Motorola DEFY Official Thread, A tough phone for Android

TAGreptiles
post Jan 28 2011, 02:17 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

Hello people. I'm getting my new Defy from gtrowa2003 today. In about an hours time infact. smile.gif

Hope this phone lives up to its name. biggrin.gif

Now where do i find a screen protector?
TAGreptiles
post Jan 28 2011, 03:11 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Jan 28 2011, 02:48 PM)
Make sure you get the bundled 2 years warranty and free hot female promoter! *sigh* some people have all the luck.... sad.gif

the extra year have to pay extra. and its by AIA. i'll call my agent and see if she got offfer or not lo. IF got then i get from my agent straight. Coz i also using AIA. biggrin.gif

bundle promoter later i'll ask him. tongue.gif

Added on January 28, 2011, 4:31 pmJust got my defy. smile.gif

Really fingerprint magnet the gorilla glass. doh.gif

This post has been edited by TAGreptiles: Jan 28 2011, 04:31 PM
TAGreptiles
post Jan 28 2011, 07:10 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

kena cheated by seller already. vmad.gif

No free promoter follow me back home. vmad.gif

TAGreptiles
post Jan 31 2011, 12:10 AM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

The rooting process for this phone is damn complicated. The only guide for 2.51 is written by someone with broken english and i cannot under4stand what he means at all. Any tips?
TAGreptiles
post Jan 31 2011, 02:10 AM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

What was your defy version? I'll try it in a bit. biggrin.gif
TAGreptiles
post Jan 31 2011, 02:23 AM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=889133

any tips?

2、flash the defy_2.21_boot_only.sbf via rsd then reboot in to system

how do i do this?

This post has been edited by TAGreptiles: Jan 31 2011, 02:23 AM
TAGreptiles
post Jan 31 2011, 02:35 AM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jan 31 2011, 02:32 AM)
he might be using broken english, but believe me, the reason u couldnt understand the instruction is not because of the english he used..  smile.gif
do u know what is RSD used for? and what is .sbf?
- install rsd lite in your pc
- switch off your defy.
- boot into flashing mode (vol up + power on)
- release the button after few second, and connect your usb and u will see some white text on your defy
- open rsd lite, browse to the boot only.sbf, and click start.
- wait until your defy reboot.
nod.gif nod.gif The Jargons are killing me. My last android phone was a one lick root type.

Thanks for your help kind sir. Will try it now. biggrin.gif

EDIT: The latest version of RSD Lite is 4.5.3 right?

Added on January 31, 2011, 2:54 amThose who has trouble rooting 2.51 with the method above can try this. Easier and i got my Defy rooted fast. biggrin.gif

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=913709

This post has been edited by TAGreptiles: Jan 31 2011, 02:54 AM
TAGreptiles
post Jan 31 2011, 02:21 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 31 2011, 01:42 PM)
crap....maxis centres that are located in shopping malls all out of stock for defy... wanted to get two pieces on saturday... anyone knows if theres any maxis centres (which are open on normal office hours) in selangor area which has it?
IMHO, no point getting from Maxis. Better get unlocked unit, and go register for data plan, without contract, read: Digi @ Rm68/month
TAGreptiles
post Feb 7 2011, 12:03 AM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

i ordered 3 pcs of the Motorola Defy screen protector. Anyone interested in the extra 2 please PM me. smile.gif
TAGreptiles
post Feb 9 2011, 02:58 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

i just noticed a dead pixel on my defy. doh.gif anyway to fix it? I think its about 1 or 2 pixels. a small black dot on the top center of my screen. Bothers me when i'm fishing. tongue.gif
TAGreptiles
post Feb 18 2011, 04:59 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

Screen protector got 2 left. Interested please PM me. One normal one, one is Xtreme guard. Its Rm20 each. COD Mid Valley on weekdays. Kepong/Selayang on weekends.
TAGreptiles
post Feb 21 2011, 07:21 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Feb 21 2011, 06:57 PM)
Good luck applying it. Took me a good few hours to apply it LOL!

Everytime I apply either got air bubbles or dust particle underneath so must remove, wash and reapply again and I think I repeated the process around 4 times @.@ go find youtube for ZAGG Invisible Shield installation guide since its pretty much exactly the same thing.

No after i applied the screen protector, my typing especially in portrait mode improved tremendously! thumbup.gif
2.2 not even our year how to get 2.3? LOL!

Typed this out on my defy with Dolphin Browser in full desktop mode tongue.gif
Lulz. It took me about an hour to do it as well. and got a piece of fabric/dust stuck in the center of my screen. doh.gif after dry already only notice. but i just let it be. I sell nia. Duno how to install one. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
TAGreptiles
post Feb 21 2011, 10:30 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Feb 21 2011, 08:27 PM)
Just reapply the sXtremeGuard SP  rclxms.gif

this time got 1 dust very near the side ... so ... let it be  sweat.gif
really love my Defy, coz this time really apply the SP underwater  rclxms.gif
now you're gonna have a feeling that "OMGF this screen protector is sheet. vmad.gif " and you will have the urge to remove that ugly thing from your precious. Then in a few days after the water dry then you will find a new love for it. Nicer to swipe. drool.gif drool.gif
TAGreptiles
post Feb 22 2011, 12:19 AM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Feb 21 2011, 11:00 PM)
Gorilla glass no need screen protector. Much much better to swwipe without it
lol tell that to sand my friend. smile.gif
TAGreptiles
post Feb 22 2011, 04:21 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Feb 22 2011, 12:56 AM)
You kena scratch too bro? blink.gif

anyway, just re-applied my XtremeGuard since my last reapply was kinda crappy. Did what tyenfei said and did it totally UNDERWATER! rclxms.gif

this time no more bubbles/foreign objects underneath my screen protector again tongue.gif laugh.gif

now just need to wait few hours for the water to evaporate again doh.gif
Precaution my friend. Precaution. Because of the nature of my work, i'm around beaches a lot. So precaution. How long was your SP on before you removed it to install underwater? The thing dint stretch when you remove it?
TAGreptiles
post Feb 22 2011, 07:29 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

Bought for 9$SGD sad.gif
TAGreptiles
post Feb 23 2011, 10:42 AM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

any of you facing this problem where the phone kinda lags or spikes when a call comes in and you can't swipe to answer or to silence the call? Have to press the volume button a few times for the call to be answered. Most of the time the call wont last as long as the lag. doh.gif
TAGreptiles
post Feb 23 2011, 12:02 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(lingch @ Feb 23 2011, 10:53 AM)
I think this problem has been issued before in this thread. You on stock rom?

Added on February 23, 2011, 10:55 amYes my xt had this problem also and I had to off and on the power button to swipe answer call but never on Defy
Yeap. Its on stock ROM. I just bought Titanium Backup. Will try master reset also. Another issue would be the lag when i want to "End Call" Press end call button but call wont end. Will end only after 5-6 seconds. My colleague just got his defy 2 days ago and do not face this problem also. Firmware all same.
TAGreptiles
post Mar 4 2011, 04:11 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

I flashed to 2.2 according to the guild on the first page. Takes ages to boot up. Just done everything now waiting for it to boot. looks awesome. But got motoblur. doh.gif

NO haptic feedback when pressing soft keys as well. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by TAGreptiles: Mar 4 2011, 04:24 PM
TAGreptiles
post Mar 4 2011, 07:31 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

anyone got a copy of the malaysian 2.51 sbf file? bricked my defy. doh.gif