Motorola Milestone XT720 Official Thread V2, Complete infos and FAQ on 1st page

alpha_mid
post Nov 19 2010, 07:37 AM

417 posts

hi there, i got 3 question here:-

1. How to close the auto detect language while sms'ing
2. i imported already all contact but where to view..
3. how to manage the internet connection ? its draining prepaid like hell...

this phone too high end to me..

This post has been edited by alpha_mid: Nov 19 2010, 07:38 AM
alpha_mid
post Nov 19 2010, 08:17 AM

417 posts

eceh3.. ok2 bought : motorola xt720 silver blue
date: 19 Nov 2010
currently: android 2.1

the things tat annoying me now is, draining my prepaid+auto detect language (eg. i typed "boleh" suddenly became "blowfish")

anybody help... first android phone in my life, decide to bought this fon rather than iphone as iphone camera low end (except ip4)..
alpha_mid
post Nov 19 2010, 08:46 AM

417 posts

QUOTE(m|ng @ Nov 19 2010, 08:35 AM)
Will try again when i get home. mine is gparted-live-0.7.0-4.
Mate, I had that problem too when i first got my phone.
Go into the market, download an app called Quick Settings.
After you've installed it, turn off Mobile Data (APN) and Mobile Data. that should do it.
Also dont automatically sync anything (setting-> Accounts & Sync)

And lastly, dont put any widgets that require internet connection (facebook notifier/weather/CNN/etc)
Thx a lot ! i manage to get my sim contact d rather than nothing.. jz need to discover this beast little bit+patient..

by the way, how to OFF auto detect language while sms ? any tips ?

p/s
i didnt go to android market yet, prepaid credit abis d.. later i go to mcD n online there.. install apps til satisfy..
alpha_mid
post Nov 19 2010, 09:49 AM

417 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Nov 19 2010, 09:02 AM)
1. Settings > Local and text > disable the auto suggestion & auto complete
2. Go to contacts > More > Display options > then choose SIM > enable "all contacts"
3. go to Market > Download application name "APNdroid" (and you can enable/disable data connection with it)

i'm sure u are new to android, for your information, you can add google account to sync where it can backup your contacts number, calendar activities, and email too.
next time when you format your phone, or change to other android phone, you can just add the google account back and it will sync by itself to get the contacts list back smile.gif

welcome to the club! biggrin.gif

Added on November 19, 2010, 9:06 am

the other way to turn it off..
go to Wifi & Network > Mobile Network > Access Point Name > delete the "celcom3g/maxis3g/digiWAP" setting smile.gif

but you need to add it back in order to use the 3g later smile.gif
QUOTE(Ayam @ Nov 19 2010, 09:32 AM)
to disable data connection I just delete the APN .... use only wifi to browse internet... or download...  ha ha haa  sweat.gif
wow, really fast feedback.. thx a lot everyone..

i already deleted the APN.. im using celcom, in the > Access Point Name > i deleted celcom3G n left Celcom only.. ( i think this is for MMS isnt it ?)

p/s
anyone can recommend me where to buy accessories like rubber case etc.. im afraid this xt side metal scratch... and also can anyone list me a MUST HAVE apps for android xt..

This post has been edited by alpha_mid: Nov 19 2010, 09:59 AM
alpha_mid
post Nov 19 2010, 11:00 AM

417 posts

QUOTE(ltwvince @ Nov 19 2010, 10:47 AM)
SGP case is the best. I think bro Khal still got 1 extra with him.
ha odw, bro khal UGPM..

p/s
does android give away free gps without charges ? eg. Garmin..

i heard papago support this beast.. is it simply download from market ?
alpha_mid
post Nov 20 2010, 10:54 AM

417 posts

hi there,im back to ask few question here ~

1. Im using celcom UOxpax kot.. previously i asked here how to control internet usage due to draining my prepaid..thus i follow instruction here to delete the APNs..for celcom got 2 APNs :-
a. Celcom 3G MMS
b. Celcom internet
so i deleted celcom internet to avoid any unknown charges,the problem is i cant receive MMS.. i thought still can receive as celcom 3G MMS stil got in my APNs setting.. so how to manage it and get normal MMS.. how to setting ?
2. Is it really necassary to flash ? what is flash actually ?
3. Any gathering ? wanna share knowledge wif u guys.. got s.alam ppls here ? lets lepak n cit cat+ makan nasi goreng kambing biggrin.gif
alpha_mid
post Nov 20 2010, 09:42 PM

417 posts

hi there,im back to ask few question here ~

1. Im using celcom UOxpax kot.. previously i asked here how to control internet usage due to draining my prepaid..thus i follow instruction here to delete the APNs..for celcom got 2 APNs :-
a. Celcom 3G MMS
b. Celcom internet
so i deleted celcom internet to avoid any unknown charges,the problem is i cant receive MMS.. i thought still can receive as celcom 3G MMS stil got in my APNs setting.. so how to manage it and get normal MMS.. how to setting ?
2. Is it really necassary to flash ? what is flash actually ?
3. Any gathering ? wanna share knowledge wif u guys.. got s.alam ppls here ? lets lepak n cit cat+ makan nasi goreng kambing

anyone.. sad.gif
alpha_mid
post Nov 20 2010, 09:53 PM

417 posts

QUOTE(lingch @ Nov 20 2010, 09:50 PM)
Sorry bro need to get someone using celcom here to help you sad.gif

2. If you want stable, efficient, and god speed yes flash to the recommended rom is a must. I would say France, Italy or USA are the best.

3. You come to Sarawak la and we can meet up tongue.gif I treat you to some Borneo delicacies biggrin.gif
haha, if i go there for sure can smile.gif thx for ur favorable reply..

bdw, how to save any installed apps in memory card ? i installed just few only.. but phone memory full d...
alpha_mid
post Nov 21 2010, 12:22 AM

417 posts

im looking fo this...

http://cgi.ebay.com.my/OtterBox-commuter-c...e#ht_3105wt_905

really tempting..
alpha_mid
post Nov 21 2010, 05:58 PM

417 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Nov 21 2010, 01:29 AM)
I was thinking about doing a bulk order for this case straight from otterbox.com itself. if i can get 4-5 units to order should be okay to save on the shipping costs.
put me in list !

bdw, i think this is much cheaper compare to previous..

http://cgi.ebay.com.my/SGP-ultra-capsule-c...b#ht_9484wt_905

Added on November 21, 2010, 6:26 pm
QUOTE(Calex @ Nov 20 2010, 09:56 PM)
If im correct, you still need the internet apn setting to have your mms. If you want avoid charges, download the app APNDroid from market, and off the internet using that, there's a switch in that app that allows mms even though internet is disabled.
does it really work ? i installed d, but no icon in my menu.. before that i accidently deleted my installed apps list..

This post has been edited by alpha_mid: Nov 21 2010, 06:26 PM
alpha_mid
post Nov 21 2010, 08:22 PM

417 posts

QUOTE(Calex @ Nov 21 2010, 07:24 PM)
Reinstall again? I tried d, off internet using it and still can receive mms.

Well, can anyone help buy the otterbox case for me? sad.gif
i'll try it later at any free wifi hehe, currently using my maxis BB..

this link :-
http://cgi.ebay.com.my/SGP-ultra-capsule-c...b#ht_9484wt_905

about this, if we can collect more than 1 unit the postage charge might be lower compare to 1 unit.. well, in GS there someone providing ebay service, whoever interested can put on list..
alpha_mid
post Nov 22 2010, 12:54 AM

417 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Nov 21 2010, 09:39 PM)
1 thing i like about otterbox cases is that they are made from polycarbonate material, the same material used in car dashboard nowadays, so its quite durable and sturdy. Plus it has rubber layer inside of the case that absorb impact and protect the phone from scratches. Another plus point is all the buttons are covered by rubber buttons for easy access so we dont have to poke thru the hole to press the buttons.

I'm going to order 5 units for the first time, cost per unit would be rm120 each. Anyone interested?
is it same wif this ? i tot this kinda cheap compare to previous ---> http://cgi.ebay.com.my/SGP-ultra-capsule-c...b#ht_9484wt_905

which one did u ordered ? i might interested, can count on me.. biggrin.gif

p/s
haih.. i really don have time to play wif my xt... start work tomolo..., bdw OC to 550mhz< how ? is it same wif flashing ? sorry i dont knw about this.. sad.gif
alpha_mid
post Nov 25 2010, 01:20 PM

417 posts

No wonder bro khal din receive my sms.. Hmm.. If reflash got prob wif mms ?
alpha_mid
post Nov 27 2010, 01:48 AM

417 posts

QUOTE(lingch @ Nov 27 2010, 12:26 AM)
Introduce here ler... Who ooo
rahsia ~

thx to khalpower, the 8Gb memory card worked fine and the best thing its huge different before and after flash..

P/S
he is android legend, trust me !
alpha_mid
post Dec 2 2010, 08:40 PM

417 posts

u guys planning to meet up sharing wif caring ??? wanna join biggrin.gif

0.0403sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:27 PM