6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

- Alienware Mothership v6 -, The poisons are getting stronger!

julchin_09
post Nov 1 2010, 02:56 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ Oct 31 2010, 08:24 AM)
So... anyone tried ordering the GTX460M graphic card from Dell edi? Thinking of slapping it to ma lappie if possible~ tongue.gif
So FAR I tried getting a GTX 460M online but can't find. Managed only to find the GTX 480M which would cost USD$800 per card. If they accept trade in then I wouldn't mind giving my GTX 260M back for that and maybe selling my ATI 5870 online, provided of course the GTX 460M performs significantly better than the 5870....
julchin_09
post Nov 1 2010, 03:57 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(GreaseMonkey90 @ Nov 1 2010, 03:02 AM)
need a new heatsink just u remember. the 5870 heatsink would probably the trick.
The 5870 is running on the GTX 260M's heatsink. The Clevo package I didn't take.... but you could add to the surface area of the copper heatsink with added copper plates...

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Nov 1 2010, 03:26 AM)
GTX480M heatsink itself already won't fit M15x chasis.. sweat.gif

not to mention other problem like BIOS compatibility, new PSU and etc. GTX460M might be sweet. significantly better cannot be conformed yet since your ATi HD5870 is one of the highest-end card. but i bet you will enjoy tweaking the driver again.

if the seller accept trade-in, i do say go for it smile.gif
Yeah,... true on that. Not sure how big the GTX 480M heatsinks are as I've yet to see proper pics of that GPU. GTX 460M is a confirmed GREEN in terms of working, just acquiring the card via DELL themselves was the issue with regards to warranty and upgrade issues that DELL Malaysia don't comply with as compared to US. So will have to scout the net again to see how much it would cost but then cost over performance over 5870 would probably stop me from getting it. If GTX 470M , that would be a different story as its supposed to perform much faster than the ATI 5870.... and power consumption is the same.... sweat.gif ... Lets see how things develop overseas.....
julchin_09
post Nov 1 2010, 07:44 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 1 2010, 06:19 PM)
Benchmark is one of the most reliable of seeing how good is a GC.

Real life performance is pretty expected to be awesome.

460M GTX pawns on DX11, while 5870 still excel on Dx9 and DX10. Considering the number of DX11 games in the market, 5870 still get my vote.
Pawns as in landslide or small margin? I know the new GTX 4** Series is optimized for DX 11 but have yet to see proper benchmark for those. I think I will hit youtube and see..... I guess it will do better on games like Metro 2033 when it comes to tesselations then...... How nice if our mobos are more future proof..... icon_idea.gif
julchin_09
post Nov 2 2010, 09:19 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Nov 2 2010, 12:08 PM)
i was wondering how the Alienware handle those 2 GTX480M SLi monster there, The Heat sink doesnt fit the M17x either.
I'm beginning to lose hope on the M17x being able to take 2 480m cards. As it is, its hopeless (to me) to wait for it to come to the M15x just based on the power consumption. I think the highest M15x owners can dream and wait for is the 1.5GB DDR5 470M card which should be placed higher on the charts than the ATI 5870. If you're tech contacts at DELL Do come into poccession of a 480m card I'd like to hope they'll do some compatibility tests with the M17x.... sweat.gif

QUOTE(GreaseMonkey90 @ Nov 2 2010, 12:43 PM)
i doubt there will be an r3. probably a new model. the chassis wont fit 2 480ms not to mention the x58 board
QUOTE(Safar @ Nov 2 2010, 01:06 PM)
its confirm there will be M17x R3, might be with some changes on design.

http://dell-lab.posterous.com/?tag=alienware
I'd like to hope for a new Design which is better future proff as well smile.gif...and most importantly dual GTX 480m if not Dual GTX 5**M laugh.gif

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Nov 2 2010, 05:39 PM)
i personally never operate M15x before, so can't give any comment. but from the pictures, it just look as same as M17x arrangement. Putochip and Julchin knows M15x better than me since they are the (hardcore) owner.

Clevo = Sager. different marketing name only.

hmm from what i heard, Asus thermal-job is bad. you need to personally crack that beast up to reapply with better thermalpaste. cooling affect after repaste is quite significant...
As it is I need to reopen my whole unit again as my thermals have crept up since the initial pasting job in June when I inserted the ATI 5870. From what I remember I need not take out the keyboard to gain access to the GPU card as compared to the M17x....

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 2 2010, 05:45 PM)
There is one thing i hate Asus: They are not very consistent in terms of the quality. G73 built is good, solid and tough. Keyboard is comfortable. Screen is just fantastic, as it even beat my external monitor in terms of contrast till i abandon it. Great cooling and performance. At the same time, some of the really retarded stuff like no multimedia or volume control buttons at all, bad thermal job, vBIOS issue (quite easy to fix), the position of the USB ports and the ear phone jack.

Im taking this laptop to learn more stuff, as disassembling laptops does takes a lot of skill. I like to see laptop's interiors to see how they work. So, not really an issue to me.

The thermal job is bad. Thats why i might order a bottle of IC7 just to prepare. And repaste my old laptop so that i can idle at TF2.It's not that hard if i follow the instruction, but going back is tough.

I just wonder how will those who never heard NBR will survive with a G73. Thats my only regret for getting G73. And damn Alienware just announced 460M GTX after 3 days i bought my G73. doh.gif

On the other hand, I think overheating happens to every laptop, especially after you use it for 2 years as the default thermal paste has worn out. My old Dell also overheats like mad too.You wont believe that how crappy is the thermal pad. Looks like someone just put some chewing gum between your GPU and heat sink.
Ok lar, the G73 is a pretty sweet looking notebook as well and you prolly got that much cheaper than a similarly spec'ed M15x.....

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Nov 2 2010, 06:24 PM)
more doesn't mean better.... sweat.gif
TRUE. The main thing about the paste is not to apply to much in between the copper heatsink and the GPU but just a layer to allow maximum contact at minimum thickness....I was pretty tensed when doing this and did a practice run a couple of times. Now I'll have the tedious task or purifying the heatsink as well as the delicate GPU.....

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 2 2010, 06:30 PM)
Yea, 86 is sweet, as even with the most demanding games, most of the time it's about 10C from what you get from Furmark. It's fine the way it is, if it could stay like this for next 4 years.

To be honest, even cleaning the vents is tough as you need to disassemble the whole thing. Might as well repaste it when you are cleaning it. I'll probably a repaste 3 months later, and clean the fans.

Nah, the slanting keyboard is just for typing comfort, and yeah, it's damn comfortable to use it. The top of the speaker actually sucks air in as there are vents there. Pretty innovative as it's concealed under the LCD. I think laptop cooler is just completely useless for G73 as the bottom is almost completely sealed.
Have you looked into increasing the surface area of your copper heatsink? I'm currently looking into purchasing copper slabs (thin one) which can be added to the existing copper pipes to increase surface area and help reduce the temps a bit more......
julchin_09
post Nov 3 2010, 06:18 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(duabijitelur @ Nov 3 2010, 05:57 PM)
hey guys
i wanna ask how long does the M15x battery lasts?
the 6 cell and 9 cell ones ... maybe less than 2 hours?
can someone list out for the situation when fully loaded and when idle?
please and thks
Well I think you can search this online somewhere. Personally I never use my battery and game at the same time cos I get less than 1hr under heavy load. Of course when you turn wifi off and just run OFFICE Programs it will last 2hrs .... these are my times running on a 9cell.
julchin_09
post Nov 5 2010, 04:11 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ Nov 4 2010, 10:36 PM)
so... any news about the upgrade to 460M?  yawn.gif
Last I check, if you buy online NOT FROM DELL its about USD$400 including shipping.....Then fix it in yourself....

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Nov 5 2010, 09:59 AM)
after get your m15x with 460m...do benchmark..wan to compare with ati 5850..he3..
I'll be looking forward to the benchmarks too. Wanna compare them to 5850 and 5870 to see where it fits in......
julchin_09
post Nov 5 2010, 08:38 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Nov 5 2010, 08:00 PM)
well, it might more expensive for bout 300-700 hundred, but if u extend in the period of warranty, it cost might a bit less.

Well, 1 year is enough, will see in the future whether u still need the laptop or u gonna upgrade, maybe alienware S17x, hahaha
WAH Bro you got inside news on this? brows.gif
julchin_09
post Nov 6 2010, 03:56 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(GreaseMonkey90 @ Nov 6 2010, 01:12 AM)
lemme cure my ached back 1st for carrying tht thing
AWESOME....

Would Like to hear some reviews too smile.gif
And maybe some gaming benchmarks if you're able too..... rclxms.gif
The pics itself of this monster should be enuff to make us drool.gif
Too bad here not selling....
julchin_09
post Nov 8 2010, 09:18 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(pierrechoong @ Nov 8 2010, 12:55 AM)
hey sifus,

i just ordered an m15x n will probably get it in couple of weeks later.

while waiting 4 it, i wanted to get a crumpler. (part n parcel to be exact)

but i dont think it will fit into d dedicated lappie compartment bcoz m15x is extremely bigger than the rest of the 15inch lappies

so wat are u guys using for m15x in terms of crumpler? or any good brands u guys are using t the moment?

Crumpler then you'll have to decide if you want the backpack style or sling style. There are many in the market and its best you get the ones for 17" notebooks. Personally I am using a Fossil leather sling bag for my m15x which can fit my notebook which is encased in a sleeve, the powerbrick and my AW Mouse.

QUOTE(Bell&Ross @ Nov 8 2010, 08:11 PM)
anyone here pre order the call of duty: black ops ???
btw, can gtx260 support the game??
GTX 260 will definetly support the game. If you run it on highest setting and you feel it doesn't hit 30fps then just overclock it a bit. I used to play Battlefield Bad Company 2 on max settings with my GTX 260M OC'ed with a cooler underneath no problems... smile.gif
julchin_09
post Nov 8 2010, 11:41 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(MikeX @ Nov 8 2010, 11:35 PM)
So far I went to Starbucks and never seen anyone using alienware except me smile.gif... hahaha...
I've never brought my monster to Starbucks. You must have attracted lotsa stares....

But I've brought mine to a McD and yes it does attract attention especially with the Morphing Alienhead....

I've been trying to promote Alienware to my friends. So far only got 1 to purchase the M11x and he hasn't registered at this forum yet. The others don't really want to spend above RM5k for a notebook even if they were looking for a gaming one hence they are comtemplating Asus or Sager bought overseas. But I tell them about the waiting period for that and the warranty which tips in favor of AW.... smile.gif

Added on November 8, 2010, 11:43 pm
QUOTE(Seriously @ Nov 8 2010, 10:27 PM)
Check this out haha

http://www.kotaku.com.au/2010/11/armed-rob...gamestop-heist/

Call of Duty : Robbers Ops.
This is good publicity for the game.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by julchin_09: Nov 8 2010, 11:43 PM
julchin_09
post Nov 8 2010, 11:48 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(casperito @ Nov 8 2010, 11:45 PM)
i told some of my frens about AW and they know about it, its juz for them its too expensive...
bro puto, probably one of them will contact u for an AW later on... hehehehe
Well compared to prices me, Doc and some of the others paid for our systems same time last year,... whoa, big difference. Good thing that prices are coming down smile.gif
julchin_09
post Nov 9 2010, 03:28 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(Bell&Ross @ Nov 8 2010, 08:11 PM)
anyone here pre order the call of duty: black ops ???
btw, can gtx260 support the game??
QUOTE(Bell&Ross @ Nov 8 2010, 09:50 PM)
Thanks bro....
Wait, Black Ops is turning out with Issues which apparently is nothing to do with the GPU but with the CPU.
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/show...1570196&page=20
Initially people with dual-core were complaining they can't play but people with i7 have the issue as well.

QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ Nov 9 2010, 11:37 AM)
eh... got me leh~  laugh.gif

Added on November 9, 2010, 11:39 am

I'm still waiting to see if it's possible to replace my aging yet trusty GTX 260M~ cry.gif  so long didn't see anyone tried it yet~  whistling.gif
Hey... you can be the first bro smile.gif brows.gif
julchin_09
post Nov 10 2010, 02:30 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(GreaseMonkey90 @ Nov 9 2010, 11:18 PM)
just annouced tht m17x WILL NOT have the gtx480m but only gtx460 SLI

[attachmentid=1877084]
Well this is expected considering we're running the same M17x mobo anyways...Feeling sad but thinking they might be a remake for the M17x in the horizon hopefully soon....

QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ Nov 10 2010, 12:10 AM)
wanted to... but I have no idea where to buy the card yet~  yawn.gif
Oh over at NBR Forum I heard its about USD$400-/+ With shipping.....
julchin_09
post Nov 10 2010, 12:03 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(MikeX @ Nov 10 2010, 11:45 AM)
tested the overclock function in BIOS running at 166 but not much different noticeable from games. sad.gif what a pity!
Did you do a benchmark for before and after comparions of the fps?
julchin_09
post Nov 11 2010, 07:06 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ Nov 11 2010, 12:13 AM)
I think of all the 100 owners in LYN~ tongue.gif only like 20 joined and I doubt some are even from this thread~ doh.gif
Well I did smile.gif
julchin_09
post Nov 12 2010, 06:02 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Nov 12 2010, 04:03 PM)
wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif

i wonder why there is no one bulking this mouse hmm.gif
Im clueless too. And the one here is the R.A.T 7 which is wired. I've been looking for the R.A.T.9 which is wireless for many months now but everytime i go into store and say CYBORG brand they say none!.... sad.gif Have to order 1 by 1 from overseas.... sad.gif
julchin_09
post Nov 12 2010, 08:30 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(rc2x @ Nov 12 2010, 08:08 PM)
Sigh, my m11x start to make some noise already, cracking noise when closing the lid. Not as smooth as before when close the lid.  The famous m11x hinge issue.  sad.gif
Sorry to hear that man~ sad.gif
julchin_09
post Nov 12 2010, 08:35 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(duabijitelur @ Nov 12 2010, 08:31 PM)
julchin_09 how is ur 5850 with black ops?
Mine is running 5870 and I have yet to purchase it. I normally wait for the reviews and more youtube vids for demo on them.... Medal of Honor runs smoothly on the 5870 without OC'ing but I got the *cough* version instead. Been reading yesterday about the problems regarding Black Ops and I have yet to follow up on whether that has been rectified or not....
julchin_09
post Nov 12 2010, 08:41 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Nov 12 2010, 08:36 PM)
its HD 5870 laugh.gif
Thanks for pointing it out.. smile.gif

Hey Doc. Now I can put a face to your name smile.gif Nice meeting you bro.... by the way you mentioned your GTX 280M SLi is running DX 11. Hows that?
julchin_09
post Nov 12 2010, 08:57 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Nov 12 2010, 08:46 PM)
aha. and you are quite younger than what i thought tongue.gif nice meeting you by the way.

ahh its nothing actually, just want to did some nerd joke. Windows Vista (with updates) and Windows 7 does have Dx11 ready, so its just depend on the GPU used either it can be utilized or not. and basically, most of Dx10.1 able to perform partial support of Dx11, yet not fully due to hardware limitation smile.gif
I'll take that as a compliment...

So that explains it... No wonder I didn't really understand cos I remember that the 280m Is a DX 10.1 Card....

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0535sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:35 AM