, 10:02 AM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Jun 15 2012, 04:31 AM)
Hello GymBoi, what industry are you working? I am interest on your secrets on how you attain RM5k salary after 3years. I am migrant worker from another state. My salary very low only RM2k. Have to pay rent. sad.gif
Hi there ... I'm in automation field smile.gif Previously studied mechatronics ... secret ? Nothing much really .. just give it your best at work, hopefully your boss see's it and that's all ! My advice if you're not happy with your increment, don't just sit quiet and rant in heart or lyn lol .. it's not going to help .. write an official letter AND state your capability and how you helped the company grow and all .. this is what I did smile.gif I get 2 increment per year lol .. I was never satisfied with my increment ... just want to say especially if you're working with china man company and even if you're genius .. they won't give u 10k lol ... they juz act dumb .. if you keep quiet then it's your lost .. but may I ask your experience ? 3 years too ? Just to let you know that I start off with 2k too smile.gif

Added on June 15, 2012, 11:51 am
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 14 2012, 10:02 PM)
Personal Money is a monthly published magazine. U can buy a copy @ Popular Bookstore to test water & if U find it good, subscribe. It's ok lar as one of the better ways to spend $10+/-, more value to me than a cup of Starbucks tongue.gif
Hi MK,

I've read previous post here and particularly liked a post you did on Asset Allocation similar to managing a football team. Amazingly meaningful. smile.gif On the same post you also taked about Financial Freedom.

I kinda understand but if you don't mind, I want to reconfirm by asking you a question. You said financial freedom means having assets that can generate $ to cover expenses. Practically means you don't have to work anymore? So for example if I'm a guy that has never been in here nor did any research. I make 10k per month, and I even have say 500k savings but ALL in FD. My monthly commitment for example is 5k. In this example, i'm NOT considered in the financial freedom right? Coz even I have damn alot of money but it doesn't generate itself and if I don't work then I will die 1 day? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by GymBoi: Jun 15 2012, 11:51 AM
GymBoi
post Jun 21 2012, 10:55 AM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 21 2012, 09:51 AM)
My apologies GymBoi - didn't see the "added" until now doh.gif

Clarifications on my view of Financial Freedom
Enough Assets
generating enough $
to cover or more than cover expenses

Reducing the above to simple maths: $ generated by Assets pa >= Expenses pa

Yup, when reached, working for $ will not be a driving factor.
Working out of love and passion becomes the driving factor.

In your example of
FD: $500K, say attracting 4%pa (that's $20K pa generated)
Monthly expenses: $5Kpm, thus $60K pa
Thus, $20K < $60K, thus still not financially free

Yup, thou art right - even if U have donkey lots of $, IF YOUR EXPENSES IS DONKEY HIGH, U still won't be financially free.
Too many people are just focused on increasing income/returns, while ignoring expenses/cost % which rise in tandem OR FASTER than the rise of income/returns %
Thus, i stupidly advocate 2 prong attack - invest + control expenses/costs. Logical mar

BTW, if one has say $3M in just FD
generating $120K pa
and annual expenses "only" $100K pa, reinvest $20K pa to beat/keep up with inflation
PUN DAH CUKUP, needn't tinker with Asset Allocation / etc. if one doesn't intend to grow it further.
Me - i'm a bit stupid, i want to leave something behind for my family & charities  sweat.gif

No right/wrong yar, just personal views & thoughts  notworthy.gif
Oh no worries smile.gif You must be a busy man ... i'll just wait patiently haha ... Anyway 1 more thing to add .. this financial free is just like a 'goal-of-life' right but once you reach it , you'd probably still need to work right? Coz investment may also fail? For example, stocks may fall or house price drop or whatever ... unless like you said 3M in FD then it's probably REALLY FINANCIALLY FREE ...
GymBoi
post Aug 15 2012, 12:47 AM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(sammwitwicky @ Aug 15 2012, 12:29 AM)
hi cynthusc...me got question...where do you get this idea ( 'My advise to you would be to first start a savings plan by putting away an emergency fund (about 6 months salary) to cope with any emergencies you might have' ) meaning just puttin 100% our salary into the bank and how are we gonna survive....

*my apologies asking you dumb question since i dont have financial knowledge...hope you can answer  notworthy.gif
I'm not sure where you read about putting 100% salary into the bank ... the most basic of financial planning is always the emergency fund ... how many is up to u .... 6 months salary is kinda hardcore although it's good to have ... some say have 3-6 months of EXPENSES is good enough ... by the way emergency fund does not mean your iphone rosak suddenly need new phone or car breakdown or what ... emergency fund is used when say *touch wood* anything happen then you can't work ... tat time if u no savings ppl really going to ask u "how u going to survive" ..

So for simplicity sake ... if you save 10% per month ( 90% is your expenses ) ... then you need to have about 270% - 540% of your income ...which means u need about 2 - 4 years to build your emergency fund smile.gif No1 ask u to save 100% of ur salary fren ...

Btw I'm also a newbie in financial planning smile.gif If I'm wrong pls correct me too .. but I think this is basic ...

edit: give another example if you're very discipline .. save 50% of your nett income .. then you need to have about 150% - 300% emergency funds ... means in 3 to 6 months time you already have your emergency fund smile.gif So saving hard is the key .... now that I learn about all this .. I feel stupid looking back at my Altis,my smartphones, my dslr, etc .... should have just settled with a proton ....

This post has been edited by GymBoi: Aug 15 2012, 12:50 AM
GymBoi
post Aug 15 2012, 09:49 AM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Aug 15 2012, 09:38 AM)
Wow. So I grad 25 years old- have ptptn loan. 4 years to save for emergency fund. Already 29. I also need to save for wedding fund- no girl want to marry guy with no money. Add 1 more year 30. Then we save for house deposit 20k+7k fee. This 1 need 2 more year. 32 years old. After that kids come in, taking about 1k/mth. 34 years old. By this time new car needed (old one given by parents)- need to save deposit. PTPTN by now still have a while to pay for. Around age 40+ need to save for kids tertiary education. The boss man give me increment a few hundred a year only.

When do I start saving for investment then? Is the conclusion I need to join BN to get the financial freedom I want?  icon_question.gif
I thought I already gave a good example ... hmm ... what about like this ... can I also say that no girl will want to marry a guy with :

1) No savings
2) Save only 10% monthly
3) Get only few hundred increment a year - No offense but if you're getting few hundred increment a year .. there's definitely something wrong with your boss or you ..

My advice ? Cut down expenses, get a better job smile.gif Ok I know it's easier said than done .. I'm also just starting lol .. but that's the way it is .. think harder about it ... like I said if you can somehow save 50% (Which is know is crazy too) then you only need half year to build your emergency fund ... Again this is also just advice smile.gif You can always get the girl you want and your latest gadgets and Audi A4 and all if you find a way to do it ... but please share your secret too smile.gif I'd like to not save and get everything as well notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by GymBoi: Aug 15 2012, 09:52 AM
GymBoi
post Mar 14 2013, 11:48 AM

1,401 posts

Hmm .. i got something to say hope dun kena bash lol .... I don't know what's the point of putting cash into a box? or keeping excel to keep track of CC spending and all .. UNLESS this dude is really spending for fun ... so dun tell me if money in bank is way more than CC swiped then you can go crazy swiping your card buying LV and things ? haha ..

You know what you're spending on and it's all about self control? For me I'm really thankful for the existence of CC because there was once my car gearbox suddenly break down and I really have no emergency funds ... so if my money in bank is not enuff .. are u saying i shouldn't swipe my CC then ? What will happen to my car then lol ... I still had to do it ... then I call Maybank to convert to 12 months payment then kena charge some interest ... I guess that's better than the interest kena if I don't pay the balance at the end of the month =/

I guess if a person has no self control by itself ... he/she will probably have no heart to keep track of the cash "piggybank" or the spreadsheet haha ... so i guess CC is not ALWAYS bad ... just how you use it ..
GymBoi
post Mar 14 2013, 12:11 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 14 2013, 12:07 PM)
+100 rclxms.gif

If got discipline, no need track at all. If no discipline, track also no use, cos won't follow also laugh.gif

Kesimpulannya - For ppl with no financial discipline, better dun apply CC at all sweat.gif
rclxms.gif i tot i was doing good ... until that car incident .. well I guess CC saved my life haha ... I can't imagine where else I can borrow money from ...
GymBoi
post Mar 14 2013, 01:51 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Mar 14 2013, 12:37 PM)
of course your car situation is different, it's a NEED, not a WANT right? the danger of credit card is that with the insane credit limit, a lot of people will justify a WANT to become a NEED.

e.g. the LV bag that you mentioned, is that a NEED or a WANT? does anyone ever NEED an LV bag?  brows.gif

keeping cash in box, tracking in excel, paying off via online banking are just methods to check spending via credit, not to overspend. everyone will have own methods and thinking and it's good to share out different ideas. i agree with you that if one has discipline, then there is no need to track but honestly speaking, how many of us have bought something we WANT but do not NEED? I can honestly put my hands up high to that question. We are only human.
agreed tongue.gif human just want to pamper themselves once in a while .. but my point is if a person losses control over it .. he/she probably can't keep that cash/spreadsheet well also .... me for example haha ... i tried to have those money tracker app on my phone .. everytime i spend i key in ... but eventually give up also lol ... in the end i juz tell mysel ok control dun simply buy things haha

I think human won't learn until they fall into deep sh!t themselves ... after my car incident ... i'm really really scared ... no matter how hard ... i'm forcing myself to save some emergency fund ... yea i know it's crazy not to have any emergency funds =/ I learnt it the hard way ... when a person drops to deep sh!t .. eventually he will learn how not to simply spend money and the importance of savings haha ... well that's my personal experience smile.gif
GymBoi
post Mar 27 2013, 05:29 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(mars1069 @ Mar 27 2013, 05:24 PM)
u said u r just a tech, but your financial planning & discipline in saving is much better than many high educated & high income ppl who every month end pocket koyak tongue.gif Keep it up Bro!  thumbup.gif
indeed ... earn 1.6k but saving 2k ... can say in current lifestyle ... maybe only 1 in 1000 can do like that ... respect for bro AAAABBBBBBBBBBBB
GymBoi
post Mar 27 2013, 05:37 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(mars1069 @ Mar 27 2013, 05:34 PM)
1.6K shld be his basic pay of full time work, then he is hardworking enuf to work part time for more income, otherwise impossible to save RM2K with 1.6K income  tongue.gif but feel proud of him coz not many ppl can do that  icon_rolleyes.gif
exactly my point ... it's impossible to save 2k while earning 1.6k lol ... "normal" people come back home from work oredi super tired .. where got time for part time and stuff ... he can sacrifice more time and weekend which is good for him thumbup.gif he also posted his photos wat ...those fishes and stuff ... pretty amazing dude
GymBoi
post Mar 27 2013, 11:21 PM

1,401 posts

Yes bro totally agree nothing is impossible but what you're doing is really nearly impossible which is why i respect you lol ...
GymBoi
post Apr 3 2013, 02:01 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 3 2013, 10:37 AM)
Im not kedukut, i chase with my wife with a penny in my pocket only and my love is unlimited.

"When got money and time, i can chase a gal, when i dont hv anything the gal can dumb/ignore me."

When i dating my wife, i told my wife the money i cant spend to her on fancy holiday or gift becoz i need to save and marry her.

I been thru heartbreak, and learn from my mistake. I dont need money and time to buy my wife heart.
I tell honest to my wife im not rich man, my father pass away ,i dont inherit any house from my parent, i bread and butter for my family.
I work hard in my jobs. I dont smoke.I dont go clubbing, I dont fancy car, i dont spend money unnecessary for me and my wife.
The reason she like me becoz im simple and poor man.

I dont need to use money but used my heart with honesty, humble and love to tame a wild horse.

Having a gf like a male jokey riding on a wild female horse with bag of money and time.
The wild horse will jump and shake me out ,  im using my time and my money bag to balance on the wild horse.
Once i lost my money bag and time bag , i will fall down and the wild horse will find another jokey to ride on.

Zoo Keeper taming a Female Lion
When ever the lion roar, the zoo keeper will feed the female Lion with meat day by day.
Once the Zoo Keeper dont have anymore meat; the female Lion will eat the Zoo Keeper heart and run away.
May I know how old are you now? This kind of girl totally extinct from this planet already .. well at least from KL ... nowadays no money no honey ... or the famous ada wang baru ada amoi .. where is your wife from and how old are u guys now ?
GymBoi
post Apr 3 2013, 04:29 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 3 2013, 02:17 PM)
Im 31, i meet my wife from same company. Also part of Personal Financial management topic.

So dating lunch time and after work onli. Save time and and save cost eating at nearby. No petrol, no need fancy restaurant, no fancy gift.
But got buy her flower.
your wife from where ? and your race ? Sry not to be racist but ... chinese KL girls ... really hard to find can juz mamak and handmade cards and stuff ... btw im chinese too ok .. no racist .. just the world as it is today ... any racist remark i will delete this straight away
GymBoi
post Apr 3 2013, 04:38 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 3 2013, 04:35 PM)
I am chinese and I am racist and I agree with your post nod.gif
actually this came to my mind when 1 "girl" opened a thread in /k ... you know it's not always bullsh!t in there ... the "girl" say what's wrong with liking only rich guys? If you're a dad 1 day ... u want your daughter to marry a poor guy and just "be happy" .. or u want her to marry rich person? of coz rich right ? .... perfectly nothing wrong with girls choosing only rich people ... but that just makes us guys sad lol ...Today world ... money = happy ... just face it .. lol ... I know you can have a very happy family with 10 kids and eat home cook rice everyday and watch TV at home ... but what beats the whole family going to have dinner in TONY ROMAS and then movie in GOLD CLASS GSC? Who's more happy now ? lol ... or taking pubic transport to work ... wait for bus .. and the rain ... and everything ... VS a GTR straight from home to work ? Who is happier now ?

This post has been edited by GymBoi: Apr 3 2013, 04:41 PM
GymBoi
post Apr 3 2013, 05:43 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 3 2013, 05:35 PM)
ah.. young padiwan, methinks there is mix up between "comfortable / having choices" VS "happy" in the examples above.
Happy IMHO can be achieved without severe indulgence - like playing with my puppy/dog or playing with my children & seeing them grow smarter/stronger/better.

me - father to a young girl.
my wish for her in this context (boy-girl)?
to be MORE THAN able to take care of herself
BEFORE getting into a serious relationship

reason?
unhappy & incapable woman + unhappy & incapable man = die of implosion/explosion/blames/etc. (like 2 wrongs dont make a right)
happy & capable woman  + unhappy & incapable man = shouldn't happen unless woman likes to take care of strays. never mind, still ok neh
happy & capable woman  + happy & capable man = superb partnership & win-win situation thumbup.gif
happy & capable woman  + no man = still a happy & capable woman that can help herself & contribute to world mar thumbup.gif

just a low-brow's thoughts notworthy.gif
no money how to buy puppy .... ok adopt .. how to feed puppy ... no money how ur kid grow ? how to be smarter and stronger ? tongue.gif

2nd bold is exactly the situation

say u're a girl .... guy A can make u happy with the puppy and everything ... then buy B also can make u happy + he's rich ... the choice is obvious no? Again i'm not generalizing la ... i'm just saying 9/10 KL girls are like this haha ....

This post has been edited by GymBoi: Apr 3 2013, 05:45 PM
GymBoi
post Apr 7 2013, 06:30 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Apr 7 2013, 04:28 PM)
Looking at your expenses, since 2.8K was your take home pay and you manage to save 2K per month, I was wondering how you do it. I know you have listed down everything, but I don't see anything like giving to parents below. So, do you mean your expenses of 800 never included them? Just curious how people with <3K take home pay able to save so much. For me, that kind of expenses is just PAMA fund that I allocated and since I'm working outstation, thus I pay rental. Food wise, we have about the same allocation. I would say that not everyone able to save 2K, in your case a vast 72% of your take home pay due to we have other commitment such as parents. You've been pretty much impressive about savings, but then again, it does not apply to everyone, even people with higher take home pay than you.
For sure we can't compare with people .. I think purpose of this thread is to seek advice on how to improve only ... not to compare ... For me i take home about 4k but can't even save 500 ... and all my "spendings" are like must ... like for family ... home bills ... cars ... insurance .. meals and such .. if you think there's a place for improvement you may post here and let sifu advice ... but if you're like me ... no choice type .. i juz stay around and read good advices smile.gif

0.0722sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:20 AM