The Samsung BD-C5500 BD Player owner's thread, For users to share tips and solutions

silbii
post Mar 30 2011, 11:12 PM

963 posts

hi guys

just got this player from a forumer here...cool stuff! this player is surely better than my first player philips bdp3008. so yeah, thx man!

ok...now a dilemma...as at now it has this old firmware "Ver.1016.1 Aug.17.2010" ...

so far it can playback my 'ahem' blu ray, ori blur ray...and vis usb can play most files inc. mp4 with audio ....and so far only has problem with one mkv 720p file now ... it's a Metallica live in France concert, pic ok, but audio so bad coz it has DTS 5.1 ... can only bits of bad-gobbled-jerky audio ...

i've already connected the player to the internet and now the player can play Youtube and even can surf to Google Earth (i kid you not tongue.gif) ... but it keeps on asking me on upgrading to the latest firmware "Ver.1020.1 Dec.27.2010"

so you guys think i should update? will i still get mp4 with audio and improve most mkv or other video file playback with this update?? and can it still play all ahem / ori discs with this upgrade??

scared to upgrade coz nanti can't go back to the old settings...

any good advice appreciated

cheers guys!!

regards

Added on March 31, 2011, 7:03 pmbtw- this player is now selling at best denki for rm499...there's LG vand cheaper at rm399 but not sure if it's media player capability is a good as this samsung...

still awaiting for advice on whether i should upgrade the samsung's firmware or not btw ... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by silbii: Apr 5 2011, 09:32 AM
silbii
post Apr 12 2011, 10:18 AM

963 posts

QUOTE(johnlmc @ Apr 12 2011, 12:55 AM)
well i just bought the player today. couldn't tahan dy. everywhere out of stock. so have to buta2 pay rm499.

so far, tried on my hdd 1.5Tb  1080p mkv movies. no problemo playin all of them. DTS sound detected.

only thing is not able to detect m2ts files. changed to file to .mp4. can play, got pic but no sound (anyone got any solution?)

now have to invest in a few more BD originals and compare with the TrueHD files I have.

for those who don't own any media players, maybe this is a good player to start.
still an ok price bro ... Harvey Norman's still selling at RM899 if i'm not mistaken sweat.gif

so which firmware do you have there? is it the latest? i'm still contemplating on whether to upgrade my firmware or not : hmm.gif

silbii
post Apr 17 2011, 04:27 PM

963 posts

this latest firmware...any issues playing bluray, or with mp4 or mkv files?

for bluray, this player does not play one bluray movie of mine. My other (olde) philips bluray player does play with no problem. So not feeling satisfied and really not sure if updating the firmware can fix this.

with mp4 - do you still get audio for all mp4 files? for my titles now, all mp4 has audio. Just afraid if i'm gonna lose this functionality with the new update.

for mkv - do you get subtitles to appear for all your mkv movies which has .srt or .sub files (of the same name and located on the same folder film) appear? appearently i got one or two titles than won't show subtitles at all.

anyone with similar issues do update

thx

This post has been edited by silbii: Apr 18 2011, 12:50 PM
silbii
post Apr 22 2011, 02:27 PM

963 posts

Hearing that, now I'm not that eager to upgrade firmare tongue.gif
silbii
post Aug 16 2011, 02:46 PM

963 posts

Just got a D5100. Sadly it can't play big mkv files smoothly (i.e. > 4GB) ... it plays but jerking like crazy ... and the files i tried are just >4GB mkv 720p files, it's not even full HD!

anyone experiencing the same problems?

wanna try upgrading firmware but can't so far... sad.gif

any advice appreciated!

thx

silbii
post Aug 18 2011, 12:02 AM

963 posts

QUOTE(nitrox @ Aug 17 2011, 11:27 AM)
I own the older model (C5500). I dont think it plays mkv files flawlessly. I have some mkv files which doesnt play at all, but I can play them without any issues in my NMT. I guess the BD player cannot play mkv files with certain encoding or compressed headers, unlike the NMT which can handle everything. Maybe you can try to re-encode your mkv's, but you need to check with other forumers how to go about doing this. Or maybe a firmware upgrade can do.
i actually own the C5500 as well and the few same large files can be played there flawlessly (no jerk at all)., But playing in this newer D5100, they jerk like crazy ... which doesn't really make sense. I thought newer models should be more versatile with newer firmwares etc...

puzzling eh?

sent and email too to samsung msia about this and they want me to bring the set over to test... hmm... that's kinda leceh i guess

anyone out there with D5100 do comment!

This post has been edited by silbii: Aug 18 2011, 12:04 AM
silbii
post Nov 20 2011, 01:56 AM

963 posts

my c5500 can play ahem blu ray ...

and ahem blu ray is not too bad actually... but buy original better if you have the means of course tongue.gif

0.0265sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:08 PM