Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> PROLiNK H5301G, not getting fullspeed transfer rate

nymerine
post Sep 17 2010, 07:53 AM, updated 8y ago

2405:4200:202::4d1f:b5c4
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 854

Joined: May 2010
From: 175.133.919.238


Personal equipment
Modem: PROLiNK H5301G modem+wireless
Router: none
Firewall used: none

Problem details
First occurence of problem: first time bought
Problem frequency: always
Problem description: cant get full transfer speed between 2 computers, total computer in network is 9. and all computer isnt getting full speed for network transfer speed. arent 54mbps should give 6mB/s transfer rate? but the maximum is only 2mB/s. so.. its very slow to transfer movies, isos and etc. i wonder if switch can settle this problem
kons
post Sep 17 2010, 11:02 AM

Конс
Group Icon
Linux & Networking
Group: Moderator
Posts: 5,519

Joined: Oct 2004



54Mbps is just a theoretically possible speed.
In reality, it will be quite impossible to achieve it.

Even though you are connected to the AP successfully, it's not necessary that you will be connected at 54Mbps speed. Sometimes you will only be connect at half the speed, or quarter of the speed, we can check it in the NIC utility.

Using cable and switch will definitely allow you to transfer the files faster.

nymerine
post Sep 17 2010, 11:14 AM

2405:4200:202::4d1f:b5c4
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 854

Joined: May 2010
From: 175.133.919.238


QUOTE(kons @ Sep 17 2010, 11:02 AM)
54Mbps is just a theoretically possible speed.
In reality, it will be quite impossible to achieve it.

Even though you are connected to the AP successfully, it's not necessary that you will be connected at 54Mbps speed. Sometimes you will only be connect at half the speed, or quarter of the speed, we can check it in the NIC utility.

Using cable and switch will definitely allow you to transfer the files faster.
*
how to check using NIC utility , any links?
both comp is just a meter away from AP
kons
post Sep 17 2010, 11:28 AM

Конс
Group Icon
Linux & Networking
Group: Moderator
Posts: 5,519

Joined: Oct 2004



QUOTE(nymerine @ Sep 17 2010, 11:14 AM)
how to check using NIC utility , any links?
both comp is just a meter away from AP
*
Last time when I was using the Intel Pro/Set Wireless utility (for their NIC only), I can see the speed which my NIC is being associated with the AP.

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0563sec    2.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 03:08 AM