Motorola DEFY Official Thread, A tough phone for Android

Silenced
post Mar 28 2011, 04:48 PM

439 posts

hi guys,need some user opinion here...
i am probably getting this phone tommorow and..

1.do you feel satisfy with this phone?
2.do this phone has any common defect?(like lagging or any bug)
3.is this phone getting android 2.3?

i think i will be getting this instead of galaxy ace and optimus one hmm.gif

any feedback is welcome smile.gif
Silenced
post Mar 28 2011, 05:49 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(lingch @ Mar 28 2011, 05:33 PM)
Update it through custom system recovery nandroid backup. Guide in front page. Unfortunately you'll have to do a data wipe before restore to jboogies so yea, everything will be gone. Although, you can always use titanium backup to backup and restore back all the apps and settings once you've flashed to boogieman smile.gif

Added on March 28, 2011, 5:37 pm
1. I can only be satisfied with a lenglui by my side tongue.gif
2. The infamous earpiece problem if you're an unlucky one thumbup.gif Other than that, none that I know of
3. Perhaps there will be leak version of 2.3 soon cause droid 2 and droid x just got theirs today shocking.gif

I think you should get Atrix instead biggrin.gif
i reason i choosing either one of these phone is because they only cost 1$ for my starhub plan in singapore biggrin.gif
Silenced
post Mar 28 2011, 08:03 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(abbygirl @ Mar 28 2011, 06:40 PM)
Question 1 : Yes, for the money i paid ($0), of course i am satisfied !!!  tongue.gif
Question 2 : The common defect, like Lingch said, the infamous earpiece problem. If you are under warranty, nothing to worry about. Motorola can fix the prob. Even no warranty, nothing that cannot be fix if you know how to do it. I fix mine myself.  nod.gif
Question 3: If you say official, dream hard....very hard. If you say unofficial, there will be a genius somewhere that can provide you with 2.3.

I will definitely get defy over optimus one...but galaxy ace  hmm.gif

PS:  doh.gif Ignore Lingch on Atrix. He is trying poison us with Atrix...every...single...day.  rclxub.gif
thanks for the feedback...
i personally prefer the look of defy over the galaxy ace..it looks like an iphone wannabe sweat.gif
Silenced
post Mar 28 2011, 08:23 PM

439 posts

ermm i have got some real noob question here..
does it void my warranty if i flash the Froyo_UK_3.4.2-117 (by iaio72-xda-developers) to the phone?
do i have to revert back to official firmware if i need to send back for warranty?
and lastly what is the difference if i use the guide on first page to upgrade to 2.2 and i use motorola software update?

thanks a lot for any feedback smile.gif
Silenced
post Mar 29 2011, 02:00 PM

439 posts

yo guys,just get my new defy hours ago biggrin.gif

btw i have got 1 question to ask...can i follow to first page guide to flash to 2.2 Froyo if my System version is Moto_Version.2.51.1.MB525.Starhub.en.SEA

cant wait to try froyo on this little thing biggrin.gif
Silenced
post Mar 29 2011, 05:20 PM

439 posts

Hmm I still couldn't figure out how to take out the micro sd card..
Silenced
post Mar 29 2011, 08:18 PM

439 posts

i just flash to the froyo following the guide on the first page,and i realise the heptic feedback is gone...how to get it back?
Silenced
post Mar 29 2011, 08:39 PM

439 posts

i think i better revert back to stock fw and upgrade to froyo using motorola software update since i dun quite like the interface of the version on front page sweat.gif
Silenced
post Mar 29 2011, 09:20 PM

439 posts

i think i shall get the official 2.2 and then try the brows.gif brows.gif of launcher pro see if i like it brows.gif
Silenced
post Mar 29 2011, 09:39 PM

439 posts

aiya i am now back to stock again already laugh.gif
Silenced
post Mar 29 2011, 10:22 PM

439 posts

thanks for the haptic fix,now its working again...smile.gif

btw anyone found that the auto screen brightness is a little bit too dark in bright condition?

This post has been edited by Silenced: Mar 29 2011, 10:42 PM
Silenced
post Mar 29 2011, 10:43 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ Mar 29 2011, 10:26 PM)
ya. i noticed that too compared to the ori ROM
any sifu has a fix for it? sweat.gif

ermm...how to delete some apps come with the firmware like Revolver TV,KODAK Perfect touch and etc etc.the uninstall button is greyed out hmm.gif

nvm i m back to stock again..

btw there is one issue happend to me when i downgrade from 2.2 back to 2.1,i have to turn off the debugging mode in order to access to the custom recovery mode,if the debugging mode is turned on,i get a black screen.

This post has been edited by Silenced: Mar 30 2011, 01:25 AM
Silenced
post Mar 30 2011, 11:54 PM

439 posts

hmm do you guys put screen protector on this phone?since it is made by corning glass so i assume it will never get scratch? tongue.gif
Silenced
post Mar 31 2011, 10:03 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(chinozsoul @ Mar 31 2011, 09:09 AM)
yah..after my defy screen got scratch..haha..lol..dont trust on the promo...
Have to order a sp then...but my zune hd which uses the same glass didn't have a single scratch after one year of usage ~
Silenced
post Apr 1 2011, 01:07 PM

439 posts

What should I do if I want to upgrade my sd card? just copy and paste to the new card? How about those hidden file on my old card?

I m running stock 2.1 2.59.0 rooted

Thx
Silenced
post Apr 1 2011, 01:27 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Apr 1 2011, 01:17 PM)
set your windows explorer to view all hidden files then just copy all and  rclxms.gif
Noted.thx
Silenced
post Apr 4 2011, 03:20 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(chaoschin @ Apr 4 2011, 02:46 PM)
can i ask~any defy casing available  like iphone???
Purchase an Epikcase from garage sales mobile section few days ago smile.gif
Silenced
post Apr 4 2011, 04:53 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Apr 4 2011, 03:45 PM)
I work in sunway pyramid so if you want you can drop by my shop and test out if you want. But beware, mine is overclocked to 1ghz already an running on hacked and optimised firmware with custom launcher so it's super smooth tongue.gif laugh.gif
Mind to share all value you put for the setvsel? Also how is your battery life and quadrant score also the stability? smile.gif

This post has been edited by Silenced: Apr 4 2011, 05:04 PM
Silenced
post Apr 7 2011, 09:55 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(dnth @ Apr 6 2011, 03:41 PM)
Got any app that can sync facebook contcts to phoen? Tried syncmypix frm market but no good  shakehead.gif
Yea I want to know any apps does that too, anyone? smile.gif

0.0468sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:11 AM