Photography Fujifilm FinePix X100 & X100S, Newly Released X100S Available Now!
C-Fu
Jun 7 2011, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(ifer @ Jun 7 2011, 02:36 PM) you got to check what type of lenses use 49mm hood. not the usual lenses i assume. i didn't say it's professional. YL and keat still caters to the mass. they cant afford to carry accessories that only cater to the few photographers. that explains why they do not have a lot of other stuffs. I found 49mm stuff in YL and some shops in Pudu. Viewfinders also can find in Keat (and YL). Some pics, mostly unedited. wanted to edit, but the JPEG is already so sharp and so detailed, sharpening a bit also like destroying the pic pulak        This post has been edited by C-Fu: Jun 7 2011, 08:09 PM
jkleejk
Jun 7 2011, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jun 7 2011, 08:51 PM) Nice pix bro BTW y u still need additional Optical Viewfinder? Is it for pimping purpose ?  I found some AF issue with video mode today, i handheld X100 & walk around to take video on a machine, but it seem i cant have proper focus on each portion. I need to adjust my own distance to get a clearer focus. Any tips to improve it?
C-Fu
Jun 7 2011, 11:01 PM
I'm not sure about the video part, haven't actually used it more than once, and even that time it was just testing around. I've got the black voigtlander viewfinder from YL. It's mostly for street photography, and pimping it a bit  But whenever I venture into the jungle for a mineral photography shoot I take it off. Easier to traverse around Malaysian jungle with it's thick undergrowth with a smaller and solid camera than worrying about wether the viewfinder will jatuh after langgar a branch 
jkleejk
Jun 7 2011, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jun 8 2011, 12:01 AM) I'm not sure about the video part, haven't actually used it more than once, and even that time it was just testing around. I've got the black voigtlander viewfinder from YL. It's mostly for street photography, and pimping it a bit  But whenever I venture into the jungle for a mineral photography shoot I take it off. Easier to traverse around Malaysian jungle with it's thick undergrowth with a smaller and solid camera than worrying about wether the viewfinder will jatuh after langgar a branch   What does mineral photography means? Your job must be related to jungle thingy  ... After reading X100 manual, in Video mode, need to put AF-S mode, then video will be AF but need some times to AF. Depends how sudden & far away from your previous focus point defer.
C-Fu
Jun 8 2011, 12:40 AM
meaning? haha i dunno really. i just made that name up  basically i go into the jungle, find rocks and collect the info, which involves taking pics. Actually, although i used to do weddings way back, I love shooting rocks more than people. Why?    Rocks don't complain  My main reason for getting the X100 before was because of my confidence in fuji's natural colours (and proven right). Then when I got it, terus tukar pakai velvia  for my next trip, i'm sure gonna test the awesome awesome 5 B+W settings This post has been edited by C-Fu: Jun 8 2011, 01:54 AM
jkleejk
Jun 8 2011, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jun 8 2011, 01:40 AM) meaning? haha i dunno really. i just made that name up  basically i go into the jungle, find rocks and collect the info, which involves taking pics. Actually, although i used to do weddings way back, I love shooting rocks more than people. Why?    Rocks don't complain  My main reason for getting the X100 before was because of my confidence in fuji's natural colours (and proven right). Then when I got it, terus tukar pakai velvia  for my next trip, i'm sure gonna test the awesome awesome 5 B+W settings  U r the rock, man! I realize fuji color is pretty nice, i do like it. Especially astria & sephia...
C-Fu
Jun 8 2011, 01:17 PM
yup! but one thing though, is the position of the flash. they sell the lens hood n adapter for quite a huge sum of money, but it blocks the flash! luckily i don't really have the need for flash photography, but it kinda sucks that if you want flash, no hood. and i use hood all the time :/ like this pic for instance  can see the bottom part of the image is darker, even after i had to adjust the image a bit to hide the blocked flash part. but if i didn't tell you, you wouldn't know so it's all good This post has been edited by C-Fu: Jun 8 2011, 01:51 PM
jkleejk
Jun 8 2011, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jun 8 2011, 02:17 PM) yup! but one thing though, is the position of the flash. they sell the lens hood n adapter for quite a huge sum of money, but it blocks the flash! luckily i don't really have the need for flash photography, but it kinda sucks that if you want flash, no hood. and i use hood all the time :/ like this pic for instance  can see the bottom part of the image is darker, even after i had to adjust the image a bit to hide the blocked flash part. but if i didn't tell you, you wouldn't know so it's all good  i did read somewhere in stevehuff site, when using flash, better remove the hood. anyway i dun realize, i thought it is just another nice bokeh effect
pengster
Jun 8 2011, 02:38 PM
Does the lens on the X100 flare easily? If it doesn't then it won't be too bad using it without the hood + flash
C-Fu
Jun 8 2011, 11:24 PM
nope. hardly any flare at all
fixed lens by virtue of it being fixed almost always means that the quality can be higher or equal to a much more expensive mounted lens
This post has been edited by C-Fu: Jun 8 2011, 11:27 PM
pengster
Jun 8 2011, 11:32 PM
Yeah. So using the X100 without the hood when using the flash would be quite alright
C-Fu
Jun 9 2011, 08:36 AM
yeah, but i don't wanna risk scratching my lens while i am in the jungle  and the hood helps when the sun is directly on top of you This post has been edited by C-Fu: Jun 9 2011, 08:36 AM
sniper on the roof
Jun 9 2011, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jun 9 2011, 08:36 AM) yeah, but i don't wanna risk scratching my lens while i am in the jungle  and the hood helps when the sun is directly on top of you This fella got solution for you http://www.flickr.com/photos/xtianyves/570.../in/photostream
C-Fu
Jun 9 2011, 08:00 PM
yeah i know about that technique, waiting for my stepdown ring from ebay
jkleejk
Jun 10 2011, 08:34 AM
QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jun 9 2011, 09:00 PM) yeah i know about that technique, waiting for my stepdown ring from ebay  someone mention it is doesn't make sense to put a cheap UV filter in front of expensive lens. I think about it, it is true. So just the hood & lens caps will do the job.
C-Fu
Jun 10 2011, 08:36 AM
Well since that someone doesn't potentially scratch his camera few times a week, I'd rather it scratches the cheap filter IMO.
jkleejk
Jun 10 2011, 09:03 AM
QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jun 10 2011, 09:36 AM) Well since that someone doesn't potentially scratch his camera few times a week, I'd rather it scratches the cheap filter IMO. hehe, agree on that too,especially u with your jungle thingy.
C-Fu
Jun 10 2011, 02:43 PM
My ebay purchases has arrived!!!!!!!  Leica Fotografie Internationale mags, Leica red soft shutter button, shutter trigger, and lens caps wheeeeeeeeeeeeee
jkleejk
Jun 10 2011, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jun 10 2011, 03:43 PM) My ebay purchases has arrived!!!!!!!  Leica Fotografie Internationale mags, Leica red soft shutter button, shutter trigger, and lens caps wheeeeeeeeeeeeee can u take more macro shot on your new stuff? The soft button is huge! BTW what is the your lens caps size? are u using the LH-X100 hood & the caps fits onto of it?
WyjSwmW
Jun 10 2011, 11:01 PM
Today I tested the X100 in PC fair Singapore...
Walan eh, a truly amazing camera... once u touched it, u will like it.