Personal financial management, V2

SUSPink Spider
post Apr 5 2013, 02:58 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 5 2013, 02:53 PM)
U start to see " bubbles " like many expecting prices of properties to fall. hmm.gif
For the sake of God and humanity, THEY (I'm referring to prices of properties AND expectation of people esp on $$$) have to fall. sleep.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 6 2013, 10:59 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 6 2013, 10:06 AM)
Happy weekend wongmunkeong,
  Let me guess smewhere arnd rm 6 -rm 10 max.
Aiya my working day lunch nasi ayam add rice + cina teh ais = RM6 got balance tongue.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 6 2013, 11:55 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 6 2013, 11:39 AM)
Having good controlled food items is one thing, but having good exercises in a week is another.

U maybe not be able to supplement one with another.

In life, u cannot just do financial planning alone, spiritual planning to strengthen your mind is no more a luxury , rather a must for many.

Family Harmony such as love , is sometimes money could not buy ...........

Saving for a bigger goal  is good , but do u intend to pass all to the money  next generation hmm.gif
Before thinking about passing wealth to the next generation, think about whether u can sustain yourself without having to depend financially on your offspring...

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Apr 6 2013, 11:55 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 6 2013, 12:27 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 6 2013, 12:26 PM)
So expensive one meh....  tongue.gif

My lunch FOC, company give...
grumble.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 6 2013, 02:18 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 6 2013, 02:03 PM)
methinks.. that's how children are spoilt silly shakehead.gif
QUOTE(gark @ Apr 6 2013, 02:08 PM)
A lot of people rent even though they have like 3 kids already.

Giving in so easily will spoil the kids, let them work for it will bring character which will last a lifetime.
+100

U give in, give your child marriage home, buy him a grand mattress to make grandchildren for u brows.gif

But, that's no guarantee that he would be grateful and take care of u til u enter the wooden container. sleep.gif
Cover yourself first, if really got A LOT extra then only give a bit.
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 7 2013, 05:15 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Apr 7 2013, 04:28 PM)
Looking at your expenses, since 2.8K was your take home pay and you manage to save 2K per month, I was wondering how you do it. I know you have listed down everything, but I don't see anything like giving to parents below. So, do you mean your expenses of 800 never included them? Just curious how people with <3K take home pay able to save so much. For me, that kind of expenses is just PAMA fund that I allocated and since I'm working outstation, thus I pay rental. Food wise, we have about the same allocation. I would say that not everyone able to save 2K, in your case a vast 72% of your take home pay due to we have other commitment such as parents. You've been pretty much impressive about savings, but then again, it does not apply to everyone, even people with higher take home pay than you.
AAAABBBB also said he got OT and he managed to make a bit money out of his hobby - fishing

But I fully agree with you, my take home pay is 4K and I can only save 1K at best, cos give dad RM700 as pocket money, and all other household expenses are paid by me.
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 13 2013, 11:37 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Apr 13 2013, 11:27 AM)
Parents own >10 properties all loan settle. Last year dad just get another condo in KL RM500K+

They should have achieve millionaire status..coz I see my dad go bank no que one..the branch manager always invite him in drink coffee one..They go on world tour must got money only can go travel so much ma..1 year go few months is a lot oledi..  tongue.gif

I dunno the returns, I never ask...anyway it is my parents money not mine...smile.gif

I independent do not like to relly on parents much that is why I choose to move out and earn a living on my own when start to work..
bro,

Not to take credit away from u, your lifestyle and savings habits certainly worth emulating notworthy.gif
But being not required to support parents is already a major "negative handicap" for u, u start the football match with your opponent scoring 2 own goals within the first 10 minutes, or u=Spain vs Malaysia tongue.gif thumbup.gif

Whereas most of us who had to support parents, we are like England vs Germany sweat.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 13 2013, 12:31 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(AAAABBBB @ Apr 13 2013, 12:27 PM)
I rather make it on my own rather than depending on parents..

That is why I take ptptn loan for my diploma.

Then I come out work already and pay back my loan.

Life maybe hard and suffer at the begining, but without help the struggling will make u a better person.

If depends on parents, can be next CEO or smtg like that without going thru hardship, meaningless life to me.  icon_question.gif

I already live a lifestyle like most average common ppl already...Don't u agree?

I make an honest living and savings. It is just I do not support parents. Giving them money every month is very little money to them.

Better if I sometimes bring them out eat hawker stalls, accompany them go holiday being bellboy carry laguage, bring them jln jln., go temple pray, etc. Money is not everything. If rich can give money, if poor like me I give them my time and energy.

It is the same as doing charity. IF got money gives money, if do not have participate give energy and time - still helping right? biggrin.gif
Maybe u do a simulation, see how much can u save IF u have to support ur parents.

I only got my dad left, pocket money alone already RM700. Then household bills, telephone bills, his car service bills...easily RM1,000 a month. In other words, if I don't have to support my dad, I also can save RM2,000 a month like u! laugh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 13 2013, 09:09 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Apr 13 2013, 07:04 PM)
please don't make an excuse. He is just diploma holder and technician holder with RM 2.8k only.
I saw many degree holder yet no have saving like him.
He does not need to support parent since he does not live with parent
I did say that I did not intend to take ALL credits away from him.

Just a comparison...

AAAABBBB works as a technician with 2-3K salary, then he also can get some side income from his hobby of fishing.
Let's say it all adds up to around 5K, which is a bit more than my salary as a graduate. HAD HE NEEDED to support his parents/household, his savings and mine would be quite similar.

Just trying to emphasize a point here that its not an easy feat to support parents, not that I'm trying to ask everyone not to...

The most ideal situation would be parents having enough savings to sustain themselves, which AAAABBBB has the privilege of finding himself in.

Overspending on kids until no savings for retirement years > rely on kids > kids burdened to support parents > no savings > kids have to rely on grandkids

Its a vicious cycle.
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 15 2013, 01:31 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Apr 14 2013, 11:51 PM)
Can you elaborate overspending on kids? What I saw now : Parents give everything to kids>kids prefer support wives and their families>kids no support parents>continous cycle
I can only say padan muka.

I fully agree and support what AAAABBBB's dad did, only provide for his kids' NEEDS until high school, then leave them to support themselves. In the same manner, don't rely on kids to support. nod.gif
SUSPink Spider
post May 21 2013, 06:42 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ May 21 2013, 06:33 PM)
IT programmer aka COBOL
@super dooper kedekut and forward-looking DIY financial planner icon_idea.gif
SUSPink Spider
post May 21 2013, 06:57 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ May 21 2013, 06:49 PM)
I didnt buy anything didnt meanz i kedukut, becoz i didnt born with assest but debts for me to solved.

You didnt know my father pass away didnt leave anything for me.
Me also not much better than u, even though got house but got a zero $ in bank akaun punya dad to support. Kita sama-sama je bro notworthy.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 3 2013, 05:03 PM

16,872 posts

Classic case of over-leverage. Even though the income look wonderful, any hiccup will send the whole plan koyak sweat.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 3 2013, 09:37 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 3 2013, 06:18 PM)
Maybe not "over leveraged" wor if his "Dividends (Business): RM35000/month (average)" comes in like clockwork or that amount is a prudent % of his average takings, ie. viewed in terms of (debt payment / income)

However, his D/E i think is waaaaaay over 1 tongue.gif
This "over leverage" U mean?
Yes
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 4 2013, 10:18 AM

16,872 posts

Vector89, it's fairly obvious that u have already made up your mind that u want (b) financing, you are just seeking an answer that u want.
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 4 2013, 02:52 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Jun 4 2013, 02:26 PM)
I wonder how many more cases like Vector89 out there. How much time do these people have? And when they have run out of time, then will the property market bubble finally start to burst?
The property investors are assuming that their properties will get rented out and/or will get sold at handsome profits. The moment the rental income stops, the bank loan repayment stops, and it all falls apart.
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 5 2013, 03:07 PM

16,872 posts

When u invest and receive dividend from stocks, u should REINVEST your dividends, not spend it. That's unker gark's point. wink.gif

Of course 1 dividend is not sufficient to buy, u can always accumulate the dividends in a bond fund/MM fund, then when it's large enough, buy stock.
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 5 2013, 03:36 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jul 5 2013, 03:19 PM)
So back to my initial question, passive income stage comes after your retirement? Accumulate stage is during your working life?
If u managed to accumulate enough when u are 40 years old for example, no rule book says that u cannot retire at 40 wink.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 28 2013, 05:18 PM

16,872 posts

Let me help Wong Sifu with a simple example biggrin.gif

EFFECTIVE INTEREST RATE for a 3 years loan with quoted "flat" interest of 2.5%:

E.g.
Loan amount RM10,000
Total interest: RM10,000 x 2.5% x 3 years = RM750
Repayment per year: (RM10,000 + RM750) / 3 = RM3,583.33

Put these in an Excel worksheet:
-10,000 (this is your loan amount)
3,583.33 (Year 1 repayment)
3,583.33 (Year 2 repayment)
3,583.33 (Year 3 repayment)
=IRR(A1:A4)

U will get 3.71%, that's your EFFECTIVE INTEREST RATE. If u can invest your money or get FD for rate of return better than that, then invest it. Otherwise, pay as much downpayment as u can. wink.gif

Try this calculation and see what's the EIR for your car loan, GymBoi icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jul 28 2013, 05:20 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 28 2013, 05:37 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jul 28 2013, 05:35 PM)
I'm still learning on investment so all I do now is FD .. which is max 3.2% .... this car loan is effectively 4.06% which is worst than FD ... that means i should pay as much down payment as possible ?  yawn.gif
If FD is all u will consider now, YES nod.gif

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0240sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:37 AM