Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V7, News: VIP20, free instalation till 31/12

UserU
post Oct 25 2010, 05:12 PM

CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
5,093 posts

Anybody experienced this problem before?

I subscribed to the VIP5 package and it was installed last Friday. The TMNet workers didn't do the extended cabling(only in the living room), but recommended me to use the Aztech WL552 USB since my PC was located in the bedroom. I noticed that the software for it to connect to the DIR-615 is Ralink Wireless LAN.

After using it for a while, I tend to face performance instability during usage. While surfing, my CPU Usage would spike up to 100% at times. I had to restart in order to solve the problem. Plus, the USB dongle is very unstable during connection; tends to receive weak signals despite my attempt to mount some reflectors on my router antennas. My laptop, same distance as my PC received stable connections with mild interruption, as compared to the PC.

Plus, my Avira antivirus keeps blocking the autorun.inf file despite my attempt to exclude it from detection, rendering my connectivity useless. When I used another laptop to download the same software, McAfee Site Advisor reported that the program is infected.

I can't believe that TMNet uses some rootkit for wireless users?

P/S: I don't trust the pre-shared key that the workers gave to me, so I changed it as they can always abuse the use of the spot.

This post has been edited by UserU: Oct 25 2010, 05:13 PM
UserU
post Oct 26 2010, 12:19 AM

5,093 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Oct 25 2010, 07:27 PM)
Is this software provided by Aztech or TM? Is that official TM software?
Yes, installed via CD. But I'm nonplussed that Aztech uses RALINK software? rclxub.gif

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Oct 25 2010, 08:11 PM)
i tot using aztech usb wireless adaptor has itself aztech software??
Nope. CD contents shows RALINK. Downloaded it from MY/ SG site, and its still RALINK(albeit warned about possible infections)

I think the somewhat 'backdoor' program causes my CPU power consumption to spike up, which I realized that this happens during disconnections.

Does the speed of the broadband have any impact on PC performance?

UserU
post Oct 26 2010, 07:56 PM

5,093 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Oct 26 2010, 03:25 AM)
hmm...wat the model of ur aztech wireless adapter..
Aztech WL552 USB

QUOTE(Majinity @ Oct 26 2010, 11:34 AM)
On Windows 7 ?
If yes, try this http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1509054
Nope, its Windows XP.
UserU
post Oct 26 2010, 09:09 PM

5,093 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Oct 26 2010, 09:10 PM)
bro..try tis link
Yup, its RALINK alright. The bloated software that hogs my CPU power usage sad.gif

Does the PC specs have any relations with the connection speed?

This post has been edited by UserU: Oct 26 2010, 09:10 PM
UserU
post Oct 26 2010, 10:35 PM

5,093 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Oct 26 2010, 10:36 PM)
nope..no effect ur connection speed....is how ur place ur wireless adaptor..
Ah, I see. When I used the cable to connect the PC to the router, the speed was excellent.

I will be returning the adapter to TMNet, and installing the RJ45 cable instead.

Wireless for UniFi = Suck
UserU
post Nov 8 2010, 04:53 PM

5,093 posts

QUOTE(xsi @ Nov 8 2010, 05:43 PM)
my friend able to install his within 3 days (if am not mistaken lah) from his call to unifi....that was end of sept, at the end of free-installation promotion. Now i have to pay the installation fee and it takes longer...so freaking piss....but what to do....there is no other company offering 5mbps...
Because bn October, the RM200 fee is incurred.

But to think about it, UniFi dominates the stability of connections compared to other ISPs. I've been very happy with the service provided by TMNet.

Recently, YTL also came out with a 100Mbps plan. But once I saw the word wireless, I dismissed it

0.0656sec    0.48    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:54 PM