- Alienware Mothership v6 -, The poisons are getting stronger!
putochip123
Sep 21 2010, 02:34 AM
QUOTE(kazasho @ Sep 21 2010, 02:23 AM) oh my, need to sacrifice my gaming habit la like this.. its really frustrated when u see ur end product print mahal-mahal got ugly mark thanks guy.noted apple still can gaming also wat? GT330M ^^ or else try Acer 5943G the screen is comparable to Apple 1..... and also with gaming performance and RM4799(retail) only
lk_chin
Sep 21 2010, 02:43 AM

QUOTE(Blank86 @ Sep 20 2010, 10:15 AM) bro, Step by step guide =D 1) delete driver and use sweeper(safe mode) 2) Restart computer(now it will show vga standart driver) 3) install driver Ati catalyst 4) restart 5) rdy for game XD the installtion driver failed ... why ? something wrong with my registry ?
awyongcarl
Sep 21 2010, 03:08 AM
QUOTE(lk_chin @ Sep 21 2010, 02:43 AM) the installtion driver failed ... why ? something wrong with my registry ? Are you installing the Mobility driver or what? Added on September 21, 2010, 3:10 amQUOTE(kazasho @ Sep 21 2010, 02:23 AM) oh my, need to sacrifice my gaming habit la like this.. its really frustrated when u see ur end product print mahal-mahal got ugly mark thanks guy.noted Well, for me, it's still alright because I still can calibrate the LCD. Something that can be amended. This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Sep 21 2010, 03:10 AM
TSMr.Docter
Sep 21 2010, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 20 2010, 03:16 PM) both of this GC is same, not much different. the performance different is not significant. 5850 u guys check in tomshardware is desktop version which is totaly different from the mobile version, the mobile version of 5850 is around destop5570-5670. If u need CUDA/PhysX got for Nvidia(got better driver support for smooth gaming) Ati cheaper and have same performance(sucks driver support) For DX11, dont think about it, if u wan try DX11, go for M17x 5870 would be nice, when a game u cnt full detail, DX 11 is useless+9000. Dx10 full setting >>>> Dx11 mid setting. and go for HD5850 eventho GTX260M is more powerfull, since GTX260M can cause throttling issues due to its heavy power consumption. not everyone occur this, but its happened. QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Sep 20 2010, 05:15 PM) Revision 1/2 different spec... specs a.k.a mobo & CPU.
TSMr.Docter
Sep 21 2010, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 21 2010, 02:34 AM) apple still can gaming also wat? GT330M ^^ err... like OSX support for gaming.....  and gaming must directly link to cooling effeciency. there is no use if you just able to game for 30 minutes and overheating after that....
Blank86
Sep 21 2010, 11:09 AM

Anybody got use the FF14 benchmark? i encounter this problem when using my m17x-r2(5870cf) with 10.8catalyst » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Problem signature: Problem Event Name: APPCRASH Application Name: FFXivWinBenchmark.exe Application Version: 1.0.0.0 Application Timestamp: 4c1582b9 Fault Module Name: atiumdag.dll Fault Module Version: 8.14.10.723 Fault Module Timestamp: 4b6a365f Exception Code: c0000005 Exception Offset: 00210eb6 OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3 Locale ID: 17417 Additional Information 1: 0a9e Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789 Additional Information 3: 0a9e Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
any suggestion how to solve them? Update: Seems that Dell release new driver yesterday for 5870.. solve the problem liao This post has been edited by Blank86: Sep 21 2010, 12:50 PM
putochip123
Sep 21 2010, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Sep 21 2010, 10:06 AM) err... like OSX support for gaming.....  and gaming must directly link to cooling effeciency. there is no use if you just able to game for 30 minutes and overheating after that....  ya, my mac with 6000RPM CPU&GPU fan GPU is quite cool at 60'C only, but proc(Core i7 620M) can reach 70'c. but ithink is still acceptable
putochip123
Sep 21 2010, 01:54 PM
if i put the fan speed to increase itself, the temperature will be like this after 3 hours gaming Attached thumbnail(s)
Lil Kiasu
Sep 21 2010, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Sep 21 2010, 10:06 AM) err... like OSX support for gaming.....  and gaming must directly link to cooling effeciency. there is no use if you just able to game for 30 minutes and overheating after that....  Mac isn't nescessary to run OSX... Hackintosh ftw~
Exarkun
Sep 21 2010, 02:17 PM

Just for everyone's info. Did not find it anywhere in this thread regarding this. The 240W power brick for the Alienware M17x is RM281 order direct from Dell. The brick is not available online and you need to call dell on their hotline and ask for it. Might be useful to some who wishes to have two power bricks. I did, one for the home and one for the office so I don't have to lug that big @ss brick  Now waiting delivery from Penang to my house.
Eugene91
Sep 21 2010, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 21 2010, 01:59 AM) not only dell, Asus, Toshiba&HP(worse), the best is Acer for normal LCD, besides Apple Depends on their OEM isn't it? I know Acer 6935G uses Samsung panel.. dunno bout the rest.. What's the best panel anyways?
lee_what2004
Sep 21 2010, 03:42 PM
*stare* ji--------
The panel in HP Elitebook 8740w ? http://forum.notebookreview.com/notebook-n...tal-jacket.htmlThere's also comparison with M17x-R2 screen on 2nd post This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Sep 21 2010, 03:43 PM
Eugene91
Sep 21 2010, 03:47 PM
fuyooo nice leh the panel in the HP
putochip123
Sep 21 2010, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Sep 21 2010, 03:47 PM) fuyooo nice leh the panel in the HP walau, IPS panel of course pawn M17x, M17x only TN panel
Eugene91
Sep 21 2010, 06:48 PM
Why cant premium stuff like Alienware get premium stuff as well? the speakers for starters..
Lil Kiasu
Sep 21 2010, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Sep 21 2010, 06:48 PM) Why cant premium stuff like Alienware get premium stuff as well? the speakers for starters.. Yalor... Acer with Dolby, Asus with Altec Lansing and Bang & Olufsen, Toshiba with Harman Kardon... wish AW with THX~ This post has been edited by Lil Kiasu: Sep 21 2010, 07:17 PM
viruz019
Sep 21 2010, 07:34 PM
hey guys, wanna ask..my fren have an m15x..and he juz bought a speaker today..the speaker played through his laptop sounds really weak n weird..wen i try on my speaker it sound daym fine
watz the problem? issit bcoz of the IDT audio driver?
awyongcarl
Sep 21 2010, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Sep 21 2010, 06:48 PM) Why cant premium stuff like Alienware get premium stuff as well? the speakers for starters.. lol admit it, Alienware is just a piece of overpriced hardware
Eugene91
Sep 21 2010, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(Lil Kiasu @ Sep 21 2010, 07:16 PM) Yalor... Acer with Dolby, Asus with Altec Lansing and Bang & Olufsen, Toshiba with Harman Kardon... wish AW with THX~  Not that Only.. Acer and Toshiba have 5.1 System on the laptop itself for its 17" and 18".. which would fit on the M17x.. 2.1 System on 15-16" notebooks.. Look at Acer Cinebass Booster and Dell Studio XPS 16 subwoofer there
lee_what2004
Sep 21 2010, 09:10 PM
*stare* ji--------