Engine down, Penang bridge accident

raymond
post Sep 22 2010, 04:39 AM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(eddie_al @ Sep 21 2010, 02:39 PM)
i am not advocating speeding. please go back to driving school. you obviously failed.

always give way to the faster car, especially when you are at the rightmost lane. kena saman is the one overtakings' problem...not for you to decide. the moment you hog the right lane, you are a road idiot. you played a part in aggravating people to cut thru the left lane. fullstop.

EDIT: I bold the part for those who have problem understanding. That's the traffic rule on dual lane (or more) roads. Just because you are above speed limit, doesn't mean you can stay there as long as you like. Give way. Don't understand, then google / dictionary it.
i agree the outer most lane on a multi-lane highway is for overtaking...
but it does not give you the right to drive over the speed limit...

i'm always on the left or center lane when i'm cruising on the highway...
i'll go out to outer most right lane to overtake... all the while within the speed limit...
bear in mind when i do this... i make sure the overtaking lane is clear of traffic...
i'll then return to the left lane when i'm done...

if some speeding idiot happens to catch up at my rear while i'm overtaking...
they should be slowing down to allow me to complete my overtaking...
they can then continue with their unlawful speeding when i return back to the left lane...

raymond
post Sep 22 2010, 03:25 PM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(eddie_al @ Sep 22 2010, 09:45 AM)
Since when does other people driving over speed limit concerns you? whether or not people driving over speedlimit is within whos right, it definately doesnt fall into your hand to decide. I already said, if its speed summon you are talking about, let them deal with it.

why are some people so concern about whether others are speeding or not? Is it so hard to understand? Faster car behind you, GIVE WAY.
you got it all wrong...
why shouldn't it concern me when other drive over the speed limit???
i'm a road user too... and would like to feel safe when i'm on the road...
a speed demon who lost control of his car can cause an accident and take other motorist lives too...
that's why we have speed limits...

if you're in the middle of overtaking some buses, lorries, slower cars...
a speeding car closes in behind you...
in order to give way...
there must be a safe gap on the left lane for you to squeeze in to allow the speed demon to illegally speed through...
if there is none... the speed demon have to allow you to finish overtaking...

for road hogging... it's wrong for safety reason... same as speeding...
people road hog for various reasons...
i've asked around before...
some say others can do it... i also can...
some say it's their right... same reason speed demons give...
some say lazy to change lanes to overtake... let the other fella behind do all the work...
you'll be surprised all the lame excuses people can come up with...

as for the people who died on the penang bridge...
i don't think the crash of the mpv with the guard rail caused the worst damage and killed them... it was to the side of the car...
the impact of the lorry behind them that did the worst damage...

just my 2 cents... take it with a pinch of salt... as i take others too...
raymond
post Sep 23 2010, 03:00 AM

1,184 posts

anybody know what is the current body count for the penang bridge since it opened???

just motor accident... no need include suicide...
raymond
post Sep 23 2010, 02:07 PM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Sep 23 2010, 04:56 AM)
FYI, there might be a reason Penangites road hog at right lane, the left lane occasionally full of nails  doh.gif
Last time 2 lanes was worst, now got 3 lanes is better a bit.

I'll use mid lane now no matter how slow i'm driving, if u want to overtake me, use right lane or left lane.
If i'm driving in 2 lanes last time, i would probably hog the right lane too  smile.gif
from my own personal experience since the bridge opened, i have noticed the following...

before the bridge expansion...
it was 2 lanes to 3 lanes (middle span) to 2 lanes...
most motorcycles, buses & lorries will be on the left lane entering and exiting the bridge...
that's why you end up with cars hogging the right lane...
buses & lorries will sometimes hog the right lane too...
it seems they do this to avoid changing lanes whenever they need to overtake slower motorcyles, buses, lorries, cars...
when you hit the middle span, you'll notice the left lane seems to become a motorcycle lane...
very seldom you'll see slower buses, lorries, cars move to this lane...
some cars use this left lane as an overtaking lane...
why???
because it will change back to 2 lanes again...

now, after the bridge expansion...
not much have changed in terms of driving habit...
the most left lane is usually full of motorcycles...
slower buses, lorries, cars still drive in the middle lane...
there are still road hogs driving buses, lorries, cars on the right lane...

just my 2 cents...

Added on September 23, 2010, 2:11 pm
QUOTE(victor_hoh @ Sep 23 2010, 02:04 PM)
During the Raya festive season, when I was travelling on the PLUS highway, one bloody white Forte drove as if he owned the road. Flashing high beam and HONKING all the way to tell people to give way, when everyone is travelling around 80-90km/h.  Damn ego.

I honestly hope that this kind of driver can go meet whoever God he believes in ASAP.
this kind of people don't believe in god...

they only believe in speed demon...

Added on September 23, 2010, 2:15 pm
QUOTE(MeToo @ Sep 23 2010, 02:05 PM)
Bro have you considered he might have an emergency? Maybe he want to lausai liao? Imagine how susah tahan from shitting?
this kind of drivers will eventually create an emergency for other road users...

This post has been edited by raymond: Sep 23 2010, 02:15 PM
raymond
post Sep 25 2010, 11:54 PM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Sep 25 2010, 03:33 PM)
+1

Imagine u are going 130 on right lane
drive drive drive

then suddenly this aunty hogging the lane, driving at 110.

then she dont let you pass.

because frustrated. you turn to the left to overtake, and BANG

this is how accident happen.

how it happen?
1)the aunty hogging the lane

if you say cause the guy was speeding, wait, the guy already brake behind the aunty, so in reality, he wasnt speeding at all, the aunty stop him from speeding making him switch lane spontaneously and cause a crash.
QUOTE(kikikukiki @ Sep 25 2010, 06:24 PM)
Auntie driving at 110km/h, it's her right because that is the national speed limit. You driving at 130km/h, you were speeding -1. If you were speeding and am involved in an accident and die, nobody cares. If you are involved in an accident and take somene else with you, imagine the wrath your family members will have to face from their next of kin. If you don't die and the other party dies, you think you will be able to live with it?
the senarios above given by both you guys are wrong...

1st...
road hogging on the overtaking lane is an offence not matter at what speed...
you should not be in the right lane if you are not overtaking slower traffic on the left lane...
so, always keep to the left lane when not overtaking...

2nd...
even if you do hog the road (which is an offence) on the right lane...
when a faster car is approaching from behind...
it does not matter if the other car is speeding above the speed limit or not...
as long as it's faster than you...
you should return to the left lane within a reasonable time to allow it to overtake you...

3rd...
while you are overtaking on the right lane...
if you approach a slower car in front of you which is overtaking at a slower speed than you...
you need to slow down and allow the slower car to return to the left lane when it's done overtaking...

4th...
while you are overtaking on the right lane...
if you approach a slower car in front of you which is hogging the right lane...
you need to slow down and allow the slower car to return to the left lane within a resonable time...

5th...
you should only be overtaking cars on the right lane...
no matter at what speed you are driving...

6th...
driving above the speed limit in whatever lane is an offence...

if every road user follows the above...
more lives will be safed...
remember...
road hogging and speeding accidents are actually not accidents at all...
since they are all preventable incidents....

0.0141sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:50 PM