Primitive Fish, Fish that survived Milleniums

[PIMPIN]
post Dec 1 2010, 11:20 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(Rainman84 @ Dec 1 2010, 09:53 PM)
Who want to be "Pejuang kebebasan binatang "?Pimpin...there's only one path.....bro engkau kena la sapu semua
lepas tu kita korang share binatang
hahahaha rclxms.gif

Added on December 1, 2010, 10:15 pm
Anyway,i'm jesting.no harm done,eh?
blush.gif
Hahah I didn't even get what you meant the first time. I'm not easily offended though so all good thumbup.gif
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 2 2010, 06:15 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(ivanchua @ Dec 2 2010, 05:29 PM)
^ Engalis puhleez?
Pimpin, did you end up getting the two pimas from Jason?!?
Did you get the other four? I've yet to see them though perhaps this weekend but he's holding them for me.

[PIMPIN]
post Dec 2 2010, 08:40 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Dec 2 2010, 08:22 PM)
pimpin, abt ur friend who supplies glass sheets, where is his location?
I'm looking at acrylic sheets as glass would be rather expensive, not to mention heavy and does not have the flexibility of acrylic. I'm not even sure if I'll be using it but will find out the prices soon; other priorities much more urgent came up.

What size and thickness were you after?
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 8 2010, 01:30 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(konbawa @ Dec 3 2010, 01:13 AM)
ben, do u noe where got sell cheap but quality table top aquarium?
Are you looking for something like this?

Added on December 8, 2010, 1:36 am
QUOTE(BenSow @ Dec 3 2010, 08:42 PM)
not too ex meaning...?

hmmm the cheapest way would be to build ur own maybe... 1ft cube u can go to glass shop ask them make... around rm20 i think.. depend on the glass shop.. acrylic 1ft ones not very nice... unless u dont mind the rim..

Added on December 5, 2010, 4:34 pmthis thread has gone cold...
This thread hasn't gone cold. According to ggMing, my Arapaima has managed to swallow an arowana already LOL. Ask him to post some pictures. My fishes still with him since I've been slack in building new pond but I've actually expanded two of my houses for future 'monster ponds' including an existing 25'x40'x'10' which needs to be drained and rebuilt in future but that won't be for a year at least since I anticipate the filtration system, pumps, etc to cost the same as my swimming pool setup. Only upside is the labor cost but equipment cost still substantial I guess.

Anyways, I've posted some of the ponds on MFK. Don't know if linking to other forums is allowed but here goes
http://www.monsterfishkeepers.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=374121

This post has been edited by [PIMPIN]: Dec 8 2010, 01:36 AM
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 8 2010, 02:14 AM

325 posts

Where u go fishing man
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 9 2010, 11:41 PM

325 posts

[PIMPIN]
post Dec 10 2010, 12:34 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(Devillsin @ Dec 10 2010, 12:30 AM)
nice pima pimpin.how much was the damage to the walllet and wht setup you planning on raising it in while its small ?
Contact ggMing for prices. The fishes are at his shop for the meantime and once they've grown a few more inches then I'll pick-up.
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 13 2010, 04:22 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Dec 12 2010, 02:07 PM)
the SUTTONI so beautiful wei o.o

this thread is freaking poisoning.. tongue.gif

I saw 6 arapaimas with the biggest at around 3+ meters i think... but poor thing was in a big pond... but water level cant even cover its whole body...

saw at yong peng express bus stop at johor... have quite some monster fish there.. pacus, 3ft long RTC... etc
Bro, the poor thing was in a big pond but for some reason water level cant even cover its whole body? Then how exactly is it a big pond in the first place LOL

Anyways, did you get any pics? Like whose pond is it and who maintains/feeds/etc?

QUOTE(akidos @ Dec 12 2010, 03:40 PM)
ah ... i saw the 2 pimas at ggming's shop.

i super minat his albino mexican walking fish .
I saw one Mamak fishing around for Arapaimas marked 'Sold' at ggMing's shop tongue.gif

Nice to meet you; probably be seeing more of you in future LOL

QUOTE(ggMing @ Dec 12 2010, 05:06 PM)
i got invoice for supplier, if kena, its not my prob, supplier should care... im just seling what they can supply/// hehehh bu tthanks bro for the heads up
Actually you only need to have a photocopy of the import permit and basically keep it as record. That's all the law requires of you. The guy who imported it or any other animal listed in CITES appendices is the one responsible for obtaining relevant permits and providing copies to all subsequent buyers.

The real danger is Act 76 of the Wildlife Protection Act 1972; Act 686 covers mostly international trade of CITES listed animals. Since yours is not listed under Act 76 you really have nothing to worry about because although its unlikely that its bred locally; Act 686 applies to the actual fish that is imported. If someone managed to breed them and yours is the offspring then technically it doesn't fall under either of the Act.

Anyways, the chances of you getting into trouble for it is less than nil.
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 13 2010, 09:35 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Dec 13 2010, 08:50 AM)
now that's a discussion.

according to section 14 of act 686, technically, captive bred offspring of any scheduled animals are still considered illegal unless the breeding efforts are registered with the management authority (in the case of amphibians, the Department of Wildlife. last time i checked, there are no records of axolotl breeder at Perhilitan), in which needed animals to come with CITES documents and import permit for any consideration to taken. all records of stocks and transactions needed to be strictly maintained, e.g., if sold to someone, that someone must be able to apply for a keeping permit from the respective authority based on the records/receipts/documents provided by the seller.

earlier this year, keepers of undocumented animals that were scheduled under Act 686 that hasn't already been scheduled in Act 76 were given a grace period, in which many of us had taken the opportunity to declare each and every specimens that falls under Act 686, and applied for a special permission. the special permission also applies for those animals that originally came with CITES permit but in which owners had neglected to apply for a permit before.

[attachmentid=1935630][attachmentid=1935631]

some of the keepers in Klang Valley had already got their special permission, but the application seems pending for keepers from other areas and for those with a big collection.
Well if its in Appendix 1 of CITES meaning you need special import permit right? Ok that's what I understand so far. Let's say someone imported some and they mated and I end up with one of the offspring. Technically, it's not imported nor is it really breeding. It's just animals mating. Does everyone with a CITES pet inform authorities each time their pets mate?

Plus, what if that pet is not listed under Act 76 in Jadual 1 nor Jadual 2? Should the issue of applying for permits to possess, etc even arise as its neither a Binatang-Binatang Yang Diperlindungi Sepenuhnya nor is it a Binatang-Binatang Yang Diperlindungi?.

And lastly, what if its again not listed in Third Schedule of Act 686? From what I understand, this grace period you mentioned covers those animals on that list so if a pet isn't listed then how is it relevant?

Thanks in advance.
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 13 2010, 10:59 PM

325 posts

camillenoir - totally understand your point of view but to me so long as there are idiots smuggling out wildlife in socks packed in suitcases if I was in enforcement I'd go after those people all out.
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 14 2010, 11:10 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(akidos @ Dec 14 2010, 10:09 PM)
haha bought the axolotls
Hahaha forced to buy after sticking your hands in the tank? j/k

Tomorrow apparently 4 gars arriving, ones the 3ft rest are mine
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 15 2010, 10:52 PM

325 posts

Just to keep the thread going, these arrived today. Kept in fiber tank, only put in this small tank to take picture as its clearer.

[PIMPIN]
post Dec 16 2010, 04:08 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(akidos @ Dec 14 2010, 11:13 PM)
T T . yerpy . I must resist going there till next month .
pokai d . .and saving some money for arapima.
Hahah so much for next month bro biggrin.gif

QUOTE(akidos @ Dec 15 2010, 07:14 PM)
i dont like siamese tiger ... they attk other fishes for no reason ...
my tiger might get into the freezer if he attack any other fishes after this
In the freezer? doh.gif

Might as well find it a proper home. Got picture or not? I got a friend with a fish room and at least two empty tanks.

QUOTE(akidos @ Dec 15 2010, 11:35 PM)
hurm goreng sedap ni ..

Added on December 15, 2010, 11:35 pmanyone knows where i can find prehistoric dragon goby ?  and anyone interested with 1 feet arapaima ?

Added on December 16, 2010, 12:42 amhow do u guys know the food u feed is enough for the fishes ?
I tried putting 100 feeder koi and one night gone. later i tried 200 feeder koi - also gone in one night .
You got 1 foot long arapaima? Then why buy another one? Tamak la Mamak haha
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 17 2010, 11:41 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(ivanchua @ Dec 17 2010, 06:53 PM)
5x2.5x2.5. I forgot how much I've gotten them for.. I think it was around 280 including the ohf box (back in 04 when i got them that is)
6, the rest are floridas, it, ntt, rtcxtsn and rtcs.

Update:
I should be able to hit 2" growth rate per month, i hope.

They, the pimas and some other oddballs I have are going in here when it's done. 38,500g monster pond  smile.gif

The bottom drains, which im going to modify to include air diffuser

Nice.. What are the dimensions of the pond? Are you going for tiles? Light or dark color?

Other than the 6 Gars, how many of the other fishes are going in?

Time to buy snorkel brows.gif
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 18 2010, 09:53 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Dec 18 2010, 11:30 AM)
My snakehead finally took pellets.. woohoo easier to feed now rclxm9.gif

Added on December 18, 2010, 11:32 am

and an underwater camera  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Would you swim in the pond? I sure as hell would.
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 18 2010, 10:19 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(Rainman84 @ Dec 18 2010, 10:02 PM)
wow ..big pond.I am just curious, if you were to place big gar in those pond..the only thing you get to see are its upper portion of its body.i have the opinion that you should brick up and place thicked glass/fibreglass on one side.this way..you can enjoy the sight of gar slither through water.to top that up...you get to increase the depth. smile.gif
I know what you mean but that's not my pond bro. That belongs to ivanchua.

But what you're suggesting is definitely possible; its a matter of preference I'd say.

But depth is not something that ivanchua's pond lacks. smile.gif
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 20 2010, 03:25 PM

325 posts

BenSow

Wah how come I got 6 primitive fishes also never update me into your list on first page. Hurt my feelings already; ruined my day LOL biggrin.gif
Guess I should tell ggMing not to hire you during school holidays since staff got devoured by one of the fishes. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(ggMing @ Dec 19 2010, 09:02 PM)
thats quite a big pond, but i dont think its monster fish pond or monster pond.....

too bad i left my camera at pimpins place, took loads of pic of his ponds.... pls bring me back my camera bro!!!!

38k gallons is big... but the dimension a bit salah....

bro pimpin, i mean fishpin, (*&^%$#@!!@#$%^&* sama lu bertubi tubi....
cement pond besar and banyak tapi letak ikan puyu banyak banyak....
can masuk book of records edi you.... taruk ikan puyu dalam pond besar....

tapi dig new big pond and buy only 2 arapaima... fit la thousands on them like your ikan puyu pond....
if for feeder fish then ok la, tapi ikan puyu..... cis!!!!! see those thousands of puyu also jelak....
somemore your puyu cucuk my fingers, bleed.... never say sorry nvm, but you LOL at me some more....

dowan sell u fish edi....  vmad.gif
ggMing

I understood about 30% of your post; are you drunk LOL biggrin.gif

In all seriousness though, what's this superstition that's associated with puyu? Some people say it "prevents black magic" while some say it causes "discontent". Just curious what people think about this.

Btw, your camera isn't here bro. You left a netbook at my place but no charger but no camera?

Added on December 20, 2010, 4:08 pm
QUOTE(akidos @ Dec 19 2010, 11:19 PM)
http://www.megavideo.com/?v=E0KI70FK - i am not sure if its legal to paste this here but its a documentary on river monster - goliath tiger fish
akidos

I've got River Monsters on DVD; Seasons 1 & 2. Everything from the Arapaima to the Gars to Sturgeons to the legendary AMF (Annoying Mamak Fish LOL) rclxms.gif

I'll leave it at Punk's shop?

This post has been edited by [PIMPIN]: Dec 20 2010, 04:14 PM
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 20 2010, 05:25 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(ivanchua @ Dec 20 2010, 04:49 PM)
I'm definitely down with taht but I couldn't find any supplier around my area that could source 2" acrylic curve-to-my-pref glass like those you see aquaria. Heck, some don't even know what acrylic is. I'd have call it monster tank if I'd be able to get the glass but I'm pretty much settled on the design so it's going to be a concrete pond for now.

Actually faced same problem regarding acrylic. A lot of responses tend to be "use glass is better" which I interpreted as "I don't know any better". I guess there is a general misconception that acrylic is inferior for some reason despite all public aquariums using only acrylic. I came across this company Hydrosight who apparently have done work locally for Aquatica Kota Kinabalu.

Personally I don't know them but came across them for work purposes. I noticed they supply thick, oversize acrylic panels for swimming pools so I'm guessing they do large and small orders. Just thought it could be useful but it seems like you're pretty much set on the present configuration.

What's the finishing like? Tiles? Are you sticking to a natural tone?

QUOTE(BenSow @ Dec 20 2010, 04:54 PM)
actually i kinda agree with him... maybe its my brain not good enough but i tto think that its not 38k gallons.. no offence bro..
Your brain is probably still fresh from PMR bro. We last sat for exams a few Prime Ministers ago LOL.
But there are online calculators which pretty much anyone could use.
But before disputing, perhaps could ascertain if ivanchua is referring to US or UK gallons - although not massive difference should at least make sure on same page, talking about same thing first.

[PIMPIN]
post Dec 20 2010, 07:04 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(Rainman84 @ Dec 20 2010, 06:43 PM)
@ivanchua
chill bro....people are just voicing their opinion

after putting your pond pic ,i did some calculation based on my observation(simple math...i am long away from high school..lol).Fact is ,the calculation doesn't add up(the calculation was based on my estimation on the height of the pond which is about 8 feet, from there i did give my best estimation of the width and length).

based on you claim so far...i attribute the error to the angle of the photograph.

also it is possible,you didn't factor in actual size(after putting brick and thick layer of cement on both the 4 side and bottom)

just my 2 cents smile.gif
If it was 8 feet deep, it would have to be something like 40'x20' to get just over 38k gallons UK but 47k gallons US. It's really no point trying to guess the dimensions based on the photograph. I'm pretty sure ivanchua won't mind sharing dimensions and also whether he means imperial or US gallons.

But Rainman84 does have a valid point regarding the actual volume. When people build a pond say 6ft deep, the water level isn't 6ft because you wouldn't fill it to the brim right? This is something I've always wondered about because personally, when I calculate I always subtract about 0.5' or so for height of pond. As for width, do you measure from edges of the pond or the inside edges of the pond? This is a general question though; not about ivanchua's pond but just what is the generally accepted way of measuring.

Added on December 20, 2010, 7:09 pm
QUOTE(Rainman84 @ Dec 20 2010, 06:43 PM)
@ivanchua
chill bro....people are just voicing their opinion

after putting your pond pic ,i did some calculation based on my observation(simple math...i am long away from high school..lol).Fact is ,the calculation doesn't add up(the calculation was based on my estimation on the height of the pond which is about 8 feet, from there i did give my best estimation of the width and length).

based on you claim so far...i attribute the error to the angle of the photograph.

also it is possible,you didn't factor in actual size(after putting brick and thick layer of cement on both the 4 side and bottom)

just my 2 cents smile.gif

Added on December 20, 2010, 6:53 pm@ggming,
about the ikan puyu..lol

you should have been warned by pimpin(whack him!)

if you must know,i used to have 45cm length chinese soft-shelled turtle.it was kept with ikan puyu
you know how good appetite the turtle have! it love flesh(i mean meat ,not another flesh)
the puyu survive along with the turtle, of course the former passed away from 'kebuluran' coz all food is eaten by the turtle.
haha
Hahahah but there's nothing but puyu in that one pond. I have no idea how many there are; do they multiply like rabbits? Put in a few thousand fry a few years ago. Personally, I haven't caught anything from that pond as I'm not into fishing all that much.

This post has been edited by [PIMPIN]: Dec 20 2010, 07:09 PM
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 20 2010, 10:22 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(Rainman84 @ Dec 20 2010, 09:43 PM)
like any fish, they are produce eggs..a lot too...but given that most of local fish are omnivore..they are not picky eater.
few thousand in a pond is too tight for comfort..yeah they'll savor the egg akin to caviar. drool.gif
they are called climbing perch(armed with spike allow it TRAVEL  by land)so i am not sure how many you have left in there.usually people who rear puyu in a container keep it in such a way that  the rim of the vessel and water level >30cm(juara lompat tinggi) smile.gif
The pond is L-shaped, the longer part is 45'x20'x10' while the shorter part of the L is just over 1/3 of that. This one I'm planning to redo keeping the 45'x20'x10' and using the 'leg' of the L to house the filtration system. Would mean breaking the current cement pond structure and starting from scratch so won't be anytime soon as I've yet to link two existing ponds there and have to wait for drought season before starting any form of excavation.

Added on December 20, 2010, 10:40 pm
QUOTE(ivanchua @ Nov 28 2010, 08:10 PM)
Here's one of my 4incher feeding

QUOTE(ivanchua @ Dec 17 2010, 06:53 PM)
Update:
I should be able to hit 2" growth rate per month, i hope.

Is this the proper way of measuring fish? Doesn't seem to be the most accurate way of going about it.

This post has been edited by [PIMPIN]: Dec 20 2010, 10:40 PM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0598sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:19 PM