Primitive Fish, Fish that survived Milleniums

aimank_88
post Jun 5 2012, 02:49 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ Jun 5 2012, 02:06 AM)
I realize this is short notice but tomorrow all tanks of various sizes are to be given away for free on a first come first served basis, no strings attached - take as many as you please so long as you can transport it home there and then as the premises will be vacated by the end of the day. If you're up for some freebies, head down later (Tuesday 5 June) to:

Fins & Greens Aquatics
18 Medan Hujan Rahmat
Overseas Union Garden
58200 Kuala Lumpur
Tel: 016-2227772 (Jason Pang/ggming)
Will head there straight after i wake up! hehe
aimank_88
post Jun 6 2012, 06:54 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(Yeobster @ Jun 6 2012, 05:00 AM)
damn i miss it!!!! sad.gif as the notice was very short!hahaha...btw still available?
I msged Jason yesterday to confirm still got onot, but quiet oni? hmm.gif
aimank_88
post Jun 6 2012, 06:31 PM

383 posts

Just bought a pair of bleheri's. Hope this one gonna be okay. Hehehe rclxms.gif

Btw, saw a tank of minute RTC's. So cute haha

aimank_88
post Jun 6 2012, 06:40 PM

383 posts

Just a thought, since all of us discuss a lot about fishes, why dont we discuss what sort of filtration we use? As to the filter media, etc. At least can have some tips from the otai's. Whats good and whats not for what kind of fishes on what certain temperatures. rclxms.gif
aimank_88
post Jun 7 2012, 06:20 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(beawolf64 @ Jun 7 2012, 05:19 PM)
agree aimank...anyone can share?currently i use Bio ring,super peat,volcano stone,activated carbon and filter wool...i think activated carbon spoilling the good effect lol
QUOTE(LuQEE @ Jun 7 2012, 05:39 PM)
currently using cannister filter and HOB filter for my oscar setup

cannister filter is like the normal ones - bio-rings, activated carbon pads, filter wools
Hob filter, the stuffs inside i change to my own liking- a few lava rocks(substitute for my bio-rings), filter wools and seachem purigen to make the water extra clear.

also using floating filtering plants like water lettuce, duckweed and egeria densa since they will suck the access nutrients from the decomposing dead feeder fish like ammonia and nitrate which help to combat algae  laugh.gif 
too lazy to clean my tank  rolleyes.gif

Seems u two using bio rings? Whatre those? tongue.gif

And lava rocks? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by aimank_88: Jun 7 2012, 06:20 PM
aimank_88
post Jun 8 2012, 06:16 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Jun 7 2012, 07:47 PM)
bio rings are ceramic rings, their purpose are the same as lava rocks, K1 filter media and also bacteria sponge/sponge filter which are used to house and promote the growth of beneficial bacta.

Owh so that're bio rings. Okay i have oso LOL.

QUOTE(L3()nZ @ Jun 8 2012, 12:31 AM)
I did a DIY tangki kind of filter for my monster tank.
Using first layer:
1. Sponge filter
2. Plastic bio ball
3. Lava rocks
4. coral bits
5. charcoal and some other chemicals removal materials.
6. UV light.

Haha that's my setup.
Mind taking a pic? Hehe

Btw, im using sorta a tangki filter usually they use. Dunno what term they call it i forgot. Just using in accordance : plastic balls, sponge filter, bio rings, activated carbon and peat moss(Couldnt find super peat tongue.gif)
aimank_88
post Jun 8 2012, 04:40 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Jun 8 2012, 02:38 PM)
we need to change the carbons when it's time. Small packet last 2 weeks.
Larger packs not sure. If you malas or kedekut, then the carbon will released the toxins back to the tank. If you follow the durations, then it will benefit you
2 weeks? I thought they last 3 months! I always buy the carbon every 3 months blink.gif

QUOTE(beawolf64 @ Jun 8 2012, 03:24 PM)
predatory fish "poo" are horrible lol....easy turn up the water chemistry hahaha.....
Hahha yea..

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Jun 8 2012, 04:35 PM)
that's why i do wc every 3-4 days for my oscar.
Luckily he's on pellets.
Same here, my oscar's on pellets too. But I change once a week oni.. On an external filter in a 3ft tank tho.
aimank_88
post Jun 8 2012, 04:47 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Jun 8 2012, 04:44 PM)
I refer to the small packet,maybe half your palm.
Owh, the big one? How long u think itll last? tongue.gif
aimank_88
post Jun 9 2012, 03:04 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(L3()nZ @ Jun 8 2012, 06:54 PM)
For predator fish filter...it has to be highly Oxidized. So that the bacteria can grow. I found out that too many layers of white sponge actually make the filter worse...

Sure will update some pic of my cacat filter...haha
Oxidized as in water aeration? Faster la post pics! rclxms.gif
aimank_88
post Jun 12 2012, 04:11 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(beer8bottles @ Jun 11 2012, 11:16 PM)
I've been trying to upload the photo but my internet line is a bit bad these past days.
The driftwood was much, much heavier that I expected it to be, which is goood, because no way the fish is going to move it. Hahaha..
I'm now sunning it. I'm going to leave it out in open till the end of July. Then in August, I'll soak it in the tank for another 2 months. That should get all the tanins out nicely.
Okay. Ive soaked it for only a week last time. And just left it as it is after that. tongue.gif
aimank_88
post Jun 22 2012, 05:59 PM

383 posts

My oscars are getting big.. Anybody selling 4ft tank cheap2? rclxms.gif
aimank_88
post Jun 23 2012, 08:45 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(Alcip @ Jun 22 2012, 06:09 PM)
Aiman,
put them up for adoption. Start new project heheh...
Dowan la. My gf has started loving them so have to keep em. Plus d oscar's black orange color sorta compliments the shop's theme. tongue.gif
aimank_88
post Jun 26 2012, 02:45 AM

383 posts

Hey, anybody knows what type of catfish is this? Saw it in an LFS in ampang. Asked the owner, she didnt even know. Her answer was "Rare catfish". sweat.gif

aimank_88
post Jun 26 2012, 02:14 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(rickyfan8888 @ Jun 26 2012, 08:44 AM)
look similar with shovelnose catfish..might be a hybrid between shovelnose catfish with red tail catfish hmm.gif
Dunna man. I googled the closest resemblance was a giraffe catfish. But its way too different. blink.gif
aimank_88
post Jun 29 2012, 12:31 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(rickyfan8888 @ Jun 28 2012, 03:12 PM)
yup..i suppose it is common striata aka ikan haruan rite? it mixed inside the feeder fish that I bought..
Wah keep it la. Hehe
aimank_88
post Jun 29 2012, 12:36 AM

383 posts

Btw, ive thought about it and deciding to let go of my oscar.. Any keepers?

Heres a short clip:

aimank_88
post Jul 6 2012, 02:33 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(L3()nZ @ Jul 5 2012, 03:24 PM)
Overflow box as in? Dont understand the concept much icon_question.gif

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Jul 5 2012, 09:45 PM)
I clean weekly, every Tuesdays lol. Use suction for WC, and just use my hands to brush up any stains on the tank walls. My fishes are not that big yet so still berani to use hands. tongue.gif
aimank_88
post Jul 6 2012, 03:32 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(L3()nZ @ Jul 6 2012, 02:45 PM)
The reason for the overflow box is bcz i cannot drill holes in my tank. So i ve to create another overflow box. Which ve to be leveled with the aquarium water level. The pipe connection the aquarium and the box has to be vacuumed. So both of the water level of the tank and overbox would be synchronize. And another pipe from the overflow box to the filter....abit susah la, lol because didn plan well before i setup the tank...so now gotta use this cacat method...haha
Owhh ok2. So the purpose of it is for the tank water level.. icon_rolleyes.gif
aimank_88
post Jul 8 2012, 05:19 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(beer8bottles @ Jul 7 2012, 09:51 PM)
Spotted at Irene Aquarium:

Paddlefish, about 15cm+ going for RM 198.

Dragon goby, RM 110. Looks like a deep sea creature.

Sturgeon: RM 45

Tempted to get the paddlefish but its plankton diet is a bit of a put off.

This? Looks cool! Go get it. smile.gif
aimank_88
post Jul 9 2012, 06:31 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(beawolf64 @ Jul 9 2012, 01:05 AM)
Hi arrow..any advice to do a tank setup that hit lower ph and hardness?been thinking to use ADA Amazonia mix with ADA Malaya plus some easy trimless plant..trying to setup tank for my new coming fish..that fish are so sensitive about water chemistery

Can give some advice about filter medium too...thanks
Wah, what fish u getting now? tongue.gif

10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0522sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:38 AM