Home Theater, Sound Issue

TSropek
post Sep 17 2010, 05:53 PM, updated 16y ago

Ello..to all the sifu out there..can i ask sumthing bout home theater..last few days i bought a Home Theater and a new LCD tv..when i watch DVD all the 5 speaker is functioned.But when i connected and watch my Astro satellite, why only 2 speakers (front left and right) from the home theater is functioning??why the other 2 rear speaker, center speaker and the sub woofer didn't made any sound?? is it bcoz of my connection or what?? can sumone help me..
maskedchan
post Sep 17 2010, 06:09 PM

6,022 posts

because astro only support 2channel audio..
unless is beyond which some channel support 5.1channel
azbro
post Sep 17 2010, 06:11 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(ropek @ Sep 17 2010, 05:53 PM)
Ello..to all the sifu out there..can i ask sumthing bout home theater..last few days i bought a Home Theater and a new LCD tv..when i watch DVD all the 5 speaker is functioned.But when i connected and watch my Astro satellite, why only 2 speakers (front left and right) from the home theater is functioning??why the other 2 rear speaker, center speaker and the sub woofer didn't made any sound?? is it bcoz of my connection or what?? can sumone help me..
Seems like you are using the red/white cable from the Astro to connect to your HT....try selecting Dolby Pro Logic on the HT.
TSropek
post Sep 22 2010, 12:16 PM

yup i connect the red/white cable for audio..try pro logic mode for the sound setup at HT??ok i try it.THX.
zeese
post Sep 22 2010, 12:21 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Sep 17 2010, 06:09 PM)
because astro only support 2channel audio..
unless is beyond which some channel support 5.1channel
+1..

prologic will use the 2 channel sound, and using it's own computer algorithm
to generate a FAKE 5.1 sound..
TSropek
post Sep 22 2010, 12:25 PM

QUOTE(zeese @ Sep 22 2010, 12:21 PM)
+1..

prologic will use the 2 channel sound, and using it's own computer algorithm
to generate a FAKE 5.1 sound..
what u mean by fake 5.1 sound?
azbro
post Sep 22 2010, 12:31 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(ropek @ Sep 22 2010, 12:25 PM)
what u mean by fake 5.1 sound?
http://www.dolby.com/consumer/understand/p...ii-details.html
terranova
post Sep 23 2010, 01:27 AM

1,161 posts

The appropriate term to use would be "simulate" rather than "fake".
zeese
post Sep 23 2010, 08:51 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Sep 23 2010, 01:27 AM)
The appropriate term to use would be "simulate" rather than "fake".
I agree.. actually, i just made up the word but can still give almost the same meaning but easy to understand..
jchong
post Sep 23 2010, 10:59 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ropek @ Sep 17 2010, 05:53 PM)
What sound you get depends on the sound channel format available. For DVD you will get the 5.1 channel sound format that's why you hear all 5 speakers functioning.

However, Astro is normally only 2 channel so that's why you only hear from front left and right. But you can use your system to simulate 5 channel from 2 channel (if your system supports it). But this is not true 5 channel, so that's why someone mentioned "fake".

0.0150sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:30 PM