4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Personal financial management, V2

AAAABBBB
post Mar 23 2013, 05:19 PM

115 posts

I think election coming, property price in KL drop a lot...Me in Penang lo..

I have around RM200K cash liquid,

If I buy this one RM250K, I need borrow RM50K from dad I give him 5% interest settle the Dad loan in 2 yrs time..Rental per month around RM1300-1500. Calculate 10 months rental, RM13-15K, the balance 2 month pay insurance, mainatainance fees, etc

Rental /property price = Take RM13K lower side/ RM250K = 5.2% return from rental ..Not bad higer than FD

Price appraisal min. let say RM10K per year, 5 yrs time, property can sell at RM 300K

Rental + appraisal price - loan from dad -interest
= (RM13K x5yrs) + RM50K - RM50K -RM5K
= RM60K return min. (Not bad investment)

http://www.mudah.my/Ampang+Prima+Condo+901sq+ft-20733884.htm

If I buy this one RM188K, I buy in cash.
Rental per month around RM1000. Calculate 10 months rental, RM10K , the balance 2 month pay insurance, mainatainance fees, etc

Rental /property price = 10K/ RM188K = 5.3% return from rental ..Not bad higer than FD

Price appraisal min. let say RM10K per year, 5 yrs time, property can sell at RM 238K

Rental + appraisal price
= (RM10K x5yrs) + RM50K
= RM100K return min. (Not bad investment)

http://www.mudah.my/South+City+Condo+Serda...ft-20711820.htm
AAAABBBB
post Mar 23 2013, 05:34 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(myw66 @ Mar 14 2013, 04:25 PM)

Aim:
RM1300 (balance of salary) x 12 months = RM15,600 per year.
So my target is to do some small investment and save up to RM25k by Q1 2014. (not taking into account my current savings ya)
But no idea where to start? REIT? Stocks?

Need some advice from all the pro here notworthy.gif
Do part time. No money the extra hard work make money.

Money make money call investment there is much risk ..

You just need to to a part time that can earn you RM700 per month, you can be wedding photographer, create android games, blog, website, repair computer, walk the dog, baby sitter, bake a cake and sell, sell lemonande at seaside, etc..

RM1300 ( balance from salary) + RM700 from OT = RM2K per month

RM2K x 12 months = RM24K + RM1K( company bonus) RM25K

Simple. I do a savings RM25K per year min. smile.gif

AAAABBBB
post Mar 24 2013, 12:18 PM

115 posts

I convert my hobby to part time making $

I invest buy around 5 crab traps each RM8, then go catch crab with RM0 cost as I get free chicken head from the market..Catch in swampy area..

Just throw the trap in and wait few hrs later go collect the crabs..

good lo can sell morning market RM35 female with egg per kg, male RM30 per kg

Then I go dig so called Lala from seaside RM7 per kg..

I also do seaside fishing for puffy fish, etc..

I also go catch prawn udang galah, keli, etc from river banks..

I go fish Lohan if price is good..Then I sell

then I go cut the nipah branch and make it into a fishing rod, I pacak them along the tali air at the oil palm eastate around 20~30 rods,,I buy small fish hook it up as bait...Good full moon night the other morning can go collect ketutu 'lam koh' fish, haruan sang yee, etc

after this I think I want to go catch betta fighting fish the palakat halfmoon, fulltail, crown, etc from wild and try breed them and sell....

Since I working at factory as technician, this is some of the part time I am doing now to increase income/savings smile.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
AAAABBBB
post Mar 25 2013, 04:45 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Mar 24 2013, 10:18 PM)
Anyone here using any Financial software to keep track your incomes and expenses ?
I still live in dinosaur stone age..

I no use software..

I just self control min. RM2K savings per month. Min. RM25K savings a year. I roughly count how many years I keep then I know how much I have.

I collect collect coins and cash $$$$..Enough RM5K , I go buy FD

Understand lo I partime morning market road side part time sell seafood, own grown vege, etc. All in cash n coins.

For example I save 2 year, got la RM50K, I ask my dad go buy FD senior citizen buy higher %. He also feel secure no need worry me lo coz got so money in his hands. Can sleep well.

Money not in my hand I cannot spend. Thus control lo.

When I want to buy hse let say RM200K, I ask my dad for my money and go buy cash.

Typical way for a Technician not highly educated, easy count his money, No need think and worry much where the money goes.

I believe I no owe bank any money. Only bank owe me money. That is good and easy to count.

I follow this table only.. Easy see easy calculate in excel

This post has been edited by AAAABBBB: Mar 25 2013, 04:53 PM

AAAABBBB
post Mar 26 2013, 07:21 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(uzaimy @ Mar 26 2013, 05:36 PM)
Hi there!

I'm 24 and I just finished my study. Today is my first day of working (private).
My salary will be RM1600(gross). No other allowance.

My commitment is only RM100 for PTPTN (10years).
I'm thinking of saving RM500/month. (Now I have nothing - ZERO)

I don't have a car (using our family car for now) but will buy it soon as I need to travel.
Where should I start to have a good financial management.

Should I save the RM500/month in ASB?
Should I apply for CC to have a good record to apply PL? (Marriage purpose in maybe 2 years time).
Should I buy a second hand car? (what is the max amount should I consider?)
Any other things to be considered?
Thanks everyone!
Easy formula ...Let say u grad age 24yrs old. Save RM2k a month, make it easy calculation RM25K a year like me. If cannot earn that much do part time job, OT , etc to make sure u save RM2K Ok..

Your girl friend do the same ..RM2K per month RM25K per year..

I take sukuk - 100% safe as this is not investment, principle is gurantee

First year - RM50K go buy Sukuk gurantee 5% interest - RM2500
2nd year - RM50K go buy Sukuk, Now you have total RM100K, 5% interest - RM5000
3rd year - RM50K go buy Sukuk, Now you have total RM150K, 5% interest - RM7500
4th year - RM50K go buy Sukuk, Now you have total RM200K, 5% interest - RM10,000
5th year - RM50K go buy Sukuk, Now you have total RM250K, 5% interest - RM12,500
6th year - RM50K go buy Sukuk, Now you have total RM300K, 5% interest - RM15,000

Total intrest collected is RM52, 500

RM25k x 2 persons x 6 years = RM300K...Go buy property at age of 30 with the RM300K, take the interest go get married lo..RM50K more than enough ..If not enough save another year + N or else take the interest buy a car ... Cash is king ! Buy hse cash, buy car also cash !

Ask yourself and your gf this question..Do you want to be bank slave for the next 28 years? They vampire suck your bloody hard earn money...Let say u borrow RM200K, pay installment RM1K per month, 70% -RM700 is intrest and 30% - RM300 is paying principal..

I really think suffer 6 yrs and get back the 28 years of suffering is worth a lot...

AAAABBBB
post Mar 27 2013, 10:59 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(mars1069 @ Mar 27 2013, 05:24 PM)
u said u r just a tech, but your financial planning & discipline in saving is much better than many high educated & high income ppl who every month end pocket koyak tongue.gif Keep it up Bro!  thumbup.gif
When first first start working Technician salary very low RM1K only- find how much spend how much. This is the same situation for those fresh graduate white collar working in KL thinking earn RM2-3K after minus everything finish too. That is why I share the very basic fundamental guide how to get rid of 2 biggest worried liabilities in life - hse and car.

Just imagine u earn RM1.6K now u spend RM1K and save only RM500. RM1 dollar today is not equal to RM1 dollar in the future due to inflation. My father time a bowl of mee cost few cents only, now a bowl of me cost few ringgit. Thus you will immediately realize now in order to survive I need to spend RM1K. Later in life can I survive with RM500? IF the answer is no, then maybe you decide to suffer first save the RM1K and spend the RM500 monthly.

Needs vs Wants? Need basic nokia hp cheap one RM80 with no camera. Want a Iphone 5. So go for which one? Iphone 5 got a lot hidden charges - data plan etc that cost u even more. Think u neeed to fork out RM2K from hard earn money to buy an Iphone 5. But if u got a lot of savings, the bank interest is giving u a free Iphone 5 free? Which is better? To me even I get the Iphone 5 free, I will sell it and put the money into more savings.

Read this story Ah Kau, I like the most... Ah Kau vs Finance Executive.. KO

A newspaper seller can drive a Benz, where a finance executive get lay off and still owe a lot of bank loan, car loan, etc

http://www.skorcareer.com/malaysia-eng/ent.../ahkaustory.htm

QUOTE(mars1069 @ Mar 27 2013, 05:34 PM)
1.6K shld be his basic pay of full time work, then he is hardworking enuf to work part time for more income, otherwise impossible to save RM2K with 1.6K income  tongue.gif but feel proud of him coz not many ppl can do that  icon_rolleyes.gif
I think I got post RM1K savings per month calculation somewhere. Formula same one u and girfriend each save RM1K per month so total RM24K per year +RM1K (from bonus)..Should be achieving RM150K in 6 yrs too and can go get an apartment at that price.

If save too little $ hard to discipline ownself coz cannot see the big figure. Cannot do much.

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Mar 27 2013, 05:37 PM)
exactly my point ...  it's impossible to save 2k while earning 1.6k lol ... "normal" people come back home from work oredi super tired .. where got time for part time and stuff ... he can sacrifice more time and weekend which is good for him  thumbup.gif he also posted his photos wat ...those fishes and stuff ... pretty amazing dude
Nothing is impossible. I see some of my colleagues also Tech, night time after work also open burger store.

some chinese one even better can go char koay teow or tai lok mee during lunch time. He hired a helper to prepare everything open stall, wash plates, etc. He just lunch time go to the stall fried for an hour or two then go back to work. I really respect him lo.

Some my Indian friends early morning some more go send newspaper before going to work

there is a will there is a way... Don;t go too much clubbing or pub, Sure got time one ma.

QUOTE(shootingstars83 @ Mar 27 2013, 05:44 PM)
Reading his post really makes me want to go fishing and sell some fish but the problem is I don't know how to fish. laugh.gif
Go catch crab then. Totally no skill needed. Just buy the trap, put the bait chicken head can get from market free. Don;t la use drumstick expensive lo. The crab dunno why hate the chicken head so much that a lot go into the trap wanna eat the chicken head. Maybe chicken and crab are enemy since past life. nod.gif
AAAABBBB
post Mar 30 2013, 02:16 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(cynthusc @ Mar 30 2013, 09:49 AM)
Something to think about:
If your income is below RM1600:

Buy a low cost apartment in a desirable area. Eg. one that I saw recently is at USJ 1 at a reserve price of RM60K. 3 rooms at 657 sq feet. Assuming you bid and win at RM68K. Your cost is
RM68K for the price + RM1800 (Stamp Duty and Legal Fees) + RM1K for outstanding charges + RM4K for light renovation. So total cost is RM74,800.00.
Rental RM600. If the area is Wangsa Maju or Melati or anywhere near an LRT station, the rental can even go up to RM800

Rental/property price = 6K/74800 = 8% return. 
BTW this property's current market price is RM80-RM90K so when the purchaser buys it, they already make RM10K

So the possible return in 5 years:
(RM6K x 5 years) + RM10K current market price difference + RM10K future appreciation
=RM50K return on RM74800
= 66.84 for 5 years i.e. 13% per annum

BTW your RM50K appreciation for a 188K is IMO too optimistic base on current market trends. Perhaps more like a 25K appreciation.

I have done this sort of investment before but on higher end properties and larger current market price difference. In fact there was one property I bought which was RM80K below market.
When we buy property for investment, it it not to breakeven after rent it out and able to pay bank loan. We looking at price appreciation

I take flat, apartment and condo as comparison ok..easier to understand

Flat- Low cost property (400-500sqft) RM35K - 50K
Apartment -Medium low cost property (600-850sqft) RM75-110K

Let say u buy a low cost aparment at RM50K bcoz of the 8% or more return from rental, you need to think how much can the price appreciation in 5 yrs time? Can it go RM75k -110K same price as medium low cost property. If same price as low medium cost why not they just apply govt affordable hse RM75-110K for new one. Why they want to buy yours smaller in size 400-500sqft?

Buyer for low cost and medium cost property are less in the market as , most of them will be waiting for govt affordable hse - new some more.

Think like a buyer, do you want to buy a low cost or medium cost property and move in to stay? Most ppl average should be staying already in 850sqft or bigger size property thus and upgrade will be looking for bigger size unit.

Some even blue collar may start buying first property a medium cost property 860sqft -950sqft, but later when life gets better promoted or more income will be looking an upgrade to bigger unit 1000sqft-1500sqft

Thus the example I give are unit above 1000sqft - a condo South City and also Ampang Prima, not a flat or apartment with facilities like swimming pool, gym, etc. Appreciation RM50K min. I put is logical because you can do a survey for new condo in Selangor or KL per sqft now is all above RM400/sqft or for a 1000sqft is RM400K above..

You are buying a condo at RM188K at RM250K when the current market about same size condo is RM400K and above. Do you think in 5yrs time later
your condo cannot grow RM50K minimum? Price of constuction materials increase, labour, inflation and others are some of the factors.
http://efinancedirectory.com/articles/Unde...preciation.html

If good it should double the price RM188K x 2 = RM376K and RM250K x 2 = RM500K . How much rental can you collect in 5 yrs time compare to the profit of price appreciation of a property? Something to think about. smile.gif

Get bigger unit if can afford as the return is a lot better. Govt will not be building big size property as affordable unit. smile.gif

I bought my condo 1000sqft+ during economic cirsis in yr2008 at RM230K. Now it is worth RM460-500K in market.

http://www.asianewsnet.net/Malaysias-ever-...ices-41661.html

This post has been edited by AAAABBBB: Mar 30 2013, 02:20 PM
AAAABBBB
post Mar 30 2013, 08:10 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(cynthusc @ Mar 30 2013, 06:28 PM)
Perhaps you are right but base on my experience it would be quite difficult to appreciate 50K in 5 years unless the area is really up and coming.  I am not so familiar with Serdang  so u may be right. I usually invest in areas I am familiar with. There are many factors like density, residents profile, level of maintenance etc.

In Kepong where there are quite a number of apartment and condos, some apartments have not appreciated much since they were completed. Some have doubled in prices eventhough  the condos are very near each other.  I have invested in three properties so far. Two I  have sold more than 50% of the initial price I bought and I sold them less than 4 years after purchase.
I do market survey on property from North till south. I open few portfolio already coz wanted to invest /buy property again just waiting for election.

RM50K appreciate is quite easy to reach as KL and selangor new condo is more than RM400 per sqft. If concentrate on major area like PJ, Cheras, Ampang, Kepong, Subang Jaya, Puchong, klang etc. I agree if u looking at area a bit further like sungai buloh, those maybe a bit hard.

It is easier to appreciate RM50K in Penang island as land is limited. My buddy bought a condo from develepor in Penang island 2 yrs back in 2010 at RM380K, now just half way building already price shoot up to RM550K.

A shop in Ipoh near station 18 when purchase in 2010 is just RM400K from develper, now an agent just offer RM600K for it. Station 18 is near Aeon Jaya Jusco.

Kepong just look at the Nadia Condo Desa Parkcity the price double too from purchased in year 2008
http://www.propwall.my/desa_parkcity/nadia

Kepong Menjalara, look at the property there those landed hse either semi-d or double storey, the price hike up triple. tongue.gif

JB look at Pasir Gudang. A shop back in 2008 cost around RM280K, now it cost RM460K

JB look at Permas Jaya should be another good place to invest as near AEON Jusco. The price for condo there still below RM300K. smile.gif

Invest in KL now need to be a bit careful coz a lot of foreinger especially Negro ..look at Puchong, Serdang, Cyberjaya and Putrajaya, SJ where a lot of college , because of them the price condo drop. Even near commuter , etc no use if the environment is unsafe to stay. Ppl stay in condo because want security and facilities.

Invest in Penang now a bit hard as the property is very expensive bcoz of foreinger invest they either they buy a lot of unit or the entire condo then subsale. Requirement for foreigner is RM1 million for condo and RM2 million for landed property if not mistaken. Thus developer take chance increase property price.

Invest in JB now maybe a good choice. Singaporeans are coming over to buy in JB. They are coming over the weekend to do shopping as their currency is double 2x. Same like Brunei ppl go over to Miri everyweekend to do shopping coz their currency is also double 2x. Now if u go JB most hotel you will see a lot of japanese there. Why? Since the cyanide spill in Japan, it is a bit expensive to rebuilt factory anywhere nearby or in Japan. Thus most of them looking at opening factory at Sabah and JB. Sabah property grow after the chemical spill but bcoz of the current Lahad Datu they also scared. Thus they invest in JB. While waiting for the homes to be ready, the japanese whole family is staying at hotel.

The thing I scaed invest in JB is they mention a non bumi property if sold to a bumi, will become bumi lot cannot be resale to non bumi unless get MB consent. Not sure true or not. I am checking it out too.

The japanese also like to stay in Penang. A lot of condo consist of Japan community in Penang.

Same like koreans they like to stay near the embassy in ampang putra residency in KL. If not mistaken one of their block years back, they went to korea selling like RM500 per sqft.

This post has been edited by AAAABBBB: Mar 30 2013, 08:28 PM
AAAABBBB
post Mar 31 2013, 02:04 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Mar 31 2013, 11:57 AM)
How to buy if monthly income not stable?

Sometimes overbudget.

[attachmentid=3370990]
blush.gif If u got read the thread I post, from very begining I told fresh grad to save 6 yrs+ then buy in cash..

Income not stable not a concern smile.gif coz I never ask u to loan from bank tongue.gif

Will developer or seller check your montly income stable or not sell to u? U carry the cash cheque pay downpayment and balance thru lawyer..

Income not stable is good as you are earning a lot more...use disipline savings for example

cut all credit card
max u withdraw from ATM machine RM200 a week, thus your spending is RM800 a month is fix spending, all other income goes to saving..

Looking at your income comission based 1 year maybe you make more than RM100K..Thus buying a property in 5 yrs time is possible..

AAAABBBB
post Mar 31 2013, 09:13 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Mar 31 2013, 08:15 PM)
I really admire the hard work that you do on the properties from North to South. Unfortunately most of the time, what we see is just the surface. True, like you mentioned the shops around Aeon Station 18 in Ipoh, agents are asking 600K, but how many buyers are out there. What are the banks valuation? I think to me, a lot of subsale properties are way a bit out of valuation. Not necessary the buyer will be able to get the loan, should the potential buyer interested. This is actually happening almost every places, I've got friends failing to buy a condo because the seller want it above 50% from the bank valuation and not many are able to fork out the downpayment. Finally, many of the potential buyers will opt for new properties as they can get close to 90% of the loan, if not 100%. In fact, there are some of my friends who bought their house like 3-5 years back and sold theirs now at just breakeven. It is always easy to look at what the agents price, but the bank valuation is the one that matters.
Agent is offering RM600k, the owner already sold to the agent for Station 18 shop.

You are right how much is worth is evaluation until really sold. Money in seller hand is profit.

New property is at even higher price smile.gif

the example I given is good. A South City condo 1000sqft RM188K, Ampang Prima condo 1000sqft RM250K, new condo in KL 1000sqft easily above RM400K.

If below RM250K also cannot afford to buy, how to buy new condo RM400k? Need to enlighten me coz bank borrowing 33% of the salary.

http://www.propertyguru.com.my/property-li...or-sale-1774112
http://www.propertyguru.com.my/new-propert...ala-lumpur-3280

I come to know that some speculator can nego with bank that he will opt to pay only interest for the first 3 yrs and not pay any principle at all..

Normal let say loan RM400K, installment around RM2K

Buy if pay interest only and not pay the principal, the speculator may pay less like RM1.5K per month instead of 2k

With so many speculators, foreigner, investors around unless govt is setting control or else very hard for local to buy property especially in Penang island.

It is a free market. There is seller and there is buyer. bank valuation hardly can control the market.

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...could-bury-dap/

AAAABBBB
post Apr 3 2013, 07:42 PM

115 posts

Maybe we can look into this and discuss more.
http://moneygirl.quickanddirtytips.com/5-m...or-couples.aspx

Do u guys agree to this?

It is important to find a partner who shares the same basic life goals in order to be happy. It will not work to try to convince an artist or a stay-at-home dad type of man to become the sole breadwinner, nor will you be happy if you want to be at home and your husband expects you to bring home half the household income.

Being honest with yourself on these crucial lifestyle choices is the first step. Early in the dating process, you need to discover the goals and dreams of your date, to see if they can match. If they can’t, it is better to determine this early and move on, before you become too attached and then try to rationalize away these key differences.

http://moneygirl.quickanddirtytips.com/avo...onship-pt1.aspx
AAAABBBB
post Apr 4 2013, 10:34 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Apr 4 2013, 03:46 PM)
I think focusing on career is important, but at the same time, don't neglect relationship. This is the key learning I have. I consider myself "not that bad", in terms of financial, education and even career. However, I find that because I focused on career during my last 10 years, ended up, girls my age either taken or already become mother of others. My take is, if there is a girl out there you like, go ahead. Of course not to the extend of spending all your savings, if she is really gold digger, I don't think the relationship will last too. Anyway, I'm just saying, career + $$$ is important, but don't put it as priority as you might end up like me. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 4 2013, 03:50 PM)
*gimme five* icon_rolleyes.gif
icon_question.gif Adoi after reading u guys comment make me feel scared too.. I put $$$ is important all this while, and neglect in relationship..

I think I have few C already - condo, cash, career, car just no credit card.

career coz promoted recently from tech to engineer

condo settle liao

car settle liao

cash - RM200K

rclxub.gif Maybe I need to change my plan a bit - AFISH now may not work that well already...coz I 33 yrs old liao..

Anyone got good plan to share? Plan for relationship but not to skew too far from financial management too far ok..

Show me one plan for relationship that work, or got calculation one...don;t ask me google too much smile.gif cool2.gif
AAAABBBB
post Apr 4 2013, 10:59 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 4 2013, 10:52 PM)
AAAABBBB, mind to tell what race u are off?

Seriously, if u are chinese and live/work at city or even big town, u are hopeless, cos u are even more kedekut than I laugh.gif
chinese working at Penang ..

Hehehe.....That is why I mention AFISH formula may no longer work for me...

Now need to learn how to fish relationship..

If not too successful also dunno do wat with the money I have...smile.gif

That is why I put RM50K under my father senior citizen fd and another RM50k under my mother senior citizen fd

change is inevitable... smile.gif

AAAABBBB
post Apr 4 2013, 11:42 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Apr 4 2013, 11:07 PM)
There can never be a relationship plan that will work. Why? Because life's never fair.
You see the good ones falling for idiots who don't love them equally as much. And yet, the other half still stay on for as long as they could.
If you're lucky, you get one that doesn't measure you by the money you have, spend wisely and treats you well. But usually, those are rare and the rare ones are stuck with guys who don't appreciate them.
If you're unlucky, you get a girl who appears to love you, but only for your money unknowingly. Then you have those men who know girls are with them for their money and yet, they encourage it and flaunt it...so what do you have to say about that.

You put money as the topmost importance...that's not wrong to me. Relationship sometimes can kill you, both emotionally and monetary-wise. I understand why some people focus on money more. It won't hurt them.

I know you're stable financially, and that's great. I hope you're able to find a girl who won't be leeching off you, because that's just sad seeing how your hard earned money being wasted like that. For me, best policy is just to not rush into any relationship until you feel that the other half is a genuine person (good luck!). If she shops too much, has no financial control, just stay away no matter how pretty she is. She has no sense of responsibilities and control when it comes to money, so that says a lot already. You don't wanna end up a 'water fish', right?

People feel lonely, and eventually, any next women/men that comes along...you settle down. Is it the best thing to do? God knows.
Wow if like tat need go ulu -ulu place fish liao...

I don;t mind she shop a lot, shop much no problem as long as window shopping. Like me I only withdraw RM200 from ATM for a week, most time I just walk around window shopping at mall coz can enjoy air con and fun too coz can observe how ppl do business like sales, promotion discount, decoration, etc or what I like to call as market research/survey rather than sitting at home. Coz sitting at home bored, some more need to switch on the fan use electricity ma...HEhehe....

Not so easy become water fish one...Hehehe...U see my strategy money not in my hand at my parents fd coz can get higher % interest thus not that easy to korek $ from me too..

On my end is I don;t mind taking interest and enjoy a bit in relationship...Financial still need to control one...

that is why if got a plan for relationship should be a better guidance. Maybe it is time for me to go back hometown go drink coffee at those kopitiam again to seek advise if cannot get a plan that seems doable in this forum.. hmm.gif

AAAABBBB
post Apr 4 2013, 11:47 PM

115 posts

I scared fall into this trap too..
Every one in the business knows that you will never achieve great wealth by working for someone's else. Many of the people out there who're stuck in a dead-end job also know this. They just don't know how to start, or they know how and where to start, but the risk of failure make them dreadful to even make the first move. You probably have your very own list on excuses you should not start minding your own business. Excuses such as:

1. If I am not married, I will surely start my business now.

2. Are you kidding? I have a wife and 2 kids to feed.

AAAABBBB
post Apr 5 2013, 12:14 AM

115 posts

Ha...This is how u curb shopping buy non stop..especially during promotion

My mom use to like shopping from morning open till close..

So my dad set the condition simple only take trolley go buy food and beverages only... Limit to cannot buy wine, expensive abalone, those..

I follow mom go shopping push the cart, full go pay unload to the car, My mom still continue 2nd, 3rd , 4th round..

so end of the day exhausted my mom and me. Father watch TV astro at home don;t care just give my mom the cash..

After few more time go shopping like this leg, knees also pain, then my mom realize cannot consume all the food buy so many during promotion also dunno do what..We do not open grocery shop. Food can expire one. Toilet paper buy till mountain so high where got shit so many. Self - discover my mom shopping is no fun, buy without limit, cheap few cents or few dollars, sweat, tiring and pain in knees and legs. Thus after that she dislike shopping already.

Whenever mom ask me go shopping with her when supermarket open, I tell her just buy what needed. Then I go watch movie around 2 hrs later join her to push the cart and carry to the car. What for suffer so much do shopping? If grocery shop can deliver foc if purchase above RM100, ask deliver...Hehehee..My mom also learn that dad trick her..Give her money go shopping is hard work only..No fun then do not shop much nowadays... smile.gif

Objective met !!! Successful behaviour modification....

This post has been edited by AAAABBBB: Apr 5 2013, 12:16 AM
AAAABBBB
post Apr 6 2013, 06:43 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Apr 6 2013, 05:28 PM)
Hmm thanks for the advice. Looking around the forum I think since I've already decided to get a car it would be better for me to ask at the car section.  doh.gif

Back to financial planning.

So from what I read so far it's better to have at least an emergency fund of at least 6 months salary before I start any kind of investment? So 2.5kx6=15k ? Better not touch anything before that?
Save 1 year, 2.5k x 12 = RM30K in case family members or love one emergency life or death, the money can be use. Put in FD mature every 2 months. Put RM5K FD every 2 months. smile.gif
AAAABBBB
post Apr 7 2013, 01:02 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 6 2013, 10:15 PM)
its not inflation only.. maybe u buy time the property price not crazy like now..

Now every 6 month price up 100k... u think your salary or investment can give u so high return?

Those buy early now ok la.. example i find just recently all prices even the lousiest flat in Penang is cost 100-200 k liao.. More livable 1 with around 800sqft will min 300k.

And last year u still can get around 200k+ for 800 sqft flat.

COndo all over 500k mark liao wif condo which consider medium class few yrs ago now is at least 800-1million
U ask Penang agent and see. They will tell u property in Penang island is at highest now not so realistic to buy

most Penang kia local ppl go buy landed hse at Penang mainland..250-350K can get already..

they dun wan to live on the air flat or apartment..

most of my colleague also go Penang mainland buy hse already...some get Semi-D also around 400K

property in penang island raise so high coz foreigner buy like no tomorrow. U need not follow. They can afford after currency exhange they will tell u cheap cheap only...

600K condo to them is like usd 200k only, tongue.gif

I think I post before those 800sqft apartment near Bukit Jambul is only RM160-180K in Dec 2012. BAyan lepas area. To me still reasonable.

IF u looking bigger unit so call condo 1000sqft above the price in Penang island is RM450K-500K above already.

It is depends on your expectation. Ppl living big Semi-D in mainland takes 45 minutes travel to work in factory, even if u stay Penang island becoz of jam still take 30 minutes to work smile.gif

This post has been edited by AAAABBBB: Apr 7 2013, 01:07 PM
AAAABBBB
post Apr 7 2013, 09:25 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Apr 7 2013, 04:28 PM)
Looking at your expenses, since 2.8K was your take home pay and you manage to save 2K per month, I was wondering how you do it. I know you have listed down everything, but I don't see anything like giving to parents below. So, do you mean your expenses of 800 never included them? Just curious how people with <3K take home pay able to save so much. For me, that kind of expenses is just PAMA fund that I allocated and since I'm working outstation, thus I pay rental. Food wise, we have about the same allocation. I would say that not everyone able to save 2K, in your case a vast 72% of your take home pay due to we have other commitment such as parents. You've been pretty much impressive about savings, but then again, it does not apply to everyone, even people with higher take home pay than you.
RM2.8K is not gross income. RM2.8K is after deducting epf, etc that I work some OT and part time. I managed sometimes can get around 3K , 3.2K, 3.5k

RM2K is savings, RM800 is my spending. If not enough to spend I work harder already mention ma.

I lucky no need give to parents $, coz they are a lot richer than me. They fully retired with many properties to collect rental. U guys did not see when I post my parents is on the tour around the world. biggrin.gif

Read this Post #1768..This is how u do it. The forumer give his parents RM500 per month too. Read from the post #1768 onwards, you can see other forumer reply how they managed to cut on expense too. smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1577849/+1760

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Apr 7 2013, 06:59 PM)
AAAABBB

Just wondering do u plan to get married? Do u think u can still save rm2k with ur low income? U do not require to pay ur parents?
I got post here yes looking into relation, Me low income? A guy with RM200K cash in hand now can easily buy another property cash to collect rental at least RM 800-1K per month. Don't u agree? U must read my current post, I am a Technician but recently only promoted to Engineer. So with passive income RM800-1k per month extra, don;t u think I still can save RM2K per month..

Let say a property is RM300K, I just need to borrow RM50K from my dad and another RM50K from my mom, I calculate back interest 5% for them, I can easily settle the loan RM100K within 4 years or less. Thus I do not need to take bank loans at all.

Even bank don;t want to loan me RM100K for property if I tell them I settle it within 4 years. They wanted me to loan longer so can collect more interest from me. They just ask me to take personal loan. smile.gif

I do not require to pay my parents. The few lucky ones.

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Apr 7 2013, 07:04 PM)
true... the guy took his time to share his experiences that it is possible to make savings; don't pour cold water as if it is not a possible thing to do... of course not everybody can do "drastic" savings; otherwise he needn't tell his story.

Save 2k per month + year-end bonus for 6 years = 150k.

He could safely buy a apt costing less than 150k, without any bank loans and without using all the reserves/savings. Apt usually takes 3 years to complete after signing up. Put 10% as down payment; then pay in cash for the progressive payments over the 3 years... Just an example of the virtual of having savings.

150k in FD x 3.5% interest = 5250 per year. The savings would grow easier over time once it got started and achieved sufficient volume.
The plan how I do extreme savings RM25K per year, when economic crisis I go buy some good shares. In 1998, I purchased some Unisem shares. It bullish go up up up. Sell before the bubble burst. Then after savings until year 2008. I able to purchased the current condo I living now at low price RM230K. 2008 is bad time when Penang factory start retrench..I got buy some shares too during 2008 time too. so with AFISH formula I should be looking at property buying again when the price drop.

Look at the table in the 6 years should have at least RM170K.

The time when I do the savings fd is high, even today if u save at bank rakyat u can get 4%. Basically my calculation I use 5% is really not that hard to achieve. I got purchase those Sukuk also 5% return.

This post has been edited by AAAABBBB: Apr 7 2013, 09:40 PM

AAAABBBB
post Apr 7 2013, 10:21 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Apr 7 2013, 10:02 PM)
Good for you...  the expenses could be different in marriage life versus the bachelor years, especially if the spouse is not working... if you extrapolate the monthly savings till year 26 to be a millionaire, you're not answering Gary's question on marriage... maybe you planning to be a lifelong bachelor or maybe thinking of marriage only after being truly wealthy but old... thus the extrapolation till year 26 can be a pipe dream.

Making big savings in early working life (before hitting 30s) is good suggestion though... but when one is young and just discover the joys of having a paying job vs. being a poor student... savings is never easy but still doable, especially after settling down into the career after the initial 3-4 years.. thus making big savings from age 26-32 years old feasible; and getting married only after age 32... men are lucky and don't have the old spinster badge attached...

Maybe for the girls, get married before 24 and only have babies after 28; once married, no need to spend too much on cosmetics, clothes, etc. Make savings, not babies. LOL.
That table is just to show that it takes 26 years to be a millionaire. It may take shorter if one invest in property, shares, etc.

Marriage will not divert me from my savings plan. Strong will and determination guy here. At least I for see after marriage, I can still save at least RM1K from my salary and another RM1K from property rental. RM1.8K+ for household should be enough gua. It is like 50% savings, and 50% expenses. Ahem ahem the RM2.8K I put here is the salary I getting when I am as Technician ok ok..

in this financial management, I just share my plan. I totally agree with your age analysis. That is why I encourage fresh grad to save more money before decide to get married, buy car or buy hse. The plan I put is savings for 6 yrs, at age 30/ 31 can buy an apartment around RM150K and a car cash. If save another 1 or 2 yrs maybe the interest from savings can pay for the marriage too.

If cannot save that long maybe 4 yrs > RM25K x 4yrs = RM100K. With this money can get a new proton car persona cash rm50k and another RM50K for a grand wedding. But my adivse is better u spend the RM100K as 66% downpayment for the aparment around RM150K. Thus you need to get a loan of RM50K from the bank only. Wedding cut down to RM25K like that and get a 2nd hand car or a Viva. Life will not be so difficult always thinking of paying back loan.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0685sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:30 PM