Primitive Fish, Fish that survived Milleniums

funkychips
post May 11 2011, 11:46 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

Hi bros,

I'm Alvin from PJ. I just recently got back into keeping bichirs, since many years back when I used to have only 1 ornate and 1 senegal. Didn't realise now got many other species being kept in Malaysia....currently I only can get 1 delhezi, 1 endlicheri endlicheri, and senegalus, only got them a few months back. Hope to learn more from all bichir kakis here! notworthy.gif

funkychips
post May 12 2011, 08:47 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

QUOTE(kasturipurba @ May 12 2011, 12:27 AM)
hi alvin, nice to see u here.. icon_rolleyes.gif  how big ur bichirs rite now? nod.gif
kasturipurba, just a rough guess, not able to measure them correctly as they are usually hidden among the driftwood biggrin.gif

endlicheri - 12 inch
delhezi - 5 inch
senegalus - got 3 of them, 9 inch, 6 inch and 4 inch

They are all living in a 2.5 ft tank with Shirui sand as substrate. I hope is ok if they swallow it as the particles get kicked up easily when the endli moves around. ohmy.gif

QUOTE(tommy2b @ May 12 2011, 12:30 AM)
my previous updated photo smile.gif
This is some of my favourite  laugh.gif

Ropefish a.k.a Erpetoichthys Calabaricus
[attachmentid=2208890]

Polyterus Delhezi
[attachmentid=2208892]

Polyterus Senegal Senegal (albino short body)
[attachmentid=2208895]

Polyterus Senegal Senegal (long fin)
[attachmentid=2208909]

Polyterus Ornatipinnis
[attachmentid=2208919]

Polyterus Retropinnis
[attachmentid=2208922]

Polypterus Endlicheri Endlicheri
[attachmentid=2208939]

Polypterus Lapradei
[attachmentid=2208940]

Polyterus Weeksii
[attachmentid=2208942]

Polyterus Endlicheri Congicus
[attachmentid=2208945]

[attachmentid=2208948]

[attachmentid=2208950]
Your collection is superb, bro!! drool.gif I want to keep my bichirs in empty tank like yours, but they keep dashing around nervously whenever I go near the tank. sad.gif How to make them lose their nervousness?

Also, my endli refuses to eat anything other than market prawns. It won't take any pellets. Even then, only recently it has started to eat since I got it about a month ago. Does your endli behave like this when you first got it?
funkychips
post May 12 2011, 09:29 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

QUOTE(rafiqos @ May 12 2011, 09:14 PM)
Hello old friend.
LOL! Keep bichirs bro!! They're skinks with fins!! thumbup.gif
funkychips
post May 13 2011, 08:54 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

QUOTE(tommy2b @ May 13 2011, 01:42 PM)
you need to let ur poly to make use in the empty environment.open the light whole day,and watch them in front of aquarium few hours.
so they will not because nervous.
u need to train them eat pellet as well.just dont feed them for a while after that feed them pellet.
my endli eat prawn,fish,sink pellet and float pellet.
Thanks tommy, btw, how big should the pellet be for a 12 inch endli? All my other polys eat hikari crab pellets, I think will be definitely too small for it to find the pellet. May I know what pellets do you feed urs endli? smile.gif

QUOTE(Titan_GigAs @ May 13 2011, 04:31 PM)
ok this dunno primitive or not, i saw these few days ago at a shop, looks very nice macam straight body seahorse (same family)
heard its pain in the ass to keep but very fascinating
ada orang bela ini tak?
I think it eats daphnia or other verry small insects rite? Wonder how long they survive in the aquarium....
funkychips
post May 18 2011, 09:32 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

QUOTE(-DaRReN-C- @ May 17 2011, 11:09 PM)
Giant Salamander ??
lasttime i've keep 1 salamander, its body is green colour 1
isit that 1 giant salamander ?
That one is tiger salamander bro...I kept two before, but still got gills one, like axolotl. If you reduce the water level week by week eventually it will lose the gills and become adult stage...

Anyone who interest in tiger salamanders, I don't know how long this has been but the last time I saw one tiger salamander for sale at 88 Pets Sunwaymas. Quite expensive, rm3++ I think.

Btw just wanna share this blurry pic I took when I drop by Xian Leng just now...they were sitting there looking at something... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by funkychips: May 18 2011, 09:55 PM
funkychips
post Jun 4 2011, 09:12 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

QUOTE(kasturipurba @ Jun 4 2011, 08:17 PM)
my albino senegalus eat a lot of pellet then i give one big house cicak, she just ate the lizard like nothing.. got very big tummy, and she's okay. smile.gif rclxms.gif
I saw one LFS got a short body albino senegalus, almost more than half of the normal length, wonder if it can swallow as much food as a normal one coz it's so short laugh.gif

QUOTE(TokiToki @ Jun 4 2011, 07:22 PM)
Was wondering, do Bichirs ever die from over eating?
I wouldn't think they will, but if it cannot digest the food then it will be deep trouble. Used to have a small senegal last time due to keeping with Otocinclus (algae eater) it swallowed the fish but then it died one week later coz of the spines and head bone which stuck in the stomach... cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by funkychips: Jun 4 2011, 09:15 PM
funkychips
post Jun 4 2011, 11:16 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

QUOTE(kasturipurba @ Jun 4 2011, 09:52 PM)
really?? my endlicheri just ate an algae eater last 2 week~  shocking.gif
How big is your endli? As long as the algae eater not more than half the size of him then should be ok, and small enough to digest slowly without harming the internal organs....coz my senegal end up got ruptured stomach. Did open up the fish and found bone lumps with spiky bits of fin stuck together....so scary.... shocking.gif

0.0580sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:07 PM