What is the common screen reso for an android apps, Discussion on the common screen reso

TSbcmengs
post Sep 6 2010, 06:31 PM, updated 16y ago

123 posts

I am planning to buy Samsung Galaxy 5 i5500 with screen reso of 240 x 320. Screen size: 2.8".
HOwever, after reading from a few site, this size of resolution is badly condemned saying that most application in Android market will not suit this type of reso.
Even GPS will not work properly too.
Need all the sifus guidance.
SO, i need to hear about what is the best screen reso that could fit mostly of the adroid apps.

oh ya, my budget is only max RM1k. So, suggest limitly. tongue.gif
Andrew Lim
post Sep 6 2010, 06:49 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

Try to get 480x320 at least. Most Android developers, like myself, will target this resolution first. This is the baseline resolution that Google considers Normal. Although many applications should work on smaller resolutions/screens without problems thanks to Android's layout managers, some games and graphics-oriented applications will not.

If you have the time and don't mind a little technical reading, take a look at this Android development article - Supporting Multiple Screens. Android developers design applications based on this document.

This post has been edited by Andrew Lim: Sep 6 2010, 06:49 PM
CyberKewl
post Sep 6 2010, 07:50 PM

2,900 posts

budget 1k can try wildfire, about 1.2k if not mistaken
MYstombox
post Sep 6 2010, 08:14 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

The galaxy 3 RRP is RM899 based on previous reports on this forum.

Spec wise check out GSM arena.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Sep 6 2010, 08:14 PM
TSbcmengs
post Sep 7 2010, 09:42 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Sep 6 2010, 08:14 PM)
The galaxy 3 RRP is RM899 based on previous reports on this forum.

Spec wise check out GSM arena.
Bro, i've search ups and downs for Samsung Galaxy 3 i5800, din see any also.
Most probably i'll be going for non HTC as these brands tend to give more edgy ++.
Since HTC has been the dominator of Android series, they are giving very limited specs with such high price.

0.0185sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:39 PM