Motorola DEFY Official Thread, A tough phone for Android

crapp0
post Mar 5 2011, 05:01 PM

4,414 posts

HI, just bought my defy phone.

Just wondering if its wise to upgrade my ROM to a custom one and upgrade the OS as well to 2.2 froyo.

Whats the additional benefit of upgrading both ROM and OS as opposed to just upgrading the OS but keeping the rom stock standard?

Btw im a first time andriod user, before this i;ve only heard about andriod and seen it on frens phones.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 5 2011, 05:02 PM
crapp0
post Mar 5 2011, 09:38 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(lingch @ Mar 5 2011, 07:50 PM)
Welcome welcome. Together we Defy this world in the depth of a glass of water tongue.gif

Front page updated with credits biggrin.gif

No ler, me just a pawn in the chess set tongue.gif

Added on March 5, 2011, 8:06 pm

It's not wise to not upgrade your 2.1 eclair to 2.2 froyo. I heard frozen yogurt taste better than eclair hmm.gif

Upgrading to froyo standard rom give you the ability to use flash player in browser. From there you can choose to use custom rom or not. Those roms usually comes with their own tweaking for optimizing the performance and make the phone run smoother and faster and deeper into the water tongue.gif Ok maybe not deeper you'll cry haha
Could you direct me to which 2.2 rom is the best overall?

So theres different flavours of 2.2 Roms, does that apply to froyo OS as well or is there just one standard froyo OS?
crapp0
post Mar 6 2011, 08:46 AM

4,414 posts

May i know if i just used lingch's guide on upgrading from eclair to froyo (I believe this is an upgrade of the andriod OS, not the rom).

Will the gui be significantly improved in terms of smoothness?

Coz so far with stock eclair its ok but i noticed that the stock browser that comes with it is laggy.

So far this thread as a guide from upgrading eclair to froyo on the default rom.

Is there a guide on upgrading the ROM to a 2.2 version, and then the upgrading of the OS to 2.2?

Just to confirm, if i upgraded my phone from stock standard rom and OS to a froyo 2.2 ROM, will my andriod OS still be eclair or will it automatically be upgraded to 2.2 due to me installing the 2.2 ROM?

Sorry if i sound confusing since i am planning whether to just upgrade to froyo and keep the rom standard or go all the way with a custom rom and froyo.

Btw, my build number isnt the standard 2.51 out of the box but the JRDNEM_U3_2.59.0.

Will there be issues say if i wanted to upgrade my phone, but in the event that i have to restore my phone, i noticed everybodys on 2.51.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 6 2011, 08:57 AM
crapp0
post Mar 6 2011, 03:02 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(lingch @ Mar 6 2011, 01:21 PM)
I think you're confuse between froyo OS and rom. To put it simple, before you can restore/flash to any froyo (custom) rom, you will need to get your phone running on froyo OS 1st. So to speak, OS comes 1st. There are 2 different ways you can do to get to froyo. Either flash through sbf or restore from nandroid backup.

If you want the downgradeable ability back to your stock rom after you've upgrade to froyo, you MUST only perform the 2nd option which is nandroid backup. If sbf, you'll be stuck in froyo forever and possibly void the warranty purpose.

And also, before perform the restoration you MUST remember to do a backup of your current stock rom which is JRDNEM_U3_2.59.0. The rest of it, can check front page for the guides.

I wouldn't say the froyo increase performance by much. Perhaps a bit cause afterall froyo can flash player which gives more moving animations in the browser. I would suggest you to use other browser cause the lag problems lies in the stock browser itself, not because this phone is slow. I use dolphine browser mini which I think is just brilliant in terms of speed biggrin.gif

As for the custom roms, yes highly recommended to do once you get into froyo OS for maximum performance and what not. Seems like jboogie and pays roms are the more popular ones in xda forum. I prefer American over German any day tongue.gif

Added on March 6, 2011, 1:28 pmblackwhitechipsKL, I think you need to find another 2.51 based sbf and flash it lor no choice sad.gif
Hmm, thx man.

I think i'll upgrade the OS using the 2nd method so as not to void the warranty. I'll maybe change the rom when im comfortable with the froyo first.

So the guide on the 1st forum page should suffice right?
crapp0
post Mar 7 2011, 01:20 PM

4,414 posts

Anybody else have this problem whereby the UK 3.4.2-117 wont install in recovery mode?

I keep on getting the md5 mismatch error.
crapp0
post Mar 7 2011, 01:38 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Mar 7 2011, 01:32 PM)
u can't boot to recovery mode?
I can.

The problem arises when i try to restore Froyo_UK_3.4.2-117 with the provided link (http://www.multiupload.com/TD0GRA4HOX) which was provided at the froyo upgrade guide.

The message appears that there is a md5 mismatch for the Froyo_UK_3.4.2-117.
crapp0
post Mar 7 2011, 02:20 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Mar 7 2011, 02:10 PM)
may i know which rom u are using before u do the recovery?

and it may possible u need to re download the file if got file corrupt issue.

Added on March 7, 2011, 2:12 pm

u r welcome to join  rclxms.gif  ~ sooooon  laugh.gif
I am using the stock ROM which came with the phone. The build number is 2.59 instead of the standard 2.51 that i have noticed from other people in this forum.

Could it be because my phone is 2.59 that i cant upgrade it to froyo?
crapp0
post Mar 7 2011, 02:37 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(lingch @ Mar 7 2011, 02:31 PM)
Could be two possibilities I think. Your folder names may have mispell or corrupted files tongue.gif
You mean the sdcard/goapkrev/backup was misspelled wrongly?

If i misspelled wrongly, how could i still select the froyo folder for restoring? I think its likely the link that was given has the corrupted md5 file.

I find it odd that i had to unzip the froyo uk zip and move that folder into the goapkrev/backup folder which i had to create from windows. Since i dont know how to create a folder within andriod itself since the file manager doesnt seem to allow me to do that.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 7 2011, 02:38 PM
crapp0
post Mar 7 2011, 04:26 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Mar 7 2011, 03:37 PM)
blink.gif  2.59 ?? something new leh.

so u manage to root your stock rom and install the system recovery. But u fail to upgrade to froyo during the restore process.

am i right ?  hmm.gif
yes.

I have done everything and everthing has gone smoothly except when trying to upgrade to froyo, when it checks for the MD5 thing, it'll say that the mD5 is a mismatch.

I am planning to go back home and redo everything again just to be safe.
crapp0
post Mar 7 2011, 08:00 PM

4,414 posts

Dammit, seems like my phone is rejecting the froyo uk upgrade file.

Keeps on giving me the md5 mismatch.
crapp0
post Mar 7 2011, 08:08 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(lingch @ Mar 7 2011, 08:02 PM)
Bro add me on gtalk I help you there hehe
I dont have gtalk

will msn do?

crapp0
post Mar 8 2011, 07:47 PM

4,414 posts

If i were to take the full flash route. Is it still possible to backup my phone OS and how do i do it since lingch suggested by go for the full flash route but i dont know how to do a backup for the full flash method.
crapp0
post Mar 10 2011, 09:45 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(dnth @ Mar 10 2011, 12:55 AM)
2nd attempt to flash froyo..
still cant seem to restore the froyo..
MD5 mismatch.
wonder what is this error???
Welcome to the club. I tried the eclair to froyo route but i keep getting the md5 mismatch.

So later this weekend i'll be going for the full flash to froyo.

Lingch, btw the link you gave me for the finland edition of froyo. Is there a big difference if i want the UK edition or are you recommending that i use the finland froyo instead of the uk one for the full flash.

Since the eclair to froyo guide uses the UK andriod OS.
crapp0
post Mar 10 2011, 10:20 AM

4,414 posts

[quote=lingch,Mar 10 2011, 09:57 AM]

Added on March 10, 2011, 9:58 am
Uk edition comes with motoblur and Finland edition has been deblurred and some optimization has been done with less bloatwares and what not

[/quote]

Nice, thanks again for the finland edition. I will try it out this weekend.

Now i working on project so cant afford to brick my phone or lose my contacts for now.

I now trying skyfire browser and it seems faster then dolphin hd in terms for browsing.

Added on March 10, 2011, 11:15 am[quote=dnth,Mar 10 2011, 09:51 AM]

Added on March 10, 2011, 7:43 am
blink.gif again stuck after step 8 ???

[/quote]

yeah cant seem to restore the uk froyo.. md5 mismatch.. i looked online, most people say is the name of the folder got *space* in between.so they rename the folder without space and it works.. but i alredy rename the folder also cant restore..

Added on March 10, 2011, 9:52 am

can you gv me the link to dl the rom for full flash froyo??
or is it at the front already?

btw.. just ordered epik case from askarperang.. rclxm9.gif

[/quote]

This is the link that lingch gave to me to try a full flash on my phone.

Its the finland edition.

http://www.multiupload.com/I21DN0FMEQ

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 10 2011, 11:15 AM
crapp0
post Mar 10 2011, 12:24 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(boloqpiau @ Mar 10 2011, 12:11 PM)
how much is the phone itself.
Got it for just a little over 1k.

The cost of the phone to motorola is way cheaper, around 180USD considering labour and parts cost.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 10 2011, 12:25 PM
crapp0
post Mar 10 2011, 09:35 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(lingch @ Mar 10 2011, 08:33 PM)
If you guys can help out a bit, can say something nice here? Hard time selling my bb sad.gif Many lowballers

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1757219&hl=
Of course people are looking for a better price then what u offered.

Even if you put down the price at 1 dollar there still be that special person who would still bargain for 50 cents.
crapp0
post Mar 13 2011, 05:28 PM

4,414 posts

Yea, i just flashed my defy to froyo 2.2.1 finland upgrade.

Thx lingch. But i noticed my apps and e-mails are still there.

I thought it was a complete reset of the OS but it looks like it has preserved my profiles.

Any apps you guys can recommend me with the new froyo OS?

I noticed that connecting to wifi doesnt get a strong signal as an iphone.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 13 2011, 05:53 PM
crapp0
post Mar 13 2011, 06:26 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Mar 13 2011, 06:02 PM)
Guys, regarding Defy wifi connection .. is B/G/N Wireless signal

I notice not so strong if connected to B or G wireless. But very strong with Wireless N.

Not sure we can have a app to control using what frequency to connect? hm...
Hmm, so it wasnt my phone which had the prob of poor wifi reception on a g network.
crapp0
post Mar 15 2011, 04:14 PM

4,414 posts

Anybody know if there is andriod 2.3 rom for the defy?

Plus does anybody know how to disable andriod default e-mail client since i want 2 use is k9 email client.

Now i get e-mails on both k9 and androids default client.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Mar 15 2011, 04:57 PM
crapp0
post Mar 16 2011, 03:22 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Mar 16 2011, 02:44 PM)
Is there any difference between 2.51 &2.59? I just updated to 2.59 over the air. Not sure what's the improvement in this new update....
My set is from singapore and it came with 2.59 preinstalled. Nothing fancy anyway.

0.0489sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:56 AM