126 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Motorola DEFY Official Thread, A tough phone for Android

DoubleU
post Feb 3 2011, 08:48 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

when rooting the defy i won't have to do a factory backup to not void the warranty? i've never bothered bout this before always used dumbphones...
Nightstalker1993
post Feb 3 2011, 08:58 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Honestly, i'm not sure about that. Wll wait for the sifus to reply laugh.gif

but seriously, no regrets rooting the phone. Now backing up my apps with Titanium Backup in preparation to flash to Froyo! laugh.gif
TSlingch
post Feb 3 2011, 09:02 PM

Master of the house
1,755 posts

Just unroot back with z4root. One click process done biggrin.gif When you send for warranty, make sure you are on stock rom without root though
Nightstalker1993
post Feb 3 2011, 09:36 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

so i root with superoneclick but i UNROOT with z4root? O.o

and btw, the link to the stock rom is the one in the first page right? laugh.gif
TSlingch
post Feb 3 2011, 10:11 PM

Master of the house
1,755 posts

Ok maybe more than one process. Emmm actually there's few steps you need to do tongue.gif Yes root with superoneclick and unroot with z4root. But after you unroot, the superuser app is still there even if you do factory reset.

So here's what you need to do. Go download and install root explorer. Get into /system/app and find superuser.apk and delete it. Now use z4root to unroot the phone. Reboot and then uninstall z4root. Walla unroot clean fresh stock rom that will defy through motorola service center checkpoint tongue.gif

REMEMBER to do a nandroid backup on your current stock rom before you flash to froyo or so just in case. The guide in front page still not complete yet. I will do a full step by step guide for safe flashing and rooting soon. Remember to buy me a beer after this tongue.gif Tequila or vodka will do biggrin.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Feb 3 2011, 10:58 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Hey bro, i plan to flash my phone to Froyo hopefully by today, is it possible if you kindly pm me your ym/msn address to help out a lil'? tongue.gif laugh.gif

and i'm on unifi so downloading anything would be pretty fast laugh.gif

thanks bro and gong xi fa cai! laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
DoubleU
post Feb 3 2011, 11:05 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

hey guys, what's the native gps software that comes with the defy? got preloaded maps? need pay anything?
tyenfei
post Feb 3 2011, 11:59 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Feb 3 2011, 11:05 PM)
hey guys, what's the native gps software that comes with the defy? got preloaded maps? need pay anything?
it is google map for mobile laugh.gif so it needs data plan or wifi to run.

better look for other GPS navigation software like papago, sygic aura . . . u guys can name it laugh.gif nod.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Feb 4 2011, 02:19 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Gahhh i think i just screwed up my defy! Tried to flash to Froyo and followed all instructions flawlessly and now my phone is just stuck at the 'M' logo when boot! rclxub.gif
SUSkhalpowers
post Feb 4 2011, 03:25 AM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Feb 4 2011, 03:19 AM)
Gahhh i think i just screwed up my defy! Tried to flash to Froyo and followed all instructions flawlessly and now my phone is just stuck at the 'M' logo when boot! rclxub.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif ...exprience yg mahal tu bro...hehe...just flash the sbf with rsd ...kautim...hehe
Nightstalker1993
post Feb 4 2011, 03:43 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

you on msn/gtalk/skype bro? need help asap! rclxub.gif icon_question.gif

pm me your contact?
silentser
post Feb 4 2011, 03:48 AM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

QUOTE(lingch @ Feb 3 2011, 10:11 PM)
Ok maybe more than one process. Emmm actually there's few steps you need to do tongue.gif Yes root with superoneclick and unroot with z4root. But after you unroot, the superuser app is still there even if you do factory reset.

So here's what you need to do. Go download and install root explorer. Get into /system/app and find superuser.apk and delete it. Now use z4root to unroot the phone. Reboot and then uninstall z4root. Walla unroot clean fresh stock rom that will defy through motorola service center checkpoint tongue.gif

REMEMBER to do a nandroid backup on your current stock rom before you flash to froyo or so just in case. The guide in front page still not complete yet. I will do a full step by step guide for safe flashing and rooting soon. Remember to buy me a beer after this tongue.gif Tequila or vodka will do biggrin.gif
fast do a guide on flashing back to stock rom, want to deflower my defy, but until there is stock firmware for warranty purpose, wont dare to do anything, will belanja you the big bottle, big bottle of pepsi, me cant touch beer/tequilla/vodka

This post has been edited by silentser: Feb 4 2011, 03:49 AM
Nightstalker1993
post Feb 4 2011, 04:02 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

stock UK rom is already in the first page. Used that to save my ass.

currently flashed back the stock rom, restored my previous nandroid backup and my phone is back to when i hadn't flashed it yet.

gonna give up for now and try again next time. Seriously don't know what went wrong rclxub.gif
Aishiteru^Suki
post Feb 4 2011, 08:07 AM

Celestial Being
1,220 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Feb 4 2011, 02:19 AM)
which froyo did you go for bro? whats your stock sbf again? 2.51 ke?

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Feb 4 2011, 03:25 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif ...exprience yg mahal tu bro...hehe...just flash the sbf with rsd ...kautim...hehe
+1000 rclxms.gif
Aishiteru^Suki
post Feb 4 2011, 09:04 AM

Celestial Being
1,220 posts

Is there any regretted soul who thinks his defy is so freaking bulky with its Otterbox Commuter Series casing and wanna let go that casing..

do PM me.. I want your used casing!!!
tongue.gif
DoubleU
post Feb 4 2011, 02:11 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

with such a strong phone... still need casing?
silentser
post Feb 4 2011, 03:10 PM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Feb 4 2011, 02:11 PM)
with such a strong phone... still need casing?
the paint can chip off with all the hard labour, the phone is tough not the paint job
irenic
post Feb 4 2011, 03:13 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

for those who already flashed to uk 2.5.1 just to remind that it is different number than ours 2.5.1
Nightstalker1993
post Feb 4 2011, 03:14 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(Aishiteru^Suki @ Feb 4 2011, 08:07 AM)
which froyo did you go for bro? whats your stock sbf again? 2.51 ke?
+1000  rclxms.gif
yeah my stock sbf is 2.51.

tried restoring jboogie's nandroid and flash the 2.2 boot only flash. the phone got stuck in the M logo.

after that tried another method and flashed the 2.2.1 china stock fw first and the phone didn't even respond after that. black screen, power on, bootloader, recovery all no respond but luckily rsd lite detects it and managed to flash back to the stock UK rom and restored my nandroid backup.

any idea what i did wrong? rclxub.gif
eveready
post Feb 4 2011, 03:20 PM

242 posts

non blur central europe froyo sbf also already out (non-offcial)
use with care

126 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0304sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:49 AM