Personal financial management, V2

SUSPink Spider
post Feb 28 2013, 11:12 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Feb 28 2013, 11:02 AM)
We (husband & wife) has not much investment portfolio and these years just saved and accumulated emergency fund of 16 months of our total gross income. All into FD and ASB only.
We have one children, and one to be due end this year.

My question is:

1.) Do i still continue keep saving or shall i start to invest in shares, properties & etc? Do 16 months emergency funds sufficient for rainy days?
IMHO 16 months of GROSS INCOME is more than sufficient, I think 18 months of EXPENSES should be ok. Let your money work harder for u thumbup.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 28 2013, 11:25 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Feb 28 2013, 11:23 AM)
You see these years we only put into FD and ASB already know we are conservative, rite? Recently, we have thought into shares and properties. Had surveyed properties and the price is expensive and seems some sell like hot cakes. All sold out.

We will definitely will not touch the 16months emergency funds, we will newly start to save again for any further investment.
if u are conservative and got not much time to research and monitor (I see u have a kid and another one coming soon), unit trusts should suit u. Talk to a financial planner or a good UT consultant or if u are comfortable investing DIY, u are welcome to visit Fundsupermart.com thread at LYN, we have a number of DIY UT investors here. wink.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 28 2013, 11:38 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 28 2013, 11:33 AM)
IMHO 16 months gross income is a bit overboard for emergency funds, but I see you have kept some in ASB. I would rather keep only 5 months in FD and 1 month in savings account, with the rest in ASB. Investment in ASB is not really considered emergency funds and is more like investment.

Since you quality for ASB, suggest you max up your 200k ASB contribution before you consider other investment. ASB is the best risk adjusted investment out there.
Yea

Think along this line...every month we receive our NET INCOME, and then we pay our EXPENSES and save the excess.

Thus, when planning for emergency funds, it would be better to have in multiples of net income or monthly expenses rather than gross income.

Like myself I put 12 months worth of net income in FDs, thus theoretically I can be out of job for 12 months without affecting my lifestyle. nod.gif

Any excess cash after that 12 months FDs I park in bond funds which yield above FD rates.
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 28 2013, 02:13 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Feb 28 2013, 02:01 PM)
I am the wife, using hubby account. Yea, my hubby is 32, but I am elder than my hubby. Throughout the years, we felt that 6 months buffer not sufficient for emergency especially for family that have children. That's lead to after 6months and continue now till 16months.

This emergency funds is purely capable to support all expenses if both of us jobless for 16months.

We are non bumi, to say that my buffer funds is 90% FD and 10% ASB.

Yea, we have a house loan which currently we stay at, a car with loan. Hubby has company car.

We saved abt 40% monthly nett income.
May I suggest?

12 months x expenses (based on your statement above, would be 60% of net income) in FD or equivalent

Then at least 3 months worth of expenses in bank savings account

Anything extra, invest. Make your money work for u wink.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 28 2013, 02:38 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 28 2013, 02:28 PM)
Hmm ...

If sole breadwinner, but monthly passive income > monthly expenses, then 1 month emergency more than enough?  laugh.gif Or no need to have emergency fund... tongue.gif
Rental house collapse like Highland Tower, how?
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 9 2013, 02:24 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Mar 9 2013, 01:41 PM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif If drive around Klang valley... thumbup.gif
My wife  wub.gif drive Viva. Petrol 1mth less than rm100.
Me also nearby u hmm.gif
Drive to Mont Kiara...RM200-250 a month with 1.3 Myvi cry.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 9 2013, 02:24 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 9 2013, 03:02 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Mar 9 2013, 02:39 PM)
remind me also, tire working with corporate life, everyday like go war zone - throw bom and shield from bom, work like slave for BOSS not the company.

"My company pay me peanut to perform Monkey Show but pay other Monkey eating peanut see my monkey show"

Day night struggle to fix system and clean prblem.

Retire early -get out from monkey show but do the job like Top management - got horse to point to do, while got chances

My financial aim - Ever month aim to save arnd rm1k and never spend on my Bonus.
on the contrary, I save and invest my monthly excess cash, and use bonus to cover "holes". rationale being, monthly cash flows are predictable, whereas bonus is not fixed.

Just swiped card overhaul my dad's car for RM7.5K. my 2012 bonus is officially finished cry.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 9 2013, 03:03 PM

16,872 posts

*delete double post

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 9 2013, 03:03 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 9 2013, 03:42 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Mar 9 2013, 03:37 PM)
so fast when you got it ? Mine this coming march ? planing to Sai Lang some equity stock and 30% to bond fund/FD.
chinaman company, bonus pay before CNY
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 10 2013, 02:43 PM

16,872 posts

The only way u can "cheat" EPF money legitimately is by buying a house with EPF money and then selling it. But Property Gains Tax is there, don't forget icon_idea.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 10 2013, 03:42 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 10 2013, 03:34 PM)
Another "cheat" for A/C1 = CIMBC25, CIMBA40 and other foreign ETFs via "self-directed" investments  brows.gif
But u cannot take the money out, withdrawals go back to EPF doh.gif

We were talking about taking cash money out
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 11 2013, 10:33 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Mar 11 2013, 10:17 PM)
Good advice SeaFOod Wong,

Spending on non-asset-item, only depreciate the Value we earn.
     Look at grandpa time, when there no such thing HP, Laptop, AirAsia, Android, etc but money save under the bed for raining day.
     Generation change didn’t see buy thing using credit the value for tomorrow, forever we will be slave to the BANK.
     Look at mall every day i can see young couple buy/shopping thing like watch/accessories/cd/gadget/apparel
     Do they see the return of value spending vs future saving, except making the Taukeh boss happy when buying their goods?
     Spending non asset-item is juz temporarily lust for entertainment, when the time bored non asset item hv no value.
     News spending needs to fill absolute hungry entertainment for emptiness.
     Either we create thing we hv absolute value or we hv be patient on our spending.
     I regret school never taught on financial independent and our parent financial education not show good example
     All children have given gadget by their family to temporarily solve children growth.
     Any children understand how $$$ was earn?
Well said Felix thumbup.gif

Young ppl often say, "life must enjoy!", but they never thought of what if in their golden years they've got no children to support them, or worst, got childen also no use, "rather give birth to a piece of charsiew" laugh.gif

Ultimately, I believe that we should aim to retire not rich, but self-sufficient nod.gif

Just like what sifu xuzen say, wanna enjoy? Make your investment assets be it rental from property or dividend from shares pay for your luxuries. Reserve your salary only for necessities, and save/invest the excess. icon_idea.gif

My peers find enjoyment in Starbucks, Chatime and expensive Sushi meal, I find pleasure going to my favourite kopi shop where everyone recognise my face and my favourite mamak where the boss know what I want the moment I step in. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 11 2013, 10:34 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 11 2013, 11:55 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Mar 11 2013, 11:26 PM)
but no property tax if sold after 5 years right?  brows.gif  brows.gif
5 years is not a short wait bro doh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 12 2013, 08:11 AM

16,872 posts

Yea, stamp duty and legal fees some more doh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 12 2013, 01:42 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 12 2013, 12:41 PM)
Just to share (in case there are interested fellow forumers):

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2717999/+30
Save minimum of 10% of gross salary from your net cash (on top of EPF savings lar) cukup for simple life up to 87.
If have grander ideas or children, 20% of gross salary from your net cash (on top of EPF savings lar) can do gua.

Editable version for U to play with (YELLOW CELLS - change the variables and see results):
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key...RWc&usp=sharing

Original version (uneditable) - for reference in case some folks totally screwed up the original:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key...bUE&usp=sharing

Please note - my GoogleDocs Spreadsheet is a bit stiff, this is my first time doing something "semi-complicated" using it.
Wong Seafood,

Let's say gross salary 5K, net salary 4K+, so have to save 5K x 10% = 500 on top of EPF? unsure.gif

500, wet wet water la biggrin.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 12 2013, 01:46 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 12 2013, 01:44 PM)
Yup - exactly.
That's if we dont want to leave any investment a$$et$ behind lar biggrin.gif

BTW - to AlexKOS, i've updated the links
My bad - copied & pasted from my other LYN posting. Doesn't work coz shortened.
Let's make 10% an absolute minimum then. Anything extra e.g. bonus of course we can top up our investments. smile.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 12 2013, 03:09 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Mar 12 2013, 02:57 PM)
It also comes back to the amount of commitment you have, although mostly financial gurus will say 10%, which I really cannot understand why 10%.....why not other number?
Agreed. For me who have to pay all the household bills and pocket money for my dad, 20% is the absolute maximum I can go, 10% still fairly comfortable though.

Those who don't have to pay all the bills and only have to give parents a nominal amount, they can easily save half of their net income.
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 12 2013, 03:32 PM

16,872 posts

US got unemployment benefit...Bolehland u menganggur, u sendiri punya problem. Thus, I fully agree that 10% should be ABSOLUTE MINIMUM.
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 12 2013, 07:51 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(kenji26 @ Mar 12 2013, 07:21 PM)
To all sifu out there~  biggrin.gif

I am 21 yrs old and will be starting my work next week with salary of RM 2700. But the sad news is after EPF (300), Car installment (580), petrol - tolls - parking for work (440), phone bills (60), I am left with around RM 1300 a month for personal expenses (food, clothing, etc) and personal savings. None of the expenses could be claimed as allowance from my company and the high car loan is because I only have RM 5000 from my own bank to pay as the deposit.  sweat.gif

Not sure whether RM 1300 is sufficient for me in KL but I will still set aside RM 300 as savings, which will give me RM 3600 a year. So any tips on investing this savings beside FD in bank?  hmm.gif  Being a chinese, all ASN quota are filled up so I could not get hold of one and my salary is still way insufficient to support a property investment (at least for the first 5 years). Though I have a fair understanding and methods in making small medium-term gains in the share market, could not invest since I am starting my job as an auditor in Big 4. (Welcome to super stress and late working hours huh rclxms.gif ) We would get into trouble for investing in shares due to the confidential info we had.

So is there any other form of investments for me? Did not read enough on UT and FOREX during my university years so is a big no for me. (too risky) And gold and silver bubbles has long burst in year 2011.  doh.gif  Hope all the sifu out there could give me some insight on better alternatives to invest my savings every year~ LOL. Thanks and sorry for the long post~  notworthy.gif
FYI, my company reimburses our auditors for their meals if they work OT at our place brows.gif

RM3 roti canai + teh tarik
RM6 nasi campur + cina teh ais
RM8 nasi campur + teh/kopi ais (ok la, dinner drink better a bit after a hard day at work)
Total: RM17

RM17 x 30 days = RM510 ONLY icon_idea.gif

But 99% of auditors I know do not eat nasi campur...they always take the excuse of "hard work, must reward ourselves..." to splash out $$$ on meals whistling.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 12 2013, 08:07 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 12 2013, 08:05 PM)
Whose $$? Personal? Company? For the "luxurious" food?
Sometimes McD, sometimes mamak, sometimes even japanese food brows.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0613sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:51 PM