Samsung Galaxy Tab, review

Irhe21
post Jan 10 2011, 02:47 PM

51 posts

huh..just one week using SGT battery kong already...very frustrated..need to send to samsung center...plug-in power cable, 100% ful..unplug its dead...i wonder what is going on!
Irhe21
post Jan 10 2011, 03:42 PM

51 posts

the battery life

2.52pm - 99%
2.55pm - 95%
2.58pm - 87%
2.59pm - 85%
3.04pm - 73%
3.09pm - 62%
3.18pm - 57%
3.28pm - 45% (after 44 minutes from boot)
3.29pm - 40%
3.35pm - 25% (incoming call)
3.38pm - 14% (warning)
3.39pm - 11%
3.40pm - 10% (after 56 minutes from boot)
3.43pm- 0% (aka kong!)

Added on January 10, 2011, 3:42 pm
QUOTE(Hico @ Jan 10 2011, 03:33 PM)
they replaced a new battery for u?? how long dd the repair time took?
dunno...this friday i wll send it to center...

Added on January 10, 2011, 3:47 pmplug in charger

3.45pm - 0%-100%! (less the one minutes!)

This post has been edited by Irhe21: Jan 10 2011, 03:47 PM
Irhe21
post Jan 10 2011, 07:54 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jan 10 2011, 06:39 PM)
I'm unable to make video call, but able to received one. Anyone got the same problem. I'm using digi.
did u try using other line? Bout video call i never try..mayhe ibmeed to try it before send to samsung center doh.gif
Irhe21
post Jan 11 2011, 02:57 PM

51 posts

SGT warranty by samsung...but not sure bout the information on warranty that designated on the purchaser...just call this number for futher information

samsung customer service

1 800 88 9999
Operating hours: 9am - 7pm daily
Except Public holidays
Irhe21
post Jan 13 2011, 10:08 AM

51 posts

finally samsung servie center called me yesterday..informing that my SGT need a battery replacement and software fix...im glad that there doing their job pretty well and professionalism...next time anroid will be my choice..Android conquering the world now..and im glad that i take my chance to choose SGT over ipad..
Irhe21
post Jan 13 2011, 10:22 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Jan 13 2011, 10:17 AM)
dun think SGT2 will come any nearer than Sep..  tab only start selling on nov last yr.. maybe only oct will only start selling..reach msia also maybe nov or dec like last yr.. we also got the new gadget later than other sad.gif  so its abt more than 7-8 months waiting again.. but if u can wait for more than 6 months, why not? or else just get it enjoy for it then while waiting for the price of SGT2 drop a bit .. by that time..SGT3 will come agian...its just a none stop waiting game tongue.gif
thats the reality of technology nowadays...dont wait or u will be left behind..after release one, suddenly they will announce for another one..same with computer..no different..as long as competition going on, the technology always revolve in no time...
Irhe21
post Jan 13 2011, 11:17 AM

51 posts

yeah..but one thing, samsung marketing strategy also good, they will wait until the competitors device out, they will study it and take over..for example, iphone, they wait until iphone come out, then they relase better device, samsung galaxy s with super amoled...same goes to samsung galaxy tab, they wait until ipad out to market, they come out with samsung galaxy tab, the better device..n rumors says, SGT 2 will out after ipad2 relase to market..so far SGT 1 released to compete with ipad, but apple want to relase ipad 2 to compete back with SGT 1, then samsung will relase SGT 2..better than ipad 2..and it goes on n on...

My opinion + rumors
Irhe21
post Jan 13 2011, 12:15 PM

51 posts

haha..yeah..there are other thing like black market, spying and everything...samsung really no need to wait till ipad out, then start to dissect and learn..as apple announce that the ipad 2 will have this n that, i think samsung surely also will start to plan their next generation of tablet to over take this and that..maybe they just wait the extras in ipad 2 that never announce by apple as surpirse to user..as soon as samsung learn this extras, they will update lil bit their tablet..n walla! out to market...haha..as apple announce the ipad 2, samsung still not announce their SGT 2..but after ipad revealed the basic in their ipad 2..with double core and 1 gig ram n powerful graphic, samsung also announce recently bout the dual core processor also..ipad 2 with retina screen, SGT 2 with super amouled..
Irhe21
post Jan 13 2011, 12:57 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Jan 13 2011, 12:36 PM)
these what we call Vicious circle ..
till now havent decide yet either getting samsung tab now or desire hd first
or in other word, i have to choose the best android tablet or the best android PDA..hahaha
Irhe21
post Jan 13 2011, 04:12 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jan 13 2011, 03:42 PM)
woo hoo...mytab..

we need some expert to start this thread again...seems so dead..compare to others...
hahaha...love it! rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
Irhe21
post Jan 13 2011, 05:20 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(buffallo_soldier @ Jan 13 2011, 05:08 PM)
Just want to asking sifu here.

Which Data Plan you all prefer.??

i already terminated my Maxis Data Plan.really S***S.

celcom RM68 (3G) unlimited is it ok.???

or

Digi RM68 (3G)

Need Opinion.
im not expert..but based on my experience and surfing..im using celcom advance data plan (rm68), its very good..no problem in downloading apps..and always connected, browsing also ok, using dolphin hd, coz u can diable flash for quicker page load...and so far so good, never disconnected...and also the video call is great..the coverage also great.,for dg, i dunno..but i read somewhere saying that video call like impossible to do..same as this tread, i also find out one of our friends having a trouble with video call..plus the coverage for digi quite worse for rural area, like mine..huhu...just from my experience..and lots of my friends fade up with maxis also..haha...just my opinion and all the reading..not judging anything.. icon_rolleyes.gif
Irhe21
post Jan 13 2011, 09:19 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(buffallo_soldier @ Jan 13 2011, 05:42 PM)
Thanks for your explanation bro. rclxms.gif

one more question bro, is it Celcom charge 'Pay per Use' after 3G limit usage ??? or they slow the connecttion.

coz my bad experience with Maxis , they charge 10kbps for RM 0.05 .if u exit the limit.... rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif without Notification or Alert Email.
if im not mistaken, the celcom operator did mention to me bout the data limit which is 5GB..if exceed the limit, the connection just will slow down..no extra charges..u still can try contact celcom center..if u wish, i can help u ask celcom center...

yeah, just called celcom, the operator said, no xtra charge if exceed 5GB, only slow down..by the way 5GB ITS A LOT OF BROWSING!!! drool.gif

haha...all the best to ya thumbup.gif

Added on January 13, 2011, 9:21 pm
QUOTE(Hico @ Jan 13 2011, 08:06 PM)
are u using maxis wireless broadband or mobile internet??? i thought they mention they will only cap the speed for the wireless broadband and wont charge extra and only mobile internet will charge?? 

my place, maxis run really smooth and fast..always got H sign .. digi also stable but only got edge connection.. celcom always got problem. but really depend area i think..cant compare with other ppl.. cos different location maybe connection speed also not same..
yeah i agree with u nod.gif

This post has been edited by Irhe21: Jan 13 2011, 09:21 PM
Irhe21
post Jan 14 2011, 03:09 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(izamd @ Jan 13 2011, 10:55 PM)
For galaxy tab owner and user,Sony play station apps for android is working like perfect machine on galaxy tab.Just download and feel endless game in this world.

Added on January 13, 2011, 11:06 pmI never regrets buy this  SGT using my hard earn money. After two month using it and compare with ipad,I
dare to say this tab is DOA.For those who use this tab will know that they never revert to netbook for browsing internet.Further more I personally think.this android platform is amongst light weight in OS system.So people get advantage over speed and RAM management.
thats very interesting! icon_idea.gif

where to get it? ps one or ps 2? drool.gif
Irhe21
post Jan 17 2011, 12:05 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 16 2011, 12:56 PM)
Joining the club. Got myself a TAB - sold off my iPad !!!
No regrets selling off the iPad  as whatever I need on the iPad I can do it on the TAB and especially on the office apps the TAB is so many times better. Another decision of selling off the iPad is also because I bought the latest MacBook Air 11" which basically replaces the iPad which is so deficient and handicapped. The TAB's portability is another PLUS for me switching over
Rooted it using z4root within 10 minutes switching on - so freaking easy
Will explore it further and probably put up a review on my blog later
seriously? you sold ur ipad? so honestly, which one is better..i own SGT..i decided to have SGT over ipad, and till now im confused if i made the wrong choice... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Added on January 17, 2011, 12:09 am
QUOTE(izamd @ Jan 15 2011, 11:12 PM)
Official android PlayStation Apps.Go to this link http://pocketnow.com/android/how-to-instal...ion-android-app

Download and open with my file.What a smoke  man, you now can turn your SGT become absolute PlayStation with PS2 , PSP ,PS3, PSN capability.Yeah, Galaxy Tab Rocks!

sure u can play psp, ps2 n ps3 game? rclxub.gif

coz it says, only list the available games for all play station

This post has been edited by Irhe21: Jan 17 2011, 12:09 AM
Irhe21
post Jan 17 2011, 02:34 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 17 2011, 01:52 AM)
Different people has different needs of their gadgets. It does not mean the iPad is a poorer choice ; just that based on my needs the SGT serves me better. The reason I bought the ipad then was for its portability and long battery life. However using it for 8 months I have found it to be a poor replacement for my mobile computing. Before buying it, I was aware of its limitations but since it was the then the best choice, I bought it. However when the latest MBA ( 11") models were released in Oct, the iPad becomes really a handicapped gadget. Since the day I bought the MBA, I had never touch it. Even my son ( a U student ) is not even interested in it - he still prefer his MBPro. Those who like games, playing with apps - the ipad is unbeatable. These is however not my interests. I was disappointed with the ipad :

1. Need to work with iTunes to sync/transfer files or use cloud services
2. Browser was hopelessly poor - I replace it with Atomic which was slightly better with tabs function. Anytime the Android browser especially Dolphin HD and XScope beats it flat ( based on my experience using these on my Dell Streak ).
3. Email header download is fast but downloading content - agonizing slow ( Yahoo, Gmail, TM ) . How slow ??  - both my Dell Streak and present SGT is almost immediate while the ipad needs to wait up to 5 to 10 secs to download full mail content. With attachments - just need to wait
4. Was initially attracted to its Magazines feature , but got tired reading it as involve too much scrolling up-down, left right and pinch to zoom. It is really a tiring task reading magazines on it - few sections is OK ; whole magazine just forget about it
5. The editing function in ipad is unbelievably ridiculous to the point i must say is " stupid". Being a not so good typist, the editing work is really frustrating
6. I cannot update my blog on the iPad as incompatible issues ( on all browsers I have tried )

I was attracted to the SGT as it was really portable and all my out of home needs is fully met with no issues ( just using it only 2 days now ). I do not faced browsing, email lag. My RSS, news feed, tweeter works superb and download speeds on the SGT is amazingly good.

So in summary which is better for you, decide based on your needs

Some negatives on the SGT I found in these 2 days:

1. The default UI is even worse than the Galaxy S ;  I do not seem to hear/read of such issue. It is not smooth . Small issue - I replace it with ADW Launcher - it is now many times smoother and slick
2. Because of its 7" some apps not full screen ; easily overcome - I downloaded spare parts , run the Compatibility mode , boot it twice. Now all my apps works full screen including PaPago X5. Papago X5 however the small menu box is floating. Anyway I find using it as a GPS is too big - will still use my Streak for GPS. But is good to know Papago X5 works well on the SGT. I have read some games still cannot run fullscreen even with this tweak but is no concern to me as I dont play games on it
3. Similarly to SGS, KIES SUCKS big time. I couldn't get it connected /detected at all on Win 7 ( on my MAC) but could get it connected on my Mac OSX but only for USB mass storage - on my MacOSX I can transfer files to and fro between my MAC and the SGT internal card and external SD card. KIES was working OK only on my Windows PC ( Win XP ) but is slow
wow! thax for all the points! now im very confident with my choice..the only reason i choose SGT because i always commute..always on move.. even tough its merely fit to my jacket pocket, but still its not a big problem to carry by hand as i always carry my note book for site meeting and site inspection..thax again! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Added on January 17, 2011, 2:37 pm
QUOTE(subrok007 @ Jan 17 2011, 10:40 AM)
my SGT firmware still not up to date yet (virgin set)... its mean still can root it by using z4root?
my SGT at samsung service center as it has a battery problem..it solved already, but my busy schedule wont allow me to go and take back my SGT, maybe in this friday..the best part is, samsung center called me, and asked me if i want to upgrade to new updates for software which is no lag..so i just leave it..huhu

This post has been edited by Irhe21: Jan 17 2011, 02:37 PM
Irhe21
post Jan 17 2011, 02:57 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 17 2011, 02:50 PM)
I use the SGT as a tablet first ; till now never use the phone features. Performance wise and stability it is much better than the Dell Streak. If I give a score of 10 to SGT, the Dell Streak will score an 8. As I am on an unofficial Froyo rom on the Dell Strteak there are still some very minor bugs that happens once in a while - example ADW Launcher sometimes misaligned after reset but very minor issue - i just restart ADW from its menu. The SGT original rom is very stable and yet to see any bugs. ADW Launcher works exceptionally well without any issues. Battery life is excellent - 7 hours shouldn't be any problem.

I am now seriously considering selling off my Dell Streak and buy another small android phone as a spare phone and just for calls and the  SMS only. I had never like to use bluetooth or wired headsets to make calls

I am only on my 3rd day using the SGT and I really love its portability - reminds me of my previous Dopod U1000
wow..impressed! rclxms.gif
Irhe21
post Jan 17 2011, 05:25 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(g400g400 @ Jan 17 2011, 04:09 PM)
me, using SGT as tablet, and Ip4 as handphone... smile.gif
haha..very unique combination..

Phone : IP4 vs SGS

Tablet : SGT vs IPAD

and u choose SGT and IP4..haha...
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Irhe21
post Jan 18 2011, 11:27 AM

51 posts

where to get all these games??
Irhe21
post Jan 18 2011, 11:38 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jan 18 2011, 11:33 AM)
1st you download the emulator from the market and then google around for the rom.
blush.gif hehehe..tq2.. sweat.gif
Irhe21
post Jan 19 2011, 03:46 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 19 2011, 03:27 PM)
Order directly from their website. It is sent by airmail - so far I have no issues on receiving it. Intact I also buy a lot of stuffs from EBay for the past 5-6 years too - never encountered any lost in transit.  I have purchase small items ( stylus, batteries ) to bigger ticket items PDA, smartphones and even a 15" notebook . Most of the purchases I received between 7 to 10 days. If you wish to purchase stuffs online and worry about this , it is best you do not do it. Anyway if the seller is reputable , he will replace any lost in transit item to you. Check his ratings before you buy. If buying from established online like Brando, PDAair, Expansys, Amazon no need to worry at all
this is very noob question..how to buy? using credit card?

0.0224sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:31 PM