Renovations Approving/Premit Renovation Floor Plan, What sort of permitting is required?

TSchm46
post Sep 21 2010, 10:28 AM, updated 16y ago

21 posts

I am trynig to start the process of renovating. The first thing needs to be done, except for the fact that you know what you want to renovate, is to obtain permitting to start the renovation.

Went to the Majlis Perbandaran to seek assistance. Some findings:

1. There are existing "pre-approved" floor plan that you can buy, if you follow the specs of the design.
2. Any other non-existance of "pre-approved" floor plan, you need to have an architect to draw and certify for you.

Question raised are:

1. The so-call pre-approved floor plan are generic and most of the time inconsistent with the original design of the floor plan. According to the helpful personnel there, its ok to use it, but still raise a doubt as its not the specification. Will I then be charge of constructing something illegal?
2. The pre-approved floor plan are made available only for the back and side extension. For front extension, there is non-existence, or at least that is what made known to me by them. That goes to the case, if you want to closeup your balcony, (>2 storey teres houses). Hence, then in any case I would need to do #2 as listed above.

I would like to seek your thoughts as if "question raised" in #2, then all renovation works will required new architecture floor plan. Then why the existance of the "pre-approved" floor plan?
catpowder
post Oct 15 2010, 12:24 AM

162 posts

Hello, sorry I can't answer you here but I am facing a same situation... (renovation!)...

I bought a subsale property and I want to do some minor changes to its facade.

The proposed changes are sort of 'minor' with no noticeable changes to structural shape, but do we need to get permit from Majlis Perbandaran as well? They include:

1. Hacking away an unattractive "roman column"-inspired balcony on the 1st floor, and make a simpler "brutalist" structure... same size but different aesthetics.

2. Cover up one door at the bottom (that one is bad Feng Shui, apparently)!

3. Change the flooring of the car porch and hack away the present tiles to make way for a little garden patch.

4. Remove the horrendously tacky metal awning and substitute it with a flat concrete plane as a 'roof'.

My property agent told me that to get a permission, you need to show the CF too... but the previous owners of the house did not get it lor... although they have paid the fees to the Majlis Perbandaran in the early 90s...

I wonder how! They say a fine may result in not getting the permit for renos... how much are these fines, I wonder?

If anyone could explain to me and the TS some of the processes to this, I would be very grateful!
ArkiJuru
post Nov 5 2010, 02:20 AM

Hello there..
"pre-approved" plan,
-are limited to small area & construction, there are limited as weel as that u cannot removed the exist wall..
-not specified and match with owner needed
-if u not made and renovate same & exactly, u will be fine or in worst case ur house might be demolist by local outhority.
0exactly these plan for small extension....in my experience it risky for owner..
#conclusion, used architecture plan;-)

Added on November 5, 2010, 2:30 amhye catpowder..
all ur questioned and solution will be solve by using application, arcchitectural & c&s plan to local authority...

call me ArkiJuru 0123123951
im work as architecture @ c&s designer, 8 years experienced submission and approval to local authority, also renovate construction too..

This post has been edited by ArkiJuru: Nov 5 2010, 02:30 AM
summerangelx
post Dec 9 2010, 04:26 PM

Just curious! How much would be the cost for buying the "Pre-approved Plan" and also the architectural & c&s plan?

I am facing this problem as well sad.gif

myonedeco
post Dec 11 2010, 12:06 AM

prices depends on the renovation items, size of house, etc. should be > RM200 per architecture plan.
summerangelx
post Dec 16 2010, 10:45 AM

QUOTE(myonedeco @ Dec 11 2010, 12:06 AM)
prices depends on the renovation items, size of house, etc. should be > RM200 per architecture plan.
Thanks for the information, i just realised there is a minimum charge on the architectural fees from the government. So dont easily get "potong" smile.gif

For everyone who interested
http://www.lam.gov.my/download/newlamform/scaleminfees.pdf

Let me know if it was not right.

edyek
post Dec 16 2010, 02:17 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(summerangelx @ Dec 16 2010, 10:45 AM)
Thanks for the information, i just realised there is a minimum charge on the architectural fees from the government. So dont easily get "potong"  smile.gif

For everyone who interested
http://www.lam.gov.my/download/newlamform/scaleminfees.pdf

Let me know if it was not right.

Some Architect do not follow those minimum charges.

But general practice should be following PAM rules.
fazlittc
post Dec 18 2010, 12:44 AM

82 posts

installing a grill and plaster ceiling also need approval? Please advise
jlexter
post Dec 18 2010, 03:55 PM

QUOTE(fazlittc @ Dec 18 2010, 12:44 AM)
installing a grill and plaster ceiling also need approval? Please advise
Installing grill and plaster doen't requires a Majlis approval, unless u r using the reno tong sampah....then the Majlis guys will come by for afternoon tea nod.gif
AzimAdhwa
post Dec 20 2010, 10:15 PM

84 posts

for majlis sepang grille installing must do the permit smile.gif
myonedeco
post Dec 20 2010, 10:38 PM

MP kulim does not need permit for grill....lol~

0.0200sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled