TSsharp56
post Sep 18 2010, 01:08 PM, updated 16y ago

332 posts

HTC WildFire EZ Operational Guide for Beginners

1. How to set MP3 as ringtone?
Go to music -> select the song u want -> Menu -> Set as ringtone
Or you can use an application call RingDroid which will allow you to cut the MP3 to use as ringtones/notifications/alarms, etc.

2. How to make MP3 appear in music player?
Make the following folder/directories (all in small caps) in your SD Card and copy your MP3 into it:
-SDCard>media>audio>ringtone
-SDCard>media>audio>alarm
-SDCard>media>audio>notification
-SDCard>media>audio>music

3. How to make Video appear in Video Player?
Make a new folder in your SD Card call "video" and put all your videos inside.

4. How to put photos into contact so that they will be shown as caller/facebook identification?
Please do be reminded you can't place contact pictures directly into the SIM card. Therefore you must export out all your contacts from the SIM to the phone before you can do so.
These are the steps you can do:
i. Press (^) to the apps menu, and select "Contacts".
ii. At the contacts, press "menu" and you'll see "Imports/Exports".
iii. Import all or select certain contacts to be imported to the phone.
iv. Then go to gallery and select the picture, press "menu" and touch on "set as" then select "contact icon", and search for the contact that you wanted to assign the picture with.

5. How to put your own MP3 as ringtone or notification/sms alert tone?
you can put your own mp3 file for your ring tones or notifications:
create folder in SD card root folder - named by media/audio/ringtones for ringtones.
create folder in SD card root folder - named by media/audio/notifications for notifications

Then change the Notification tone in Settings->Sound & Display->Notification sound
Or you can use a free app called Tone Picker mp3. Create a folder on your SD card, pop your wildfired ringtones (mp3) in there and use the app to associate a tone. But it does not differentiate between sms and email.
Or you can use SMS Popup. This allows you to allocate a different Tone for text messages.

6. How to install applications?
Method 1
Press (^) and press on market. Search and select the application -> "install"
Method 2
Download the application .apk file (and folder if necessary) and copy it into root directory of SD Card. Put a tick on Setting>applications>Unknown sources. Download a File Manager application from the market called ASTRO File manager and install it. Open ASTRO and install the .apk file appearing on the screen.

7. How to uninstall applications?
Settings>Application>Manage Applications and select the application to be uninstalled.

8. How to use Alarm to wake up?
Tab on the clock in the Home page and select the alarm clock. Set the time you want to wake up. Or you can use an application called "Klaxon" which has more features.

9. How to navigate the roads in Malaysia using GPS?
You have to turn the phone GPS first. Go to Settings>Location and tick on "Use GPS Satellite". PapagoX5 Malaysia version works well on WildFire's 240x320 resolution. At the moment, other Android GPS applications such as Garmin, iGO, NDrive, etc either do not work well or do not work at all on WildFire.

10. How to conserve your battery?
For a new battery, it is advisable to charge for 8 hours the first time and subsequently charge and discharge fully 5 times before it holds battery charge optimally. For everyday usage, the best way to save battery is:
-Turn off background data
-Only turn on wifi and mobile internet when needed
-Keep brightness just under 50%
-And kill off apps when they are not being used.
You can look in About phone>Battery>Battery use and see what application is using the most battery consumption and you can cut down the application which consumes the most battery juices.

11. How to add your favorite contacts into your Home page?
In your contacts under "Group" select favorite for that contact. Next, go to an empty Home page. Press on (+) in the empty Home page and go to "Widgets" and select the Widget style. Select favorites Group from the group drop down box. All your favorite contacts will appear in your Home page.

12. Where to get updated software and manuals for WildFire?
Your phone does not come with a detailed manual. You can find it inside your phone or you can download it from here for your viewing on a larger screen from your PC:
http://www.htc.com/sea/support.aspx
You have to go to your choose your product window and select HTC WildFire. To download software and manuals for WildFire, you need to key in your serial no.

13. How do I switch off selected "always on" apps to free memory and battery drain?
Select Advanced Task Killer from the apps market. It is free and you put it on your Home page. Tap it and it takes you to a screen which shows all the programs that are running in the background. Tick the ones you want to close and then KILL selected apps.

14. How can I save money on phone usage?
At first it is awesome to receive instant emails, breaking news, facebook updates, weather updates, browsing internet, etc without wifi. After a while you'll find that you can get these information on the regular wifi internet/personal computer. One can easily use up RM10 a day or about RM300 a month using these features. The alternative is that you can turn these off and save a lot of moolahs; you can turn them on again anytime or when you really need them in emergencies.
Click on (^) and go to setup. After the second or third screen (Internet Connection), uncheck "Mobile Network or Wifi" and check on "Wifi Only (Don't have a data plan)".

15. Why can't I see my SD Card in my PC when I connect my WildFire to the PC to install an .apk app by using the provided USB connector?
First you need to install HTC USB driver (you can google for it or find it in HTC website) in your PC. After installing this driver, when you connect your WildFire to the PC through USB, your PC will be able to recognize your WildFire phone's SD Card as a new hard drive and you will be able to copy anything into your SD Card. Then you need to use Method 1 (see 6 above) to install the ASTRO File Manager before you can use Method 2 to install any .apk applications.

Please contribute more operational guide for beginners of this wonderful android phone as we go along.

This post has been edited by sharp56: Sep 19 2010, 12:02 AM
xngjn
post Sep 18 2010, 01:15 PM

1,239 posts

lol. wildfire rock. good. keep it up. smile.gif
LEVIATHAN
post Sep 18 2010, 01:20 PM

Master Chief Carl M. Brashear
2,281 posts

Thank you and kudos on this basic guide. You posted something useful and constructive to this small Android community; it's commendable.

Unlike that kenta- oh wai-
whitegoh
post Sep 18 2010, 01:41 PM

1,207 posts

wow... finally... i'm tired of answering those question too in wildfire forum..
^^
thx so much..
adrianteddy
post Sep 18 2010, 04:25 PM

Founder of Lowyat.Net Android Community Club
1,542 posts

useful (:
MR_alien
post Sep 18 2010, 05:02 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

i think mod should pin this up
cuz it applies on other android based phone as well
harryfoo
post Sep 18 2010, 06:22 PM

2,296 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Sep 18 2010, 05:02 PM)
i think mod should pin this up
cuz it applies on other android based phone as well
Great for those who just bought Wildfire. biggrin.gif thumbup.gif
silentser
post Sep 18 2010, 07:55 PM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

why dont you guys post it on the first post of the wildfire thread instead make it a pin?

surely that make alot more sense
nern@h
post Sep 18 2010, 09:37 PM

67 posts

"Download the application .apk file (and folder if necessary) and copy it into root directory of SD Card. Put a tick on Setting>applications>Unknown sources. Download a File Manager application from the market called ASTRO File manager and install it. Open ASTRO and install the .apk file appearing on the screen."

hi, i try to copy into the sd card bt still cant. can help?thanx
TSsharp56
post Sep 18 2010, 11:44 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(nern@h @ Sep 18 2010, 09:37 PM)
"Download the application .apk file (and folder if necessary) and copy it into root directory of SD Card. Put a tick on Setting>applications>Unknown sources. Download a File Manager application from the market called ASTRO File manager and install it. Open ASTRO and install the .apk file appearing on the screen."

hi, i try to copy into the sd card bt still cant. can help?thanx
First you need to install HTC USB driver (you can google for it or find it in HTC website) in your PC. After installing this driver, when you connect your WildFire to the PC through USB, your PC will be able to recognize your WildFire phone as a new hard drive and you will be able to copy anything into your SD Card. Then you need to use Method 1 to install the ASTRO File Manager before you can use Method 2 to install any .apk applications. Hope this helps!

This post has been edited by sharp56: Sep 18 2010, 11:45 PM
virusspreader
post Sep 19 2010, 12:07 AM

552 posts

QUOTE(sharp56 @ Sep 18 2010, 11:44 PM)
First you need to install HTC USB driver (you can google for it or find it in HTC website) in your PC. After installing this driver, when you connect your WildFire to the PC through USB, your PC will be able to recognize your WildFire phone as a new hard drive and you will be able to copy anything into your SD Card. Then you need to use Method 1 to install the ASTRO File Manager before you can use Method 2 to install any .apk applications. Hope this helps!
izit HTC USB Sync?? if yes, den nern@h...u get it here. HTC USB Sync

This post has been edited by virusspreader: Sep 19 2010, 12:14 AM
michael9413
post Sep 19 2010, 12:13 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

that is very basic la... all android uses most of the things there...

in Wildfire in order for HTC Sync detect ur phone u need to enable USB Debugging in the Development Tad in ur Application menu...

BTW pls close this thread as all of the Q&A is answered already in the following thread...

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1211308
blue_winter
post Sep 19 2010, 11:56 AM

121 posts

The other thread don't have this easy guide lah...its easier this way than to search all the 7 pages for answers...
michael9413
post Sep 19 2010, 12:44 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well don think that we need another thread like this... better ask the thread starter of wildfire or the Q&A copy this into the 1st page...

BTW lazy will not help you either... ask or google around for solution... don expect ppl to spoon feed you the problem with our ppl's habit... please change that b4 we can change our own country also...
blue_winter
post Sep 19 2010, 02:04 PM

121 posts

What are you talking about? Isn't that what I am doing now? ask or google around for solutions? That's why we are here in Lowyat forum...Why would you want to do it the hard way when there is a smarter way?

and what's with the remark calling ppl lazy and stereotyping all Malaysians? That's just so immature.

End of discussion.
michael9413
post Sep 19 2010, 02:15 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

we got 1 wildfire thread... paste the guide in it... not open a new thread...
and that one that he put in is applicable for all android not wildfire only...

yea i'm very immature... duh...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Sep 19 2010, 02:17 PM

0.0217sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:15 PM