Personal financial management, V2
SUSPink Spider
Oct 7 2012, 07:05 PM
QUOTE(cscheat @ Oct 7 2012, 07:01 PM) Yes, stick to your old car if it serves you well... Car depreciate once you drove it off the sales room ! FYI, the world's greatest investor W.B continues to drive an old car and live in the same suburban house he bought in 1958. and u won't feel "sakit hati" when ppl scratches your car, u dun feel "sayang" to park it under lamp post infested with crows, and it serves u, rather than u "serve" it
SUSPink Spider
Oct 9 2012, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(cscheat @ Oct 9 2012, 10:05 PM) he owns one of the largest private jet company  Wong Seafood owns a private jet company?
SUSPink Spider
Oct 10 2012, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 10 2012, 08:00 AM) I think fellow forumers were talking about Warren Buffet lar. Me? Private jet company? Car also cannot afford A8 or TT  That's why my eyes opened big big
SUSPink Spider
Jan 3 2013, 10:47 PM
AAAABBBB is one of the few "lucky" individuals who don't have to support their parents. Thus, his talks are easy.
Period.
SUSPink Spider
Jan 11 2013, 01:00 AM
QUOTE(howszat @ Jan 11 2013, 12:55 AM) This thread is about Personal FINANCIAL (keyword being FINANCIAL) management. Please don't turn it into "porridge, read bean tong sui, etc". This thread should be about clever FINANCIAL management tactics, not about starvation and under-nourishment tactics. +100 Eat decent, not eat like a beggar. But at the same time, dining often at posh cafes and restaurants is not prudent.
SUSPink Spider
Jan 18 2013, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(hader777 @ Jan 18 2013, 04:11 PM) I will be making around 4k+ month when i start working soon. Since I will be busy with work I wont have time to think or plan my spending wisely once I started. I want to ask about 2 most important thing house and car: Im thinking 1500 for house and 1000 for car. 1500 for living + parent allowance. 1) Buying a house is consiedered liability or investment? Should i quickly get a property once i have the money for downpayment? The extra money i have should i save in bank for dividends or for property instalment? 2) I want to save money but i also dont want to look poor therefore thinking maybe spend 1000 for vios monthly? Is it wise? Should i settle with proton? Thinking if proton i might want to change car in 5 years the car value depreciate greatly compare to vios.I don't find that a relevant point. A car is a tool, not an investment.
SUSPink Spider
Jan 18 2013, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 18 2013, 05:22 PM) U missing THE POINT bro - "..but i also dont want to look poor therefore..." How really wealthy we will be if everyone was blind, no eyes to impress.  What's the use of driving a Jap car but u got a thin wallet or worse, no money to buy house/pay for children education when u finally found that special someone to tie the knot with?
SUSPink Spider
Jan 18 2013, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(adolph @ Jan 18 2013, 01:42 PM) Razor21, There's no such as saving or investment method that can let you earn $500,000 in such as short time, especially three year. Regardless you're going to save it, you need at least $13,888 a month for 36 months to get $500,000. LOL  And I only broke the RM100,000 barrier after my mum passed away. From life insurance payout Damn I shouldn't be clapping  Only the lucky ones who don't have to pay much to support parents and/or a household have the luxury of saving thousands a month. This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jan 18 2013, 05:34 PM
SUSPink Spider
Jan 20 2013, 12:21 PM
Agree with AAAABBBB My old Yamaha 125Z only cost me RM6K+ and it served me well until it was stolenWhy need RM17K bike  Financial prudence... This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jan 20 2013, 12:21 PM
SUSPink Spider
Jan 20 2013, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(pesona3F @ Jan 20 2013, 12:31 PM) I'm using fz150 only.. not sbk.. if sbk, botak already.. fuel comsumtion is .ok, rm10 for 180km per day . Cruise at 120km/h.. its just engine already wear out soneed to do overhaul already.. estimate repair cost about 3k maximum.. this my first time send my bike for full overhaul Ooh quite long distance travel to/from work? Ok la, then getting a 150cc bike is understandable. Try keep the repairs simple and cheap then, jangan sampai mod bike oh
SUSPink Spider
Jan 22 2013, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(gark @ Jan 22 2013, 06:28 PM) Err sorry sifu! PL interest rate is different from most mortgage reducing rate, so the effective interest rate p.a. is much higher than stated. Effective interest rate for PL @ 4% is about ~7.4% p.a. ( our in-house accountant pinky can help us count  ) PL @4%, 20K loan 3 years = 622.22 per month x 36 month = 22,399.92, total interest paid = 2,399.92 PTPN 20% rebate = 14K x0.2 = RM 2,800 You only save like RM 400 for 3 years. Since when I have this honour? EIR for 4% p.a. 3-year loan is 7.51%
SUSPink Spider
Jan 24 2013, 11:18 AM
Old ppl sit at coffeeshop drink kopi o drive Mercedes Young ppl go Chatime drink bubble milk tea struggle to pay instalments for Myvi Think...
SUSPink Spider
Jan 24 2013, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(Beachkid @ Jan 24 2013, 08:26 PM) In my years of experience and talking with those old uncles at coffee stores. Sure they do know how to hustle and make lots of dough, but they rarely drive Merc and BMWs. This is just a myth of those people who preach frugal living giving extreme examples to justify their position which is rather silly. It is true however young people these days spend carelessly without giving a second thought. Of course, the best is being able to drink as many chattime drinks as you want while owning a Merc but that is apparently out of the question in this forum so I will refrain from sharing that lifestyle. U have been frank here so I wouldn't refrain being frank with you. This thread is called "Personal financial management", not "How to make it big and get rich". Anyone with a sense of logic would tell u that people who hang around here needs help to manage their finances better, esp thru controlling their expenses. Your "I-made-it-big-and-I-do-not-see-merit-in-living-frugal" attitude is very unwelcome here
SUSPink Spider
Feb 1 2013, 09:19 AM
Net worth? EPF balances kira tak?  If tak kira, I'm far off  If kira, I think I got it
SUSPink Spider
Feb 12 2013, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(squares90 @ Feb 12 2013, 09:09 AM) Hi lowyat, I'll be graduating soon and I have saved RM13,000 in my account. All my life I've saved all my duit raya, and I got a part time job while at uni. I help senior (read: middle-aged) students write their papers, assignments, thesis etc. I'm also quite stingy so I never buy anything that's not necessary. So what should I do with the money? So far I'm thinking of either saving the money (duh!) or using it to fully pay my PTPTN. I borrowed 12,000 from PTPTN but since it has no interest, maybe it would be better for me to use the money for other important things. Any Advice? Thanks! Pay your PTPTN loan on a scheduled basis, u got it as a loan, so as a responsible individual you should fulfil your other part of the bargain. In the meantime, yes u are right to seek the best returns for your excess cash.
SUSPink Spider
Feb 15 2013, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(Cricky mate @ Feb 15 2013, 04:07 PM) Want to ask somehing about retirement planning. When u plan for old age, what age should we plan until? 80? 85? 90? When u wanna die? I plan until 85
SUSPink Spider
Feb 15 2013, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(Cricky mate @ Feb 15 2013, 05:14 PM) Yeah it sounds kind of dreary and scary.  Sometimes when I do these retirement planning i also scared. If i plan until age 85 but can live until 86 then how? Drink poison?  U dun even wanna leave a single sen for your children/grandchildren/grand-grandchildren?  Plans have to be periodically reviewed...if u plan to live until 85, and you're still jumping around  at 80, reduce your expenses, adjust your budget
SUSPink Spider
Feb 25 2013, 10:09 AM
QUOTE(kinwing @ Feb 25 2013, 09:58 AM) I suggest you to save an emergency fund with a size of up to 6-month of your monthly spending, i.e. RM12,000 and put this amount into FD. About allocation of the FD, you could divide RM12,000 equally into 2 portions and put each into 1-month roll over and 3-month roll over. Anyway, in my opinion, with such a small amount of FD (RM12k) and such a small difference FD rate between 1-month and 3-month, if I were you I would put all the emergency fund into 1-month roll over FD. The purpose of putting money into FD is for liquidity and not for long term for 3-month/12-month. If you want to earn more return, you should aim on mutual funds, equities or properties but FD. Share with u my method... With 12K, I split: 3K for 3 months 3K for 6 months 3K for 9 months 3K for 12 months When the 3 months FD mature, renew to 12 months When the 6 months FD mature, renew to 12 months So that u will have a 12-M FD maturing every 3 months
SUSPink Spider
Feb 25 2013, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(felixmask @ Feb 25 2013, 10:31 AM) hi pink spider, I different from you, i share mine...heheh...different ppl different way. For me e-FD is emergency money so made no different 3,6 month 12 month mature. with 15k: 3 split rm5k 10th of the month rm5k 20th of the month rm5k 30th of the month. renewal every month.  my sen of emergency fund. Hey Felix kitty I had thought of that too In addition to FD, I also have 2 months worth of net salary in a money market UT fund. Thus, I'm comfortable with the 3 months gap between FDs.  QUOTE(kinwing @ Feb 25 2013, 10:32 AM) Yes I know this method, but that would be quite a hassle to work on this  . My point is when emergency incident happen and you may need to use the 12k immediately, you would need to take all $ out irregard they are put in 3, 6, 9 or 12-month roll over. If you put in 1-month roll over, the max penalty of losing is just 1-month FD interest. Anyway, I don't want put more emphasis on interest earns from the FD, to me FD is an tool for liquidity purpose, not a tool for growing capital. ^ Try Felix's method above This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Feb 25 2013, 10:39 AM
SUSPink Spider
Feb 25 2013, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(foolc @ Feb 25 2013, 10:53 AM) isnt it better to dump the rm12k emergency funds into the housing loan which is flexible? can withdraw with notice to banks within a few days or some have atm card to withdraw anytime? Overly liquid may not be a good thing...later IPhone 6 come out, IPad come out, GF wants to go Bali... This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Feb 25 2013, 10:55 AM