Personal financial management, V2

SKY 1809
post Apr 6 2013, 02:06 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Apr 6 2013, 01:55 PM)
Hi guys, first of all I have to say I'm a fresh grad and I've been reading this thread and it's helping me a lot. So thank you guys and keep posting!  thumbup.gif

My question is, recently my car (very old family car passed down from siblings) broke down. Long story short I can't really use it regularly anymore. So will be getting a car soon-ish, question is for the next five years would it be better for me to get a new Viva or a secondhand car?

I've been trying to save for my emergency fund/ buffer so I can start investing as soon as possible so this is a big move for me sad.gif Considered other means of transport but I think buying a car is the only way now, unfortunately.  

Any advice?
Financial Planning cannot be started with no figures given. hmm.gif

Let's go to the basics , save an amount of what if u intend to save for a goal and purpose, and u can spend off the rest.

If u are a frugal type , then u can save more and with comfort ability .

Then u start to prioritize what u need to spend , maybe a car and so on.

Some say getting a new Viva is not much diff from a second hand ......high second hand value plus repair factors and so on

I let others share more on this area..........

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 6 2013, 02:18 PM
SKY 1809
post Apr 6 2013, 02:28 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 6 2013, 02:18 PM)
+100

U give in, give your child marriage home, buy him a grand mattress to make grandchildren for u brows.gif

But, that's no guarantee that he would be grateful and take care of u til u enter the wooden container. sleep.gif
Cover yourself first, if really got A LOT extra then only give a bit.
Easy to say than to put them into practices.........

In KL there are many safety and security problems...........then sometimes u think u have to give way . in order for your children to stay in a safety zone.

A few months ago , one father wanted the child to be independent by taking a taxi back, next thing the father cannot find/locate the child till today.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 6 2013, 02:29 PM
SKY 1809
post Apr 6 2013, 11:57 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 6 2013, 10:04 PM)
That did not happen to me bought the property with my own money. I paid almost 40% downpayment.

You just gotta have to make sure your earning power moves faster than inflation.

I dont save the money in bank account per se, but invest it for good returns. From the returns become my dp.
But you are a Guru, and most of us are just freshies aka new babies , how to compete with u .
SKY 1809
post Apr 7 2013, 12:04 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Apr 6 2013, 11:26 PM)
Hmmmm 3 months seems a bit little though. Maybe a bit more would be safer. Thankfully my parents already got me started on my insurance during uni.

The problematic old car did serve us for very very long, but too bad decides to "die" when it's my turn.  cry.gif Yea looking into some graduate scheme and all that, thanks for the advice!
3 to 6 months are just mere guidance , u can increase it to 30 months if u think it is justifiable to you.

Bottomline, It is your plan and not others. You do not have to make others happy aka live their styles . You have yours .

But getting a good role model is equally good too. Less mistakes made along the way.

Regards

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 7 2013, 12:06 AM
SKY 1809
post Apr 8 2013, 12:49 PM

23,851 posts

Buying a house according to some experts is like renting a house from the bank. 20 to 30 years duration maybe...

Mind u , the bank interest rate is at super low now, but likely to jump in Year 2014 once US economy is improving.

I wonder how many house buyers budget for the big jumps in interest rates later, or rather coming soon.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 8 2013, 12:54 PM
SKY 1809
post Apr 9 2013, 10:02 AM

23,851 posts

wow Indonesians invaded this thread.

Let's welcome them with a big heart.
SKY 1809
post Apr 9 2013, 12:48 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Apr 9 2013, 11:52 AM)
May I know what industry are you in Indon?
I am just salaried worker here.lol
I guess it should be related to Palm Oil Industries hmm.gif

Anway, off topic liao yawn.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 9 2013, 12:49 PM
SKY 1809
post Apr 13 2013, 02:31 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 13 2013, 12:31 PM)
Maybe u do a simulation, see how much can u save IF u have to support ur parents.

I only got my dad left, pocket money alone already RM700. Then household bills, telephone bills, his car service bills...easily RM1,000 a month. In other words, if I don't have to support my dad, I also can save RM2,000 a month like u! laugh.gif
But if your parent did not support you, he could be easily a millionaire now without your bantuan hmm.gif

At least, his investment starts to bear some fruits .......congratulation goes to him.

I mean he is farsighted than many others ........

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 13 2013, 02:37 PM
SKY 1809
post Apr 13 2013, 02:38 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 13 2013, 02:37 PM)
sky gor,

you got children ?
  Sorry off topic.
nod.gif
SKY 1809
post Apr 13 2013, 02:52 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 13 2013, 02:43 PM)
1 child - 1million spend on them until 22 year old.

how many child you hv then how million you hv spend on them already.

Going to bill them back? must hv resit one.
Well, using children as an investment tool is one very old ancient Chinese financial planning method.

But now using this method , likely to get a negative return on the investments.
SKY 1809
post Apr 14 2013, 04:22 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 14 2013, 03:43 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Working hard and smart may not be enough.......in Bolehland

U may have to Vote smart, then you may be able to save some money ( a million or 2 ) on child education funds........

Even saving a couple of few hundred K is worth a smart vote.

Regards.....

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 14 2013, 04:25 PM
SKY 1809
post Apr 24 2013, 12:52 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Apr 23 2013, 10:12 PM)
If you have enough emergency savings, why not just invest it? I also started my investment with few hundreds. It's now don't know how many times compare when I first started, maybe few hundred times more (but then again, I always set aside some money to top up on the investment)
Congratulations and well done. thumbup.gif
SKY 1809
post May 2 2013, 05:04 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 2 2013, 12:34 AM)
Hi guys. Does anyone have any recommendation on how to go about with tracking personal finances (expenses, incomes, etc.)?
For eg., keep track of your investments and its profit/loss, incomes from savings such as FDs, and your misc. expenses.
I'm looking more at a software or excel spreadsheet.
Also, what's your experience for those currently already practising keeping tabs on your portfolios?

There are many Andriod softwares free if u have tablets or phones , later u may see some Andriod Notebooks in the markets.

Windows based , can use Excel or else the software may cost some money to buy , and yet may not 100% what u wanted.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: May 2 2013, 05:08 PM
SKY 1809
post Jun 13 2013, 09:28 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(locno_123 @ Jun 8 2013, 01:36 PM)
Dear Forumer,

I'm 35 years old and I will be losing my job next month due to company down sizing.

My current assets are
1. Cash - 300K (90% on FD)
2. Stock - 50K
3. A house fully paid up recently

Liabilities
1. Car - 12k

My monthly commitment is minimum 5.5K. This is because I'm married with a child and I'm fully taking care both of my aging parents. My wife not working to fully take care of my child.

For the last 1.5 year I have been partnering in a business which generate 4K/month on the average. I work on the business on a part time basis or remotely as I travel alot.

Should I take more risk by investing more money and time in expanding my business or look for another stable job? Current economic outlook is quite grim and don't think I can get my previous pay scale as I've gone through multiple job interviews.

My uncertainties on my future really stresses me out. Anyone can offer some word of advice?
I think it is better to hold on to your cash i.e FD , and learn more about investments before u make any hasty decisions.

In time to come , the markets could be quite short of " cash" , and many doors and opportunities are opened to u.

As the saying goes ,, it is better to be ready for an opportunity to come, then knowing nothing when it comes.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jun 13 2013, 09:28 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0704sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:27 AM