android tablet?

TSblur_goofy
post Sep 7 2010, 08:45 AM, updated 16y ago

354 posts

hi,

seen a lot traders selling a lot of android tablet in LYN. i was hoping to get the samsung tablet but they slam a rm2k++ price tag..damn..

are those china/taiwan (i persume) android tablets any good? just wanted an average joe's review on this. thanks
shahz
post Sep 7 2010, 09:30 AM

I have more stars than cleave
1,566 posts

Which Samsung tablet you're talking about? Samsung Galaxy Tab is $1000 USD smile.gif
kmrdeva
post Sep 7 2010, 10:21 AM

4,792 posts

I have a friend using an el-cheapo China tablet.. aPad M003, I think it was. Runs Android 1.6 on a device with 128MB RAM. Shit slow, useless for anything other than browsing the web and checking email.

And, poor quality resistive screen too.. I'd say - avoid this one if possible.
benny888
post Sep 7 2010, 10:25 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Cheap China made Android tablets are usually OS ver 1.6 and 600 MHZ processor - is dirt cheap about RM 400 to RM600. I tested 2 of such at Sim Lim Spore - Surfing on it I'd say it is terrible ; laggy and slow. I'd rather use my phone to surf. Using it for other applications are better. High graphic intensive games are definately not suitable
kmrdeva
post Sep 7 2010, 10:49 AM

4,792 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 7 2010, 10:25 AM)
Cheap China made Android tablets are usually OS ver 1.6 and 600 MHZ processor - is dirt cheap about RM 400 to RM600. I tested 2 of such  at Sim Lim Spore -  Surfing on it I'd say it is terrible ; laggy and slow. I'd rather use my phone to surf. Using it for other applications are better. High graphic intensive games are definately not suitable
Rockplayer on the aPad playing a simple RMVB was like watching a Powerpoint presentation. Probably should've converted the video file to a simple 320x240 MP4.
SonnyCooL
post Sep 7 2010, 11:51 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 7 2010, 10:25 AM)
Cheap China made Android tablets are usually OS ver 1.6 and 600 MHZ processor - is dirt cheap about RM 400 to RM600. I tested 2 of such  at Sim Lim Spore -  Surfing on it I'd say it is terrible ; laggy and slow. I'd rather use my phone to surf. Using it for other applications are better. High graphic intensive games are definately not suitable
what ????

g88
post Sep 8 2010, 12:02 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(shahz @ Sep 7 2010, 09:30 AM)
Which Samsung tablet you're talking about? Samsung Galaxy Tab is $1000 USD smile.gif
but it doesn't mean will be selling Rm3K++ here doh.gif
pluginbaby
post Sep 8 2010, 12:16 AM

2,661 posts

better to skip the tablets until more dual core chipset comes.. surely those tablets would be much more valuable and will be an ipad killer indeed with those stunning GPU top notch performance..
ohmlawx
post Sep 8 2010, 12:25 AM

732 posts

better go for Netbook rather than a tablet..
pluginbaby
post Sep 8 2010, 12:30 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(ohmlawx @ Sep 8 2010, 12:25 AM)
better go for Netbook rather than a tablet..
better for go for a notebook rather than a netbook imho tongue.gif
ohmlawx
post Sep 8 2010, 12:46 AM

732 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Sep 8 2010, 12:30 AM)
better for go for a notebook rather than a netbook imho tongue.gif
hahaha.. true true..
pluginbaby
post Sep 8 2010, 12:48 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(ohmlawx @ Sep 8 2010, 12:46 AM)
hahaha.. true true..
but a tablet cant be any more superb than a superb phone isnt it? its a tough choice indeed! haha.. lets narrow down and choose two, ill pick a notebook and a smartphone tongue.gif
TSblur_goofy
post Sep 8 2010, 09:31 AM

354 posts

so basically everyone agrees that tablet is still at an infant stage.. yeah.. there are still a lot room for tablets to grow.. any chance android will create a dedicated os for tablet/netbook in the future??
shahz
post Sep 8 2010, 12:18 PM

I have more stars than cleave
1,566 posts

Well, depends on how you look at it..I'm getting a tablet soon too..My target is the Google Tablet that should be releasing sometime soon..I use a macbook for my work and business, my N1 for, well everything else..My tablet will take half the workload off from my macbook like email reading and browsing..Yes, my N1 can do that, but you will be surprised how awesome these tasks can be done on the tablet instead of a phone and a notebook (or netbook for the case) smile.gif
TSblur_goofy
post Sep 8 2010, 12:24 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(shahz @ Sep 8 2010, 12:18 PM)
Well, depends on how you look at it..I'm getting a tablet soon too..My target is the Google Tablet that should be releasing sometime soon..I use a macbook for my work and business, my N1 for, well everything else..My tablet will take half the workload off from my macbook like email reading and browsing..Yes, my N1 can do that, but you will be surprised how awesome these tasks can be done on the tablet instead of a phone and a notebook (or netbook for the case) smile.gif
yeah. read the 'news' bout it on the net that it will be released on 'black friday' . but i thought it was jus rumored only? kinda weird cos there aren't any specs or features announced.. hmm.gif
faridaizuddin
post Sep 8 2010, 01:59 PM

Androidian
1,017 posts

QUOTE(shahz @ Sep 8 2010, 12:18 PM)
Can't wait to see the tablet from master Google! rclxm9.gif
For sure it will create the world in chaos and iPad will meet it true contender maybe? hmm.gif hmm.gif
new in IT
post Sep 14 2010, 05:13 PM

378 posts

Just wanna buy a tablet for reading eBooks and surfing...
Just want something that is convenient to hold in one hand and bring to anywhere.
benny888
post Sep 14 2010, 07:05 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Frankly speaking , being a user of the iPad ( 3G, 64GB model) - I feel it is not worth the money. A really overpriced and handicapped tablet. Buy it only if you already own a good notebook. Don't buy it if you think you can use it as a substitute netbook. Buy it only if you have the extra $$$ to spend and is not a pinch on your pocket.

I always quote I am willing to spend without any hesitation buying a RM7k Macbook air for my son but I will never spend the money buying the ipad for him. If he wants it, he had to work parttime somewhere to raise funds for it. It is to me still a luxury gadget - a WANT not a NEED
winniechen
post Sep 14 2010, 11:47 PM

95 posts

By end of the year, you will see more manufacturers releasing more Android tablets. So far only Samsung Galaxy Tab and Archos is looking positive.

I feel Chrome OS tablet would be cool too. Rumours of Google & HTC tablet is still strong. So hope that's coming soon.

I have an e-reader, a laptop, a HTC Desire. So this will be another toy for me. Not an iPad lover (AT ALL).
samurai1337
post Sep 15 2010, 12:07 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

Froyo is not suitable for Tablet
http://www.itechfreak.com/gadget-news/goog...le-for-tablets/

Galaxy Tab may be an exception, but that's really overpriced IMO.

Don't take my words, but I believe going forward Google is going to invest on Chrome OS for slate devices. Android, even in Gingerbread, will probably remain an OS optimized for handheld devices
MYstombox
post Sep 15 2010, 12:23 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Android or Chrome OS doesn't matter, as long as the apps are cross compatible.
TSblur_goofy
post Sep 15 2010, 08:21 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Sep 7 2010, 11:51 PM)
what ????

thats an interesting tablet.. are they selling it here??
*-a|i3n-*
post Sep 15 2010, 08:53 AM

I'm who i'm
681 posts

Samsung tab MIGHT launching at next month.
Maxis might will take the exclusive for Samsung tab also.
jiidaineko
post Sep 15 2010, 11:46 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 14 2010, 07:05 PM)
Frankly speaking , being a user of the iPad ( 3G, 64GB model) - I feel  it is not worth the money. A really overpriced and handicapped tablet. Buy it only if you already own a good notebook. Don't buy it if you think you can use it as a substitute netbook. Buy it only if you have the extra $$$ to spend and is not a pinch on your pocket.

It is to me still a luxury gadget - a WANT not a NEED
you sir spoke the truth, the truth that will get yourself burned to death in any crapple forum section lol rclxms.gif

i always lol at people who claim that an itampoon > netbook when it DOESNT even provide the same experience nor does what a netbook does.

This post has been edited by jiidaineko: Sep 16 2010, 10:12 AM
kmrdeva
post Sep 15 2010, 11:53 AM

4,792 posts

Without an actual keyboard (hardware), I cannot see a tablet (ipad, sg tab etc) ever replacing the netbook. Both are products from different classes.

Anyway, I think a tablet with ios or android gives a different user experience compared to a netbook with windows or linux.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Sep 15 2010, 11:54 AM
benny888
post Sep 15 2010, 03:33 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Sep 15 2010, 11:53 AM)
Without an actual keyboard (hardware), I cannot see a tablet (ipad, sg tab etc) ever replacing the netbook. Both are products from different classes.

Anyway, I think a tablet with ios or android gives a different user experience compared to a netbook with windows or linux.
I can only comment on the iPad for now. The virtual keypad looks big and nice until you start using it. It is a completely different feeling versus a netbook/notebook hard keys. Actually there is not much a feeling anyway.

The worst thing is the edit function ; till now I find it unbelievable that Apple with such strong software resources behind them s did not even address the editing weakness. After typing a word, if you want to edit any alphabet in the middle of it - you cannot. What you need to do is tap slightly hard on the word - a small magnifying glass will appear. Then you slowly move the cursor to the word you need to edit . The screen is not very sensitive to capture your hard press and sometimes need to do few times just to get the magnifying glass up. It is really very frustrating if you are a lousy typist and always need to edit. I find it quicker to backspace and retype. The worst thing or would I say is a joke Steve Jobs highlight this as an amazing edit tool - what a piece of marketing crap. Anyway this is typical Steve Jobs style - project an image of greatness even for a weak feature

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 15 2010, 03:37 PM
HeWasOnly3
post Sep 15 2010, 04:27 PM

74 posts

How about Dell Streak? Its an android tablet/handphone hybrid too. Well in my opinion,android's weakness lies on the lack of quality apps.

This post has been edited by HeWasOnly3: Sep 15 2010, 04:27 PM
x132755
post Sep 15 2010, 04:50 PM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

GALAXY TAB can make call rite?
benny888
post Sep 15 2010, 10:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

15 Sep news : We should see a better alternative in HTC compared with the rest of the makers.

HTC plans to launch a tablet PC, possibly equipped with Android 3, in the first quarter of 2011, according to Taiwan-based component makers.

For marketing tablet PCs, HTC will have an advantage thanks to its strong ties with Google and established cooperation with mobile telecom carriers around the world, the sources pointed out, adding that if the performance and quality of the new device is on par with its smartphones, continuous support from these strategic partners is expected.

Source:
http://www.digitimes.com/news/a20100915PD205.html

HeWasOnly3
post Sep 16 2010, 12:07 AM

74 posts

Is this the rumoured Google tablet or HTC standalone tablet?

This post has been edited by HeWasOnly3: Sep 16 2010, 12:07 AM
macpro2
post Sep 16 2010, 12:50 AM

573 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Sep 7 2010, 10:21 AM)
I have a friend using an el-cheapo China tablet.. aPad M003, I think it was. Runs Android 1.6 on a device with 128MB RAM. Shit slow, useless for anything other than browsing the web and checking email.

And, poor quality resistive screen too.. I'd say - avoid this one if possible.
yes i know

you using a 128MB ram ! with old firmware version !!

now currenty all my brand new version with 256MB RAM if using the VIA 8505 chipset
with new firmware 1.9_1.88 or 1.9_88 updated is much faster! and smoother
plus 3g support, adsl, + bluetooth support. .

is all about firmware version.. everyday android is Improving~!!!! its apps and .apk apds.. and more,.
nod.gif

better go for the IROBOT telechip android 2.1 version..256mb ram..720p
which i also soon have stock in alumiuium thumbup.gif

Added on September 16, 2010, 12:51 am
QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Sep 15 2010, 11:53 AM)

yes they have Android 7: and also 10 inch keyboard folder case out in the market aready..
thumbup.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1541850&hl=

Added on September 16, 2010, 12:53 am
QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Sep 8 2010, 12:16 AM)
better to skip the tablets until more dual core chipset comes.. surely those tablets would be much more valuable and will be an ipad killer indeed with those stunning GPU top notch performance..
well..the dual core telechip 550+600Mhz and telechip android 7" inch
and also the 1Ghz ZT180 10 inch android 2.1 ..

is out already.. lo

This post has been edited by macpro2: Sep 16 2010, 12:53 AM
TSblur_goofy
post Sep 16 2010, 07:37 AM

354 posts

its actually intersting that google claim the android 2.x is not desgined for tablet after samsung announce galaxy tab... whistling.gif
jiidaineko
post Sep 16 2010, 10:19 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(HeWasOnly3 @ Sep 15 2010, 04:27 PM)
How about Dell Streak? Its an android tablet/handphone hybrid too. Well in my opinion,android's weakness lies on the lack of quality apps.
i believe if you exclude those fart apps in appstore, android pretty much covered most useful apps.
new in IT
post Oct 2 2010, 01:01 PM

378 posts

Dell launching 7-inch Android tablet in 'next few weeks,' 10-incher to follow a few months later

Source:
http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/29/dell-la...10-incher-to-f/

We as consumers are getting more choice on Android pad/tablet.

Hope the price is reasonable.
adrianteddy
post Oct 2 2010, 10:49 PM

Founder of Lowyat.Net Android Community Club
1,542 posts

haha... yeah
cwcwcw
post Oct 3 2010, 12:05 AM

I bought a Android tablet last week. It's not as good as netbook but convenient for me who want to read ebook/magazine anywhere. Running on Android 2.1, not laggy. wink.gif
dicksonbell
post Oct 3 2010, 12:06 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

There are so many China Brand now, dont know which one to get??
cwcwcw
post Oct 3 2010, 12:11 AM

QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Oct 3 2010, 12:06 AM)
There are so many China Brand now, dont know which one to get??
I'm going to sell mine because I needed money. Used it for 3 days only.
It's china brand,running on Android 2.1.
andrekua
post Oct 3 2010, 05:29 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Got my chance to play with CSL tablet today in Digital Mall. Android 2.2 was loaded and it was pretty snappy given that it only have the same processor as on my HTC Legend. The screen is somewhat disappointing, and touch sensitivity is not that good. However, the browsing was awesome on a bigger screen. It was quite expensive at RM1.6k and it does support phone function just like Galaxy Tab (which I think is a must to be eligible for Market right?).
milolauda
post Oct 4 2010, 01:38 AM

41 posts

can CSL Spice run flash as it is in Froyo?

btw wat is the ideal screen size for an Android Tablet as some makers are making 9" Tablets , I seen most tablets now are 7"
andrekua
post Oct 4 2010, 02:18 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(milolauda @ Oct 4 2010, 01:38 AM)
can CSL Spice run flash as it is in Froyo?

btw wat is the ideal screen size for an Android Tablet as some makers are making 9" Tablets , I seen most tablets now are 7"
Adobe has not released anything for ARMv6, just Flash Lite 4.0
milolauda
post Oct 4 2010, 08:27 AM

41 posts

so meaning its still "full flash" enabled yet?

thx

btw, anyone tried skype video chat on the Spice?
any comment on the skype video chat?

thx
cwcwcw
post Oct 6 2010, 04:49 PM

I'm selling android 2.1 tablet. not laggy nor slow. smile.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1585153&hl=
robhor
post Oct 8 2010, 01:18 PM

I'd like to hear from those who have own those China-made tablets, what kind of battery life do you get? And does the battery life get worse after a few weeks/months?

Please state the exact model too so we can compare between the different makes.

Slekerz
post Oct 8 2010, 03:01 PM

Life is like a Box of Chocolate
806 posts

I just play with csl android spica tablet at lowyat, the rom is laggy and not smooth it can make call and have android 2.2 on it, the price 1.550 it a bit pricey, one apps that I like on that tablet it have mapking gps but I can't try it because no internet at that roadshow.
andrewhtf
post Oct 8 2010, 06:40 PM

1,583 posts

yup... i played it there too... laggy is my main gripe, otherwise, it's quite ok.

should've dumped in 1ghz processor mah...
milolauda
post Oct 14 2010, 08:43 AM

41 posts

how do upgrade the tablet or rather how to flash it into a newer version?
MyWifeCar
post Oct 14 2010, 06:08 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(milolauda @ Oct 14 2010, 08:43 AM)
how do upgrade the tablet or rather how to flash it into a newer version?
I think should be the same as how you root your phone kua...
macpro2
post Oct 15 2010, 01:36 AM

573 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 4 2010, 02:18 AM)
Adobe has not released anything for ARMv6, just Flash Lite 4.0
ARM 8 support FLASH 10.1 ...
:clap:iMX515 Cortex A8 Support FLASH 10 !!
dinzmalayneum
post Oct 16 2010, 07:58 AM

232 posts

Better buy netbook ,Im using Asus Eee PC Touch that can transform to tablet. better than other tablet but more weighty than pda lor biggrin.gif
milolauda
post Oct 16 2010, 08:35 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(dinzmalayneum @ Oct 15 2010, 08:58 PM)
Better buy netbook ,Im using Asus Eee PC Touch that can transform to tablet. better than other tablet but more weighty than pda lor biggrin.gif
how do u transform it into a tablet?

care to tell more?
calmshot
post Oct 16 2010, 09:20 AM

My Name Is ...
2,560 posts

QUOTE(dinzmalayneum @ Oct 16 2010, 07:58 AM)
the reason why use tablet is because u dont have to wait for windows to load. with tablet os, it will instantly on without loading.
vckc4ever
post Nov 15 2010, 01:11 PM

189 posts

using tablet is mainly for those on the move, easier accessibility, quick check on email, watch videos (for those with flash 10 capability), lighter and easier to carry around.

notebook or netbook is a bit heavy, waiting time is longer, heat problem if you use for a longer period.

cheers !
vince
TSblur_goofy
post Nov 15 2010, 02:20 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(vckc4ever @ Nov 15 2010, 01:11 PM)
using tablet is mainly for those on the move, easier accessibility, quick check on email, watch videos (for those with flash 10 capability), lighter and easier to carry around.

notebook or netbook is a bit heavy, waiting time is longer, heat problem if you use for a longer period.
cheers !
vince
i believe this 'heat problem' is also true for notebook and netbook.

tablets are still surplus to requirement. in short it is just for entertainment purpose to fill up time while you are on the go.
vckc4ever
post Dec 3 2010, 10:18 PM

189 posts

You guys can check out Archos, which I'm currently using : both 7 n 10 inch. Website : www.archos.com ( premium tablet from France ).

End Nov : recently upgraded from 2.1 to 2.2 Froyo thru firmware upgrade.
1st Dec : Flash 10.1 is available for Archos thru Google Marketplace (download/install on your own).

Find the reviews on Archos thru Google...

If you want speed, Flash 10.1 - youtube supported where u can view direct from website, lightweight, support 720p video, connect to LCD/LED TV thru HDMI cable, Tethering with 3G mobile phone via Bluetooth to connect to Internet ....

You can count on Archos !

Cheers !
Vince

This post has been edited by vckc4ever: Dec 3 2010, 10:18 PM

0.0339sec    1.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:51 PM