Nokia N8 - V4!, King of CameraPhones. Read FAQ 2nd post

aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 12:54 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

There nothing to discuss about low memory on nokia N900 because it never gets low memory problem oh might sifu. So we waiting for your explaination SIFU of technology

I do not know anything care to enlighten SIFU we wanna learn from you. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 20 2010, 12:57 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 12:58 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Oh sifu care to explain what's nand ram? I wanna learn. I apologize i am new to all this care to share with us your knowledge sifu

Added on September 20, 2010, 1:00 pm
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 20 2010, 12:53 PM)
I think my previous N81 have around 25MB++ "PHONE MEMORY" on fresh boot.
Now, OVI Maps 2.x and N-Gage Arena will force to install to Phone Memory, which will result to around 5MB++ remaining "Phone Memory".

When my "Phone Memory" is low (less than 1MB?), e.g. internet cache stores on Phone Memory; I will get "Out of Memory, please close some application".
I will then clear the caches and I can run some applications again.
Now, with less than 5MB Phone Memory, if I tried to blast SMS to contact groups, I will get such Out Of Memory error as well.
What I experience is, when my Phone Memory is low, I'm not allow to open applications as well, like Garmin for example or SMS for example. Why is that? This is similar to RAM behaviour or Virtual Memory, but since there is no Virtual Memory in Symbian^1? Or is there?

I don't know how to see RAM for Symbian as I didn't venture onto those apps that can see the details. I'm still confused why Phone Memory will cause lag issue, will cause Out Of Memory error. Even N97 has this issue, if you google around the article, they will talk about this Phone Memory which is low, and a firmware updates increases this Phone Memory.
Thanks, but wouldn't you mind contribute to explain rather than teasing.
I don't mind admit that I am confused and I don't understand this, but will appreciate if you can help me out. Do read my reply above to BBXiong.

N900 is far more simple and straighforward, we can see our internal storage, ram, swap memory, rootfs, etc. clearly unlike Symbian.
Maybe someone can list down in details for Symbian OS, and why does those articles/blogs talk about Phone Memory low instead of RAM? Why does the firmware update on N97 which increases the available Phone Memory helps?
we waiting the sifu to explain? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 20 2010, 01:00 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 01:07 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Sep 20 2010, 01:01 PM)
Sorry sir..  You are the only one who know what is NAND RAM..  coz we don't have any knowladge on it.. you are the one who go telling people N900 have NAND RAM...   notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

we all learning from you...   notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif
i admit i do not know thats why i asking u to explain SIFU. I always confuse with so many type of memory.

Added on September 20, 2010, 1:07 pm
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 20 2010, 01:04 PM)
Here's something else I wonder:
N97 - 128MB RAM?
After fresh boot, it's around 50MB++ (Phone memory)? Can't remember the exact amount.
N97 Mini - 256MB RAM?
After fresh boot, it has more than 100MB++ (Phone memory).

Why does the RAM affects the Phone Memory available?
Yea i also curious? Still waiting sifu to explain

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 20 2010, 01:08 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 01:55 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

SIFU i still waiting for your explaination on the ram thing? we all are.
What is ROM what is RAM sifu?

My Nokia N97 always show low memory without your explaination i do not know how to prevent it? I know alot of us wanna know too

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 20 2010, 01:57 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 02:15 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

I still waiting for the sifu to answer the question. How does the system allocate the memory to prevent low memory error?
How does we prevent tis to happen on the nokia N8? Install less stuff on phone memory or install 16GB memory?

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 20 2010, 02:17 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 02:20 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Sifu my next question so means more phone memory means less possibility for ram error? Does 3rd party apps light ram booster helps to free this low ram issue?
Joke la this sifu

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 20 2010, 02:20 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 02:21 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

So sifu what's the transfer rate between the phone memory , internal memory and external memory is like?

So if install in internal memory is it the same speed as phone memory? rclxms.gif so if use mass storage is it better to store in the internal memory or external memory?

As a sifu which do you recommend to install? apps in?

Sorry sifu abit noob i always wonder this. Care to enligthen us in this?

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 20 2010, 02:25 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 02:30 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 20 2010, 02:26 PM)
What makes out of memory is the little space of phone memory. Hence, huge space = won't be a problem. The speed depend on the RAM and how many application is open. If application is design like auto launcher after booting, alot of RAM will be used thus make the phone terribly lag. Also, it depend on the OS whether the OS is smart enough to maintain the speed by controlling the running app like freezing it on the background.
Thanks so what i wanna understand why is there nand ram? like N97 it have 256mb ram and N97mini have 512mb ram it heard it makes a different how does this play a role in the memory allocation
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 02:32 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 20 2010, 02:30 PM)
When installing an application  wink.gif

So I really think it's Symbian problem, not the hardware. :\
Yea like the Screen Resolution 360 x 640 for symbian ? is it true it cant go higher? due to OS limitation?
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 02:33 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 20 2010, 02:31 PM)
To reduce the seek time when performing phone related operation, perhaps?
so if install in phone memory should it reduce seek time? What if install in internal memory? What's the different seek time between phone memory and internal memory?

If we understand this it will help improve reduce lagginess while multi tasking right sifu?

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 20 2010, 02:34 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 02:41 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Since sifu so geng its best we listen what sifu have to share with us isnt that why u all come together here. We have alot to learn from you we look forward for your guidance and knowledge to expand and understand the world of technology. There so many OS in the market and to understand all this isnt easy. So as a sifu we hope someday we become as good as you so we can share with others

We still waiting your answer on the seek thing. Its a very interested topic care to ellaborate more? It might help us understand better how symbian works? so if someone else bring this question with your guidance we can provide a more accurate answer.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 20 2010, 02:44 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 02:47 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 20 2010, 02:44 PM)
I think the seek "thing" doesn't show any huge differences here. Take example like your HDD, you can partitioned it to C:, D:, E:. So phone memory and internal memory is like one "HDD" but separate into 2 types of partition = phone memory and internal memory C:.

Correct me if I'm wrong, just telling what I understand so far tongue.gif
i am not very sure too we waiting for the sifu to answer because sorry ah sifu i share abit wat i know its like you transfer from memory card and internal memory different speed. I think it play a part there just i dont understand how much and how big?

Added on September 20, 2010, 2:48 pm
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 20 2010, 02:44 PM)
Try N81.....
5800XM also play bluetooth with headset + media player and surf browser lagging + memory low di

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 20 2010, 02:48 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 02:52 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Sorry mate want to help you but this isnt our field of expertist. Must wait sifu to answer. Sifu need to guide us so we learn so next time someone ask same question we have an answer then we can correct u hehe

Added on September 20, 2010, 2:53 pm
QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 20 2010, 02:48 PM)
You never confirm the exact problem for that? Should check RAM level to verify the source of the error.
how to verify the source of the error? check apps manager? Can Ram booster helps? or apps like KILLME?

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 20 2010, 02:54 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 02:55 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 20 2010, 02:49 PM)
Well, I dump N97 a long time ago. So don't remember much but only could think that it was when installing an application  wink.gif

Added on September 20, 2010, 2:50 pmWhy can't people correct me if they know I was wrong. Damn, all the question seeems forward to me. >.<
Sold my N97 already as well. I wonder how does C6 perform against the N97?
Any comment on this sifu? Sifu ignore wo i just admit i do not know and sifu ignore. haha

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 20 2010, 02:55 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 02:58 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 20 2010, 02:43 PM)
BBXiong:
Sorry, I think I may have confused myself. I remember now, there is a different message called "Memory full. Please delete some data and try again".
But somehow it also relate to some error when I tried to run Garmin when my Phone Memory is low, maybe the RAM is also low that time, I'm not sure. Haven't used a Symbian for quite long time already.
I have tried like open a few apps then close when try to run garmin i get the memory low issue? But if the apps already used it after close it restore why open another apps it shows memory error? Dont really understand this part?

Added on September 20, 2010, 2:59 pm
QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 20 2010, 02:56 PM)
Well, I don't really like to argue, so I just answer it, can't meh?

And let the person be.  whistling.gif

Added on September 20, 2010, 2:57 pmOrait, I'm out from discussion. Need to run some errand
who arguing eh? We brainstorm to understand symbian better? isnt all this related to symbian discussion Cheers mate
We dunno ma we ask we hope someone better than us like symbian can advice us =.= isnt that what rangers is all about =p

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 20 2010, 03:05 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 03:05 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 20 2010, 03:01 PM)
Hehe, thanks for your time and also those that help to explains.

I think someone can list down in details each part and also the error for easier reference or confused people like me.
Example: like what sklchan listed each item and it's explanation
Then the types of error message, like Out Of Memory Or Memory Full, what else?

Many people also confused with Internal/Mass Storage with Phone Memory; It doesn't matter if they get a 16GB model VS 8GB model or SD card model (e.g. the older generation Nokia which have either option only), the low Phone Memory problem is still there.
+1 then if future someone ask this question at least we have some reference to answer.

Added on September 20, 2010, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 20 2010, 03:04 PM)
Don't really know why, that's why I'm wondering why my Phone Memory low also get error, maybe the ram was also low that time; Have to use those app to see the ram usage only know.

Perhaps, some process still not yet clear off in RAM? Not sure...
Only way i fixed this restart phone. So annoying u know la the boot time is not 5 sec haha up to 2 or 3 mins sometimes

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 20 2010, 03:06 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 03:09 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Sep 20 2010, 03:05 PM)
memory leak... common for all electronic devices... nod.gif
Care to ellaborate memory leaks means its restore but it just doesnt acknowledge it in system memory?
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 03:13 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Sep 20 2010, 03:08 PM)
Its just the limitation for symbian os up to Symbian^3. IIANM, Symbian^4 will allow much higher resolution
Higher resolution really makes a difference especially in web browsing and texts related. Impressive on the iphone retina display

Added on September 20, 2010, 3:13 pm
QUOTE(sklchan @ Sep 20 2010, 03:12 PM)
better let the wiki answer in detail...  sweat.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Memory_leak
Thanks ill read it up. Appreciate your effort notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 20 2010, 03:13 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 03:19 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Sep 20 2010, 03:15 PM)
but in small screen does those resolution do any good in text reading?  hmm.gif
that i not so sure. Must wait sifu to answer but from wat i know its harder to see if screen small
aspire2oo6
post Sep 20 2010, 03:24 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Sep 20 2010, 03:22 PM)
well, some rough explaination la..

when an application uses ram, it would need to register the address to the system, and that portion of ram would be allocated for the application only, no other application can access it. Normally, when the application finish using it, it would free the ram from its usage. memory leak is when the application did not free off the ram that is no longer being used by it. Since no other application can access it, the usable ram would become smaller, and the ram taken by the application that is not free would be 'forever' lost...until you restart the device that is...
Thanks for the explaination. If lost forever even ram booster or cleaner wont help? until restart>

Added on September 20, 2010, 3:25 pm
QUOTE(sklchan @ Sep 20 2010, 03:22 PM)
now getting more and more itu pid pid pad pad... they're test test water with bigger portable devices but it look silly with a "pad" phone  sweat.gif
haha anyway offtopic iphone 4 is out
http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/iphone4/rates.asp

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Sep 20 2010, 03:25 PM

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0372sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:10 PM