HTC HD2 : Users on Android

mytown
post Oct 15 2010, 05:37 AM

66 posts

HTC Releases Kernel Source for Desire Z and G2, this means that we may soon be able to see camera fix on Desire HD rom.
Bingo!!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=808762
mytown
post Oct 15 2010, 05:00 PM

66 posts

mytown: StocK ROM v1.66, radio 2.10, MdeejayFroyo Sense 2.4.2 NextSense

Mdeejay FroyoSense http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=780525

I previously have been using Froyostone v1, v2, v3.1 it was stable build but the issue on drop data connection really frustrate me. Hence i have been hunting for alternative. Initially thought to be radio rom problems but despite changing each radio rom from 2.15-2.14 to others, the problems persist.

With this MdeejayFroyo Sense 2.4.2 NextSense, so far it has been good and there is no drop data connection and changing from wifi to mobile data did not hang. Everything is functioning smoothly.

Now my wish is there will be new release on Desire HD rom with working camera soon, then i am good to go for it. Already registered with HTCsense.com, can't wait to utilize the functions.

This post has been edited by mytown: Oct 15 2010, 05:09 PM
mytown
post Oct 15 2010, 10:48 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 15 2010, 06:03 PM)

So far the only thing I am not happy with all the android roms is battery life. But since it is running off from the SD card, I do understand the higher consumption. Previously, on average my HD2 on WM , battery will drop by about 10 % ( 11 pm to 7 am ) but on Androids it ranges from 30 to 40 % !! It is however not a major issue as I have 2 spare batteries
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif i am even more kia su.....i have 4 batteries altogether. that is why battery is never an issue for me.
mytown
post Oct 18 2010, 07:39 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(ic_boyz85 @ Oct 17 2010, 06:10 PM)
New froyostone sense v3.2  is out..gonna try it yummy ><
How's your feedback on this version?

I tried it. though the data drop problems resolved but new problems arises.

1) while booting into android from WM, occasionally blue screen came up and stop there.
2) wake up from sleep causes freeze in dark screen.

both problems are not consistent. However, already twice freezes upon waking up within 4 hours.

looks like i am gonna stick with mdeejay froyo sense series for time being.

This post has been edited by mytown: Oct 18 2010, 07:40 PM
mytown
post Oct 19 2010, 11:05 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(ic_boyz85 @ Oct 18 2010, 10:12 PM)
So far no blue screen happen to me and for problem 2 (it's happened when i'm using v 3.1 )..so far no issue to me for v 3.2 ><
anyway i'm just upgrading from v.3.1 to 3.2 by replacing the z.image and the system.. biggrin.gif
i have updated the kernel to [Kernel][18.10.2010][Overclocking][Undervolting][AXI][ExtBatts]hastarin r7.6
Lets see whether this solve my problems.

finger cross!! sweat.gif
mytown
post Oct 19 2010, 05:09 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Oct 19 2010, 03:04 PM)
isit updating kernel consisting file & folder overwriting only ? just cut and paste ? and isit for the same type kernel or can be applied to different kernel ?
Yes!! it is cut and paste and overwriting the existing files . You are free to try different kernel but i have chosen the one recommended by darkstone.
After changing the kernel to hastarin r7.6, Froyostone 3.2 never freezes.... brows.gif

I reboot frequently about 20x over the last 5 hours, it failed to load twice. Not too bad i presume.Both without blue screen. I am using bootloader to boot into android from WM.

Hence......i am switching back to froyostone 3.2 from mdeejay froyo sense series.

Froyostone is faster comparing mdeejay froyosense in UI. I have a feeling that the battery is also better for froyostone.

There is no drop in data connection since the time of usage.

So far i am happy with froyostone 3.2 icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by mytown: Oct 19 2010, 06:28 PM
mytown
post Oct 23 2010, 10:13 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Oct 22 2010, 09:20 AM)
I dont think 720p videocam rec working yet becoz the program close itself, however my last try is 480p (800x480) with noise sound  sweat.gif
I don't think there is any ROM that does 720p video cam recording at the moment.

With regards to the noisy sound....ya i got that too. Not from recording but realized it while playing with Talking Tom Cat game software for my kids.

What happens is it failed to recognize the voice and hence stopped repeating our speech.

I realized later this is because the mic was too sensitive picking up background sound in evo based kernels. I found the solution in [SOLVED] Background noise fix / mic gain fix and now my problem solved.

This post has been edited by mytown: Oct 23 2010, 10:18 AM
mytown
post Oct 28 2010, 09:16 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(ic_boyz85 @ Oct 27 2010, 07:06 PM)
BTW now i'm kinda happy with my kingston 16gb micro sdhc class 10 haha  biggrin.gif
where did you buy and how much does it cost??
mytown
post Nov 6 2010, 01:19 PM

66 posts

upgraded to kernel hastarin r8. Lots of issues.

1) data loss is too frequent.
2) my WIFI won't work. don't know why??

Hence i downgrade to hastarin r7.6 with Mdeejay froyo clean Sense v.2.1. This two combinations seem to be working extremely well for me.

No data drop at all.
GPS lock in 2 min

battery life still the same as other build. however this is not an issue for me as i have enough backup battery.

mytown
post Nov 7 2010, 01:34 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Nov 6 2010, 07:21 PM)
mytown
some build not compatible with hastarin r8 and require patches, using previous image (upgrade) also does make wifi disable
Thanks for the input. I just tried mdj froyo sense clean 2.3 with new kernel that comes with it. I did a fresh installation as you mentioned. Wifi is still error unable to on.

Any idea why?
again back to version 2.1.

mytown
post Nov 7 2010, 10:19 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(synchun @ Nov 7 2010, 03:08 AM)
mytown, what gps are u using???
papago x5
MFM just updated new map dated 4/11/10

another option would be to run Brut modified gmap for navigation. Officially only US and europe have that features. however by running the Brut mod Gmap, you can do so over here.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=630887

This post has been edited by mytown: Nov 7 2010, 10:49 AM
mytown
post Nov 7 2010, 10:06 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Nov 7 2010, 04:10 PM)
mytown
restart couple time, If this occur to me, I mostly change to other build
I am using mdj froyo sense clean 2.3 now minus the kernel that comes with it. For kernel i am downgrading to hastarin 7.7 and everything seems to be working well now. I did a fresh installation.

Just noted that darkstone is pulling out from android rom development as he is busy with University works.

Nevertheless he mentioned in his thread on Desire HD beta ROM. He will contribute very last time to the HD2 android community on something that is workable. I wish that would be Desire HD ROM with camera that is functioning. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=787189

mytown
post Nov 12 2010, 09:24 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(CRSSER @ Nov 12 2010, 09:07 PM)
but the screen bigger lol can't resist it
sorry to hear that you lost your phone.
Iif i were to get a new phone, i will go for desire hd and will not get HD2.
After porting my hd2 with android froyo, i have believe android will dominate mobile market like palm use to dominate in handheld market years ago.

i have now fully transfer all my old files like memo and equivalent softwares from palm OS to WM6.5 and now to android froyo.

If you gonna use only the android OS, why border wm6.5?? get a proper android phone, you will have better battery life, new htc sense that have extra features.
At least you don't have to pray like HD2 users ported with android to wait for modifications on new HTC desire HD rom that have full functional camera on HD2.

mytown
post Nov 13 2010, 03:05 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Nov 13 2010, 02:16 PM)
One thing I dont like Desire HD, it has awkward battery latch, the memory & sim cover has GAP when closing it

I have to agree with you on this!! doh.gif doh.gif
mytown
post Nov 14 2010, 12:13 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(hitokai @ Nov 14 2010, 12:04 AM)
anyone gt this problem before? my phone will sumtime auto connect to internet by gprs and it is taking a toll on my bill... anyway to prevent this?
Go to settings
--> go to wireless & networks
--> go to mobile networks ---> un-tick it

you are done.

You can always create a widget to on/ off it at homescreen.
mytown
post Nov 16 2010, 08:52 PM

66 posts

Just bought a new 32GB microSD card. My current 16GB only left 2GB. Not enough already.

I currently have several version of android in my microSD.

I started playing with MIUI ROM. i must say, i am really impressed. I am still trying and comparing it with mdj froyosense 2.2. i also have another version of froyo desireHD rom as well. (using mdj version as well) MIUI is very stable. no drop data connection till now. The only thing i missed is HTC sense.

I have autoBootloader installed on my HD2 wm6.5.

i previously used mskip android loader v5.0. Not bad as previously i only have 1 version of android ROM to boot. It does it's job well by automatically loading into android when i reboot my wm.

However, since i want the freedom to choose which rom i want it to load, i started using EBL2.1a._PlusUbuntu.CAB. The only downside would be needs of installing .NET framework 3.5 in your wm6.5 before using this software. Once you have had .NET in your WM, the rest is straight forward.

Just follow the instruction here http://eztvdroid.org/windows-mobile-develo...tu-for-htc-hd2/

you will be able to enjoy autoboot to android without having to go filexplorer then click on CLAD and Haret individually.

If you don't need to load multi version of android ROM, i suggest you use mskip bootloader
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=733752

copying.....my "junk files" to new microsd 32GB card now. It is estimating transfer time of 5hours. wow!!!

This post has been edited by mytown: Nov 16 2010, 08:53 PM
mytown
post Nov 16 2010, 11:16 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(brucesss @ Nov 16 2010, 10:59 PM)
wha u guys damm geng can fill up 16gb
my 8gb oso haven pakai habis yet
hmm anyway what is the most stable rom to use for android
using mdj froyo clean 2.3...
good enough???
rocemendations for any good task manager
Sorry are you asking for program task killer manager or a daily task manager?

i recommend advanced task killer for program task manager.

i recommend MyReminders if you are looking for daily task manager.

This post has been edited by mytown: Nov 16 2010, 11:19 PM
mytown
post Nov 16 2010, 11:22 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(everydayppl @ Nov 16 2010, 11:16 PM)
why would anyone charge anyone rm200 or any amount for something that's free...?
I against whoever are doing so.

Sometime it is partly because minority of people are willing to pay for the service as not everyone are brave enough to modify their HD2.
When there is demand, of course people will take the opportunities to charge for the service.

This post has been edited by mytown: Nov 16 2010, 11:22 PM
mytown
post Nov 16 2010, 11:33 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(brucesss @ Nov 16 2010, 11:22 PM)
apps task manager
anyway is my rom ok or are they better ones
In actual fact there is no froyo ROM that is perfect. Ultimately it is you yourself that conclude which one is better after testing it.

My personal favorite is MDJ sense clean 2.x (i am currently using 2.2. I have 2.3 as well but seems to get a lot of data drop at my work place with 2.3 hence downgrade to 2.2)
But then later i find out that 2.2 also has similar problem intermittently.

I read from xda sometime drop of data can be due to cellular tower as well rather then the kernel. I find this to be rather true. Reason being the data drop event can not be reproduce at some area consistently.

Anyhow, in short.....if you find MDJ sense clean 2.3 serve you well, i would agree with you as i also think it is rather stable build.

Recently started playing with MIUI froyo build. MIUI is a chinese base community that rewrite the User interface from ground with froyo OS behind using iphone user interphase as the structure. It is very stable with fast internet connection and stable data connection.
Not much of battery saving. After playing with froyo sense for sometime, MIUI ROM gave me a new experience and excitement. As i mentioned earlier...i am still a big fan of HTCsense. In view of that, i may revert back to froyo sense clean.

Meanwhile, i think everyone is still waiting for desireHD ROM with camera capability ported to HD2. Finger cross......

This post has been edited by mytown: Nov 16 2010, 11:35 PM
mytown
post Nov 16 2010, 11:37 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(brucesss @ Nov 16 2010, 11:36 PM)
lol if desire hd i better save money n buy it
HTC desire HD is definitely a good buy. Imagine instant on from cold start. That it self is already a killer.

0.0451sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:07 PM