Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V7, News: VIP20, free instalation till 31/12
Tentris
Sep 13 2010, 05:11 PM
Hey guys, what are some of the recommended wireless routers to use together with the DIR-615 as a VLAN bridge? Something that's easily available in LowYat Plaza, about ~RM200 price range. Also, what are the most obvious benefits of this arrangement? I'm referring to this setup: http://unifi.athena.my/index.php?option=co...id=49&Itemid=61This post has been edited by Tentris: Sep 13 2010, 05:19 PM
Tentris
Sep 13 2010, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 13 2010, 05:21 PM) Any router that can dial pppoe via RJ45 WAN port Thanks, i'm a bit of a noob, so i was hoping for actual brand/model recommendations. Something i can walk into a shop and say, "I want X brand, Y model, pls" Something the LYN community recommends.
Tentris
Sep 14 2010, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(billytong @ Sep 13 2010, 05:27 PM) I am currently re-using my 3years old Aztech WL830RT4, it is about RM45 only, not a powerful router, more like a basic router but even all that it is still more resilient than the 615  for RM200, u might wanna try Linksys brand routers or the TL-link ones. I cant give u any specific models as I never use all these. General rule of thumb is most RJ45 WAN port router should work. Thanks, billy. Any other specific recommendations anyone?
Tentris
Sep 14 2010, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 14 2010, 02:26 PM) I would recommend TP Link TL-WR941N, it's one of the cheapest (RM130 - RM 140) internet router, 300M wireless N router which also suport dd-wrt. Please google around for the review. I have followed the step-by-step procedure (customized router) as well written by Riz, it's pretty easy and straight forward setup. Hope it helps. Thanks. If i flash the WR941N router with dd-wrt, i can still use the vlan bridge (the original unifi-supplied DIR-615) to power my iptv, right? Also, anyone here uses UNIFI for xbox360 gaming? is it faster than Streamyx? i'm itching to play Halo:Reach multiplayer... thanks guys.
Tentris
Sep 14 2010, 04:00 PM
Does anyone have the link to the dd-wrt flash files for TP Link TL-WR941N?
I can easily find this router in LowYat i'm assuming...?
RM130-140 is quite cheap.
Tentris
Sep 14 2010, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 14 2010, 04:01 PM) If i flash the WR941N router with dd-wrt, i can still use the vlan bridge (the original unifi-supplied DIR-615) to power my iptv, right? Did i misread his post? Sorry if i was unclear. I will use the DIR-615 as the vlan bridge, according to the guide by Riz, that's the one that will connect to iptv. The router, if i understand things correctly, will act as the actual device from which i'll interact with UNIFI e.g. connect to wifi, internet, dial up PPoE, etc. http://unifi.athena.my/index.php?option=co...id=49&Itemid=61This post has been edited by Tentris: Sep 14 2010, 04:06 PM
Tentris
Sep 14 2010, 04:11 PM
Thanks...
I'm just having difficulty finding the link to the dd-wrt files for TP Link TL-WR941N... been searching and searching, can't seem to find it lol.
Any help anyone?
Tentris
Sep 14 2010, 04:29 PM
Thanks man. There are 2 files to download... which one is the correct one? The factory-to-ddwrt.bin or the other one? http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/down.php?pa...k_tl-wr941ndv4/
Tentris
Sep 14 2010, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(BlueWind @ Sep 14 2010, 10:37 PM) Ok, let me get this straight, if I were to get new router(flashed to DDWRT) and vlan to DIR615 (ori firmware), will I still be able to connect my IPTV? No right? So if I get new router, vlan it together with DIR615 and both are having original firmware, that would mean I would be able to use IPTV? If that's the case, the cable for IPTV goes to new router or DIR615? The way i understand it: 1. You buy new router. Flash with dd-wrt. 2. You keep original DIR-615 with original firmware as VLAN bridge. 3. You can still view IPTV because your iptv will connect to your DIR-615, not the new router. Correct me if i'm wrong, sifus. That's my intended network setup plan.
Tentris
Sep 16 2010, 09:02 AM
klseet, bump me onto the standby list too.
rm140 is cheap to pay for a backup to DIR615.
Tentris
Sep 16 2010, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(mamakap @ Sep 16 2010, 05:23 PM) Cool... now got more things to watch...Just terminate my Astro service.  how are the VOD movies? good quality or not? censored or uncensored?
Tentris
Oct 6 2010, 05:36 PM
Guys need your advice.
I've got the DIR615, the Mikrotik RB250GS and a TL-WR941ND.
Obviously, i will use the TL-WR941ND as my router.
But should i use the DIR615 or the RB250GS to act as my VLAN?
I suppose i could use the DIR615 first until it burns out and keep the RM250GS as a backup, but i really the best setup from the beginning.
Basically, a comparison between the DIR615 and the RB250GS as a VLAN bridge -- are both equally good?
Feedback especially from those who recently got their RB250GS is most welcome.
Thanks fellas.
Tentris
Oct 10 2010, 02:40 PM
wow riz.
you are our unifi god.
thanks man for the good work and honest sharing.
Tentris
Oct 10 2010, 03:36 PM
I'm trying to setup: Fiberhome --> RB250GS --> TP941ND My question, how do i secure the RB250GS? I've set it up according to Riz's guide here: http://unifi.athena.my/index.php?option=co...id=55&Itemid=67Currently, the default ID is "admin" with "blank" password. Riz'a guide doesn't say anything about changing the password. Do i need to change anything here to ensure its secure from outside interference?
Tentris
Oct 11 2010, 09:10 AM
Not All Unifi Installations Are Born Equal
This is what my installer told me (very nice guy, a TM supervisor-level fella, not just a random installer).
The first time they came to my house, they checked the signal strength at the telephone pole and found the DB to be at 39 points. (i have no idea what DB stands for, i assume it has something to do with signal quality from the main exchange which is about 500m from my house).
The second time they came, the signal was still 38 points despite them already having checked and made some minor adjustments at the main exchange.
Both times, they cannot proceed with the installation because the maximum signal threshold is 28 points -- any higher than that and the signal quality will be so poor that unifi will be unstable and/or have very poor performance.
Then TM checked what the problem really is and found that some fiber cables were waterlogged and had to be replaced. So they replaced it.
Then the third installation attempt, the signal was 15 points. This is considered very very good.
And after using Unifi for the last few days, the quality has been excellent. Very stable, constantly hovering 4.9UP/4.9DOWN. Played xbox360 FIFA11 and Halo Reach online like crazy over the weekend, and it was perfect every game. Downloads hitting max 500-600 and averaging 450+ via BolehVPN. IPTV is perfect too, while i'm gaming wife is watching SyFy, and dad is Skyping with sister.
This is on VIP5. Landed property, not an apartment. Kota Damansara, Section 5 (near the mosque).
So consider that 15 points is quite a difference from the 28 point maximum before installation will proceed. This may explain why some of us have no problems, and others have unreliable service.
Say your signal strength is 27.5 points -- the installer will still proceed with the work. But that's damn close to the 28 point threshold already, and could indicate that there are problems with your line and/or problems at the main exchange.
So, i think this is something the community needs to be aware of -- the installer will sometimes write in the signal strength numbers on the top of your Unifi installation receipt (the one you sign to accept that the installation is successful). See what your DB signal strength is.
I'm not sure if we can insist on a signal strength below 20 points, since their standards is 28 points. But what i can say for sure is signal strength of 15 points is really god-like. Super stable, consistent and enjoyable. I don't feel like a single sen of my rm149 is being wasted.
Hope this info helps you all, especially new installers.
Tentris
Oct 11 2010, 09:57 AM
I dunno about Streamyx 4mb, but i was using Streamyx 1mb before and it was hopeless for online gaming, especially using xbox360.
Unifi is god-mode for online gaming imo. Played fifa 11 online and Halo Reach the whole weekend, and absolutely zero lag. Was crazy damn smooth. As good as playing at a cyber cafe, and that's really saying something.
Tentris
Oct 12 2010, 05:42 PM
I wonder if we will still have the 100 point system after 1 November.
Or will all the points be removed, and we have to pay for any extra channel we want.
Tentris
Oct 13 2010, 09:04 AM
Hhhmm, once they start charging for the premium channels, then there is no reason to purchase already. Most channels are quite poor atm.
Just watching via torrents is much more convenient.
Tentris
Oct 15 2010, 02:55 PM
DIR615 is just junk lah.
RB250GS + TP941ND = mucho happiness.
Tentris
Oct 25 2010, 09:40 AM
Riz, I fully support your cause. http://www.aizuddindanian.com/voi/2010/10/...uring-unif.htmlAlso, i have access to the senior management of TM (Head of Technology, Giorgio, Head of Marketing, Rozalila, Head of Corporate Affairs, Izlyn). I have shared the issue with them. They can't claim to be unaware of the issue any longer. They need to be aware that this problem they have in their service potentially opens them up to legal liability. If a customers' network is compromised because of this loophole that they intentionally created, then they are liable for any damages that may be caused (e.g. to customers' hardware, or if information is stolen, etc.) This post has been edited by Tentris: Oct 25 2010, 09:42 AM