cstkl1
post Sep 7 2010, 10:44 PM

6,799 posts

use occt

it stresses the pwm more so u will see more real world stress of GC mem and GC core.. set it from default 0 to optimal 8.

if u find a scenario that the gpu core is stable via furmark/msi kombustor
and gpu mem is stable via OCCT ( the gpu memtest.. its actually a derivation of memtestG80 but better since this will load ure gc mem completely which the original just loads 256mb) use evga eleet to change the pwm frequency.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 7 2010, 10:47 PM
cstkl1
post Sep 16 2010, 06:26 PM

6,799 posts

theres a lot of gain in overclocking gtx480 in BFBC2...

gtx480 at 900 core vantage is around 23k in gpu score in performance

what i think we are astonish are ure temp is thats at default voltage

i ran furmark on a gtx480 at default voltage only reaches 85 C on the latest bios.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 16 2010, 06:28 PM
cstkl1
post Sep 16 2010, 07:15 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Vigilant @ Sep 16 2010, 06:30 PM)
85'c w/ watercooling or air cond?
on air.. normal room temp

ok lets be realistic here
max aircon can help u on gc is around 5-7c

ure 100+c on vantage??eh..
ure furmark will be off the chart.
cstkl1
post Sep 17 2010, 03:47 PM

6,799 posts

i7 930 coolitfied@ 4.2ghz 200x21
Rampage III extreme ekfied
Corsair Dominator GT 2000 8-9-8-24 @ 2000mhz 7-9-7-24 1.6v
Asus GTX480 ekfied @ 850,2000 1.138v ( OCCT pass 2 hours )

ignore the cpu score.. was actually testing a few physx drivers atm..
eh forgot to install it back when i ran this

cstkl1
post Sep 17 2010, 07:06 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Vigilant @ Sep 17 2010, 06:47 PM)
I play BFBC2 using GTX480 still having FPS drop below 30 on a rare occasion when too many people spamming CG etc. It's still not enough for a maximum setting.
hmm u need to ask blizzy on this

cause he changed from 5870 to gtx480 and said there was a lot of improvement on BFBC2

just want to make sure its not a proc/bandwidth thingy.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 17 2010, 07:07 PM
cstkl1
post Sep 18 2010, 12:57 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Sep 18 2010, 12:56 PM)
Well Physx off produce legit result while On don't
lol legit is because ati doesnt support

get some facts on that part.. since this is gtx400 series thread

its legit.
cstkl1
post Sep 18 2010, 05:48 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Sep 18 2010, 03:21 PM)
Nope
Legit as in hwbot standard
Hwbot ban result with physx on
again
its illegit in HWBOT because ATI does not have physx
think about it.. if ati had.. it would have been legit..
and since this is a nvidia 400 thread physx on is ok infact encourage to show the power of the gc+cpu clocking..

Added on September 18, 2010, 5:50 pm
QUOTE(Vigilant @ Sep 18 2010, 02:56 PM)
Like I mentioned before, we need a guideline here in this thread when posting 3D Mark Vantage score for GTX 400 series to standardize the benchmark score.

But since this is GTX 400 specific thread, I guess not to disable anything is the standard.
just run standard with full physx bro

this aint a ati vs nvidia thread..

lol.. some ppl dont get it

its just a nvidia 400 series thread.

most of us here are old enough to know the difference and will judge the card from the gpu score if we are gpu score orientated rather than chasing a hwbot on whts the P,E,X rating is

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 18 2010, 05:50 PM
cstkl1
post Sep 20 2010, 10:42 AM

6,799 posts

1.MSI GTX480 lightning ( no WB)
2.MSI GTX460 Hawk ( no WB)

cstkl1
post Sep 21 2010, 01:55 AM

6,799 posts

hmm two oc/gamer eh planning on get together
and "hanging out"

something aint rite about this

too much room for " misinterpretation "

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 21 2010, 02:00 AM
cstkl1
post Sep 28 2010, 10:27 AM

6,799 posts

hmm ure limited by heat bro.
not as in voltage
and in gtx480 every bit voltage increase ure temps will sky rocket

mine at stock 1138mv bios i am stable occt 1 hour Optimal at 875/2100... 71C
i can bench 900/2200 or run kombuster/furmark stable at 900/2200 but at lower temps....58/62C

OCCT gpu test is memang gila and can find errors where others cannot.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 28 2010, 10:27 AM
cstkl1
post Sep 28 2010, 11:16 AM

6,799 posts

welli got a msi gtx480, msi gtx460 also..

the gtx460 there was a modded bios on upperlimit for voltage
but i saw no gain.. so much increament in voltage but little scaling

ive flashed the modded bios on my gtx480
what i found was this distrupts the pwm switch from idle to high voltage
and forces me to always run at max voltage for all the states.

the limit has always been on pll

example on the 900 and 2200..
if want to test ure mem on ure gc use the occt gpu memtest.. its a variant of memtestG80 and OCCt lets u stress the whole 1.5gb
it will pass..

900 alone will pass again on furmark and kombuster and even vantage runs
it fails in occt because of the pll.

the pll is not high enough to keep the ratio...
if there were skews it would have been even better low.. so we can slowdown the mem phase

i can see the future already we are one day going to have a bios that we can edit on bootup like mobo for gc's..

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 28 2010, 11:22 AM
cstkl1
post Sep 29 2010, 10:36 AM

6,799 posts

465 bro cannot overclock as much as 460

465 old tech
460 new tech
cstkl1
post Mar 6 2011, 12:23 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Mar 5 2011, 08:07 PM)
Try replacing the thermal paste with some better one biggrin.gif
It will help a lot
Been preaching this for a long while wei laugh.gif
eh somebody needs a major update

nowadays asus thermal pasting skills has been improved..
unlike gaygay which u even might find a screw on top of ure heatsink
cstkl1
post Oct 11 2020, 10:30 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(uzer90 @ Oct 10 2020, 04:20 PM)
For gaming performance, on my 3080 tuc OC edition, i oc to +110 core +750 mem..higher than that, same perf but sometime drop a bit..

More to power limited
every 15 dude
so 15,30,45,60,75,90,105,120,135 etc
cstkl1
post Oct 11 2020, 10:31 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(nrw @ Oct 10 2020, 11:23 PM)
3080 TUF 1440p low TDP curve OC/UV testing (TimeSpy, HeavenBenchmark all maxed out)

750mV@1740MHz, 19Gbps GDDR6X, 214W average
750mV@1740MHz, 21Gbps GDDR6X, 220W average (running microns at their true spec)
That's 97.5% of stock 3080 TUF performance @68.75% of the power consumption.

Edit: after gaming tried how far I can push it at 750mV for timespy.
Can complete a run at 1770MHz@750mV.
Now that's pretty much stock performance at 220W.
so the temps even crazier low 40s?? 50s??
cstkl1
post Oct 14 2020, 09:01 PM

6,799 posts

owikh84
Nice bro
cstkl1
post Oct 16 2020, 06:57 PM

6,799 posts

Asus Strix 3080 + Bitspower + 75/1000 stable

Testing first round stable.. bad card.. .. will source for another .. 3090..

10900k - SP81
M12E - 098
52|49 - 1.374 L6 v/f
4600 16-16-16-36@1.6v
Asus Strix 3080 +75/1250

Benchmark

https://www.3dmark.com/spy/14589635
https://www.3dmark.com/pr/404502

disappointment on da luck