Maxis iPhone 4 Launch Sept 23th @ THE GARDENS, Q&A..READ THE FIRST POST...

weileong
post Sep 23 2010, 10:02 PM

"The Idea Is To Die Young As Late As Possible"
1,720 posts

i will be going there soon...dunno what is my Q" no le...
weileong
post Sep 23 2010, 10:15 PM

1,720 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Sep 23 2010, 10:14 PM)
Any wifi there? wanna bring the ipad if got..
hehe..dont show off show off ya tongue.gif icon_idea.gif
weileong
post Sep 23 2010, 11:42 PM

1,720 posts

Hihi..I at garden now...damn crowded le..more than 300-500 was q...I was at the 3rd line which about 100++ ppl there...heard if lucky can purchase iphone outright biggrin.gif. Still got half and hour to go...
weileong
post Sep 24 2010, 03:47 AM

1,720 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Sep 24 2010, 02:59 AM)
just got back home and started syncing old stuffs and contacts back to the new phone. started queuing around 930pm and guess there was around 100-150 person already in-line that time.

got into the waiting room with my number approx 1 hour of queue. been served with drinks, light refreshments (cupcakes with Maxis logo is kinda nice) and some music. plenty of stuffs to be won throughout the period (a friend managed to grab a Capdase case). only a limited amount of people are allowed to be in the waiting room at a time hence it's not too packed.

launch started at 12 sharp and all was squeezing through to get to the main ballroom for the purchase from the waiting room. Maxis should have arranged those in the waiting number according to number sequence instead of letting everyone squeezing in at the same time. was a pretty big mess when the time i got in. people were complaining how those with numbers way behind got into the hall.

anyway, things got pretty neat and systematic once you're in the main ballroom. managed to got in around 1am, approx 1 hour after the official launch. numbers called, get your iPhone, head to another counter for micro sim replacement (FOC, current sim gets deactivated within 10 minutes) and once you're done, you can choose to activate your phone at another line of counters or activate it yourself back home.

queue was still long and stretched out to the car park 2 floors below when i left approx. 2am. Maxis staffs was told that they are required to stay till 5am for the launch btw.

overall, been a pretty decent experience for me but Maxis could have done things to make the waiting and purchasing experience way better. since it's a first midnight launch for Maxis, hope they'd learn and things will be much more enjoyable for the customers.

piece of advice to those looking to get their units in the nest 2 days, get there early. as early as you can. beat the crowd. smile.gif

p/s: Maxis sets came with iOS 4.0.2 btw.
Hi teikwing..i just back from there...to be honest..i jump "the Q" rather just waiting there for nothing...Arrived at 11pm...get in waiting room about 1:45am..the numbering system is Messed up , those in line 3-4 even can get in just bargain or nego with maxis authorized person..
yup..i agreed with you once enter the main ballroom everything was ok..

I get Both 32GB and 16GB , i was pretty long on settlement...took more than 30 mins just for collection and payment..i had give up on activation..which i plan to activate myself tongue.gif left there around 3am..think still got about 300 people waiting for their new ip4...and pity those "q" at 10pm..collecting their around 3am... sweat.gif

I was not satisfy about the arrangement of the "queuing system" really messy. Hope those wanna collect at today noon better go there early to avoid some technical problem by maxis.. rclxub.gif
weileong
post Sep 24 2010, 03:51 AM

1,720 posts

QUOTE(zephyrous @ Sep 24 2010, 03:48 AM)
Maxis sucks big time with this launch. They were lacking of organization, crowd control. The launch party isn't a party at all, just a holding area and we had to wait almost 2 hours in there. The lines were miles long because they can only fit a small crowd inside. They obviously don't know how to cope with the big crowd. They also have problem with the numbering when i was there and slow printer.

They have 60 counters and 10 of it is for activation. That leaves 50 and averaging 15 minutes per person, it would require them 5 hours to complete 1000 customers. Good luck for those going tomorrow.
heard at beginning they had about 80 CS in service... but went in to main ballroom...Saw the counter until no 60.. doh.gif basically counter 55-60 is activation
weileong
post Sep 24 2010, 04:04 AM

1,720 posts

QUOTE(Varia @ Sep 24 2010, 04:00 AM)
u know what? i got a rollbacked no.3007.
and i waited so long. and at last. i DONT EVEN NEED A TICKET TO GET MY PHONE !
LOL...Funny isn't it... doh.gif nevermind we all get ip4 happy happy thumbup.gif
weileong
post Sep 24 2010, 10:35 AM

1,720 posts

friendly advise for ppl going to "Q" this coming event :-

Is gonna be very long "Q" and Messy thing ,technical problem happen, Buy some Bread or makan something before u just go there for suffer ya. rclxub.gif

Enjoy your ip4 after that. thumbup.gif
weileong
post Sep 24 2010, 04:04 PM

1,720 posts

QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Sep 24 2010, 03:13 PM)
any more maxis1club member collected iphone vide express q?
To be honest..I'm MOC member, although this morning 1230am when i get the ticket under 20xx(MOC-Maxxxxxissss) but when go in to main hall to get the iphone..there is the most disappointed part...wait almost1 hour Plus there for nothing..

If you managed to speak with one of their Superior and make noise then i think you got the priority to your turn. vmad.gif

0.0321sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:44 AM