Oct 21 2010, 01:40 PM
753 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 21 2010, 12:13 PM) Price is relative. I'd say smartphones are ridiculously expensive too with most 3.5 " screen models ranging RM 2000 to RM 2600. You can buy 2 Windows netbook for the price of one smartphone. so tempting on your Steak running froyo..Steak does not have GPS right?I still feel apps is a matter of time - it is a chicken and egg situation. I have posted here before saying that at least Google is honest saying for the 7" tablets , apps are yet fully optimized for it. Just look at iPad , selling like hot cakes but till now now only 25000 apps out of the 250,000 apps in Apple Store are developed for it . Most users will find that more than half their apps on ipad is running on a 3.5" view on a 9.7" screen or an expanded 7" view ( with blurry fonts, poor resolution ) on a 9.7" screen. I have not actually seen the Galaxy Tab but have seen the local CSL MI700 ( 7" Android 2.2 ) - I'd say is not a major issue ; at least the apps resolution looks better than the ipad using the default apps. One might see more differences in the graphic intensive high resolution games Added on October 21, 2010, 12:27 pm I'd say if I have a choice then, I'd buy the Galaxy Tab over the iPad. Simply because you could use the Galaxy Tab as a substitute netbook ( rating 8/10 ) . Try that on the iPad - you will " die" of frusration ( rating 5/10) . The iPad is a consumer gadget - use it to browse, emails, games, ebooks, magazines - this is great. Try do some office work on it, manage files etc - you will get frustrated. Especially using the editing function on keyboard ( unless you are a good typist ) - I can assure you that you wish you can just throw it away and wish your netbook is with you. Will I buy the Galaxy Tab - NO at the present moment. Simply 'cos I already spend a premium price ( 20 % more ) on the iPad ( and bought so many apps to enhance and improve it ). I just bought recently a 5" Dell Streak - a fantastic smartphone - it is basically my portable netbook most of the time. I used to bring out my IPad but now I use the Dell Streak more often - for browsing, emails, RSS, Tweeter, Facebook etc , convenient and best is pocketable. I am now running Froyo on my Dell Streak and is great so far This post has been edited by anakrantau: Oct 21 2010, 01:40 PM |
Oct 21 2010, 03:38 PM
Oct 21 2010, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Oct 21 2010, 05:05 PM) from the tweets all over, yeah is only RM950 with contract. RM1849 with 12month contact sound good for me..edit: it's RM950 subsidy actually, too excited until didn't read properly. lol The Samsung Galaxy Tab is priced at RM 2699 but if you take with contracts, it will go down to RM 1849 (12-month) and RM 1749 (24-month). but only maxis? where is digi when you need one |
Oct 21 2010, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(flyguye @ Oct 21 2010, 05:55 PM) Just got back from sg. Wang disappointed. Was there earlier today before launch & was told by a samsung guy there, you can buy the unit only after 5pm. The launch was scheduled for 4pm. when i checked back again closer to 5pm, was told that you can't buy any units today. According to a guy from samsung who seemed to know a bit, he said originally they were gonna sell some units at the launch but because the Gov. has changed the tax structure for mobile phones, they couldn't sell any today. The units are sitting in the warehouse from last week. did launch but no product? sigh.. that's fail for sure..He also confirmed, the pricing, if buy outright RM2699, if on 1yr plan then i think he said RM1859 or RM1849. If on a 2yr plan then its RM100 cheaper. It does not matter what plan you take, 500mb, 1.5gb or 3gb. The units will be available on 25th Oct in limited quantities at 4 major Maxis outlets. KLCC, Pavillion, TTDI & Sunway Piramid. On 29th Oct it will be available at all Maxis outlets. better waiting for more tablets to came out next month.. |
Oct 21 2010, 06:40 PM
Oct 21 2010, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(sigg @ Oct 21 2010, 09:01 PM) with this price, this is far too much, not to say there arent many other tablets out there, Apple has the rights to do so because they know where they stand in the market, their price is based on the brand identity. The price has been rumored at Rm2800 like months ago..no surprise for most of the follower..Samsung, however unfortunately stands at another corner, with this price, if the Playbook comes out with a lower price, say 1.9k this galaxy tab will not be a hit. If HTC comes into play, then i have to say sorry to samsung. But all in all, the price is a joke.... 2.7k???? come on.... where the hell are u aiming at??? how many people will fork out another 2.7k???? 2.7k is some people's total montlhy salary.... with this price, il wait for the playbook, anyway this is certainly like an ipad, calls and whatso ever..... I dont understand... why price it at this price??? Multitask??? that feature is not Android alone anymore... Calls??? with a 3g simcard or a mifi, anything is possible... Webbrowsing with flash????... Hmmm, lets take a step back and ask ourselves, do we really utilize it?? or is this just an eye candy??? after all, with multitask, and since the focus is on multitask so badly? whats wrong with switching inbetwen browsers and the youtube player... Screen sensitivity technology... I dont like to admit it, but Apple does a fine job at it, which is why im frowning at my desire.... If we all just take a step back, do we need a tablet?? I didnt buy that big ipod touch/ipad because i found it cool, but of certainly no use. But, the deal breaker is the OS who gets the deal on bringing in the full version of Microsoft Office. And lets face it, Microsoft aint dumb enuf to let it get ported to another os since they realize its their key selling feature... of windows phone 7. Everyone talks about functionality, so, how much advantage would i get for paying 2.7k??? other than a bigger screen, which I STILL HAVE TO HOLD AND PROTECT IT, JUST LIKE A LAPTOP, AS IT IS VUNERABLE TO SCRATCHES EASLIY WITH ITS NICE big display... Hmm, i get, nothing??? The price might reference to their lil bro samsung Galaxy S which is around RM2.4K, so a little BIG screen and some others additional features makes Galaxy Tab tagging a little higher of RM2.5K mark.. Yes, its still at premium price, but we can wait for next month for the price war.. |
Oct 21 2010, 11:13 PM
Oct 22 2010, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(flyguye @ Oct 22 2010, 08:49 AM) If you guys want a 10" tablet, take a look at Advent Vega. Est. price US400. Selling at Dixons & the specs are impressive. I prefer Notion Ink Adam over any other 10" tablet.2nd choice goes to custom UI win7 tablet, the ExoPC both are in the $500 price range..around RM1600 outside Malaysia.. |
Oct 22 2010, 11:08 AM
Oct 23 2010, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Oct 23 2010, 12:52 PM) You really sure bouts this? I think its depends on the android version.Cuz in my setting > wireless connection. > mobile >scroll to bottom, there's an option to uncheck data connection ... that 100% disables any data uses except when u use wifi .. My CLS Spice Droidpad which use Android 2.2 Froyo got the setting too. Maybe earlier version dun have those setting. |
Oct 25 2010, 02:57 PM
seem like the premium price makes everyone hold for this device..
Oct 26 2010, 02:59 PM
anyone here with Tab try the video player?
can it play .flv files? and any other video format like XviD, DivX, .mkv ect? with their player? |
Oct 26 2010, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(daruma @ Oct 26 2010, 06:33 PM) what is 3g camera? the tab already comes with 2 camera mar. does he mean standalone 3G wireless camera?Added on October 26, 2010, 6:34 pm i think they have quota for each day. so if go early morning should have stocks. i'm going pavillion tomorrow morning Added on October 26, 2010, 6:35 pmcan anyone confirm about the rebate? Added on October 26, 2010, 6:36 pmi plan to get value first RM30 + RM58 (500mb) rebate?.... |
Oct 27 2010, 04:53 PM
Oct 28 2010, 08:16 AM
QUOTE(faridaizuddin @ Oct 28 2010, 07:45 AM) LOL! I don't like to be tied with contract especially with Maxis because I already tried with postpaid before and already blacklisted by them! ya lor, for RM2699 they should put AMOLED + 5MP autofocus least for the rear camera with XENON Flash..Anyway, TechRadar already reviewed this Tab... Guess what? 3 out of 5 star only! This's their verdict for Tab.. A little bit sad to know the truth that 2.2 can't work well with Tab.. Thought of getting it in nearest time but.. |
Oct 28 2010, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(vckc4ever @ Oct 28 2010, 01:13 PM) SGT 2 = likely will be out next year. It will be in 7 inch form. Price definately will drop again these couple of months. Current price you pay for SGT is a bit on the higher side for now. the Archos can make voice call?Already the competitors are out...as i'm taking in Archos to Malaysia. Cheers ! Vince |
Nov 4 2010, 08:54 PM
those Super Clear Lcd on Samsung Wave 2 got advantage of the Yellow color spectrum..
same technology as those Sharp Quattron that the 1st bring Yellow as the 4th color spectrum. that is what I understand when read the news when it 1st came out few days back. This post has been edited by anakrantau: Nov 4 2010, 08:55 PM |
Nov 23 2010, 10:10 AM
| Change to: | 0.0251sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:46 PM |