Sep 11 2010, 08:38 PM
1,107 posts Joined: May 2009 |
u chinese... then no worries,
u just temporary invest only, the return of investment will come later angpow & gold will more than enuf to cover ur cost |
Sep 11 2010, 10:56 PM
Sep 11 2010, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(IluvProton @ Sep 11 2010, 10:59 PM) sad but true, somemore some on wedding dinner they got register and mark your angpau. my wedding on the invitation card already stated we cordially decline angpow gifts. and we also put a sign at the receptions in both chinese & english regarding that, the ushers also prep to acknowledge the guests bout tat.no gip = paiseh. that style like to jack up the min angpao. that was my discussion with my husband before the wedding, if got money then have banquet, if no money, then don't. we decided not to invite ppl to cover our cost, we genuinely only wanted to share the joy and treat everyone a dinner. |
Sep 11 2010, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(fifi85 @ Sep 11 2010, 11:04 PM) not rich like no need to work la... we aredy decided ma, if no money then register only jus i can earn & his business was growing at time before we tied the knots.. somemo tat money spend can earn back, and wedding is once in a lifetime. |
Sep 11 2010, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(IluvProton @ Sep 11 2010, 11:07 PM) I dun really like those cainis style dinner like haha... come to think bout it married also we put our parents priority instead of our own.all aunty / uncle come in and then got 'dai kam jeh' do teh talking like non-stop then yam seng style and karaoke.... I prefer a buffet style and they can eat what they like and so on. chinese dinner like common with fish, prawn and shark fin soup..... imagine you got every year invitation for wedding and those you eat 10 times per year? my hb loves diving and he's die-hard marine environmental fan... he said no shark fin! but my father in law rage... how can no sharkfin? me no face in front of friends & relatives! both almos got into big fight bcos |
Sep 12 2010, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(vapeace @ Sep 12 2010, 12:34 AM) it all about how you see it those ang pow giving for me i see it as a blessing for the people who come in fact, when i see ppl who insisting reject receiving ang pow, is rather rude when ppl give you their blessing, accept it although it just for show the money you can later decide what to do with it, insert in budget or watsoever i have seen 0sen ang pow to empty check ( dunno which rich man give empty check) ang pow in fact melaka and penang, many still give ang pow although how many time u tell them not to ! i from a traditional family with baba root, most of my relative is the same what normally we did was we take 10 table for our self (friends) and the remaining table is for father and mother guest list, who they want invite is their business. as long not more than the table we allocated for them No matter how my cousin insist he will not take ang pow, his father pressure him to take it when ppl give accept it, nvr give never mind it not about status or what so ever, it just a tradition what ever ppl give, we accept it QUOTE(~LynX~ @ Sep 11 2010, 11:37 PM) The giving of angpow for weddings isn't just about helping to cover the costs for a banquet, it has symbolic meaning also, it is a form of "blessing" by the guests for the couple's future. hahaha... be honest to yourself how many time u all /k here feel obligate to give angpow , and must give, instead of your angpow meaning u "blessed" the couplesand by the way have to be cash no? it's not for cover the cost then u get all angpows with a red notes say "may you have a blessed marriage, we sincerely whole heartly give you this blessing" can??? 新人与家属谢绝礼金 The wedding couple & family cordially suggesting no gift-angpow. it's not rude. try to put this and if people still approach is and give then accept This post has been edited by debbierowe: Sep 12 2010, 09:54 AM |
Sep 12 2010, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 12 2010, 10:59 AM) This means they expect money. How long have you lived here, people say that just to appear humble. It's like when you're entertaining people and they say'here, let me pay for it'. This means you should pay for it, otherwise you'll just ruin the relationship. I've even spoke to elderly cab drivers who refused fares, doesn't mean you don't pay for it. It's not even like they want to have a big dinner, it's just that they are forced to do it, so help them out a bit. When it comes to your turn (if it does) and you are Chinese you know it will happen to you too, and you will surely want them to help you out. HAHAHHAHAHA... nice interpretation but WRONGu came to my wedding or what? when it comes to my turn? the said was my turn if only u read so far there's not even one chinese wedding i've been has that sign. only me & my hubby decided we do not want OTHERS MONEY for OUR WEDDING. so we put up a sign, genuinely JUST TO SHARE OUR JOY and treat everyone a dinner. This post has been edited by debbierowe: Sep 12 2010, 06:11 PM |
Sep 12 2010, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(b3rnard7 @ Sep 12 2010, 06:24 PM) it's kinda funny if u say like thatmarried certificate issue by JPN only RM20. then a couple would be legally married. why need money, and why need banquet (If got no money, end up waiting for ppl to "bless" the wedding by giving cash) |
Sep 12 2010, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(b3rnard7 @ Sep 12 2010, 06:32 PM) dun tell me tat u don't held a wedding dinner? or u and ur hubby fork out certain amount of $$$ to belanja every single guest? lol..Cos do mentioned tat "JUST TO SHARE OUR JOY and treat everyone a dinner" we fork out bcos we can afford it duh! IF cannot we wouldn't have tats our principle which of cos not very traditionally-chinese. that have it anyway and expect to get back from angpows |
Sep 12 2010, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(b3rnard7 @ Sep 12 2010, 06:49 PM) as far as I know,is only "ang moh" will do tat! Bcos I attend b4 "ang moh" ppls wedding.And is true tat there is no money involved but me n my frens just buy gift only. money involve or not is up to us la, not our race. our parents also support our decision for dropping red-invitation instead of red bombbtw,how many guest 1st tat u belanja? mind to tell? 300 over guests mainly my parents' & in laws' frens ... those sok-gong-lou-yeh-ah-poh-ah-gu-ah-yi-ah-chek those i know personally not up to 100. |
Sep 12 2010, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(b3rnard7 @ Sep 12 2010, 08:40 PM) which means averagely around 30 tables (1 table = 10 person) yea, some last minute urgent no shows also got, 30tables in KL shangri-laAnd u invite those relatives and some close ppl.Still quite affordable.But dun tell me those guest dun give u some gifts as well? as i see most wedding, even if got give angpows couples still get gifts la...no? we got most gifts from relatives, expecially the elderly, likes to give dragon-phoenix type of gold and jed jewelleries... not like i'm gonna wear it anyway |
| Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0209sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:45 PM |