Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V46!, The Orange Legion

zstan
post Oct 5 2010, 10:40 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Anly @ Oct 5 2010, 10:27 AM)
guys, will like to seeks ur opinion on this. i am looking to purchase a new lens. but duno which one to choose. hope you guys can give me some advice.

1) Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI-II LD Aspherical (IF) AF Zoom Lens with Macro
2) Tamron AF 55-200mm f/4-5.6 Di-II LD Autofocus Zoom Normal-Telephoto Lens
3) Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di LD Macro Zoom Telephoto Autofocus Lens

i am looking at no1 option also because its like all in one lens and i not need change lens. but now i am confused abt those 3. which one will give better used and quality photos and faster focus speed? tamron compare to sony's own lens, the AF speed and photos quality very much different? would like to seeks all shifu's advice! thanks!
you are not comparing apples to apples in the first place..IQ will definitely be different la bro.. laugh.gif (comparing between the 3 lenses, and not Sony vs Tamron).

unless you comparing 55-200 Sony & tamron..

QUOTE(electron @ Oct 5 2010, 10:35 AM)
in this case, i would recommend the almost similar price panasonic FH1
just did almost similar comparison for my mum
so what's your verdict? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by zstan: Oct 5 2010, 10:43 AM
shootkk
post Oct 5 2010, 10:45 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(Anly @ Oct 5 2010, 10:27 AM)
guys, will like to seeks ur opinion on this. i am looking to purchase a new lens. but duno which one to choose. hope you guys can give me some advice.

1) Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR DI-II LD Aspherical (IF) AF Zoom Lens with Macro
2) Tamron AF 55-200mm f/4-5.6 Di-II LD Autofocus Zoom Normal-Telephoto Lens
3) Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di LD Macro Zoom Telephoto Autofocus Lens

i am looking at no1 option also because its like all in one lens and i not need change lens. but now i am confused abt those 3. which one will give better used and quality photos and faster focus speed? tamron compare to sony's own lens, the AF speed and photos quality very much different? would like to seeks all shifu's advice! thanks!
Before getting to the lens choices, here's one question that you need to ask yourself:

Do you use telephoto a lot?

I am assuming that you have the 18-55mm kitlens. When you shoot, do you always go to the 55mm end of your kitlens and then wish that you can zoom in further? Like about 70% of the time?

If you do then it's clear you need a telephoto lens. If not then you're probably just thinking that having a telephoto lens would be convenient if and when you need to use it.

If you are just thinking about the convenience then I would suggest you go for the SAL18250 lens which has better IQ and faster focusing speed. The Tamron 18-200mm is cost effective but has slightly lower IQ and slow focusing speed compared to the SAL18250.

The 55-200mm has the best IQ but you need to swap lenses. If you're sure you need telephoto then get this one.

Leave the 70-300mm for now. Until you are very, very sure you need 300mm then you might be better served by getting the Sony 70-300G SSM lens instead.
Anly
post Oct 5 2010, 10:47 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 5 2010, 10:40 AM)
you are not comparing apples to apples in the first place..IQ will definitely be different la bro.. laugh.gif  (comparing between the 3 lenses, and not Sony vs Tamron).

unless you comparing 55-200 Sony & tamron..
so what's your verdict?  laugh.gif
i mean if among that three, which one will produce better photos shooting experience..and also then compare with sony brand of same type of lens, issit very much different as well? cos sony also got produce 50-200 and 70-300 lens..but price more expensive lor~tats why i wan to know sony and tamron give very much different of quality and af speed or etc?
Mikeshashimi
post Oct 5 2010, 10:51 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

jimon: i have both those lenses and both have the same IQ pretty much la... But i prefer 1855 on apsc coz i shoot at the wide end more often than the telephoto end.
ahpingko
post Oct 5 2010, 10:51 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Oct 5 2010, 10:35 AM)
in this case, i would recommend the almost similar price panasonic FH1
just did almost similar comparison for my mum
FH1 is 599...

that sony w310 is 499 according to its own web!..wakaka...

here
Anly
post Oct 5 2010, 10:53 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Oct 5 2010, 10:45 AM)
Before getting to the lens choices, here's one question that you need to ask yourself:

Do you use telephoto a lot?

I am assuming that you have the 18-55mm kitlens. When you shoot, do you always go to the 55mm end of your kitlens and then wish that you can zoom in further? Like about 70% of the time?

If you do then it's clear you need a telephoto lens. If not then you're probably just thinking that having a telephoto lens would be convenient if and when you need to use it.

If you are just thinking about the convenience then I would suggest you go for the SAL18250 lens which has better IQ and faster focusing speed. The Tamron 18-200mm is cost effective but has slightly lower IQ and slow focusing speed compared to the SAL18250.

The 55-200mm has the best IQ but you need to swap lenses. If you're sure you need telephoto then get this one.

Leave the 70-300mm for now. Until you are very, very sure you need 300mm then you might be better served by getting the Sony 70-300G SSM lens instead.
thanks! notworthy.gif i choose tamron cos the price is cheaper and i do need telephoto, i really feel 15-55mm really not enuff far.. tats why i am looking further .. tongue.gif so tats mean either 50-200mm or SAL18250 will give better experience.. i will put it into my consideration! thanks again! notworthy.gif
zstan
post Oct 5 2010, 10:54 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Anly @ Oct 5 2010, 10:47 AM)
i mean if among that three, which one will produce better photos shooting experience..and also then compare with sony brand of same type of lens, issit very much different as well? cos sony also got produce 50-200 and 70-300 lens..but price more expensive lor~tats why i wan to know sony and tamron give very much different of quality and af speed or etc?
what kind of photo experience do you prefer? at the wide angle end or telephoto end?

55-200 sony is quite cheap..just the 70300G is a lot more expensive because its a different class compared to the tamron..forget about it at the moment..

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Oct 5 2010, 10:51 AM)
FH1 is 599...

that sony w310 is 499 according to its own web!..wakaka...

here
aiyo price also not same..how to compare fairly.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by zstan: Oct 5 2010, 10:54 AM
ahpingko
post Oct 5 2010, 10:59 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 5 2010, 10:54 AM)

aiyo price also not same..how to compare fairly..  tongue.gif
not lo...in sonystyle the price is 599!..this obviously is wrong price..later i go sony centre check... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Anly
post Oct 5 2010, 11:05 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 5 2010, 10:54 AM)
what kind of photo experience do you prefer? at the wide angle end or telephoto end?

55-200 sony is quite cheap..just the 70300G is a lot more expensive because its a different class compared to the tamron..forget about it at the moment..
aiyo price also not same..how to compare fairly..  tongue.gif
55-200 sony and tamron will give like rm200 different of price.. hmm.gif sony zoon lens SAL75300 rrp rm899 also.. icon_question.gif
ryugan
post Oct 5 2010, 11:18 AM

Gixxer Rider
684 posts

Pic Spam
lil bug visit @ my house
kit lens only blush.gif

This post has been edited by ryugan: Oct 5 2010, 11:21 AM
gjtan
post Oct 5 2010, 12:36 PM

301 posts

guy, wan to ask ur's opinion, are SAL18200 IQ and focus good ?
planning to get 1, lazy to switch off the lens. thank.
ieR
post Oct 5 2010, 12:39 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

anly: hi, have u even been to alphanatics? there is many people selling 55-200 2nd hand under rm500. choice to choice.... if u are looking for tele.. i recomend
i. SAL55200 (better then tamron55200)
or
ii. Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di LD Macro (better then SAL75300 in terms of IQ and CA issue)

for superzoom (18 to tele)
the SAL18-250 is great with shorter focusgear then other tamron, but all super zoom suffer the F6.3 and softness at end tele.
gjtan
post Oct 5 2010, 12:41 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Oct 5 2010, 12:39 PM)
anly: hi, have u even been to alphanatics? there is many people selling 55-200 2nd hand under rm500. choice to choice.... if u are looking for tele.. i recomend
i. SAL55200 (better then tamron55200)
or
ii. Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di LD Macro (better then SAL75300 in terms of IQ and CA issue)

for superzoom (18 to tele)
the SAL18-250 is great with shorter focusgear then other tamron, but all super zoom suffer the F6.3 and softness at end tele.
Sifu, how about SAL18200 ??
ieR
post Oct 5 2010, 12:47 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

well, its up to u eh, if u top up rm100 for the extra 50mm on 18250...

but if u willing to carry 2 lens, u sure ask u get a kitlens +55-200 (sharper, F4 till 100mm)

the 18-200 is great lens too. but i never owned it so i cant comment much
gjtan
post Oct 5 2010, 12:55 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Oct 5 2010, 12:47 PM)
well, its up to u eh, if u top up rm100 for the extra 50mm on 18250...

but if u willing to carry 2 lens, u sure ask u get a kitlens +55-200 (sharper, F4 till 100mm)

the 18-200 is great lens too. but i never owned it so i cant comment much
Thanks a lot sifu notworthy.gif
vileclaw
post Oct 5 2010, 12:57 PM

67 posts

hi guys any idea how much the street price for a55 and a33. body only and package?
jim0n
post Oct 5 2010, 01:13 PM

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 5 2010, 10:17 AM)
thanks thanks. lugia?lolx..oo..okok will try that when i have time.. icon_rolleyes.gif
what's your definition of walkabout?

its certainly not wide enough for group shots(if you are using APS-C body). if you are more likely to use it to take street pics or portraits still quite okay..

IQ wise no comment(didn't use before).
QUOTE(mastering89 @ Oct 5 2010, 10:25 AM)
jim0n : depends on what u are shooting and your shooting style. 28mm on APS-C is not wide. but usually at 80mm the minolta/sigma 28-80 have macro/close up function . can get up to 1:2 macro close up. ++ if add on Raynox  smile.gif
QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Oct 5 2010, 10:51 AM)
jimon: i have both those lenses and both have the same IQ pretty much la... But i prefer 1855 on apsc coz i shoot at the wide end more often than the telephoto end.
Thanks for the advice, all smile.gif

I was just thinking that if the 28-80mm has noticeable image quality improvement, I'd sacrifice the 18-55mm's wider field of view for something that can perform better at the middle ranges. And then later buy a dedicated wide angle lens for the wide end. But if image quality is pretty much the same, then I'll just stick with my 18-55mm. Am I even thinking about this the right way? sweat.gif

Or do you guys have any other recommendations for a cheap upgrade from the 18-55mm kit lens?
8tvt
post Oct 5 2010, 01:15 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

just buy SAL55-200mm?
Newbieeeeee
post Oct 5 2010, 01:19 PM

:)
1,286 posts

i'm owning a kit and 55200 lens.. I usually use kit.. But i use 55mm on kit.. Cuz 55200 lens gotta bring v far to focus see.. Unless rly need zooming then 55200.. Otherwise kit.. Whether to get a 55200 or not i think if you shoot very far things then yes.. Otherwise uselss if shoot of ppl. A 50f18 would be a better choice.
fatnir
post Oct 5 2010, 01:20 PM

43 posts

hi, i want to ask..
which 1 better? a33 or 550d?
please be objective...

me myself prefer a33... but i m not sure to buy it... sad.gif

125 Pages « < 71 72 73 74 75 > » Top

0.1216sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled