Phillips Home Theatre Back Speakers, Speakers Volume

TSGfreak
post Sep 8 2010, 06:13 AM, updated 16y ago

65 posts

I've last posted a project that I extended the wires to the speaker for me pull it to the back of the room. Conclusion it's doable but however better have a place to hide them since the part where the old wire connects to the new wire is a big ugly since got the wiring tape there......
Anyway the system works fine but I noticed that the sound from the back speakers are now a bit softer or it's always been like this. I've never taken notice of them since have to be closed to them to hear the sound.
Is there any way that I can increase the volume of the rear speakers? Or it's due to the connections? Is it a norm for the back speakers to be a bit softer then the front?
Well I'm not exactly using the high range of HT but okay laa mid range only....my speakers are from phillips (not sure which model) which have 4 towers plus one front bar speakers. Thanks much!!!!!!
azbro
post Sep 8 2010, 08:15 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Gfreak @ Sep 8 2010, 06:13 AM)

Is there any way that I can increase the volume of the rear speakers? Or it's due to the connections? Is it a norm for the back speakers to be a bit softer then the front?
I think you seriously need to read the manuals....that is pretty basic stuff wink.gif

I'm sure philips has level and distance adjustment for individual speakers
apexg2
post Sep 8 2010, 08:37 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

if use surround sure la coz not everything comes from the back....and if 5 channel stereo, its a bit slower then front...erm, i think la...me oso using phillips htib...
FallenOut
post Sep 9 2010, 02:46 AM

#eieiru
6,077 posts

QUOTE(Gfreak @ Sep 8 2010, 06:13 AM)
I've last posted a project that I extended the wires to the speaker for me pull it to the back of the room. Conclusion it's doable but however better have a place to hide them since the part where the old wire connects to the new wire is a big ugly since got the wiring tape there......
Anyway the system works fine but I noticed that the sound from the back speakers are now a bit softer or it's always been like this. I've never taken notice of them since have to be closed to them to hear the sound.
Well I'm not exactly using the high range of HT but okay laa mid range only....my speakers are from phillips (not sure which model) which have 4 towers plus one front bar speakers. Thanks much!!!!!!
i think the avr got distance n volume settings
bt its the norm for surround speakers to b softer than the front speakers
as surround speakers project ambient sound
if its loud as the front speakers
then i think it destroyed the meanin of surround
azbro
post Sep 9 2010, 05:38 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Sep 9 2010, 02:46 AM)
as surround speakers project ambient sound
if its loud as the front speakers
then i think it destroyed the meanin of surround
yes...that true...but once you upgrade to HD audio, you want the surrounds to be identical to the fronts for max impact....
FallenOut
post Sep 9 2010, 06:57 PM

#eieiru
6,077 posts

will only upgrade at the end of the yr
then i would only know
bt still
if the surround is identical
wont it b like front speakers r all around u
i still got the feelin tat surround is meant to b subtle
TSGfreak
post Sep 20 2010, 12:19 AM

65 posts

thanks guys..sorry for the late reply..btw selamat hari raya..
anyway junior here maaa...I guess shu be alright then...if back speaker the same then no point la....I guess the distance would have amplified the diff I heard earlier...

zeese
post Sep 20 2010, 11:37 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Sep 9 2010, 06:57 PM)
will only upgrade at the end of the yr
then i would only know
bt still
if the surround is identical
wont it b like front speakers r all around u
i still got the feelin tat surround is meant to b subtle
yes.. it should be like front speakers all around you, when you setting the
sound level of all the speakers.

However, during the movie, you won't hear the same level of sound, because movie
producer knows how loud to set for the ambient (surround speakers),
how loud the center channel should be, etc.

So, basically, all speakers must have same volume level.. and during movie playback,
the movie/dvd/BR will take over the job to control individual speaker volume.
azbro
post Sep 20 2010, 12:19 PM

4,403 posts

I've floorstanders for all my speaker (except the center of course)....the rears especially really benefit from this....Mid to Low bass (which have some directional sound) improve alot...example is scenes like IronMan2 where Hammer drones drop everywhere from the sky for the showdown at the oracle park is marvelous. Instead of hearing / feeling the bass from the Subwoofer, now the rears also can have bass...giving the sofa a nice thump. Other movies like when a dragon flaps its wings from the rear to the Left rear and then Right rear is also felt.

For me, the days of the rears doing its job as ambiance speaker is nearly over with the intro of HD audio...even for normal DTS/DD producers and Sound engineers are putting lotsa info for the rears.

This post has been edited by azbro: Sep 20 2010, 12:20 PM
weim76
post Sep 20 2010, 01:05 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 20 2010, 12:19 PM)
I've floorstanders for all my speaker (except the center of course)....the rears especially really benefit from this....Mid to Low bass (which have some directional sound) improve alot...example is scenes like IronMan2 where Hammer drones drop everywhere from the sky for the showdown at the oracle park is marvelous. Instead of hearing / feeling the bass from the Subwoofer, now the rears also can have bass...giving the sofa a nice thump. Other movies like when a dragon flaps its wings from the rear to the Left rear and then Right rear is also felt.

For me, the days of the rears doing its job as ambiance speaker is nearly over with the intro of HD audio...even for normal DTS/DD producers and Sound engineers are putting lotsa info for the rears.
I am curious to know what is the crossover frequency you have chosen for your surround floorstanders.
azbro
post Sep 20 2010, 01:18 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(weim76 @ Sep 20 2010, 01:05 PM)
I am curious to know what is the crossover frequency you have chosen for your surround floorstanders.
I set it to 'Large' for all the speaker except the center.

My Floorstanders can go to 45Hz easy...

Most AVR has those settings, but HTiB dun have 'Large' or 'Small' settings for the speakers.
FallenOut
post Sep 20 2010, 11:35 PM

#eieiru
6,077 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Sep 20 2010, 11:37 AM)
yes.. it should be like front speakers all around you, when you setting the
sound level of all the speakers.

However, during the movie, you won't hear the same level of sound, because movie
producer knows how loud to set for the ambient (surround speakers),
how loud the center channel should be, etc.

So, basically, all speakers must have same volume level.. and during movie playback,
the movie/dvd/BR will take over the job to control individual speaker volume.
yea tat was wat i meant lolz
i thought he meant in the movie all same loudness

0.0160sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:27 PM