Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying Stuffs from Ebay and Amazon - The problems, Need help! AP's, Sirim, and Taxes

simyan
post Sep 19 2010, 03:19 AM, updated 16y ago

75 posts

I am buying a couple of cheap used handphones and XBox 360 consoles.

I read on multiple forum threads that handphones require SIRIM AP which costs hundreds of ringgit per phone. Is there anywhere to go round this? Maybe I can ship the phones to Australia or Singapore or Thailand and go and collect there just to save the 600 ringgit?

By the way, how about the Xbox'es? They come with free, used game discs too. Do I need to pay any strange custom duties, charges and fees?

Lastly, what are the items that are subjected to Sirim inspections and approval?

THanks in advance!

watermonkey
post Sep 19 2010, 03:30 AM

25 posts

maybe you can use a service like hopshopgo or vshub to simplify the taxes/sirim procedure? i think they'll do everything for you, and you'll just have to pay a fee. I've used vshub to purchase a laptop from Amazon before, laptops dont require any taxes though. Not sure about sirim stuff.
Augus7
post Sep 19 2010, 03:52 AM

Council
698 posts

i purchased a laptop from US, the shop in NY, via online. i don remember paying anything for sirim or tax....
simyan
post Sep 19 2010, 12:19 PM

75 posts

laptops are different. Any communication devices are subjected to sirim's approval. By the way, the kastam will hold any item that they find that's subjected to approval by the local authorities - such as helmets for motorcyclist and handphones.

I just want to know if there are other things that are such a hassle to bring into the shore of Malaysia.

Please advise.
newbi3s
post Sep 29 2010, 10:51 AM

FALIQ
4,325 posts

QUOTE(simyan @ Sep 19 2010, 03:19 AM)
I am buying a couple of cheap used handphones and XBox 360 consoles.

I read on multiple forum threads that handphones require SIRIM AP which costs hundreds of ringgit per phone. Is there anywhere to go round this? Maybe I can ship the phones to Australia or Singapore or Thailand and go and collect there just to save the 600 ringgit?

By the way, how about the Xbox'es? They come with free, used game discs too. Do I need to pay any strange custom duties, charges and fees?

Lastly, what are the items that are subjected to Sirim inspections and approval?

THanks in advance!

SIRIM - any communication goods and any frequency based goods
Suruhanjaya Tenaga - water heater, electric shaver, plugs, adapter, lamps fitting, food mixer/blender, switch, dimmer, capacitor for fluorescent lamp, hair dryer, hi-fi set, socket outlet, circuit breaker, electric kettle, ballast, ceiling holders, table lamps, toaster, table fan, vacuum cleaner, electric smoothing iron, refrigerator, domestic power tool, video player, television, rice cooker, running light, wire/cable/cord, washing machines etc

This post has been edited by newbi3s: Sep 29 2010, 10:52 AM
k3nji
post Oct 2 2010, 10:30 PM

261 posts

huhuu...i had buy a china phone last year..had been hold by customs at klia...so,,go and fetch there,,,nego with them say that i dont know phone need to apply ap...so,,after nego nego nego,,,than my luck it pass without taxes...now,,,didnt buy any phone outside the country more..huhuu

p/s: what type of phone u want to buy?
mahadi82
post Oct 3 2010, 10:20 AM

63 posts

Malaysian have to many TAX...... doh.gif

i think government already POKAI sweat.gif
squaleon
post Nov 20 2010, 02:46 PM

I am planning to buy a laptop in Amazon, does Malaysia doesnt really have a tax for it? I'm afraid that it will cost me more if they will put a tax to my laptop.

Your recommendation is much appreciated.

0.0154sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:27 PM