QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 14 2012, 12:41 PM)
WB did give Billion of loans to BOA at 8% ? .He could just walk in to Bank Of China to borrow at 1% through QE 2
This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 14 2012, 12:53 PM
Personal financial management, V2
Apr 14 2012, 12:52 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
23,851 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 14 2012, 12:41 PM) WB did give Billion of loans to BOA at 8% ? .He could just walk in to Bank Of China to borrow at 1% through QE 2 This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 14 2012, 12:53 PM |
Apr 17 2012, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(aliex87 @ Apr 17 2012, 09:32 AM) Hi guys, need some advice here. I started working last january and married. Both of us are gov teachers. This is our financial details: Cannot really help without setting a goal ( or goals for yourself ).My Salary: RM2222 My Wife: RM2222 My Allwnce: RM 700 My Wife: RM700 Total: RM5844 This is my monthly spending: EPF (both) : RM 642.84 (suppose to end by 2015, after confirm) House Rent: RM500 Car: RM450 (ends July 2018) HP Bill: RM100 TNB: RM45 Astro: RM80 TM: RM77 Loan1: RM457 (ends december 2014) Loan2: RM1000 (ends september 2014) Gas: RM200 Food: RM400 Other: RM400 Fmly: RM500 Insurance: RM200 Total: RM5051.84 Balance: RM792.16 Can anyone advice me on my financial planning? what should i do with the balance? Usually i just dump it in either asb or tabung haji. What should i change in my financial planning? That needs a bigger meaning in Life and the whys you should cut your expenses. Something called " delayed gratification " Without which, quite meaningless or directionless. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 17 2012, 02:07 PM |
Apr 17 2012, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 17 2012, 02:16 PM) Like what bro Sky said, it's "prioritization" in other words. Well , the killing part could be the loan of 1.5K , if settled off with some savings , then monthly saving of 2k plus would be quite ok to me.Which is important (increase or keep) VS which is unimportant (cut down) coz most of us have limited resources VS unlimited wants. Expenses look quite ok to me. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 17 2012, 05:46 PM |
Apr 18 2012, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 14 2012, 01:00 PM) WB is playing on a whole different plane of investing / speed-of-money-flow game compared to little ol me, like comparing a human (WB) to an ant (me), however that won't deter me from working towards what i can do at my level OT a bit.Mr.WB has been just diagnosed with cancer. What a sad news in fact. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 18 2012, 10:01 AM |
Apr 20 2012, 07:01 AM
QUOTE(aliex87 @ Apr 19 2012, 08:27 PM) yeah....it'll all be settled in 2-3 years, and by then my salary will increase for another 400+-. so 1.5k + 400 more to save...for the time being....quite a tight budget..... An Objective in Life could be like a simple goal i.e to have a baby at a future date, or saving to buy a house or saving for a retirement.- Loan 1 is RM15k loan take up by my wife from a teacher koperasi. 1.8%pa for 3 years. she use the money to settle down when first get posted. still have left RM10k...only used RM5k, didnt know why she took so much last time, but the balance 10k now i dump into tabung haji also.... - Loan 2 is a RM25k loan i took from my father. No interest at all, hehehe i'll try to follow your plan, right now no children yet, and we didnt decide whether to have a child now or later after finishing the all the debts..... right now i do get some additional income by doing some IT sales and services to teachers around my district, which generate around RM1k a month, but not stable, there's a month i only get rm150 due to time constraint. I tried to do tuition but no one interested (im in jeli, kelantan now, quite "ulu" btw i am very2 blank with investment. i didnt know where to start and on what to invest to, and how much do i have to have to get started. what i do now is just saving in tabung haji and asb. about objective....i didnt know...i prefer a stable life but not luxury and really enjoy myself in my carrier now. perhaps my objective for the time being is to buy my own house. is goverment house loan good to take? If you have too many , then priorities them one by one. I guess to have a baby could be a natural goal, but do plan for the future expenses as well. REgards This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 20 2012, 07:02 AM |
Apr 20 2012, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 20 2012, 11:55 AM) My apologies - perhaps mortgage fund is my personal English Wong Sifu,Yup, it's flexi mortgage - i put my extra $ and buffer $ there, thus i don't have to pay (BLR -2.2%)pa daily rest interest rate, in effect "making" 4.4%pa currently and much more flexible than tenured FDs. As for where to learn: 1. Basics - google cukup, plenty of write-ups around the web. Read, process and absorb what U think makes sense to U 2. Details - books (also filter with your mind lar, k. What works then/situation may not work 100% now - just in case some fellow forumers start slinging again, being more than obvious here Books like: +The Art of Asset Allocation: Principles and Investment Strategies for Any Market +The Intelligent Asset Allocator: How to Build Your Portfolio to Maximize Returns and Minimize Risk +The Intelligent Investor: The Definitive Book on Value Investing. A Book of Practical Counsel (the big momma of them all, very chewable like leather +The Four Pillars of Investing: Lessons for Building a Winning Portfolio +Value Investing: From Graham to Buffett and Beyond +Value Averaging: The Safe and Easy Strategy for Higher Investment Returns Why not you write one book for all your just mentioned. So we do not have to read so many, just buy your book. Cost saving also , right This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 20 2012, 12:00 PM |
Apr 20 2012, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 20 2012, 12:08 PM) Bwahhaahah - bro Sky high(five!). By getting a flexi loan and manipulating with it, you are odeli an intelligent investor to me. U "look me too high" lar, don't lar put me on the "god's table" I'm too simple minded to write a book I'm just a digger and user of info & stats. Those books i mentioned above are just the tip of the iceberg. I've got "a few" more to recommend IF needed, from Trend Analysis to $/Risk/Sizing management and even "age & goal based" asset allocations, +other more "rojak" hehhe. If U or any bro/sis interested in a list, i can screenshot my ebooks and photo "real" books and post it here for sharing what's interesting to read. The other books i found so-so or repeating the good ones, all chucked / donated away already hehe |
Apr 20 2012, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(db07mufan @ Apr 20 2012, 12:17 PM) The insurance I kind of deliberated for a long time before plunging in. U are kinda insured for loss of profit to me.The nature of my job requires me to be in tip top health, and half of my salary comes from how much I work. Meaning to say if I do not work that month I'll lose half of my pay. The insurance I have pays for the days I'm not working. Let's say for health reason I may not be able to work for a month, they will be paying me a amount which is equivalent to what I earn that month working. The sole reason I took is because of that, I may not be able to cover my high fixed expenses if let's say touch wood I break my hand and am not able to work for that month. I look forward to inputs regarding life insurance and how to not overvalue etc if you guys are willing to contribute. Quite well done ( from what I think ) But this thread is kinda downsizing the insurance to me. A silenced issue here but important to me. BTW, even to protect yourself from further loss is a Good Wealth Protection Plan to me. U are a Good Asset , And not a bad liability as many here see. Best Regards This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 20 2012, 12:36 PM |
Apr 20 2012, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 20 2012, 01:44 PM) Hm... let me recall my younger (and dumber days First thing u must do after retirement is stop buying 1st party insurance for your car in order to be fully self insured.Mind U - i had a wife who decided not to work + parents and a dog to support Thus, fair enough gua. IF want to be statistically / numbers changgih, i'd suggest calculating (for life / income replacement) thus: 1. Pick an amount U want per annum, to cover expenses 2. Assume X%pa returns 3. Calculate lump sum amount needed to generate (1.) based on (2.) eg. Say i want $80Kpa if i kaput for my loved ones to keep on with their lifestyle and i assume they know how to buy bond funds and REITs, thus assume 6%pa returns in terms of dividends on average Thus, i'd need $80,000 / 6% = $1.33M coverage needed excluding inflation, for lump sum to buy bond funds and REITs. I'd tweak it a bit by: $1.33M LESS all my investment assets i'm currently holding = $Y, thus, i only need $Y lump sum to buy the extras Like that, can be "more sure" lor ------ These days.. erm.. my insurances cost me about 5% to 6%, of my net income, including coverage for my little girl's 3Ds + hospitalization & my mum's hospitalization. BTW, i'm planning to be self-insured by or before 55 / retirement age. Please note that what may work for me may not work for U ar (peace of mind and stuff) 1) Low probability of things might happen to your car too. 2) People should stop over value their cars than their own Life. 3) Can take public transport where there is an insurance coverage, drive on your own only there is no accident to happen ( low probability time ) BTW, many people do not know there is the third side of a coin. i.e permanently disable Just my view only. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 22 2012, 10:02 AM |
Apr 20 2012, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 20 2012, 02:28 PM) Whoops - you're right bro The law needs you to buy 3rd party only Adjusted English should be "self insured for 3Ds (death, disease & disability)". Can't escape from "the legal requirements" like motor insurance and stuff, mar. Not necessary has to be 1class, after all Life is covered with a 3rd class insurance. If u do not work, how your car is going to work. |
Apr 22 2012, 10:08 AM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 20 2012, 02:49 PM) Yup yup 3rd party or comprehensive lar, still need car insurance due to "the law". 3rd CLASS Financial Planning if you plan JUST BECAUSE U NEED TO COS THE LAWS FORCE U TO DO SO. Eh - car can work even if i don't work mar. Drive to buy groceries or mengurat that 60 year old hottie leh |
Apr 5 2013, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 3 2013, 02:27 PM) For personal fianancial - honest to gal is very helpful - for gal understand your background. Courting/Chasing with gal high expectation - meanz need alot capital and time. the result can be you wife then must think about future for maintaining such wife. So getting a super rich spouse would instantly solve all your financial problems.Remember marry a women ; also need to marry their family too. " Wedding Dairy " actor ah niu. Like WongMunKeong said - marry a right person can be helpful. Even i go holiday; my wife & 1 share 50:50. A good financial tool , one hardly can deny that. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 5 2013, 01:49 PM |
Apr 5 2013, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(GymBoi @ Apr 3 2013, 04:29 PM) your wife from where ? and your race ? Sry not to be racist but ... chinese KL girls ... really hard to find can juz mamak and handmade cards and stuff ... btw im chinese too ok .. no racist .. just the world as it is today ... any racist remark i will delete this straight away Well , do not always think ladies in KL are totally useless and suckers in nature.They could be more capable in financial terms that u. They could be better financial planners too. Hard to find and hard to be " qualified " as their spouses are not the same to me. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 5 2013, 01:51 PM |
Apr 5 2013, 01:53 PM
Apr 5 2013, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 5 2013, 01:57 PM) rich spouce require HIGH CAPEX, no YIELD. Yrs Sounds like oil exporation to me. everyday go dating the CASH Flow negative, require borrow Short Term Liability. Asset are worthless , give to recycle als no Value. Brother, u can look for M & A too, like the more mature ones. U do not have to start from fresh . less risky . This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 5 2013, 02:56 PM |
Apr 5 2013, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 5 2013, 02:03 PM) Which brings to the question, "why bow to peer pressure/society norms?" U start to see " bubbles " like many expecting prices of properties to fall. At the end of the day, a deal can only be done when the seller agrees terms with the buyer, and vice versa. If a stock trading at $10 got no buyers, the seller will be forced to drop his asking price. But when one of the buyer bucks under pressure and decided to meet the seller's price, it'll become a seller's market. When enough men stay away from such demanding women, they will start to reassess their values and perception of "eligible men". Good luck to u if u can spot such a trend . For me, I am not so bullish about what u said. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 5 2013, 02:58 PM |
Apr 5 2013, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 5 2013, 02:58 PM) For the sake of God and humanity, THEY (I'm referring to prices of properties AND expectation of people esp on $$$) have to fall. Kinda true also.For me I adjust my expectations much lower long time ago , buying assets people throw ( disposed ) away. Stocks, computer parts and hand phones just to name away. I do not mind to buy clothes , bags , and shoes etc with 50% discounts. I am a value seeker or rather rubbish seeker ...... This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 6 2013, 01:18 PM |
Apr 5 2013, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Apr 5 2013, 06:38 PM) you guys always talk like its the girl's fault for being attracted to the guy's money therefore she is with him.... Nice sharing But how come you are attracted to her in the 1st place? Is it becoz she is hot and sexy and beautiful thats Y? Y dont you skip to the next one then(uglier in your eyes)? And also....if dont feel good spending the gal....please dont flaunt your money to her then. Y keep spending then blame her for using your precious $$? Just tell her.....AA from the start so that she can "choose" to stay or to run. Like one of my ex...i didnt even know he was a freaking rich barger until few years after we broke up......barger! but hey.....some men just dont buy the ladies with $$$ anyway if a girl really loves u.....she wont be using your $$ like no tmr anyway right from the start. She will strives to work hard and save with you for a future together. (i know coz i have been both the bad and the good gal hehe the feeling is just different) However usually when these kind of couples successfully build a future together, and sometimes they get really rich....the hubby goes and get few more wives or concubines Guys also not too Great yourselves ya......rich only show true colors At least the gals are showing right from the start And yes, i agree a partner can play a very important role in your finances. You need to have the same goal....else you are just going to kiss each other goodbye.....or live with it 4ever. Me choose to work and hubs stay home with our kid as he is more family oriented while me loves to move around.... & we blif in 1 parent shd be home taking care of the children as whats life without being with your loveones I dont earn much but with budgeting ......it helps us to live life to its fullest ...of coz no uglee branded bags for me lar For those who are just working until no see "sun"........seriously dont live your life like this 4eva Look at cyprus? What happen to the savers? You really need to put some life into your life....save some live more! dont live to be a slave to $..and not asking u to throw it all on material stuffs.... Thanks |
Apr 6 2013, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 6 2013, 10:59 AM) Having good controlled food items is one thing, but having good exercises in a week is another.U maybe not be able to supplement one with another. In life, u cannot just do financial planning alone, spiritual planning to strengthen your mind is no more a luxury , rather a must for many. Family Harmony such as love , is sometimes money could not buy ........... Saving for a bigger goal is good , but do u intend to pass all yr money to the next generation This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 6 2013, 11:55 AM |
Apr 6 2013, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(gark @ Apr 6 2013, 01:04 PM) No enough money to buy must ask parents to sponsor property one meh? I doubt your children would adopt to your prescribed lifestyles wholesomely.Go rent ler while working and save up down payment like everyone else ler. I also lived in rented 'room' in low cost flat for first 5 years when i am first employed... Children nowadays have easy life.... And that reminds me of a rich doctor , the son jumped from a tall building in Penang not too long ago. He may be a good controller of his son's financials, but losing him to another human being ( love problem ) . He is still a loser after the tragedy . |
| Change to: | 0.0771sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:50 AM |