Duti Kastam, For Sony Bravia HX909

TSVisionX
post Sep 6 2010, 05:03 AM, updated 16y ago

23 posts

Hi all.

Anybody know what is the general percentage of tax placed for any imported HDTV? I am now in USA, and the price for any sony bravia here is way much cheaper if

compared to identical model in Malaysia. Eg:, NX700 46 inch will only cost you USD1099.99 but here at Malaysia Sonystyle is RM12000.00. I plan to buy Sony Bravia 3dtv

HX909 (for 46 or 52inch), the price here is USD3500 for 46inch (a unit 3d sync transmitter and a pair of 3d glasses included), I wonder how much im gonna be charged if I

send this item to my hometown in Malaysia? Any positive opinion would be much appreciated! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by VisionX: Sep 6 2010, 05:07 AM
refnulf
post Sep 6 2010, 07:32 AM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

Not sure about the exact amount but you'll need SIRIM certification for the item once it reaches here and you'll have to pay for that.

And the import duty/tax (is it 10% or higher?)

eMKs
post Sep 6 2010, 01:50 PM

647 posts

Most US TV did not support PAL format (ie 1080p/50). Please double check the spec or else you won't be able to watch broadcast channel here (Astro & FTA)
chamelion
post Sep 6 2010, 01:54 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

20%+10%.

Most important is power n format.

make sure it support 240v n PAL format. i forgot what pal subformat.
TSVisionX
post Sep 6 2010, 11:53 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Sep 6 2010, 07:32 AM)
Not sure about the exact amount but you'll need SIRIM certification for the item once it reaches here and you'll have to pay for that.

QUOTE(eMKs @ Sep 6 2010, 01:50 PM)
Most US TV did not support PAL format (ie 1080p/50). Please double check the spec or else you won't be able to watch broadcast channel here (Astro & FTA)
QUOTE(chamelion @ Sep 6 2010, 01:54 PM)
20%+10%.

Most important is power n format.

make sure it support 240v n PAL format. i forgot what pal subformat.
Thanks guys! so it should be around 30% extra charges all together. For the power support, I think there should be no problem when I checked the specs. But PAL, that's a big problem, because it only supports NTSC cry.gif
tanhks
post Sep 7 2010, 01:45 AM

608 posts

LCD TV sale in Singapore are also cheaper than in Malaysia despite the 2.30 conversion rate.
But need to pay import tax and apply for Sirim, and the warranty is also a problem.
So it is better to just buy the TV in an electric shop near home in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by tanhks: Sep 7 2010, 02:15 AM
putih
post Sep 7 2010, 06:52 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(tanhks @ Sep 7 2010, 01:45 AM)
LCD TV sale in Singapore are also cheaper than in Malaysia despite the 2.30 conversion rate.
But need to pay import tax and apply for Sirim, and the warranty is also a problem.
So it is better to just buy the TV in an electric shop near home in Malaysia.
Agreed. Self import TVs and cars for personal use is really not worth it. They look a lot cheaper but after factoring the other costs incurred and the BIG HASSLE (custom clearing, import tax etc), it's always better to buy locally. Anyway, the prices here are not too bad either compared to 20 years ago. smile.gif
refnulf
post Sep 7 2010, 07:37 AM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

QUOTE(putih @ Sep 7 2010, 06:52 AM)
Agreed. Self import TVs and cars for personal use is really not worth it. They look a lot cheaper but after factoring the other costs incurred and the BIG HASSLE (custom clearing, import tax etc), it's always better to buy locally. Anyway, the prices here are not too bad either compared to 20 years ago. smile.gif
Still pretty bad considering some sets are actually made here and you find em cheaper over in Aust/US and almost 4-5k more here after conversion.

beetle_larvae
post Sep 7 2010, 09:38 AM

1,000 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Sep 6 2010, 07:32 AM)

bought many oversea AVR without SIRIM cert how...? cry.gif
Skylinestar
post Sep 7 2010, 07:27 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(beetle_larvae @ Sep 7 2010, 09:38 AM)
bought many oversea AVR without SIRIM cert how...? cry.gif
who cares SIRIM as long as it's kick ass brows.gif
weikee
post Sep 7 2010, 08:15 PM

12,019 posts

many don't know we pay extra 30% for luxury tax, and this TV if not mistaken is one of it..

So now you know how kind our gov treat us. Singapore lots of electronic goods are also cheaper, even DSLR are cheaper. Cheapest among ASIA country is HK. cause they don't have GST.

This post has been edited by weikee: Sep 7 2010, 08:15 PM
SiriuslyCold
post Sep 8 2010, 01:07 AM

1,976 posts

funny thing is most of the luxury items are made in bolehland ... Malaysia Boleh!

azbro
post Sep 8 2010, 08:13 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 7 2010, 07:27 PM)
who cares SIRIM as long as it's kick ass brows.gif
Burn the house down then you know laugh.gif

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Sep 8 2010, 01:07 AM)
funny thing is most of the luxury items are made in bolehland ... Malaysia Boleh!
Yeah...because in Malaysia the wage very low one...just like myself...every year increment less than RM100, some more wanna upgrade to big speaker every year...haha
Raymond7693
post Sep 10 2010, 07:33 PM

308 posts

wow tvs are certainly cheaper overseas
gurus
post Sep 11 2010, 04:28 PM

1.get up! 2.survive! 3.go back to bed!
1,242 posts

the problem is, the condition of the tv itself when arrive in malaysia.
probably dent on the box due to shipping sweat.gif
htkaki
post Sep 19 2010, 02:59 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(gurus @ Sep 11 2010, 04:28 PM)
the problem is, the condition of the tv itself when arrive in malaysia.
probably dent on the box due to shipping  sweat.gif
Unless it is being handled roughly. Those packaging is actually quite solid and the unit inside is well protected. If it is a direct impact at the middle of the front box (normally got indication), then it might damage the screen itself.

0.0262sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:23 PM