122 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V7, News: VIP20, free instalation till 31/12

auronthas
post Sep 28 2010, 09:39 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(joeaggas @ Sep 28 2010, 09:31 PM)
seems like u are ventilating your appliances properly. Aiyah, all these things are in my living hall so a bit neater will be good lor.
The device which need well ventilated is TM DIR-615, and I have it VLAN bridged to TL-WR941ND wireless router to reduce its stress.

Since you have purchased RB250GS to replace TM DIR-615, it shouldn't be any problem on ventilation but it's recommended to have ventilation to get rid of the heat. (is there any USB port from RB250GS?)

This post has been edited by auronthas: Sep 28 2010, 09:43 PM
joeaggas
post Sep 28 2010, 10:36 PM

363 posts

Self crimping.

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Sep 28 2010, 09:38 PM)
is there any shop selling short network cable like 30cm or something?  That would be neat to manage all those equipment.
shahada
post Sep 28 2010, 11:27 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(joeaggas @ Sep 28 2010, 07:09 PM)
Organizing Your UNIFI equipments

I think back a few version of this same topic, someone posted a picture of him organizing their Unifi equipment with Lego, which is very creative. I'm still trying to build a proper rack for my living room to shelf all these unifi appliances and hide the cables neatly. Perhaps if anyone have an idea, better with picture, can share their experience in getting this sorted out?
In case I have put this post in a wrong topic kindly re-reference for me, thanks.
Now here is my mess, going to spend a weekend to build a rack or housing for all these. Will keep update.
[attachmentid=1805732]

J
If the rear facing side of your tv cabinet is wood, get some small wood screws and mount most of the equipment there. I think the units all have wall-mount slots at the back. Then get one of those "pagar" type of conduits, fix that to the back of the tv rack, and tuck all the cables into it. That way everything is out of sight, yet if you push forward your tv cabinet a bit, you have access to them all.

The only thing that needs to be visible is the IPTV set top box, due to the remote control. Put that inside your tv rack itself (ideally, an open shelf).

TSCalvin871989
post Sep 29 2010, 12:01 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

(28 September) http://twitter.com/TMCorp/status/25777240517
Current Promotion - VIP 20 and BIZ20 packages will have the installation fee waived until 31 December 2010.

avex|mode
post Sep 29 2010, 08:32 AM

253 posts

Finally set-up my RB250GS. So the final installation looks like this.

ZTE BTU > RB250GS > TP-Link WR1043ND (DD-WRT) > Desktop PC/NAS (I'm not using IPTV, I don't watch TV).

My NAS is my backup/torrent box. Currently I'm using Synology DS410j running on Transmission BT.

I noticed my online gaming's smoother last night. Probably I was lucky last night sweat.gif

Thanks to klseet for bringing the RB250GS and recommending me the router.
klseet
post Sep 29 2010, 08:52 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 28 2010, 09:39 PM)
The device which need well ventilated is TM DIR-615, and I have it VLAN bridged to TL-WR941ND wireless router to reduce its stress.

Since you have purchased RB250GS to replace TM DIR-615, it shouldn't be any problem on ventilation but it's recommended to have ventilation to get rid of the heat. (is there any USB port from RB250GS?)
If you are using Huawei BTU & your 941ND is running on dd-wrt, you can create vlan1.500 tagging & PPPoE dialer on 941ND and just connect directly to the BTU for internet:
BTU[LAN1] --> [WAN]941ND --> PC/computers
BTU[LAN2] --> [WAN]DIR-615[LAN4] --> IPTV
Internet & IPTV run independently!

QUOTE(avex|mode @ Sep 29 2010, 08:32 AM)
Finally set-up my RB250GS. So the final installation looks like this.

ZTE BTU > RB250GS > TP-Link WR1043ND (DD-WRT) > Desktop PC/NAS (I'm not using IPTV, I don't watch TV).

My NAS is my backup/torrent box. Currently I'm using Synology DS410j running on Transmission BT.

I noticed my online gaming's smoother last night. Probably I was lucky last night  sweat.gif

Thanks to klseet for bringing the RB250GS and recommending me the router.
Bro, if you don't need IPTV & your 1043ND is already dd-wrt, you can consider the above setup! icon_rolleyes.gif
But later if you need IPTV, then you'll still need RB250GS on ZTE BTU nod.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 29 2010, 08:53 AM
avex|mode
post Sep 29 2010, 09:26 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 29 2010, 09:52 AM)
If you are using Huawei BTU & your 941ND is running on dd-wrt, you can create vlan1.500 tagging & PPPoE dialer on 941ND and just connect directly to the BTU for internet:
Bro, if you don't need IPTV & your 1043ND is already dd-wrt, you can consider the above setup!  icon_rolleyes.gif
But later if you need IPTV, then you'll still need RB250GS on ZTE BTU  nod.gif
Alright I will try that later. Unless they improve the IPTV content/service (which is not anytime soon), I don't see the point using it.

Tsj261
post Sep 29 2010, 10:01 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Sep 28 2010, 09:38 PM)
is there any shop selling short network cable like 30cm or something?  That would be neat to manage all those equipment.
go check out sri computer, i remember there got tons of cable with types of cable length
auronthas
post Sep 29 2010, 11:15 AM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 29 2010, 08:52 AM)
My earlier post, I did not run dd-wrt, my worry if my V 3.2 941ND is able to flash this dd-wrt as your post earlier (DD-WRT guru LOM said certain V 3.2 with Intel Chips xxxx unable to save the setting).

How to run DD-WRT again? Any step by step guide? I checked your previous post and the ftp link, there are two files (.bin), I have downloaded them. I have checked Riz's guide on DD-WRT but it's for TM DIR-615.

Really appreciate if you give me step-by-step guidance.

My current setup is currently following Riz's guide on VLAN

BTU[LAN1] --> [WAN]TM DIR-615
TM DIR-615[LAN3] --> [LAN]941ND --> PC/MAC/ Squeezebox/iPod Touch (wireless) with DHCP management from 941ND
TM DIR-615[LAN4] --> [LAN]STB--> LCD TV

I have done my PPPoE dialer on 941ND, so I do not need to reconfig 941ND, right?

Just to reconfig BTU setting on LAN1 and LAN2, right? If yes, any guide on BTU reconfiguration?

Thanks in advance

This post has been edited by auronthas: Sep 29 2010, 11:15 AM
klseet
post Sep 29 2010, 12:54 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 29 2010, 11:15 AM)
My earlier post, I did not run dd-wrt, my worry if my V 3.2 941ND is able to flash this dd-wrt as your post earlier (DD-WRT guru LOM said certain V 3.2 with Intel Chips xxxx unable to save the setting).

How to run DD-WRT again?  Any step by step guide? I checked your previous post and the ftp link, there are two files (.bin), I have downloaded them.  I have checked Riz's guide on DD-WRT but it's for TM DIR-615.

Really appreciate if you give me step-by-step guidance.

My current setup is currently following Riz's guide on VLAN

BTU[LAN1] --> [WAN]TM DIR-615
TM DIR-615[LAN3] --> [LAN]941ND --> PC/MAC/ Squeezebox/iPod Touch (wireless) with DHCP management from 941ND
TM DIR-615[LAN4] --> [LAN]STB--> LCD TV
I have done my PPPoE dialer on 941ND, so I do not need to reconfig 941ND, right?

Just to reconfig BTU setting on LAN1 and LAN2, right? If yes, any guide on BTU reconfiguration?

Thanks in advance
May I know where & when you bought the 941ND?
I first bought it from All IT HyperMarket at LY 4/5 months ago, it was v3.2 can work on dd-wrt.
About a month ago bought 5 units from ViewNet [next to All IT], also v3.2 confirmed can work on dd-wrt.
So I assumed those v3.2 sold here are not using that Intel chip on board which not supported by dd-wrt.

If you really want to dd-wrt, please note that you are doing this at your own risk and may void the warranty.
I haven't tried to flash-back original firmware, but I presume it should work.

If you understand the risk and still want to proceed, then:

1. download latest build from: ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V...k_tl-wr941ndv3/

2. login to your 941ND stock firmware, go to upgrade firmware page and use "factory-to-ddwrt.bin" file to upgrade

3. DO NOT touch anything until you see the dd-wrt page!

4. Once you see the dd-wrt page, DO NOT do anything yet, UNPLUG power supply, wait 1min

5. use a sharp object press the reset button [small hole beside the WAN port], DO NOT release, plug-in power supply, still hold it for at least 30sec, unplug power supply then release the re-set button, wait for another 30sec
[note: some said no need this step, but I still suggest you to do so for a really clean vram to start with]

6. pug-in power supply, open browser type 192.168.1.1 and you should see the dd-wrt page

7. enter a user ID [eg, root] with your password, then you are good to setup PPPoE, vlan tagging, wireless, etc like usual.

So far to me it's pretty straight forward and I can flash all the 941ND without any problem. nod.gif

You DO NOT have to do anything on the Huawei BTU, just connect like my previous post will do.
Good luck ! icon_rolleyes.gif
auronthas
post Sep 29 2010, 01:11 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 29 2010, 12:54 PM)

I bought it later than yours from C-zone @ LY on early September. It is ver 3.2 941ND

My current firmware is 3.11.8 Build 100609 Rel.61214n (as per your earlier advise if you can still recall, is this firmware DD-WRT?)

What happen to the second file in the ftp (original 941ND bin file?)? Only copy the factory-to-ddwrt.bin?

May I know what's the advantage of dd-wrt? Will I get a better torrent download speed?

Thanks again

add-on:

Q1. What is the user ID and password on dd-wrt page?
Q2. If I am using BTU[LAN1] for 941ND, the Vlan number should be vlan1? Tag number = 500? Prio = 0?

This post has been edited by auronthas: Sep 29 2010, 01:38 PM
klseet
post Sep 29 2010, 02:38 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 29 2010, 01:11 PM)
I bought it later than yours from C-zone @ LY on early September. It is ver 3.2 941ND

My current firmware is 3.11.8 Build 100609 Rel.61214n (as per your earlier advise if you can still recall, is this firmware DD-WRT?)

What happen to the second file in the ftp (original 941ND bin file?)? Only copy the factory-to-ddwrt.bin?

May I know what's the advantage of dd-wrt?  Will I get a better torrent download speed?

Thanks again

add-on:

Q1. What is the user ID and password on dd-wrt page?
Q2. If I am using BTU[LAN1] for 941ND, the Vlan number should be vlan1? Tag number = 500? Prio = 0?
That one you are using now is stock standard and is not dd-wrt ....
For first time flashing, you need that "factory-to-ddwrt.bin", the 2nd file is for update from previous dd-wrt version.

Advantage? How do I say..... I personally prefer dd-wrt for it's features, stability, more powerful & robust .... tongue.gif

Ans1. the first time after you flashed, the default dd-wrt IP is 192.168.1.1 it will ask you to enter your desire admin user ID & password in order to proceed further.

Ans2. My 941ND is using vlan1 for wan, you may refer to Riz's guide on DIR-615 dd-wrt, only the part where it show how to create vlan tagging.
Note that 941ND is vlan1.500 as every router has it's own assignment.

Anywhere, if you are not familiar with dd-wrt flashing or if you don't really need dd-wrt, then I won't suggest you to go for it ! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Sep 29 2010, 02:40 PM
auronthas
post Sep 29 2010, 02:44 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 29 2010, 02:38 PM)
That one you are using now is stock standard and is not dd-wrt ....

I have no plan to flash dd-wrt too as everything working fine, I have 3 pc/mac connected, Squeezebox, iPod Touch, sometimes Blackberry tongue.gif

How do you know my 941ND is stock standard, hmm, just curious ?
klseet
post Sep 29 2010, 03:11 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Sep 29 2010, 02:44 PM)
I have no plan to flash dd-wrt too as everything working fine, I have 3 pc/mac connected, Squeezebox, iPod Touch, sometimes Blackberry tongue.gif

How do you know my 941ND is stock standard, hmm, just curious ?
Bro, if you are using dd-wrt, you won't be asking me "What is the user ID and password on dd-wrt page?" tongue.gif
rizfield
post Sep 29 2010, 03:20 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 28 2010, 08:38 PM)
aiyah, no need so neat la, after a while sure messy again la ... tongue.gif
i just throw everything underneath staircase, only the wireless AP on top of cabinet  brows.gif
new fiber modem is black eh? any different from the first batch white one?
quite slim n neat oso i think...

This post has been edited by rizfield: Sep 29 2010, 03:24 PM
auronthas
post Sep 29 2010, 03:30 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Sep 29 2010, 03:11 PM)
Bro, if you are using dd-wrt, you won't be asking me "What is the user ID and password on dd-wrt page?"  tongue.gif
I never use dd-wrt before, I am new in dd-wrt, that's why I seek your advise mah biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by auronthas: Sep 29 2010, 03:36 PM

kuekss
post Sep 29 2010, 06:16 PM

199 posts

Guys.. Unifi IPTV got new channels...

billytong
post Sep 29 2010, 06:23 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

Hi guys, for those who want to take a peek/feel of how RouterOS look like. Here is the demo/emulator Web UI link

Instructions :

1. Go to http://www.mikrotik.com/software.html
2. Click Demo Tab @ below the webpage
3. Click http://demo.mt.lv ( http://demo2.mt.lv is beta version) first link is the one you will get if u get RB750,RB750G
4. When you bought a router there are a couple of User interface for you to config your RouterOS. Since this is a emulator, it shows you a couple of ways to play with it.
5. Webbox is web UI. I have not figure out how to login Webbox, but Winbox is GUI also interface, Download winbox and type "demo" as username, make sure the IP you connect is 159.148.147.211 (beta version is diff IP tho)
6. Enjoy the rclxub.gif hehehe
7. Much of the function is disabled, you cant really do anything. mikrotik has not complete this emulator yet, but login in this winbox emulator should give u an idea whether you want to handle this kind of router or not.

This post has been edited by billytong: Sep 29 2010, 06:24 PM
Acrisius
post Sep 29 2010, 06:30 PM

QUOTE(kuekss @ Sep 29 2010, 06:16 PM)
Guys.. Unifi IPTV got new channels...
Did those channels appear on your HyppTV? Mine don't seem to have it
kuekss
post Sep 29 2010, 07:30 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(Acrisius @ Sep 29 2010, 06:30 PM)