7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V4, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!

jujx
post Sep 23 2010, 09:51 AM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(awintz @ Sep 23 2010, 09:48 AM)
bro......may i know how to remove the voodoo lagfix?
go to your internal sd card, find a folder name voodoo, create a folder name "disable lagfix"

then restart, wait for about 10 minutes to 20 minutes. Done
jujx
post Sep 23 2010, 11:09 AM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 23 2010, 11:03 AM)
It doesn't work for me. After I did that, I try to flash a new rom - phone brick like first time. Luckily I manage to restore it myself this time
I did twice and it works for me. Did you read this http://project-voodoo.org/faq ?

You put in internal SD or external SD?

there should be the same female voice to guide you through disabling lagfix
jujx
post Sep 23 2010, 11:33 AM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 23 2010, 11:29 AM)
I installed in the internal SD card. After my first brick experience, I read up the whole website on voodoo before I attempt it. Somehow I failed to disable it ; yes there was a guided female voice
What was the last thing you heard from the voice? Step 1? step 2? Success? Fail?

when i disable, it took VERY long time, you just have to wait, don't pull out your battery.
jujx
post Sep 23 2010, 04:11 PM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Sep 23 2010, 03:43 PM)
its the 23rd Liao!!!

waiting for it to release ... FAST MAN FAST!!!!
He might just be the happiest man on earth
jujx
post Sep 23 2010, 04:35 PM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(systemX @ Sep 23 2010, 04:17 PM)
I just emailed SME about when will Malaysian's get 2.2, and they replied as below. GG... Maybe someone can email them and verify if they give the same reply or not heh.

===================

Pleasant day to you.

Thank you for writing to us.

Please be informed that it will release estimated on December.

Thank you & best regards,

Samsung (M) Electronics Customer Service

Samsung Careline #1-800-88-9999
Don't have to wait for Malaysia version.

Just go for UK version, releasing end of this month.
http://www.androidpolice.com/2010/09/22/t-...e-windows-only/
jujx
post Sep 24 2010, 09:50 AM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Sep 24 2010, 09:48 AM)
I have installed RyanZa  OCLF yesterday.

There is a task manager called Alter Minfree. Is it good? Has anyone tried it?

Not really task manager, is the system memory settings. Yup its good to use, but don't use other task manager
jujx
post Sep 24 2010, 11:27 AM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(jiidaineko @ Sep 24 2010, 11:23 AM)
is Eclair the prob? i suppose Froyo will perform better?
is the filesystem samsung used.

I think samsung Eclair + Voodoo Fix is better than Nexus Eclair. But nexus gain HUGE amount of speed with Froyo.

Seems like Froyo works better with Snapdragon
jujx
post Sep 24 2010, 11:53 AM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(itman2000my @ Sep 24 2010, 11:48 AM)
If u r using STOCK Froyo, ie. the official release from Android, it will not be better.

The engineers tend to tweak / modify / add device drivers to make the OS run better for specific HP hardware. Once yr device is optimised for Snapdragon, then yes, the OS will run faster for the said CPU.

For example, u r using Windows XP on a machine which has 64bits CPU, WinXP will not be able to use the full features of the 64bits CPU. Same goes with apps, if the apps is build for 32bits capabilities, running on a 64bits CPU will not give u double the process speed. If yr apps is build for 64bits and runs on the 64bits CPU, u get the max features of the new CPU.

Thus, the engineers are Samsung needs to tweak the device drives for SGS on the 2.1 n 2.2. If u hv seen some of the releases from Sams website, every release is better then the previous. Give them time. The engineers will be coming out with a perfect device drivers for 2.1 n 2.2 and then compare it. It might take a few rounds of release for 2.2 to be stabled.
Yup but I guess its very hard as well for Samsung, since Google develop their software based on Nexus one which is Snapdragon, it will take more effort for Samsung to port it compared to other snapdragon phone like Desire
jujx
post Sep 24 2010, 01:57 PM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Sep 24 2010, 01:55 PM)
My friend said that SGS can't beat Desire.
I got angry and tell the differences between the two phones.
Then he tell me he bought Desire (but with slcd and not AMOLED)
Then I lol'd hard.
now, where my frozen yogurt? i'll lose if i don't have it. Haha
android don't la argue with android tongue.gif
jujx
post Sep 24 2010, 03:03 PM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(digitheatre @ Sep 24 2010, 03:00 PM)
successfully running rooted JPK + lagfix  rclxms.gif  biggrin.gif
how was it?
jujx
post Sep 24 2010, 04:05 PM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(juggernault @ Sep 24 2010, 04:04 PM)
yea im using OCLF 2.0
whats the diff btw this 2 method?
Try it yourself then you know.

OCLF lag BADLY while installing apps

Voodoo provides me almost no lag for everyday usage
jujx
post Sep 24 2010, 04:16 PM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Sep 24 2010, 04:05 PM)
and if SGS can only draw with Desire, does it mean Desire HD will be superior than SGS? in general..
The thing is, he haven't compared things like GPU capability, Multi-Touch point won't out of position
jujx
post Sep 24 2010, 06:40 PM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(juggernault @ Sep 24 2010, 06:37 PM)
yes Desire is capable of recording 720p but in term of their frame rate which is still lower than SGS
yup 25fps vs 30fps

and the quality is SO MUCH different. Basically desire camera kinda sucky
jujx
post Sep 25 2010, 08:41 PM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(kenzakiwing @ Sep 25 2010, 08:37 PM)
http://www.youmobile.org/blogs/entry/Samsu...s-Release-Dates
We can try froyo at the end of this month
Nice, waiting for UK to release, and XDA to create custom rom based on it!
jujx
post Sep 25 2010, 10:16 PM

1,398 posts

^^^^^^^

Pleas don't not post pirated stuff
jujx
post Sep 26 2010, 12:20 PM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(ameeru_aniki @ Sep 26 2010, 12:12 PM)
JPK sucks big time.....  vmad.gif
1. trouble installing OCLF
- QUadrant  benchmark only 900++
- so laggy

2. difficulty to restore stuff
- i restore using my backup,titanium -> does not restore everyting,
some programs, data missing
- not one, but 4 times....

3. some programs than was "cun" in previous froyo has error in the jpk
eg - androzip, netcounter (i swear downloading stuff but it never record it), games (data not installed)  mad.gif
you read more before complaining.

Samsung changed JPK file system to Read ONLY, that's you can't restore backup, install OCLF.

That's an app to change from ready only to R/W, search on XDA in SGS development Section
jujx
post Sep 27 2010, 11:52 AM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(chewlee @ Sep 27 2010, 11:51 AM)
Can we get SGS screen protector & casing in LowYat or digital Mall?
I had just replaced my super AMOLED screen, need a new screen protector.
how you replace? warranty? need to pay for it?
jujx
post Sep 27 2010, 01:38 PM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 27 2010, 01:30 PM)
my gps really sucks
it can't locate my current location and nearly make me late for job interview...

im using data connection for gps
which firmware you're using?

So far i tested two types

JM5 + OCLF = usable, jumpy
JM7 + Voodoo = lock on less than 10 seconds, very accurate.

Maybe Malaysia has better GPS signal than Australia?

jujx
post Sep 27 2010, 02:03 PM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 27 2010, 01:58 PM)
im using JM5 + OCLF...
i need to stay at the place for few hours only can lock on my location..
1 hour before,i can lock at my current position..then i moved to other location and 1 hour later,the position still locked at previous location..kinda furious om this
yea JM5's GPS was ok only.
Try JM7 + voodoo, i don't know is it me but voodoo seems to improve GPS dramatically

i tried GPS test app, got 8 to 10 satellites lock on with around 40km accuracy in 10 to 15 seconds
jujx
post Sep 27 2010, 02:44 PM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(guppy @ Sep 27 2010, 02:38 PM)
I posted my observations about improved GPS lock times with Voodoo a whiles back. And yup, seems that something in Voodoo (or more likely, the vanilla kernel it uses) improves GPS. However, as desirable as fast lock times are, it isn't the whole story. Aside from lock times, GPS also needs to be able to hold on to a signal and refresh your position quickly and accurately. This isn't happening in the SGS. People saying that GPS is awesome because they can get a lock on 5-8 satellites while standing still should try using My Tracks, record their tracks, take a walk around the neighbourhood and then post the tracks for us to see. Granted I have not done this, I feel this is a better measure of GPS performance and accuracy then merely quoting (qualitative) lock times. smile.gif
yup real environment test is always better. I've tried driving in KL using SGS's GPS, no problem. Haven't tried jogging though

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0465sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:23 AM