11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

HTC HD2 : Users on Android

andyjyneo
post Jul 5 2011, 12:30 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

Just bought a HD2. Going to flash to Android later tonight.
Nice guide here.

Why are there so many ROM types?
I saw ROM-ZIP, NAND and SD.
What's the difference between all?

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Jul 5 2011, 12:31 PM
andyjyneo
post Jul 5 2011, 03:15 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Jul 5 2011, 03:06 PM)
welcome to the club andy!

There are 3 method to running Android,
1-runnning from winmo via HARET launcher (aka SD haret), safe method

2-running directly to Nand via MAGLDR
3-running directly from MicroSD via MAGLDR

I suggesting to understand the risk of flashing before proceed. For best start I suggest to test with Jaguaralani MIUI or Copewarren Cynogen build. Refer my signature links (XDA)
Thank you.

Yeah, finally I flashed my phone to Android.
Here I come!

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Jul 5 2011, 09:25 PM
andyjyneo
post Jul 6 2011, 10:58 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Jul 6 2011, 08:35 AM)
andy
that was fast, which the rom build u have used ?
Haha, I didn't expect I was that fast too.

I do encounter some problems during flashing, but all have been solved.
Started download lots of apps into my HD2.

I'm using Cyanogen. Good ROM with ADW Launcher ready.
But too bad, Youtube app cannot be installed. sad.gif

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Jul 6 2011, 12:14 PM
andyjyneo
post Jul 6 2011, 12:46 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Jul 6 2011, 12:29 PM)
Hmm ... perhaps the installer files was corrupt

If u need to use youtube app, may I suggest u, stock Desire (not DHD rom) known as "prj clean" , stock Sense & come with youtube app, installation method is easy
Is this the one - "prj Clean Desire v0.3.2 [Kernel: prj v0.4] - xda-developers"?
But it's on old 2.2 Froyo. Really got excited with cyanogen's 2.3.4 Gingerbread.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Jul 6 2011, 12:50 PM
andyjyneo
post Jul 7 2011, 11:26 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Jul 6 2011, 07:14 PM)
no worry theres plenty of rom to test,  maybe u can try MIUI 2.3.x, from Langthang release,
I tested NexusHD2 ROM. Looks good, stock Gingerbread ROM. Youtube and Gmail remained.

Added on July 7, 2011, 11:27 am
QUOTE(babybaby1988 @ Jul 6 2011, 08:57 PM)
Hi. I need to change brightness as well as switch off 3g the fastest way.

Currently to do both, i need to undergo at least 3steps. I want to do it in just one step.

I'm thinking of an app which can detect surrounding brightness and adjust screen brightness accordingly.

For 3g. When I'm using winmo previously I can switch wifi 3g off or on by long press on the sound rocker. I don't like widget as I have to leave my current screen. Any advise?
You've 5 'desktops'. Just put the widgets on other desktop if you don't like them on your current desktop.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Jul 8 2011, 11:00 AM
andyjyneo
post Jul 10 2011, 02:45 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 9 2011, 11:25 PM)
hey guys, I'm thinking of buying myself a HD2.. I know it's an old phone, but I'm kinda addicted with phone modding and flashing ROMs and stuffs (did these on my HTC Magic, Xperia X8, Motorola Milestone, Palm Treo 650, Dopod d810, etc etc)..

As the HD2 opens a wider and broader range of opportunities for me to mods, which is why I had my eye set up on em.

So, as senior netizens of HD2 users, would you recommend me to buy a brand new off the shelf or buy a used set outside?

Anything I need to check before buying? I'm planning to mod, so of course I need to flash em to Android (I've flashed a friend HD2 phone before, although I didn't own one!), but I heard newer Radio and SPL's cause some issues with Android? sweat.gif

I don't know.. you tell me..

Appreciate your help!
I never regretted for buying 2nd hand HD2. I flashed it to Android the moment I got it.
Till today, Android has been running really well, and no problems so far.
Everyone is impressed with my mod. Haha...

My advice is, just buy a used HD2 since it's cheap - at around RM850 till RM980, depends on condition and age.
So far, I don't have any problem with my HD2.
1 GhZ processor never disappoints me. wink.gif
andyjyneo
post Jul 11 2011, 04:48 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 10 2011, 09:13 PM)
@andyjyneo
Thanks, took your advice and just bought a used HD2 just now! laugh.gif Was in a rush because I had to go to work today, so I was only able to downgrade SPL from 3.03 to HSPL 2.08, flashed Radio 2.15.50.14, flashed DFT MAGLDR Bootloader... and no time to go further on because I was running late tongue.gif

@enCORe
yeah, I guess you can call me flashaholic or something like that.. hahaha. Let me make sure Android is fine first before I go on to Mango and the other stuffs..

I downloaded a NAND built of Android - Frankinstine DROID Lite v1.3 (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=992430) Havn't tried this yet as I'm still making preparation to the phone.

Any NAND ROM which you guys could possibly recommend? Thanks smile.gif
Congratulations and welcome to the HD2 Android family, so how's your Android running on your mobile?
I'm using stock Google Nexus ROM on my HD2 right now.
I used Cyanogen ROM before this.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Jul 11 2011, 04:49 PM
andyjyneo
post Jul 12 2011, 10:46 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 11 2011, 08:29 PM)
@andyjyneo
Well, using the Frankinstine DROID Lite v1.3, i got applications and games auto installed to SDCard if it permits. So I guess right now I'm using the Nand with ext3/4 partition? (as what enCORe says on his post)... So far so good, I mean, I can't expect to squeeze much of the battery.. (although I got my eyes on a 1600mah battery, same size, selling @ lelong - But I think based on some reviews, there's no difference than the stock 1250mah battery - maybe I'll just buy one to try.. and review later).

How's your google nexus ROM? is it a full NAND? Link pls? laugh.gif
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=905060

Added on July 12, 2011, 10:46 am
QUOTE(lun1986 @ Jul 11 2011, 08:36 PM)
i just bought an used hd2 too, wanted flash to android.
really dun understand wat u all been talkin, start from zero....

all sifu, i been follow guide below to flash my phone
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=609477

wen doin FLASH HARDSPL, pop out tis thing
[attachmentid=2325262]

Added on July 11, 2011, 8:38 pm

y downgrade, just for flash radio ?? hmm.gif
http://api.viglink.com/api/click?format=go...%20Installation

This is a good installation guide.

Added on July 12, 2011, 12:19 pmGuys, I noticed that our app memory is really tiny.Only 254.87MB.
I've tried to move almost all my apps to memory card, but still not enough.

Some of the apps cannot be moved to memory card.
Is there any get around way to do so?

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Jul 12 2011, 12:19 PM
andyjyneo
post Jul 13 2011, 12:38 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Jul 12 2011, 01:28 PM)
@andyjyneo
You can solves with by EXT3/4 partition. This memory was mean for "extention" of your internal apps storage.
eg :
internal memory available = 100mb
ext2/3/4 partition (in sdcard) = 512mb,

hence system will detect as  = 100mb+512mb  nod.gif
I found a good link for this.
http://www.enfeuman.com/2011/04/13/how-to-...n-your-sd-card/

Added on July 13, 2011, 12:41 am
QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 13 2011, 12:22 AM)
@andyjyneo
Wohoo.. thanks, will check in a bit! thumbup.gif
edit : LOL, I am using this currently!

Yesterday I flashed NexusHD2-Gingerbread V2.8, but can't seem to get hotspot / wifi tether working.. I can enable, can connect from pc, but says limited connection, and no data flow.. weird. I can use the internet on my phone.. anyone encountered similar issue before? Or should i try something like barnacle..
Just flashed my ROM to BOYPPC-SHIFTPDA DHD, not really impressed with it.
So far I've been using NexusHD2-Gingerbread, stable but don't really like my Device Name. sad.gif
Going to flash back my ROM to TyphooN CyanogenMod 7. So far, this is the best ROM for HD2. Just lack of GApps only.

For those who depends on GApps (Gmail, Youtube, etc) but your ROM doesn't have one, I've found a good site to download it.
Instructions is here. *Read the instructions on how to flash. Do not download because it's outdated.*
Download link for latest GApps is here.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Jul 13 2011, 01:20 AM
andyjyneo
post Jul 13 2011, 01:15 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 13 2011, 01:00 AM)
Bro andy, the CM7 typhoon ROM, is it this one ?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=933951
Spot on! wink.gif
andyjyneo
post Jul 13 2011, 11:24 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 13 2011, 01:57 AM)
Win6.5... you mean .cab or .apk? sweat.gif

Added on July 13, 2011, 2:40 amandy, I guess I need to use CLK 150mb 5mb cache with that? I'm currently using CLK 250mb
I used MAGLDR all the while. I don't know what's the difference between both of them.

Added on July 13, 2011, 11:25 amAlright, I've figured out for those who doesn't have GApps (Gmail, Youtube, etc). It's very easy. You just need to go to Google, and search for "Market Access.apk". Open and install it by using file manager (ie. Astro File Manager). After that, go to MarketAccess in menu, and tick "Emulate on boot". Go to "Providers column", just use any provider to emulate and close. Hurray, done! Now you can download your GApps one by one in Market. That's all.

I hope this will be pinned.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Jul 13 2011, 11:42 AM
andyjyneo
post Jul 26 2011, 01:31 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

Currently I'm using HD2 NDT GINGER ROM.
The best, fastest and most stable ROM for HD2.

Link:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1013852
andyjyneo
post Jul 27 2011, 10:38 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(Niv86 @ Jul 26 2011, 04:10 PM)
will try that out later.
the nexus hd2 always lag due to the live background.
i changed to launcher ex with simple theme and fixed background and everything move smoothly.
Yes, one of the main reason NDT Ginger ROM is the fastest HD2 ROM is because they use GO Launcher Ex.
Even loading apps installed on SD card is fast, compared with other ROMs.
I noticed that other ROMs (especially those with ADW) keep refreshing the apps in menu, thus making it lag and slow.

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 27 2011, 03:06 AM)
Ah yes I've stumbled across this before.. this will be on my 'test' list. tq  thumbup.gif
Yeah, you should try it, bro. It's a good ROM.
It really lives up to its name.

I also tried the MIUI ROM from NDT, it's fast too, but iPhone interface is not my liking.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Jul 27 2011, 06:22 PM
andyjyneo
post Aug 1 2011, 03:43 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Jul 27 2011, 06:49 PM)
andyjyneo
Maybe u should try MIUI rom with other launcher, the interface is look alike but the core system is very good.
My NDT HD2 ROM is running great. I don't think I'll be changing to other ROMs anymore.
Sorry, bro to disappoint you. biggrin.gif
andyjyneo
post Aug 2 2011, 03:42 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Aug 1 2011, 07:10 PM)
alright  doh.gif  , lucky to be you, u kinda easily satisfied with non sense rom  sweat.gif
Eh, actually, I still don't know what Sense is.

Anyway, the reasons I settled down in NDT HD2 ROM is because:
1. HTC HD2 is shown in Phone About.
2. This ROM is the fastest among all.
3. Constant updates from author. The latest is now running on Gingerbread 2.3.5, which is released yesterday.
andyjyneo
post Aug 3 2011, 10:40 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Aug 2 2011, 03:56 PM)
andyjyneo
YUP, stock gingerbread is very fast, the smallest one is around 60+MB ie Hyperdroid 1st release, recent build is average around 100mb. Anyway whats your fav launcher ?
I love GO Launcher Ex. It comes default with NDT ROM.
ADW Launcher lags.

Added on August 3, 2011, 12:25 pm
QUOTE(babybaby1988 @ Aug 2 2011, 11:14 AM)
HOW do i backup all my widget and icon on my honescreen? I am using Go Launcher. Titanium backup doesn't work, the launcher also don't have export widget setting!
Use Titanium Backup. It's a god damn good backup app.

Make sure you go to Preferences, tick "Backup app cache".
All saved games and settings are in app cache. If you untick this, it'll only backup your app .apk file only.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Aug 3 2011, 03:59 PM
andyjyneo
post Aug 8 2011, 11:18 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Aug 8 2011, 02:46 AM)
Hmm.. followed the instruction but after install zip from recovery, I still can't see those google apps..
I downloaded the one for Cyanogenmod 7.. (there is only 1 link & a mirror for all apps version..)
Any idea why I still can't see em?

I installed .zip right after flash rom.. done factory reset wipe data clear cache dalvik cache.. still nothing..

Added on August 8, 2011, 3:13 amIt's ok.. got it sorted out, installed CM6 instead and it worked thumbup.gif
Just install MarketAccess and emulate other provider. Then you can see all GApps and download as usual in Market.
andyjyneo
post Aug 15 2011, 12:13 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(zaharzakariah @ Aug 14 2011, 02:47 PM)
er.......after i upgraded to typhoon cyanoegenmod 7 2.3.5....i cannot see or install 3rd party widget like clockq, sense analoq clock..or any other widget after downlad and nstall....its not appear on add to home screen + widget option
.........how can i...enable this....
CyanogenMOD uses ADW.Launcher. Try searching them in Market.

Added on August 15, 2011, 12:14 pm
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 14 2011, 05:31 PM)
To those using NAND Roms, let say if a build update is available, does it mean we need to reflash everything to update it?
Just boot into CWR mode. Go to AD Recovery. Choose wipe Dalvik Cache.
After that, flash your latest build.

Added on August 15, 2011, 12:15 pm
QUOTE(enCORe @ Aug 14 2011, 10:40 PM)
Boy96
not necessary, frequents Nand flashing wear out its lifespan, unless software updates like MIUI should be fine
Wah bro, I didn't know that.
I think I flashed more than 20 times already, changing builds and different ROMs.

I wonder what will happen to my HD2 in future.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Aug 15 2011, 12:15 PM
andyjyneo
post Aug 17 2011, 04:00 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Aug 16 2011, 10:13 AM)
andyone,
I suggest you read my post 1536, page 77

HD2 journey still very far, its not ended yet smile.gif
Yeah, read about the bad sectors, just like our HDD.
I'm not having random reboots anyway.
But I'm a bit worried about spoiling my HD2 by keep changing builds and different ROMs.
andyjyneo
post Aug 20 2011, 01:17 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Aug 18 2011, 09:00 AM)
Boy
I think u got the wrong apk,
My Google maps has updated indicator itself, it updates and can be installed. You might need to update on the fly using Market Enabled emulate.

andy
Let it be, once spoil its means to getting for new devices tongue.gif. To be safe avoid installing rom when devices in hot temp
I love my HD2. I don't want to change. sad.gif

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0467sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:25 PM