Headphones Ultimate Ears IEM Fan Club, UE the musician's choice! come in!

Lego Warfare
post Jul 6 2017, 03:37 PM

4,302 posts

QUOTE(ezekiel_77 @ Jul 6 2017, 03:09 PM)
Yeah... their lead times are quite long. Besides reshelling (and retuning) third-party IEMs, they make AAW CIEMs too. And AFAIK they are the only company other than Lear that has the add drivers + reshell IEM option, which some use to upgrade their old SE535/TF10 into a new CIEM. Last year I kena lagi worse... they sent my AAW CIEM to the wrong Jaben in Jakarta! Total wait for my CIEM was nearly 4 months... and to add insult to injury, I had to get a refit. tongue.gif

Was it worth the wait? Kinda. Sound damn good anyway lol.
4 months? I'd be damn pissed if they do not give some sort of compensation for their own mistake...
ezekiel_77
post Jul 6 2017, 03:44 PM

Five Star Fuzz McFuzz
848 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jul 6 2017, 03:37 PM)
4 months? I'd be damn pissed if they do not give some sort of compensation for their own mistake...
Yeah I got a 2-pin IEM cable from Hippo Audio as compensation. Would've asked for more, but I let it slide... tongue.gif
Ask_Yip
post Jul 6 2017, 05:47 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(ezekiel_77 @ Jul 6 2017, 03:09 PM)
Yeah... their lead times are quite long. Besides reshelling (and retuning) third-party IEMs, they make AAW CIEMs too. And AFAIK they are the only company other than Lear that has the add drivers + reshell IEM option, which some use to upgrade their old SE535/TF10 into a new CIEM. Last year I kena lagi worse... they sent my AAW CIEM to the wrong Jaben in Jakarta! Total wait for my CIEM was nearly 4 months... and to add insult to injury, I had to get a refit. tongue.gif

Was it worth the wait? Kinda. Sound damn good anyway lol.
don't scared me wei... now I am only at week no.4 and still counting... cry.gif
ezekiel_77
post Jul 7 2017, 08:28 AM

Five Star Fuzz McFuzz
848 posts

QUOTE(Ask_Yip @ Jul 6 2017, 05:47 PM)
don't scared me wei... now I am only at week no.4 and still counting... cry.gif
I think mine was screwed up bcos I ordered through Jaben, instead of direct. Might've been some miscommunication along the way. But credit to Jaben too for tracing and retrieving my parcel in Indon. sweat.gif

In my second dealing with AAW, this time direct, it went smoothly. I think you went this route. Cheer up haha. laugh.gif
Ask_Yip
post Jul 7 2017, 10:17 AM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(ezekiel_77 @ Jul 7 2017, 08:28 AM)
I think mine was screwed up bcos I ordered through Jaben, instead of direct. Might've been some miscommunication along the way. But credit to Jaben too for tracing and retrieving my parcel in Indon. sweat.gif

In my second dealing with AAW, this time direct, it went smoothly. I think you went this route. Cheer up haha. laugh.gif
hopefully

when I ordered that time they told me lead time is 6 to 8 weeks, when I last checked at their website yesterday it said 7 to 8 weeks, really can't wait sad.gif
Ask_Yip
post Jul 26 2017, 08:29 AM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

zamorin

Got my TF10 reshell back from AAW yesterday, after 6 weeks plus of waiting

initial impression:

pro:

better seal
more details
more bass
high extend but not hurting

cons:

soundstage narrower sad.gif
vocal move backwards
bass less punchier (not sure tho cuase been using JVC dual dynamic drivers iem for the last six weeks, maybe just because of the false comparison...)

overall still a good solution for a broken TF10 or if you are having the fit problem

This post has been edited by Ask_Yip: Jul 26 2017, 08:30 AM
SUSzamorin
post Jul 26 2017, 08:43 AM

Resident Carouser
6,775 posts

Your CIEM looks really nice including the cable. I cant do a SQ comparison because of the limited time I had with them. Do you have warranty on them? Do you prefer the reshelled SQ or original TF10? thx
SUSzamorin
post Jul 26 2017, 08:44 AM

Resident Carouser
6,775 posts

I also changed mine from 2-pin to mmcx connector, should have stuck with 2-pin
Ask_Yip
post Jul 26 2017, 09:44 AM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(zamorin @ Jul 26 2017, 08:43 AM)
Your CIEM looks really nice including the cable. I cant do a SQ comparison  because of the limited time I had with them. Do you have warranty on them? Do you prefer the reshelled SQ or original TF10? thx
they provide one year warranty on the shell

this is my first ciem and I am not very sure about the fit, cause I expect 100% seal but when I wear them I still can hear ppl talking to me, is like 90% seal only sad.gif

sound wise i need more time to conclude
SUSzamorin
post Jul 26 2017, 10:48 AM

Resident Carouser
6,775 posts

same thing, my 1st ciem as well and I was expecting a 100% seal but its not and if I were to move slightly, the SQ changes significantly. So that's a bit of a WTF! sad.gif

TSJason
post Jul 26 2017, 11:23 AM

5,846 posts

Sad to hear about both your experiences about CIEM... which is why I am still holding on strong to my TF10. Always wanted to experience CIEM for that "perfect fit" but I guess its not that easy!
Lego Warfare
post Jul 26 2017, 11:57 AM

4,302 posts

QUOTE(Ask_Yip @ Jul 26 2017, 09:44 AM)
they provide one year warranty on the shell

this is my first ciem and I am not very sure about the fit, cause I expect 100% seal but when I wear them I still can hear ppl talking to me, is like 90% seal only sad.gif

sound wise i need more time to conclude
That is normal. No CIEM will give you 100% isolation. Even 90% (which to me I still consider near damn impossible) is considered damn good.
Silicone CIEM should provide better isolation than acrylic.
Ask_Yip
post Jul 26 2017, 12:36 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jul 26 2017, 11:57 AM)
That is normal. No CIEM will give you 100% isolation. Even 90% (which to me I still consider near damn impossible) is considered damn good.
Silicone CIEM should provide better isolation than acrylic.
oh thanks for the info

then I think the fitting is not an issue
Lego Warfare
post Jul 26 2017, 01:57 PM

4,302 posts

QUOTE(Ask_Yip @ Jul 26 2017, 12:36 PM)
oh thanks for the info

then I think the fitting is not an issue
As long as you feel it comfortable in your ears and not loose, and also no changes in sound when you move around including moving your mouth/jaw then the fitting is good.
Ask_Yip
post Jul 27 2017, 01:17 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

I got the soundstage and postioning back by tuning up the volume, apparently is due to channel imbalance at the lower volume zzzzz.....
dennisbklow
post Jul 27 2017, 04:52 PM

340 posts

Reshelled mine too and paired with Forza Audioworks hybrid cable. A happy camper.
terradrive
post Nov 17 2018, 09:18 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,925 posts

Any MMCX cables you guys recommend? Both of my UE900's cable insulation disintegrated, I saw quite alot Fiio MMCX cable poped up in the online stores.
zXJaMeSXz
post Apr 21 2019, 07:33 PM

670 posts

Hi Guys...

Would like to check if it's possible for my UE Pro 4 to somehow deteriorate after long term usage?

I own this pair of custom IEM for about 1 and a half year now but recently somehow it started to sound hollow/tiny/soft? I have to bump my volume up from 12% to 25%.

Tried it with different cables and still face the same result.
TSJason
post Apr 22 2019, 01:36 AM

5,846 posts

QUOTE(zXJaMeSXz @ Apr 21 2019, 07:33 PM)
Hi Guys...

Would like to check if it's possible for my UE Pro 4 to somehow deteriorate after long term usage?

I own this pair of custom IEM for about 1 and a half year now but recently somehow it started to sound hollow/tiny/soft? I have to bump my volume up from 12% to 25%.

Try a different source?
joshuachew
post Apr 22 2019, 11:17 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(zXJaMeSXz @ Apr 21 2019, 07:33 PM)
Hi Guys...

Are your tubes filled with wax?

53 Pages « < 51 52 53Top

0.0227sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:59 AM